Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Medicine course thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭blubloblu

http://medicalindependent.ie/blog-post.aspx?title=end_of_an_era_at_tcd

http://medicalindependent.ie/page.aspx?title=new_closets_for_old_skeletons

I hope these articles will be of interest to the students who post here.
    I am sure the new anatomy lab will be a great resource to the incoming students but I can't help but lament the loss of the anatomy department I knew and loved as a first year.
    I'm sad to see it go too. I don't think there are any lecture amphitheatres like it in college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Kwekubo

A real shame, the anatomy department is probably the most enduring shared memory for every doctor that has passed through the medical school for sixty years. Change must always continue, though.

I wonder what will happen to the anatomical museum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭theowen

Who's gunna be the head of anatomy then? suspense.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭starry nights

theowen wrote: »
    Who's gunna be the head of anatomy then? suspense.jpg

I hope PT. He's a ledge plus he practically runs the place already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭Warrior011

I'm just wondering does anyone recommend any textbooks for third year? Or even know what subjects will be covered? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I hope PT. He's a ledge plus he practically runs the place already.

Yeah, PT got the head of department position. Fair play, he's great! :)

Larianne wrote: »
    Yeah, PT got the head of department position. Fair play, he's great! :)
    Was inevitable really. PG was my tutor, sad times. When would I find out who my new one is? Having PT would be immense.

Any advice for pharmacology if I decide to study it a bit early? Some direction would be awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭bythewoods

theowen wrote: »
    Any advice for pharmacology if I decide to study it a bit early? Some direction would be awesome.

My advice- don't study it early! WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT TO YOUR AUGUST?

DO: Go to all the lectures come term-time. Well... all of Michael Rohan's lectures anyway. We're talking old-skool style here, as all his notes are shown via projecter and are nowhere to be found online. Practice a bit of speed-writing perhaps.

There's really no point starting a subject without any direction. That's my advice anyway.

bythewoods wrote: »
    DO: Go to all the lectures come term-time. Well... all of Michael Rohan's lectures anyway. We're talking old-skool style here, as all his notes are shown via projecter and are nowhere to be found online. Practice a bit of speed-writing perhaps.
    Were you guys never forwarded the transcripts of his lectures by someone in the year above? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭bythewoods

Kwekubo wrote: »
    Were you guys never forwarded the transcripts of his lectures by someone in the year above? :(

I don't... think so! Well, we got all the Neuropharm ones which were great, but I'm pretty sure we didn't get any for his semester 1 stuff.

OHHH yeah, I forgot that, I was thinking of the neuropharm lectures.

My advice- don't study it early! WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT TO YOUR AUGUST?

There's really no point starting a subject without any direction. That's my advice anyway.
    I have this sneaking feeling if I don't start studying now I'll be behind everyone going for Schols and I'll fail and die...but yeah. I just want to get a plan together really. I get to use a laptop so speed writing ain't needed :P Get your point, I'm going to kill myself studying I may as well do nothing till term starts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

Dear Students,

On behalf of Professor Cassidy, Head of the Dept of Ophthalmology, I would like to inform you that you will not be permitted to take part in the Ophthalmology rotation in the academic year 2011-2012 unless you have an ophthalmoscope.

Is there a go-to diagnostic set? I'm thinking of how everyone in our class bought the same stethoscope last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

A Neurotic wrote: »
    Is there a go-to diagnostic set? I'm thinking of how everyone in our class bought the same stethoscope last year.

Take no heed of that email. I never bought one this year and got along grand. You only need one for your osce and I borrowed a diagnostic set from a friend. In a rush, I ended up putting the otoscope attachment on before my osce and ended up looking a right fool. There was plenty of ophthalmoscopes in the examining room so the examiner was sound about it and let me use one of them. Ended up missing out on winning an ophthalmoscope by one measly percent. Story of my life.

