Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCU Newcomers 10/11 - Introduce yourself!

• 18-08-2010 7:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭

With the results out today and the CAO offers Monday, a lot of you will be stumbling around this place for the first time in the next few weeks. So use this thread to introduce yourself a bit. What are you studying, where you're coming from etc, let us know here :)

Any of the current students can give a bitta info on courses the newbies are starting as well if they like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 [Diabolical]

I think everyone's a bit shy :p But I hope to start in a few weeks doing communications ( I've read A LOT of mixed reviews about here on boards but regardless)...

Although I'm getting the course with only 5 points to spare so if the points go up my dreams are dashed!!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Not me! I definitely got my course, accepted it a while ago. Round zero ftw!

My name is Craig, I enjoy long walks on the beach, fine chardonnays and flipping the pillow to the cold side in the mornings. Originally from Finglas but now trekking from Dublin 15.

I'll studying Biotechnology this September.

Yeah I don't get the whole round zero thing! I just know results out today and then offers monday ( even though I did my leaving cert last year and was in UCD for a year I still gotta wait for silly cao )...

Well I'm Sarah and I enjoy drinking copious amounts of whiskey, generally making a tit out of myself and college! ( if I get there .... :p)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Hey guys! Im Dave and I will (hopefully) be doing Law and Society this year. I got 460 so if the points go up past that I will be doing EPL and if the points go way up for that I will cry!

Im from Drogheda and will be commuting(noooo :( ) I also enjoy the finer things in life, such as sausages and wham bars.

Drogheda, we're neighbours then so! Kinda! Yeah I'll cry too if I don't get what I want! :(

EPL?

Ah cool, you are hardly commuting as well?

EPL?
    Economics, Politcs and Law

I think it would honestly kill my soul to commute! It's not so bad from drogheda I suppose! Although saying that, the whole house hunt is going very very badly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

hello eveyone :D god luv ye all because i'm comin up in september :pac:

enterprise computing so if anyone else is doing this course any info would be appreciated - i probably should have looked more carefully when picking courses but I think it's the one I want - hope so anyways or the auld lass will have a stick out ta batter me for wasting her good money for a year lol

anyways - hello everyone else and lets get ready for this almighty session next year :pac::pac:

I think it would honestly kill my soul to commute! It's not so bad from drogheda I suppose! Although saying that, the whole house hunt is going very very badly!
    At least you have the money to rent! I think I am too poor. I had planned to get a job and save over the summer, but there were none.

I will own my mates couches though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭theflash800

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    hello eveyone :D god luv ye all because i'm comin up in september :pac:

enterprise computing so if anyone else is doing this course any info would be appreciated - i probably should have looked more carefully when picking courses but I think it's the one I want - hope so anyways or the auld lass will have a stick out ta batter me for wasting her good money for a year lol

anyways - hello everyone else and lets get ready for this almighty session next year :pac::pac:

Aw welcome to the club. Im going into second year EC. Love the course, it's a great course from what i've experienced... DCU is a great college

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

We've got a Mussolini and a Slobodan Milosevic on our little forum now :pac:

Welcome new students!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭InkNut

Awh the 1st years:pac:

I remember saying this exact kinda stuff a year ago... Dying to see yous walking around looking lost ha.

Seriously though yous will love it, and my comrade above, Phasers, and myself are doing communications. So ask away if you have any questions. Preferably not to do with how many packets of noodles you can buy for a fiver for your weekly shopping(been there in 1st year)

Also, regarding the people coming from drogheda, its really not that far, i know people coming from drogheda who usually get there in 40 mins on the coach, quicker then me and im from Dublin:mad:

Enjoy 1st year...:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭cedomination

Should hopefully be doing Computer Applications, don't want to say for sure until monday though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭DC09

I'll hopefully be coming up in September to do European Business Transatlantic Studies:D

Should be good auld craic:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Slobodan Milosevic

phasers wrote: »
    We've got a Mussolini and a Slobodan Milosevic on our little forum now :pac:

Welcome new students!

We also had a "Josef(f) Fritzel" once upon a time.
    Its all kicking off here on DCU boards !

Can't wait for freshers week ta see what the talant was like this year for the leaving cert ;)

If anyone needs any advice about DCU issues, drop me a PM. I am DCU basically, I know everything, I am the one and only.

