Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Take Me Out - Irish Version [ATTN: Please read Mod Note in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭adomino

el diablo wrote: »
    I'm not trying to be a smartarse but it must a a culchie thing, calling commom Dubs "nackers". I don't see any similarities between them and the real nackers. Nackers and culchies pretty much sound all the to same to me so maybe you can understand why I'm confused. :mad:

i think what they're trying to say is not just 'real' knackers sounding the same howyas etc, but similarities with regarding to behaviour, hear them before you see them so to speak, loud, can't mind their own business etc etc.

you should put yourself on a train to kilkenny some weekend, sure its all a bit of craic aint it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Phat Cat wrote: »

I don't think people are suggesting that women should drop their standards or men will kill themselves, I don't think that it is as straight forward as that and there are many different factors to be taken into consideration. But to totally dismiss the link between Irish male suicide and the negative effect Irish women have on their mental heath would be foolish and naive IMO and is typical of the Irish "sweep it under the carpet" mentality.

There is definitely a problem there and you only have to read After Hours to see the amount of "anti-Irish women" threads being started every other week. It's actually quite shocking if you think about it. Also most of the foreign guys that I have worked with have made negative comments about Irish women yet are only to happy to sing the praises of the women in their home country.

Anyway that is slightly off topic and probably deserves it's own thread because you could talk forever about it.

Back on topic..........3 blackouts, 1 rich guy gets a date and a 1 stripping fireman gets a date..............I didn't see that coming :rolleyes:

The most ludicrous statements i have ever seen written.Irish women been remotely related to Irish mens sucide are you people for real :rolleyes:
    Funny how Irish men completely run away from the fact they do just as bad if not worse to Irish girls growing up and treat them like ****? Oh wow funny women seem to bounce back.
    Irish men having high rate of suicide is down to eachother and not knowing how to express upset and insecurities,also the whole men dont cry crap as well put on them.Nothing to do with women.
    Sorry for off topic but seriously rubbish.
    From the way i was treated as a teen by Irish guys was disgusting and downright disrespectful all the time.I didnt kill myself.Irish guys treat Irish girls who are nice mean and vice versa.
    To turning off their lights,Who cares if they arent into them they arent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 nig09

Did u forget to read the mod note:

Originally Posted by basquille
    OK.. so to stop this thread becoming an utter trainwreck (and be inevitably locked), I'm gonna ask for the following:

No personal insults against any of the contestants on the show from now on. They've put themselve in the public limelight but the petty and snide remarks from people on this thread are just downright childish.

Any comments will be deleted and users will be recieve infractions, and bannings for repeat offences.

Thanks kids!

Im a fool? Im not the one posting here every day and asking random girls if there single and sending pm's to them.

You wouldn't have the balls to go on the show so don't slag anyone.
    Stay there behind your laptop where its safe and you won't have to take any criticism from anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭adomino

nig09 wrote: »

Im a fool? Im not the one posting here every day and asking random girls if there single and sending pm's to them.

Stay there behind your laptop where its safe and you won't have to take any criticism from anyone.
    [/I]

in fairness now you did make a fool of yourself with the beckham effort, what were you thinking? you seem like a sound lad though and i think the girls made a fool of themselves too [again] by not giving you a chance just on that beckham incident.

this is a public forum, people post here everyday, some more than others, some are registered members from way back. Those doing the most slagging and spitting out the harsh words are the actual girls/actresses on the show!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Aldito

I'm not trying to be a smartarse but it must a a culchie thing, calling commom Dubs "nackers". I don't see any similarities between them and the real nackers. Nackers and culchies pretty much sound all the to same to me so maybe you can understand why I'm confused. :mad:

Step outside your front door, and on a rare day you might catch a glimpse of one of these mystical knackers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

nig09 wrote: »

Originally Posted by basquille

Thanks kids!

I actually laughed out loud at that,fair play it was a lot more funnier than the Beckham thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 sarah6937

Haha this is mad the way people get so hyped up over a show ... just reading sum of the posts ! talking about people killing themselves n all :eek: ur all mad! haha!!
    Most of the lads who got blackouts didnt deserve it although
    I was on the show and was told to leave my light on which i dont think was fair either but ahh well goes to show ...TV is a big fix!! It aint real people

:D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Terri26

wow it seems all to be a fix so! Sarah, did you get a date if you left your light on so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Devia

Sarah is a fake, the show is 100% real.