Also, the ophthalmology exam is crazy difficult. The MCQ's asked this year were ridiculous. Many diseases came up that most would have even heard of (tolosa hunt, crouzons, pseudo foster kennedy, weil marcheseni). "Rare syndromes" is what the paper should be renamed.
    Prof Cassidy recommended her own text and said that it was all you needed to know to do well. About 80% of the MCQ's were on topics not even mentioned in that book.
    I used "Kanski" throughout the year and I am seriously glad I did. It's a big old book, but If I had used her text alone I would be sitting a repeat in December.

Dont mean to scare you before you even start the year but its best that you know this. ENT is grand though as are LabMed and Pharm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

Cycling to SJH/Tallaght in the mornings, showering and changing there: feasible?

Also, are there lockers available?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

A Neurotic wrote: »
    Cycling to SJH/Tallaght in the mornings, showering and changing there: feasible?

Also, are there lockers available?

Lockers in the hospital? Yeah. Not sure of showers.

I actually wanted to ask the questions regarding lockers in the Health Science Centre. Is there any there?

There are showers in James's and Tallaght, and a locker room where you can leave stuff. Lockers in Tallaght are reallocated for each rotation. You can get a locker in James's for the year, but it's not really worth it for med students as you'll be in various different places (might suit you though Larianne).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Feu

yup locker room jdirectly adjacent the toilets just past the library. There are [ladies] showers in the large ground floor toilets, and also showers in the [ladies] toilets in the stone building where kylemore and common room are. I presume the men's mirror the facilities :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭YodaBoy

As an incoming first year, I have to pick an extra module afaik. This can be either something related to the course such as Biomedical Ethics or else a language. Any recommendations? What do most people do or is it a matter of personal preference?

YodaBoy wrote: »
    As an incoming first year, I have to pick an extra module afaik. This can be either something related to the course such as Biomedical Ethics or else a language. Any recommendations? What do most people do or is it a matter of personal preference?

Languages are a lot of work, be warned! I enjoyed Advocacy somewhat, but I wish there was a bigger choice of modules, akin to the UCD Horizons programme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭Psychedelia

i've never heard a good word about those language modules and they take two terms where as others only take one.

It's nice having an extra period free in one semester. you'll probably appreciate it more in semester two. But you'll get a talk about them when you start college at some point. they're not that important. but they vary GREATLY on their assessment so don't put too much extra work on yourself because Biochemistry anatomy and physiology will do just that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭AndrewJD

I did Biomedical Ethics in the first term. It was all about Death, but was actually pretty good fun. As far as I can tell, it was also by far the easiest. Both in number of tutorials and assessment (we had a debate at the end and wrote a haiku to pass the module). I'm sure most of them are good, so thats just one that would come recommended. You don't need to worry about that for a little while though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭caroline1111

Anyone know when we apply?

Assuming you're talking about the humanities modul, don't worry about it yet.

blubloblu wrote: »
    Languages are a lot of work, be warned! I enjoyed Advocacy somewhat, but I wish there was a bigger choice of modules, akin to the UCD Horizons programme.
    Advocay +1. I think it's the shortest SSM (4 weeks?), which is what you'll most care about after 5 hours of lectures on a Monday afternoon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭YodaBoy

blubloblu wrote: »
    So what actually is advocacy from a madical point of view? Sorry to sound ignorant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭!?!

DO NOT DO A LANGUAGE!!!

especially French!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 bamhaithliom

Also from an incoming first year, do we choose just one particular humanities module?

I was somewhat on the fence before reading this thread between a language or humanities module. I wasn't the biggest fan of languages in school but came to love Spanish by the end of the LC and was thinking of keeping it up, but perhaps I can return to it in time...

So what actually is advocacy from a madical point of view? Sorry to sound ignorant
    Advocating on behalf of patients. Also understanding the role of advocacy for patients, that is self advocacy. It's handy, as ye get to visit a drugs clinic and a special needs centre. Other groups just get lectures on death and give a presentation. Or spend 2 or 3 hours learning french EVERY wednesday evening, while everyone else has gone home.