Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Miss Piggys Battle for the Big Plates

• Registered Users Posts: 12,153 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Why do you lift so heavy in your warm-up sets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Will Heffernan

How's the little bit of mobility stuff working out for you?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭gymfreak

Sangre wrote: »
    Why do you lift so heavy in your warm-up sets?
    Sorry, meant to wb to your last post but got sidetracked. Yup, ya were right I was doing too many warm up sets I just never really noticed before. Have only been lifting for a few weeks now so not completely totally sure as to what I'm doing half the time.

The new plan is to only do 2 or 3 sets before my actually work sets so we'll see what difference it makes,.. hopefully:)
    How's the little bit of mobility stuff working out for you?
    The little bit of mobility stuff is working out just fine:)

To be honest i think I should be getting a gold star or something for it seeing as I attempt a bit most days. I think I'm getting better at most of it..I can even nearly do the over and unders without my hands on the ground! That has to be impressive:D

My hip is still making a horrible grinding noise when I rotate it though...probably why I dislike the hurdle steps...

Having absolutely no knee pain at all..and it is actually much more stable when I'm doing one leg squats and all that

And the stretches...well they're just a pain in the butt...literally:D

Wednesday 1st Sept
    Had a crappy toothache today that didnt surface until I was doing burpees in boxercise..as if it isnt bad enough doing burpees without it killing everytime ya jump..:( Tried to do some work after
    ass'd pullups 37.5kg 8,7,6,4........tooth was killing me so I gave up and went home:(

Thursday 2nd Sept

Bootcamp circuit 50 sec on 10 sec off, each exercise twice before moving on, completed 3 times
    reps
    rd1 rd2 rd3
    Burpees 13/11 12/10 11/8

mountain climbers 0/0 0/1 0/1
    (counted d times I stopped)

Prisoner squats 31/29 32/28 didnt get time

get up with 4kg 10/10 9/9 9/8

tricep dips legs on floor 37/30 38/31 didnt get time

run a length/sprint a length
    4mins core

This actually tired me out more than i thought, was trying to keep the effort constant/beat my previous reps.... it hurts being competitive!!
    Friday 3rd September
    Mobility stuff

leg sweeps 3 x 10
    leg swings 3 x 10
    over and unders 3 x 5
    hurdle steps 3 x 5

Squats
    Plan is to warm up by lifting 50%, 70%, 85% and then going for it...whatever it is:D
    wasnt arsed figuring out the maths...had left my brain in school so went for
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    50kg x 5

Was feeling good so went and got an instructor to spot me for my first bodyweight squat...55kg
    ....only problem was..she didnt spot me right:(..she was taking some of the weight off the bar..didnt feel like 55..probably wouldnt of been able for it anyway but wanted to know how it felt
    x5 (2sets)
    failed on 3rd set and she tried lifting d bar off me instead of actually 'spotting me':(
    left it at that and went at it alone for
    50kg x 5 (2sets)
    52.5kg x 5 (2sets)

BB Lunges
    30kg x 8 (3 sets)
    Should have upped the weight here:mad:

Lying leg curl with stability ball
    3 sets of 20

Push Press

20kg x 12
    tried breathing different on this, pausing at the top and getting my breath...worked a treat
    25kg x 9
    25kg x 10
    25kg x 9
    25kg x 8
    25kg x 8

DB seated powerclean

4kg x 13 (3 sets)

Inverted Row
    O/H 17, 16
    U/H 14,8

Spin Class-
    Max HR 192 (98%) Av HR 173 (88%)

Sunday 5th September
    Well, I must of done something right with the squats on Friday, cos my quads were killing me this morning..quick bit of foam rolling before I hit the gym.

Mobility Work
    Leg Sweeps 3 x 10
    Leg Swings 3 x 10
    Hamstring Walk
    Quad Walk

Over and Unders
    3 x 5
    Hurdle Steps 2 x 5
    both of these hurt, a lot more clicking then usual, hips felt really tight...I have been neglecting to stretch lately..so..probably my own fault.

