Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mad replacement words

124»

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭raveni

Hambag instead of handbag
    Axe instead of ask

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Wolf Club

A typical one down the west is 'hang sangwidge' for ham sandwich.

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭Dr. Feelgood

everyone makes McSteaks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭belongtojazz

I hate when people use the word "brought" instead of "bought" this was really common where I lived in the UK, used to make me cringe :o

• Registered Users Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

I think politicians, and sports stars (especially GAA sportsmen, right after an exciting game) are the worst offenders. They know what the sentence is, but it comes out arseways.
    I always remember Bertie Ahern saying that he 'wouldn't like to upset the apple tart'.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

The worst one I ever saw was some tit on a Horse Racing forum analysing a race, making a selection and then said that another horse might be "the spanner in the ointment!"

He was some tool himself!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

Play it by 'year' - its actually play it by 'ear'

I doubt a lot of people know this..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

Also 'Samwidges' instead of 'Sandwiches'

• Registered Users Posts: 643 ✭✭✭kagni

One that really annoys me is when someone says "top draw" instead of "top drawer".

• Registered Users Posts: 361 ✭✭silverspoon

These are typed ones I've seen...

"Here, here", when what they mean is "hear, hear".

"Wallah", when what they mean is "voila".

Another one of those is 'chow' instead of ciao...

Also, the word 'undoubtably' instead of 'undoubtedly'. Though in fairness, 'undoubtably' doesn't sound particularly wrong, except for the pretty glaring fact that it is.

People need to be escorted forcibly from the word 'penultimate' also. "That was, like, the penultimate sandwich!" Oh? Is it? When's the final one coming then?

My cousin thinks that he's 'not the sharpest pencil in the toolbox'.

He's not wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Dj Stiggie

A girl said to me yesterday, 'Right I'll go to Maynooth while you hold the fork!'

• Registered Users Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

I say tomayto, you say tomahto.
    I say potayto you, say potahtoh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭wireless101

My brother once said: "No point in beating around the bandwagon." :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

My neighbour's husband used regularly take the computer flight between Dublin and Cork. The same woman never liked to cast nasturtiums on anyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

He's not wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Gang of Gin

mathepac wrote: »
    Cloak and dagger - spies, double-dealing, subterfuge, nefarious deeds, that sort of stuff.

Upset the apple tart (should be apple cart)
    Wet my appetite (should be "whet" or sharpen my appetite)
    I should of, a firm favourite on boards.ie (I should have)

Honcho is from the Japanese han = head + cho = team, giving team head or leader

(sorry some replied to already - web connection is like treacle today)

Ahh, you beat me to it! Was gonna reference Boards too.
    Hostipal - probably something a child would say but I've heard it from adults.
    Some idiot I had the misfortune of being in his company referred to the Kray brothers as the 'Craze' Brothers.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

face1990 wrote: »
    Or viola instead of voila.
    When I was much, much younger I always confused those too. I remember reading something where the author said something about going to the zoo "... and voila!"; I always wondered why he was suddenly talking about violins. I used to say 'pictureskew' instead of 'picturesque' because I'd only ever seen it written down.

Ah, the stupidity of youth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Gang of Gin

Another one of those is 'chow' instead of ciao...

Also, the word 'undoubtably' instead of 'undoubtedly'. Though in fairness, 'undoubtably' doesn't sound particularly wrong, except for the pretty glaring fact that it is.

People need to be escorted forcibly from the word 'penultimate' also. "That was, like, the penultimate sandwich!" Oh? Is it? When's the final one coming then?

He's not wrong.

Indubitably:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 506 ✭✭✭McConkey

taking to something like a fish to water :)

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭anndub

Dean09 wrote: »
    Well theres a song that I always sing and dunno the words, ye know the one

"my love has got no money, he's got his trombeleeze..."

WTF is a trombeleeze???!!!!!!:confused:

Strong beliefs. Dunno why Im admitting to knowing that

• Registered Users Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

I love this thread. It's nice to know that so many other people are as petty and pedantic as I am about these things.

One of my favourite things to do is, while having a row with someone, correct them on all these mistakes. Rage ensues. From them. I just laugh, safe in the knowledge that if they wrote this sentence, rage would have issued.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,239 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

These are typed ones I've seen...

"Here, here", when what they mean is "hear, hear".

"Wallah", when what they mean is "voila".

I've also seen something like "what does this mean in Lehman's terms?" (layman's terms)
    enda1 wrote: »
    No problem with the double negatives for me.
    At least English is logical in that sense. Two negatives make a positive as confusing as it may be to remember how many negatives are in a sentence and therefore the message.

I couldn't fail to disagree with you less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

These threads are the vein of my existence! :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭Ramza

For all intensive purposes

• Registered Users Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭up for anything

Chimley or chimbley. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAArrrrrrrrrrrrrghhhhh :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,509 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

It doesn't really bother me words not being said or written correctly. Language forever evolves over time and if certain ways of saying things become widespread and popular enough then they enter the language.