Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Take Me Out - Irish Version [ATTN: Please read Mod Note in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭ithread

Sorry, I know this is slightly off topic but what is the name of the place they go on a date? shiftens??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,634 ✭✭✭✭Basq

ithread wrote: »
    Sorry, I know this is slightly off topic but what is the name of the place they go on a date? shiftens??
    Shifters..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭ithread

cheers! Poor Ian tho!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

ithread wrote: »

you realise its not a real place? they have a drink backstage in the helix bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Yillan

Loll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

just watching this now on TV3,

I feel sad for Mairead (i think it was her in the green dress) she left her light on for the first few fellas tonight and had her light turned off by both when it came to the whittling. She seems like a nice girl, would have picked her if I was on the show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,528 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

I'm just after watching that Nigel guy. WHAT was he thinking with that terrible David Beckham impression?! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,634 ✭✭✭✭Basq

I'm just after watching that Nigel guy. WHAT was he thinking with that terrible David Beckham impression?! :eek:
    Girlfriend went to college with that guy..

.. thought the Beckham impersonation was a big mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

in fairness its type thing all the guys would laugh at in the pub! Just poor judgement in using it to impress girls. That said other than that he seemed like a sound guy so surprising not one person least give him a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Elysium

Ah im just watching it myself here too!! Ah i have to say the david beckham impression did kill him!! nice guy tho! We all went out drinking after the show (girls and guys).. saw Nigel..ran over started huggin the head off him...turns out it was his twin :D

and mariead is hilarious..lovely lovely girl ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 nig09

Ok how much of the impression did you get to hear?!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nk0yEvmeWEs

But yes the English jersey was a big mistake haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 nig09

nig09 wrote: »
    Ok how much of the impression did you get to hear?!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nk0yEvmeWEs

But yes the English jersey was a big mistake haha

Apologies in advance for anyone who's offended by the video...

Girls especially!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 mynamesjay

Did anyone from Galway go on this? I feel under represented :( Not all the girls on it are being overly picky but most of them... irish women, can't live with them but can't live without them :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,782 ✭✭✭el diablo

df1985 wrote: »
    Hot knackers though, that blonde one from tallaght is unreal!
    Nackers are the country folk who tarmac driveways and fight at weddings. I haven't seen any pikeys on this show. You seem to be confused here..... :confused:

Orange pilled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Aldito

el diablo wrote: »
    Nackers are the country folk who tarmac driveways and fight at weddings. I haven't seen any pikeys on this show. You seem to be confused here..... :confused:

Nah stop trying to be a smartarse they're about 70% knackers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Elysium

mynamesjay wrote: »
    Did anyone from Galway go on this? I feel under represented :( Not all the girls on it are being overly picky but most of them... irish women, can't live with them but can't live without them :rolleyes:

Yep there was one! Eanna... He was one of the earlier episodes..he is the comedian that juggeled! He ot a date with Lorraine Kelly :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭CoDy1

Aldito wrote: »

Think the official term is 'Howiyas' ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Raekwon wrote: »
    Terrible example there caseyanne, Brand & Perry make good couple as neither of them are ugly and sure didn't the most popular girl on the show (Sinead) say that Russell Brand would be her ideal date?

And there we go with examples and differences in taste,I find him foul and ugly and would rather be a nun :D
    She said for a laugh.And you cant condemn people for bad company taste :p
    I would rather go on a date with bertie a hern :P

I was quite shocked when they cut off the guy with the curly hair.:confused: Now thats when i call them fussy :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

el diablo wrote: »

When people say knackers round where i come from theyre referring to skangers/scobes/howiyas whatever you want to call them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭johnr1

I thought our guy with the braces and pants only (stripper?) got his pick right up to where he decided to go on a date with Eleanor, shes pretty and seems fun but isnt Lorna just waaay hotter ? Seems to have a brain too or is that just me projecting :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Aldito

johnr1 wrote: »
    I thought our guy with the braces and pants only (stripper?) got his pick right up to where he decided to go on a date with Eleanor, shes pretty and seems fun but isnt Lorna just waaay hotter ? Seems to have a brain too or is that just me projecting :D