Deadlift:
    40kg x 5
    50kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    75kg x 1 FAIL
    75kg x 1
    75kg x 1
    75kg x 1
    75kg x 1
    75kg x 1
    DEEELIGHTD with this effort
    70kg x 5 (3 sets) felt much easier after the 75kg

I figure that a 1.5 bw deadlift for me to be 82.5kg ..not that far to go...hopefully by halloween:)

DB Bulgarian split squat:
    12kg x 10 (2 sets)

Dips: [/B]
    Paralell bar- 7, 7, 6, 6
    Chuffed with these:D

Spin Class-didn't wear HR monitor cause i wanted to go easy

And then went and finished off the weights
    BB Romanian DL:
    30kg x 12 (2 sets) grip was fine cos of the rest in between this and d earlier stuff..can go heavier next time

Superset
    Pulldown: 37.5kg 3 x 10 ...grip was a bit better
    Face Pulls:37.5kg 3 x 15.

All in all, pretty damn chuffed!!!

Stretching
    Butterfly Stretch -euuuggghhl
    Single Leg Groin Stretch
    Seated Glute
    Lying Glute Stretch

• Registered Users Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭holdfast

excellent stuff, need to push myself as much as you do:o. keep it up

holdfast wrote: »
    excellent stuff, need to push myself as much as you do:o. keep it up

Thanks!!! In fairness, I've been browsing your log and there's some fair mamooth sessions over there:)

Monday 6th September
    Bootcamp circuit..didnt count reps..much of a muchness to the last one I did.

Tuesday 7th September
    Mobility stuff

leg sweeps 3 x 10
    leg swings 3 x 10

Squats
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    55kg x 5 (4sets):D BW SQUAT!!
    Granted the depth on all of them was not perfect but its getting there..knees were starting to move inwards at this weight so was concentrating on pushing them out

BB Lunges
    35kg x 8 (3 sets)
    Think i can up the weight here

1 set of 20
    2 sets of 10 with one leg in the air....was all over the place..literally

Push Press

20kg x 12
    25kg x 11
    25kg x 10
    25kg x 9
    25kg x 10
    25kg x 9
    Might up the weight next time

DB seated powerclean

5kg x 10 (3 sets)

Inverted Row
    was all over the place for this one...for some reason I get highly distracted for this one..gonna try 4 sets of 20 next time with as many breaks needed.

1 hour easy running with 12 100 yard sprints thrown in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

gymfreak wrote: »
    55kg x 5 (4sets):D BW SQUAT!!
    Granted the depth on all of them was not perfect but its getting there..knees were starting to move inwards at this weight so was concentrating on pushing them out

For 5 reps?!!! Fair fecking play!!:D:D

G86 wrote: »
    For 5 reps?!!! Fair fecking play!!:D:D

Yup! Was fairly pleased alright!! depth wasn't perfect on all..but i shall work on that.

Wednesday 8th September
    Still havent figured out a routine since starting back work...completely all over the place.

Boxercise Class

Thursday 9th of September.
    Had a day and a half at work today, so my head was all over the shop in the gym today. Didnt even finish strength session..will get it done tomorrow.

Deadlift
    40kg x 5
    50kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    75kg x 2, 1, 1, 1
    75kg x 2, 1, 1, 1 Just can't seem to hold onto the bar..keeps slipping from my hands.

Any suggestions? Or is it just a case of me getting used to it?

70kg x 5 (2sets)

Was taking off the plates after this and the guy in the squat rack beside me came over to help..after we took off the two 10kg I said 'ah sure its grand can finish it myself' and lifted it onto the squat rack.
    ....I was told that I shouldn't have lifted it as I would hurt my back..:rolleyes:...seriously?? What do ya think I'd been doing with the weights on it:rolleyes::rolleyes:?? brain was melted so didn't even bother say anything/laugh..