I'm Ray Foley by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Phat Cat

caseyann wrote: »
    The most ludicrous statements i have ever seen written.Irish women been remotely related to Irish mens sucide are you people for real :rolleyes:
    Funny how Irish men completely run away from the fact they do just as bad if not worse to Irish girls growing up and treat them like ****? Oh wow funny women seem to bounce back.
    Irish men having high rate of suicide is down to eachother and not knowing how to express upset and insecurities,also the whole men dont cry crap as well put on them.Nothing to do with women.
    Sorry for off topic but seriously rubbish.
    From the way i was treated as a teen by Irish guys was disgusting and downright disrespectful all the time.I didnt kill myself.Irish guys treat Irish girls who are nice mean and vice versa.
    To turning off their lights,Who cares if they arent into them they arent.

Christ here we go, you'd swear that I had just posted that blokes who were rejected on the show went straight home and topped themselves :rolleyes: Of course I didn't, all I said was that you cannot dismiss the link between male suicide and women's negative attitudes in modern society after two other posters had already brought it up in the first place!

Instead you have a little tantrum and blame the whole population of young Irish guys for ruining your teenage years but surprisingly you don't make any decent arguments for the point that you were originally trying to make.

For example (and this is only an example) are you saying that the 24% rise in suicides in the farming community is totally because of the economic slump and has nothing to do with the isolation and loneness that young farmers experience because of the dwindling numbers of potential partners? I'd say most young girls would prefer to be Samantha from Sex in the City then some farmers wife, right? You might think that is a ridiculous argument but it's still a valid argument, something you cannot seem to convey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Elysium

I'd say most young girls would prefer to be Samantha from Sex in the City then some farmers wife, right?

Samantha from Sex and the City?? So now your calling all young women promiscuous, egoistic sex maniac's?? :mad:............haha i joke i joke!! lighten up people...worse things could happen, sure the country could be fecked..oh wait it is :p (Btw.. I think that is more of a valid reason for the high male suicide rate than rejection from 'yer wan' down the road) Im not dismissing your point I just feel its a little bit extreme. Its human nature! and you know the saying What doesnt kill you makes you stronger!... Nos occasum ut ut nos may orior oriri ortus iterum. whats ment for you wont pass you by!

Anyway I think we should all call a truce! :) Moving on...Bets on for who gets a date next week? or more likey how many blackouts..ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Christ here we go, you'd swear that I had just posted that blokes who were rejected on the show went straight home and topped themselves :rolleyes: Of course I didn't, all I said was that you cannot dismiss the link between male suicide and women's negative attitudes in modern society after two other posters had already brought it up in the first place!

Instead you have a little tantrum and blame the whole population of young Irish guys for ruining your teenage years but surprisingly you don't make any decent arguments for the point that you were originally trying to make.

For example (and this is only an example) are you saying that the 24% rise in suicides in the farming community is totally because of the economic slump and has nothing to do with the isolation and loneness that young farmers experience because of the dwindling numbers of potential partners? I'd say most young girls would prefer to be Samantha from Sex in the City then some farmers wife, right? You might think that is a ridiculous argument but it's still a valid argument, something you cannot seem to convey.

Where did i blame Irish guys for ruining my teenage years:confused: Funny but you blame a whole country of women been the cause of male suicide and i am the one throwing a tantrum? LMAO
    Did i say you said that they were going out and killing themselves after the show? :confused:
    I said ludicrous to even attempt to relate Suicide with women causing it,and the point i made no matter how badly i was treated by guys,i didnt kill myself did i?, neither did any of the girls i know( sure as hell effected our self esteem and fear of rejection growing up) ? SO I call bull****.

No city girls like the city some would be ok with farming lifestyle others wouldnt its the same as farmers not been able for city and office work etc..
    So in order to make farmers stop commiting suicide, women should marry a farmer and live on a farm where they wouldnt be happy to make men happy? :confused: Has nothing to do with womens attitudes at all,it is down to the man to be strong enough to wait and see.

And the majority of girls and women in Ireland would not want to be Samantha from sex and city another ridiculous statement.

I would say niamh C is will get date next week :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 sarah6937

Devia wrote: »
    Sarah is a fake, the show is 100% real.

I'm Ray Foley by the way.

No im not, and NO! its not haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

This is the problem...

How is it 'negative' that women don't like some bloke?!