SLOBO
    xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Noodleworm

Wow, I remember having our new first year thread last Year, we even set up a chatroom and then had a meet up during orientation Week.

btw, I'm just finished 1st year multimedia, and will answer any queries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭ldxo15wus6fpgm

Hello everyone, I'm Matthew and like Mussolini I hope to get into law and society or EPL. Please god. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭Enid.

Hi! I'm Valerie, and if all goes to plan I should studying Journalism. Fingers crossed.

I like musicals, books and dancing like a loon. Hopefully I will find some like-minded folks at DCU. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Benny Lava

We also had a "Josef(f) Fritzel" once upon a time.

Whatever about naming yourself after a dictator, you'd want to be some creep to name yourself after that particular man.

Anyway, I better keep it on topic or I'll get another warning from Waterford.

Welcome first years. You'll know very soon if you've made the right choice or the complete wrong one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

Incoming students in Science (apart from Physics students), if you haven't done Chemistry before you're in for a fun year.

Also, incoming Science Education students, you'd want to hope that you can handle Leaving Cert Honours Maths.

Welcome all, nonetheless. You'll have fun this year. I did. Me and Slobo go back a looooong way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭DC09

Whats the story with the student bar? I heard a lot of mixed stuff...

Any good for a pissup?;)

DC09 wrote: »
    Whats the story with the student bar? I heard a lot of mixed stuff...

Any good for a pissup?;)

For the first couple of weeks you'll have the Orientation Ball and the Fresher's Ball in there (and the whole of The Hub, more than likely). The prices last year were very good but it's likely to rise this year because the accounts weren't too good.

After the first couple of weeks it won't be as hectic (barring nights like Christmas Ball, RAG Ball etc). There are nights where it'll be packed but there will also be nights where you'll be the only one there. On match nights there's usually a decent crowd there too.

They do food there too, fuggin' savage food. It's a bit pricey but it's so much nicer than the food in the restaurant, imo. Never gotten a bad meal from the bar.

I like the nuBar personally, when there's enough there it's good craic and a good atmosphere. The lads that worked there last year were sound and the food was top notch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭MightyMighty737

andyman wrote: »
    For the first couple of weeks you'll have the Orientation Ball and the Fresher's Ball in there (and the whole of The Hub, more than likely). The prices last year were very good but it's likely to rise this year because the accounts weren't too good.

After the first couple of weeks it won't be as hectic (barring nights like Christmas Ball, RAG Ball etc). There are nights where it'll be packed but there will also be nights where you'll be the only one there. On match nights there's usually a decent crowd there too.

They do food there too, fuggin' savage food. It's a bit pricey but it's so much nicer than the food in the restaurant, imo. Never gotten a bad meal from the bar.

I like the nuBar personally, when there's enough there it's good craic and a good atmosphere. The lads that worked there last year were sound and the food was top notch.

Orientation Ball was in the Helix last year. Great spot for the evnts too. Waaay better than the other balls that were done in the Hub.

As for the bar, I like it. Good spot for a few drinks, especially during the day. +1 on the food and staff too. Very well run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Louthdrog

Incoming students in Science (apart from Physics students), if you haven't done Chemistry before you're in for a fun year.

Also, incoming Science Education students, you'd want to hope that you can handle Leaving Cert Honours Maths.
    If you havnt done biology or chem you will need to do a lot of work. Physics in first year is stupidly easy.
    Maths is not too nice at all. I went in on the back of an A1 in ordinary maths. Failed Ca badly but worked hard and scraped my 40. Lots of maths help in the college too, so if your going to be a new Se, dont be too worried. Its a great course!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭TheChrisD

Should hopefully be doing Computer Applications, don't want to say for sure until monday though :)

Welcome to hell.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

I'll probably a first year again. For the third year in a row. :pac:

Louthdrog wrote: »
    If you havnt done biology or chem you will need to do a lot of work. Physics in first year is stupidly easy.
    Maths is not too nice at all. I went in on the back of an A1 in ordinary maths. Failed Ca badly but worked hard and scraped my 40. Lots of maths help in the college too, so if your going to be a new Se, dont be too worried. Its a great course!!

Bar those in Applied Physics, Physics with Astronomy and Physics with Biomedical Sciences, they do different physics.

All the other Science subjects though (bar PE and Biology and Science Education(to an extent, different Maths module)) do all the same modules.