Skipped this..place was a mess. gonna do it tomorrow

Dips: [/B]
    Paralell bar- 7, 6, 7, 6

BB Romanian DL:
    35kg x 12 (2 sets) grip was grand-ish

Superset
    Pulldown: 37.5kg 3 x 10 ...grip much better
    Face Pulls:37.5kg 3 x 15. (skipped this..couldnt find the rope..yes..gym was a kip today)

Bootcamp circuit first two rounds 50 sec on 10 sec off, last round 30 on 10 off, each exercise twice before moving on, completed 3 times
    reps
    rd1 rd2 rd3
    Burpees 13/12 15/9 10/6

mountain climbers 0/0 0/0 0/0

Prisoner squats 32/30 35/33 25/30

get up with 4kg 11/11 10/10 6/6

tricep dips legs on floor 49/37 50/32

4mins core

• Registered Users Posts: 7,050 ✭✭✭COH

Just can't seem to hold onto the bar..keeps slipping from my hands.

Are you using a mixed grip? If not.. try it. Also, use chalk!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

75kg x 2, 1, 1, 1 Just can't seem to hold onto the bar..keeps slipping from my hands.

Are you using a mixed grip?
    Farmers walk is really good for sorting out grip strength.

+ Some serious workouts and numbers your logging here. Fair play.

COH wrote: »
    Are you using a mixed grip? If not.. try it. Also, use chalk!

Yup, was using a mixed grip...wasn't using chalk tho.
    After I do a rep or two..my fingers literally prise open from the bar...has me stumped:confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Chalk if you're not.

Kroc Rows are incredible too. Basically high rep dumbbell rows with a bit of body english to get thru the set.

Double overhand shrugs are the business and so are farmers walks.

Basically pick one, do it at the end of your deadlift workout, hammer it, and when you can progress no more pick a different one. I'd personally focus on kroc rows and farmers walks.

Yup, was using a mixed grip...wasn't using chalk tho.
    After I do a rep or two..my fingers literally prise open from the bar...has me stumped:confused:

Fairly simple really... your grip's not strong enough.

Hanley wrote: »
    Basically pick one, do it at the end of your deadlift workout, hammer it, and when you can progress no more pick a different one. I'd personally focus on kroc rows and farmers walks.
    Thanks for that! will give it a go
    Fairly simple really... your grip's not strong enough.
    Had a feeling it was dat stupidily simple :D...fairly annoying all the same :)

Friday 10th SeptemberAbsolutely shattered
    Just did a spin class

Saturday 11th September
    Mobility stuff
    leg sweeps 3 x 10
    leg swings 3 x 10

over and unders 3 x 5-yeh just realised today that i hadnt done these in a while, were near impossible to do
    hurdle steps 3 x 5
    hamstring walk
    quad walk

Squats
    25kg x 5
    35kg x 5
    45kg x5
    55kg x 5 (4sets)-strangely enuf, knees didnt turn in at all today and they were much easier.
    A guy offered to spot for me today,pretty sound..although he did say that I was going too low on my squats..and I thought I wasnt going low enuf:confused:
    I'll ask a few more opinions if anyone is around when I'm squatting next

BB Lunges
    40kg x 8 (3 sets)
    These were grand, can prob up the weight again here.

1 set of 20
    2 sets of 10 with one leg in the air

Push Press

Went to up the weight today but couldnt find the 1.25 plates so, just went with
    20kg x 12
    25kg x 12
    25kg x 12
    25kg x 11
    25kg x 11
    25kg x 12
    These felt fairly easy today.

DB seated powerclean

5kg x 10 (3 sets)

Inverted Row
    20 OH
    20 UH
    10 OH
    10 UH
    had to break up the reps on all sets:( just not good at these

Spin Class
    Max HR 185 (94%) Av HR 167 (85%)

9 Ass'd Pullups setting 37.5kg
    9 one legged burpees

9 Ass'd Pullups setting 37.5kg
    10 one leg pushups
    (hamstrings were too tired to do burpees here)

AND I even remembered to stretch after...something I've been neglecting d last week r 2

A guy offered to spot for me today,pretty sound..although he did say that I was going too low on my squats..and I thought I wasnt going low enuf:confused:

You can never go too low:D His ego prob just took a bashing when he realised his half squat wasn't cutting it against your ass to grass.

On a side note, do you actually LIKE spin? It's my worst nightmare...