See you're on the verge of making a good point, as are a lot of lads here, then you let your own bias spoil it for you. Basically, your point is that women should have more 'positive' attitudes...positive, in this case, implying that they should drop their standards. Which makes no sense. How does LOWER standards increase positivity for anyone (except the guy who benefits from said standards being dropped)?

If anything, this thread is more an indication of Irish male attitudes than the show of Irish women. In other words, blame the girl for not liking you. Whereas lads could look at the show to see what the lads are doing right/wrong. Instead, no, they just write it off as "Irish girls are ***** and should drop their standards because high standards are why lads go off killing themselves"

Look at the lads on the show here for example:

Rugger Bugger - Sharp dress sense. Didn't seem to care if the girls turned off their lights or not...so he didn't come across as needy or desperate. You got the impression that he'd do alright regardless of the show. Got a date.
    Fireman - Very comfortable in himself. Before they even knew he was a streaker with a 6-pack, he had the majority of lights still on. Relaxed, up for a laugh, the type of lad any lass would be happy to spend a 20-minute speed date with. Got a date.
    Ian (who I know, by the way) - Was in trouble the second he acted embarrassed about falling off the ramp. As a result, he looked clumsy and unsure of himself. If he'd have made a joke out of it, he'd have been fine and I guarantee the girls would've been more interested in the wrestler story. I used to be a pro-wrestler...women don't react like that when you tell them.
    Beckham Lad - Was doing great until he did the impression. That came off as try-hard and over-eager to impress. So the girls got nervous if he was all he was cracked up to be and turned off.
    Curly Sue - One girl summed it up when she said, "Nice guys finish last." The problem with so-called 'nice guys' is that they come off as lick arses who'll say/do anything to get what they want from girls...instead of showing their REAL personality. That's why girls are more inclined to go for so-called 'bad boys'...at least then they know what they're getting into.

A bloke I know once said to me, "Every guy in every city thinks THEIR girls are the hardest to pick-up." His name is Neil Strauss, writer of 'The Game' and a man who goes around the world teaching men how to pull.

I could just as easily stereotype and say that Eastern European girls I've known, and people here rave about, talk about their fellas in terms of what he buys them and how he can provide, instead of how he makes them feel and so on. But that'd be about as stereotypical and ridiculous as saying Irish girls are 'too fussy'.

(P.S: I should probably state my vested interest - I was on the show in Series 2. And, no, I can't tell you what happened in it...sorry)

leggo wrote: »
    A bloke I know once said to me, "Every guy in every city thinks THEIR girls are the hardest to pick-up." His name is Neil Strauss, writer of 'The Game' and a man who goes around the world teaching men how to pull.

Reading someone's book ≠ knowing them

adomino wrote: »
    in fairness now you did make a fool of yourself with the beckham effort, what were you thinking? you seem like a sound lad though and i think the girls made a fool of themselves too [again] by not giving you a chance just on that beckham incident.

this is a public forum, people post here everyday, some more than others, some are registered members from way back. Those doing the most slagging and spitting out the harsh words are the actual girls/actresses on the show!

Ha ok so the Beckham thing didnt work out, I knew it was going to be a bit dodgy doing it but the producers wanted me to..
    Also if i was able to do the full impression i may not have done as bad..that was a glitch on Ray's part..
    The English jersey was a mistake and i shud have jus worn a Man U jersey!

Also, when i talked to some of the girls after the show some of them just didnt want to be rejected so they turned off..so sometimes its not even about the guy there.

Anyways i don't care, i had a laugh doing it and it just amuses me that people are calling me a fool on forums!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Aldito wrote: »
    Reading someone's book ≠ knowing them

Haha. Nah we've met a few times and exchange emails every now and then. We were supposed to meet up and do an interview when he was over recently to get the James Joyce award but I wasn't available the day he was over unfortunately. :(

Here's the link to the interview I did with him way back if you're interested: http://angermanagement.podbean.com/mf/web/u7evsv/neilstrauss.mp3 </cheap-plug>

Fair enough :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

Haha. Nah we've met a few times and exchange emails every now and then. We were supposed to meet up and do an interview when he was over recently to get the James Joyce award but I wasn't available the day he was over unfortunately. :(

Here's the link to the interview I did with him way back if you're interested: http://angermanagement.podbean.com/mf/web/u7evsv/neilstrauss.mp3 </cheap-plug>

They gave that guy an award with the words James Joyce in the title? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭santana75

Friday nights episode was a cringefest, Holy mother of God it got worse and worse as it went along. Entertaining all the same but still uncomfortable viewing. It was blackout city. The lad who does the wrestling.......man his VT killed him. What was he thinking? How could he sit down before the show and actually Ok that clip? Then he fell over the step coming out. I had to just put my head in my hands at that point and wait for the sound of lights being turned off(which is exactly what happened). It was funny though when he got defensive. Dude take it on the chin and walk away, never argue with the blackout.