Orientation Ball was in the Helix last year. Great spot for the evnts too. Waaay better than the other balls that were done in the Hub.

As for the bar, I like it. Good spot for a few drinks, especially during the day. +1 on the food and staff too. Very well run.

Was that not because it wasn't confirmed that the bar was open, though?

Ah a few of communication people! I've heard a lot of good and bad things about it but I choose to listen to the good things! If the points don't go up I have it but if not I'm friggered :(. But I'll take advantage of the opportunity to ask things anyway :o Is there much journalism and writing in the course? And did you find it hard to meet people in the course or are the classes small enough to meet people easily. I'll be a big fat loner otherwise :P

There are nights where it'll be packed but there will also be nights where you'll be the only one there.

The strange thing is, it only empties when you arrive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Slobodan Milosevic

QUOTE]

So "andyman" if that is your real name, how many meals would you say you ate in the bar?
    Also have you ever ate in the restuarant?

Didn't you just live of the vending machines ??

SLOBO
    xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

I'm a broken down Masters student who has just handed in his thesis. Once a fresh faced, promising sportsman I and my colleagues are now haggard, tired and have an addiction to alcohol, facebook and daytime tv after five years of University living.

Enjoy yourselves, and by that I mean don't go to all your lectures but don't take the complete piss either. Go to half of them and you should do fine in first year anyway, depending on what you are studying. Just get the notes and knuckle down for the month before exams.

Choose going on roadtrips. Choose rolling up at the UCC, NUIG and Sligo IT Rag Weeks. Choose one night stands, f**k buddies, house parties and bringing naggins into Coppers. Choose going online some Tuesday night and booking flights to Bratislava for the following morning. All because you can!

If it weren't for my pesky job I'd go back and do another degree just to do first year all over again! Good times...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Feeky Magee

I'm Seán and I'll be in journalism, unless the points go up by 70+, in which case I'll be in a funeral home. Friends of mine will tell you of their lack of existence. I don't know what the ringtone on my phone is and I fell down the stairs 20 minutes ago.

Hi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,264 ✭✭✭JBoyle4eva

Hey guys, name's James and I'm going to be studying for a Masters in International Communications :D

I didn't really want to make a thread for it but, what's the difference between a lecture and a tutorial?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Noodleworm

depends on the class, but mostly its like this..
    • Lecture: often in a big room, just listen to lecturer talk and/or present a powerpoint. Take notes. Little discussion or questions.
    • Tutorial: smaller groups, a lecturer will teach you how to do something and you will spend time actually doing it, following instructions.

This can very from class to class. I had a lot of "Seminars" that were essentially tutorials. It depends what the subject is. In a tutorial you might be at a computer or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭nehpets5555

Multimedia FTW :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭JayEnnis

I'm Jason and most likely I'll be studying Biotechnology.

Done Biology and Chemistry so I should have the basics of it anyway. Can anyone give me some insight on this?

JayEnnis wrote: »
    I'm Jason and most likely I'll be studying Biotechnology.

Done Biology and Chemistry so I should have the basics of it anyway. Can anyone give me some insight on this?

Can't give an insight but just curious that you might be from Ennis maybe?

Benny Lava wrote: »
    Can't give an insight but just curious that you might be from Ennis maybe?

Nope, Dublin originally but I live in Enniscorthy now its like a sick joke!

Ennis is my surname.

JayEnnis wrote: »
    Nope, Dublin originally but I live in Enniscorthy now its like a sick joke!

Ennis is my surname.

See you there, doing biotech as well.

Nice to be meeting people already! 2 and a half hours till I find out for sure though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 foFox

"Your acceptance of course DC121 has been received."

So now theres no coming back... :D. My name is Robert and I`ll be on the computer applications.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 DDA Donn

My name shouldn't be too hard to guess, I just got accepted into Applied Physics :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭cedomination

foFox wrote: »
    "Your acceptance of course DC121 has been received."

So now theres no coming back... :D. My name is Robert and I`ll be on the computer applications.

My name is Craig and I'll be on computer applications :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 swadgirl

Science education :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 PowerTaxi

Hi, my name is Evan and I'm an alco....going to do Computer Applications.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Doing Accounting and Finance, really want to do Actuarial Maths but stupid me didn't put it on my CAO.