Yeah I was thinking that as well. Not only was Lorna way better looking than her, she also didn't act like a 10 y/o brat and didn't have a horrible culchee accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭adomino

donfers wrote: »
    No, but they should realise the greased-up stripper they are gagging for has got his pick of the supermodels and they'll remain forever alone while waiting for him to come along or they'll have to content themselves with the occassional grope at a hen night until maybe they get to 35 and are all bitter that matthew mcconaughy hasn't swept them off their feet and then before they get all dried up they take any old blathering idiot that comes along so they can have a kid before it's too late and bring up that kid in a nasty loveless marriage, yes I blame these girls for the breakdown of scoiety

The laws of the jungle state that people of similar levels of attractiveness usually end up together - the sooner the delusional ones amongst us realise that the better

this is correct. god help them. it can have severe negative effects on the 'not so tough' male, finding it more and more difficult to mate, and keep up with their unreal sensibility. a resulting factor on young male suicide in ireland. i'd also blame american media and its warped ideals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

adomino wrote: »
    this is correct. god help them. it can have severe negative effects on the 'not so tough' male, finding it more and more difficult to mate, and keep up with their unreal sensibility. a resulting factor on young male suicide in ireland. i'd also blame american media and its warped ideals.

That's actually quite interesting because I already mentioned something on this thread about the link between Irish women's attitudes and the high percentage of Irish male suicide. Of course it was fobbed off as you would expect:
    rebel10 wrote: »
    Don't think you can really connect Irelands male suicide rate with fussy Irish women.:rolleyes: C'mon.

I know one thing, if I became single tomorrow then I'd be out of here like a shot. Even Lativa is better then Ireland right now! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Think people are getting way ahead of themselves now connecting women being fussy and male suicide. This is a cheesy dating show after all. Are people suggesting that women should drop their standards or else men will kill themselves? Ridiculous.

I think people need to stop using this thread to project their own insecurities and just have a bit of chat and banter about the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭Schorpio

leggo wrote: »
    I think people need to stop using this thread to project their own insecurities and just have a bit of chat and banter about the show.

Definitely think the Irish girls are way quicker to hit their button than their English counterparts though. There were a few times last night where when Foley talked to some of the girls, they were 50/50 about whether to turn the light off or leave it on so they turned it off...they should be positive and leave it on! It's a cheesy dating show - just go for it for feck sake! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Phat Cat

leggo wrote: »
    Think people are getting way ahead of themselves now connecting women being fussy and male suicide. This is a cheesy dating show after all. Are people suggesting that women should drop their standards or else men will kill themselves? Ridiculous.

I don't think people are suggesting that women should drop their standards or men will kill themselves, I don't think that it is as straight forward as that and there are many different factors to be taken into consideration. But to totally dismiss the link between Irish male suicide and the negative effect Irish women have on their mental heath would be foolish and naive IMO and is typical of the Irish "sweep it under the carpet" mentality.

There is definitely a problem there and you only have to read After Hours to see the amount of "anti-Irish women" threads being started every other week. It's actually quite shocking if you think about it. Also most of the foreign guys that I have worked with have made negative comments about Irish women yet are only to happy to sing the praises of the women in their home country.

Anyway that is slightly off topic and probably deserves it's own thread because you could talk forever about it.

Back on topic..........3 blackouts, 1 rich guy gets a date and a 1 stripping fireman gets a date..............I didn't see that coming :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

That guy who did the David Beckham impression really shot himself in the foot!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Mervin J Minky

donfers wrote: »
    jesus i wouldn't mind all these blackouts if the women on the show were stunners but to be honest the average attractiveness rating of the girls is about 4/10.......it's like for a lot of them it's their one chance to go on a power trip and reject a guy, I'd also say unlike continental women very few of them strike me as being individuals and having the strength of character to make their own decisions for themselves, when one light goes a whole load follw, or if there's only a few light left, when one goes - all the rest follow, it really suggests a lack of personal fortitude and a follow the crowd mentality which is very unattractive in my view and a sign of deep insecurity

I would agree with this 100%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

STIG83 wrote: »
    That guy who did the David Beckham impression really shot himself in the foot!!

He was a right fool,he posts on here too.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=69384853&postcount=1722

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,782 ✭✭✭el diablo

Aldito wrote: »
    I'm not trying to be a smartarse but it must a a culchie thing, calling commom Dubs "nackers". I don't see any similarities between them and the real nackers. Nackers and culchies pretty much sound all the to same to me so maybe you can understand why I'm confused. :mad:

Orange pilled.