The guy who played the Sitar got a rough ride though. He seemed like a good bloke. I think most of the girls didn't dig the do, and thats fair enough, but I think he shouldve gotten a date even so.

As far the lad doing the Beckham impression, disasterous. I mean it wouldnt have been so bad had he come out in a Man utd jersey or even L.A. Galaxy. But England? 800 years of opression, people dont forget that **** in a hurry. He was on to a winner up until that point and all, thats the funny part. I reckon had he not shot himself in the foot like that he would've scored. Let that be a lesson to future contestants

The guy in the firemans custome seemed like good craic, although Im not sure he's the type of lad to make good boyfriend material, seems a bit wild. Eleanor seems a bit mad aswell("Lets wreck the place!!) though so maybe its a perfect match.

What was Sinead thinking though? Your man seemed like a bit of a prat to be honest(even his mate said as much in the VT). I get the feeling that she was sick of standing there and just settled in the end. Cant see that one going the distance.
    I wonder how many of the original girls are left at this stage? Slim pickings, as someone already mentioned. Although I think Mariead F is nice. Didnt really like Lorraine at the start, seemed like the quintessential Blonde type, but to be fair to her she comes across as fairly decent and sound. Hopefully they'll both score.

As for Ray foley, I think he's a naturally funny guy, but whoever is writing his material should be shot. "I miss her already" ad nausem. Please stop saying this Ray. Even if they're holding your wife at gunpoint and threatening to shoot her if you dont say the line, still, dont say the line!!
    Where are the replacement girls coming from by the way? Jaysus they're rough(except for ali). They look like they were taken from the bargain bin in Tesco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

sarah6937 wrote: »
    No im not, and NO! its not haha
    Proof required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,782 ✭✭✭el diablo

Is there anywhere I can see last week's episode? I'm outside of Ireland so the TV3 player won't work for me....

I'm bored... :)

Orange pilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

Is there anywhere I can see last week's episode? I'm outside of Ireland so the TV3 player won't work for me....

I'm bored... :)
    Its a pain you cant look at shows on the TV3 player outside of Ireland :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 HillofBadgers

Best song choice yet..?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Sean Atha Cliath

Newlie unemplied as lost job as panel beater due to those bankers and Anglo, hav decided to start postin on dis 2 pas de time :mad: Watchd dis show for 1st tme on the world wide wen, waz embarazed for all involved. De amount of tick, ignorant people on de show was bafflin. Seemed to be full of nackers and attention seekers.

De contestants must have been stuck and desperete. De fireman was the one bright lite, seemd up for the buzz. De rest were useless and stoopid. The curly haired lad will regret goin on and the Beckham chap seemd like a clown and got his just deserts. Taut it was rather patetic de way he said the womin were not good lookin after they shot him down. Lookd like sour grapes 2 me, obviously a bit stoopid too doin the Beckham impression wearin an English jerzey. Any ticko could tell you that the lower class element Sinn Fein supporters on the show were not going 2 be impresed. Patetic show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭booooonzo

De amount of tick, ignorant people on de show was bafflin.

LMAO!! Now that's funny!!

Newlie unemplied as lost job as panel beater due to those bankers and Anglo, hav decided to start postin on dis 2 pas de time :mad: Watchd dis show for 1st tme on the world wide wen, waz embarazed for all involved. De amount of tick, ignorant people on de show was bafflin. Seemed to be full of nackers and attention seekers.

De contestants must have been stuck and desperete. De fireman was the one bright lite, seemd up for the buzz. De rest were useless and stoopid. The curly haired lad will regret goin on and the Beckham chap seemd like a clown and got his just deserts. Taut it was rather patetic de way he said the womin were not good lookin after they shot him down. Lookd like sour grapes 2 me, obviously a bit stoopid too doin the Beckham impression wearin an English jerzey. Any ticko could tell you that the lower class element Sinn Fein supporters on the show were not going 2 be impresed. Patetic show.