Yeh I love it! Well, it depends on d instructor..one of them does lots of sprints, lots of heavy resistance and just shouts no matter how hard ya try...leaves me barely able to move for the day...so works for me:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Pavel66

Squats
    25kg x 5
    35kg x 5
    45kg x5
    55kg x 5 (4sets)-strangely enuf, knees didnt turn in at all today and they were much easier.

Just post a video and opinions won't matter :D

Well done on your progress so far

Squats
    25kg x 5
    35kg x 5
    45kg x5

Don't bother asking most people in a gym. Just wait til Saturday.

And whatever you do, if a guy's spotting you and tells you to sit back more into the squat, don't fall for it.

Don't bother asking most people in a gym. Just wait til Saturday.

Have to say drinks are looking far more appealing, then getting my ass handed to me on Sat..
    And whatever you do, if a guy's spotting you and tells you to sit back more into the squat, don't fall for it.
    :D:D

Have to say drinks are looking far more appealing, then getting my ass handed to me on Sat..

:D:D

Ya may as well just come along to the training sesh for an hour or something before heading off to get ready and whatnot. Get the intros out of the way, have experienced lifts help solve any prob ya have or anythin you're not sure of, and then go get pished afterwards too!

Sunday 12th September
    Wasn't gonna do anything today, but was up at the crack of dawn so decided to do a little

leg sweeps 3 x 10
    leg swings 3 x 10

over and unders 3 x 5-still not the may west
    hurdle steps 3 x 5

25kg Thruster
    Inverted rows

Was about 10mins, took way too many breaks,...and am fairly ****e at the inverted rows it has to be said..must work on that

Dips (8,9,8) fairly chuffed with the 9!
    10 one leg pushups

Headed into a spin class with the intention of taking it fairly easyMax Hr 202 (103%) Av HR 149 (76%)

Hydro Pool:)

Ya may as well just come along to the training sesh for an hour or something before heading off to get ready and whatnot. Get the intros out of the way, have experienced lifts help solve any prob ya have or anythin you're not sure of, and then go get pished afterwards too!

..i suppose ya have a point...

Monday 13th September
    Still havent figured out a plan-training wise/work wise..I'd say it'l take me another week or two to figure out what works.

Step class-just for the mess

Intervals of the x-trainer
    Havn't done intervals on my own on a machine in about 2months..always find if hard if I aint competing against someone.
    level 10
    30 sec hard/ 30 sec easy
    x4
    1 minute easy (
    the only thing that keeps me going..a sanity break)

x 4 cycles=20mins.
    ..by God it was painful...
    seriously regretted that mars bar I had before the gym
    Max HR 196 (100%) AV HR 179 (91%)

Tuesday 14th September

Deadlift:

40kg x 5
    55kg x 5
    65kg x 5
    80kg x 1 (had to go singles here)
    80kg x 1
    80kg x 1
    80kg x 1
    80kg x 1
    75kg was aiming for 2 sets of 5 but grip just wouldnt last so it ended up
    75kg x 3, 1, 1
    75kg x 2, 1, 1
    all in all..grip is pissing me off but..am only 2.5kg off a 1.5bw deadlift:D

14kg x 8 (3sets)
    Felt ridicously easy...strange:confused:

Dips:

9, 8, 7, 7

Pulldown: 37.5 3 x 10
    ..really need to increase the reps here

Face Pulls:37.5kg 3 x 15.

BB Romanian DL
    left this to the end to do to give my grip a bit of a rest..didnt work out
    40kg -only got 5 reps before grip failed
    35kg x 5- " "

needless to say I didn't do the kroc rows or farmers walk..because I couldn't..gonna have to do them on a day different to my deadlift day

Bootcamp circuit two rounds 50 sec on 10 sec off, each exercise twice before moving on
    reps
    rd1 rd2 rd3
    one leg deadlift 37/32 35/22

mountain climbers 0/0 0/0 0/0

Prisoner squats 29/28 26/25

get up with 4kg 12/11 12/13

tricep dips legs on chair 26/15 26/16

4mins core

Jeebus your workouts are blowin me outta the water lady!;) Well done on the DL!!!!!:D

I've a feeling it's going to come to a stall..fairly soon:( I'm gonna miss the newbie gains