Learn how to spell before you post on boards.
    And know it wasn't sour grapes.

waz embarazed for all involved. De amount of tick, ignorant people on de show was bafflin. Seemed to be full of nackers and attention seekers.

De contestants must have been stuck and desperete. De rest were useless and stoopid. Patetic show.

Haha well Ive heard it all now! That post can only be described as Shocking! For once I think im actually lost for words :) ha we are tick, nackers that are desperete and stoopid?? haha No No Sean, dont be embarrassed for us be 'embarazed' for yourself :rolleyes:

santana75 wrote: »
    Didnt really like Lorraine at the start, seemed like the quintessential Blonde type, but to be fair to her she comes across as fairly decent and sound. Hopefully they'll both score.

Thanks Santana ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

This is the problem...

How is it 'negative' that women don't like some bloke?!

See you're on the verge of making a good point, as are a lot of lads here, then you let your own bias spoil it for you. Basically, your point is that women should have more 'positive' attitudes...positive, in this case, implying that they should drop their standards. Which makes no sense. How does LOWER standards increase positivity for anyone (except the guy who benefits from said standards being dropped)?

If anything, this thread is more an indication of Irish male attitudes than the show of Irish women. In other words, blame the girl for not liking you. Whereas lads could look at the show to see what the lads are doing right/wrong. Instead, no, they just write it off as "Irish girls are ***** and should drop their standards because high standards are why lads go off killing themselves"

Look at the lads on the show here for example:

Rugger Bugger - Sharp dress sense. Didn't seem to care if the girls turned off their lights or not...so he didn't come across as needy or desperate. You got the impression that he'd do alright regardless of the show. Got a date.
    Fireman - Very comfortable in himself. Before they even knew he was a streaker with a 6-pack, he had the majority of lights still on. Relaxed, up for a laugh, the type of lad any lass would be happy to spend a 20-minute speed date with. Got a date.
    Ian (who I know, by the way) - Was in trouble the second he acted embarrassed about falling off the ramp. As a result, he looked clumsy and unsure of himself. If he'd have made a joke out of it, he'd have been fine and I guarantee the girls would've been more interested in the wrestler story. I used to be a pro-wrestler...women don't react like that when you tell them.
    Beckham Lad - Was doing great until he did the impression. That came off as try-hard and over-eager to impress. So the girls got nervous if he was all he was cracked up to be and turned off.
    Curly Sue - One girl summed it up when she said, "Nice guys finish last." The problem with so-called 'nice guys' is that they come off as lick arses who'll say/do anything to get what they want from girls...instead of showing their REAL personality. That's why girls are more inclined to go for so-called 'bad boys'...at least then they know what they're getting into.

I could just as easily stereotype and say that Eastern European girls I've known, and people here rave about, talk about their fellas in terms of what he buys them and how he can provide, instead of how he makes them feel and so on. But that'd be about as stereotypical and ridiculous as saying Irish girls are 'too fussy'.

(P.S: I should probably state my vested interest - I was on the show in Series 2. And, no, I can't tell you what happened in it...sorry)

Why are so many people from the show becoming members of boards to post on here and try to deflect the criticism, seems to me that the whole "we couldn't care less, we're only having a bit of craic" stuff is nonsense.

Don't go on a tv show if you are so hypersensitive that a few comments from strangers provokes your outrage.

Nobody is saying that girls should drop their standards or give a guy a chance who they don't fancy so your argument is fallacious

I think what a lot of people on here are saying is that the girls on the show don't seem very nice, attractive or intelligent and thus it is surprising that they reject a series of guys (to be fair some of the guys are oddballs too). To be fair it's in the nature of the show for the contestants to behave in asuperficial way but you'd have to question why people go on it and why they are chosen to go on it and no that "sure, it's a bit of craic" argument doesn't cover it.

Thus the conclusion is that nobody is saying that the gals whould go with a guy just to be nice, what we are saying is to be aware of your own "value" (for want of a better word)

If you are a hideous toad don't be expecting to kiss a prince anytime soon as you'll be waiting a while (although sometimes the guy will settle for a quick shag but no more than that)

Disclaimer: I'm not saying the gals on the show are hideous toads, I am using an extreme analogy to illustrate my point