Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First Year CS&IT 2010/2011

1235»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Quinn92

Any one have any directions to the tennis club for someone walking there to day? also does anyone know what happens if i fail maths tomorrow? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭ciano1

Quinn92 wrote: »
    Any one have any directions to the tennis club for someone walking there to day? also does anyone know what happens if i fail maths tomorrow? :(

Think the bus eireann busses to salthill stop close to it.. Thats what I heard and what I'm hoping anyway!

Maths is only worth 20% of our overall grade so I'm not too worried about it...
    And yes, I'm totally f*cked for it too! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭barry181091

Will the second semester ever start already !!

Yes i'm writing this at 6am, bored out of my mind waiting for college :D

Where are the feckin 2nd semester timetables already!!! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Foxx92

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭TheCosmicFrog

Oh boy, those Physics labs bring back memories...

Repressed miserable memories or happy fun memories? :p

ciano1 wrote: »

Its physics...there's no happy or fun memories with it...

ciano1 wrote: »

The above.

The above.

Damn straight...

lol, wait till' I talk to you in four months...i'll be a different man again :D

Now my fault with my teenage hormones :rolleyes:

Barry.

How drunk were ya when ya wrote that, Barry?? :p

Haha quite drunk actually :D When you have nothing better to do then go on Boards when you are drunk, you know it wasn't the best night :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 guitarman1

Thinking of this course for next year . Can you answer a couple of things for me ? What is the difficulty in the maths and is there a lot of it ? what standard of laptop would you need , I see one recommended on the nuig site ? How much would you have spent on books in first year and did you need new ones for 2nd year onwards ?
    Trying to work out how much I'd need starting off . Am undecided between corrib village and gort na coirbe ,Do you need the full years fee up front for both and is there really weekly checks on flats as it says on corrib's website .
    Seems a bit strict .

guitarman1 wrote: »
    What is the difficulty in the maths and is there a lot of it ?
    If you're doing honours for LC im sure pass maths in college will be easy enough (You can choose between honours and pass in college, makes no difference to your degree which ya choose so do pass)
    If not then its not too bad provided you actually go to the lectures and do a bit of study (Easier said that done tbh :p)
    Theres 4 maths lectures a week , 2 Algebra and 2 Calculus
    what standard of laptop would you need , I see one recommended on the nuig site ?
    Well technically you dont Need a laptop as you have access to the computer suites, theyre just handy to have for doing assignments at home.
    Any bog-standard laptop should do as long as it's not running Windows 95!
    The College ones are fairly overpriced!! The only benefit of those is the 4 year warranty and Engineering software (Which we probably will never use)

How much would you have spent on books in first year and did you need new ones for 2nd year onwards ?
    To date, I've spent a grand total of €1.20 on college books (Bought a refill pad in the SU shop) Most of the notes are posted online on Blackboard or on the lecturers personal site.
    Most lecturers mention some 'Recommended reading'. These are not essential (For first year at least). Most of them can probably be found in the library

. Am undecided between corrib village and gort na coirbe ,Do you need the full years fee up front for both and is there really weekly checks on flats as it says on corrib's website .
    Seems a bit strict .

Heres a thread on accommodation
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056106318

AFAIK there are weekly checks on flats in Corrib. I had only one inspection so far in Gort since I moved in.

In Gort, you pay for the accommodation in 2 installments, one in August and one in December.
    Corrib Village used to be the same but there was uproar this year when they announced that they wanted the FULL amount within 3 days of the CAO offers! http://sin.ie/site/view/1093/

thanks ciano1 for such a detailed reply .

What is the difficulty in the maths and is there a lot of it ?

Two levels, pass and honours. As Cian said, it makes no difference to your degree which level you choose, so go with pass.
    what standard of laptop would you need , I see one recommended on the nuig site ?

Not necessary to have one, but convenient. Stay a million miles away from the college "recommended" one. It's far too expensive and all the software that comes with it you can download for free as a student anyway - bet they don't mention that anywhere.

If you're getting one, stick with a nicely priced Acer or if you want to be economical, go for a netbook.
    How much would you have spent on books in first year and did you need new ones for 2nd year onwards ?

Lol - IT books. But in all honesty, you won't spend a penny on books. You might buy one refill pad per module and a couple of pens, but besides that you're sound. If you really find the urge to read a book, you can get all of them on week loans from the library :)

If you have any other questions, fire them my way. I helped ciano with his questions last year - and he made it here safe and sound. Right Cian? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Foxx92

I helped ciano with his questions last year - and he made it here safe and sound.
    I wouldn't be saying that too loudly now! ;)

I helped ciano with his questions last year - and he made it here safe and sound. Right Cian? :pac:

I made it in one piece, that's good enought for me :D
    Foxx92 wrote: »

What's that supposed to mean, Mr. Foxx92?? :p

Foxx92 wrote: »

Lolwut? :confused:

Yeah, what :confused: ?

What's the story with assignments and tests . I see there's xmas exams . what % do you need to pass and to get through to second year ? Also how do ye find the difficulty of the subjects . Have any dropped out because it was too much for them????
    Am confident about getting the points but wouldn't be A material.
    Have to fill in the CAO soon. thanks :confused:

In year 3 there is work placement . Any chance you'd get paid for that seeing as it takes up the summer

What's the story with assignments and tests . I see there's xmas exams . what % do you need to pass and to get through to second year ? Also how do ye find the difficulty of the subjects . Have any dropped out because it was too much for them????
    Am confident about getting the points but wouldn't be A material.
    Have to fill in the CAO soon. thanks :confused:

You need 40% in all tests to pass them. Most people only care about passing exams in first-year, since your grades in first-year don't count towards your degree. Xmas exams are only in Maths and Electronic Engineering. 40% is pretty easy to get in most subjects, especially since a good 20-25% of your grade for many subjects comes from assignments etc.

The subjects are all doable. I got a bit of help with the maths and physics, but that's never anything to be ashamed of. A lot of people get grinds in subjects they're not sure of. You shouldn't be worrying about failing exams at this stage!

Ah, a few people always drop out. Mostly because they don't like the course. I've never heard of someone dropping out because it was "too hard". As difficult as it may be to believe, if you really like your course (and even the friends you make in it) then you'll find yourself working hard for your exams.
    guitarman1 wrote:
    In year 3 there is work placement . Any chance you'd get paid for that seeing as it takes up the summer

Of course you do, 'twould be illegal otherwise :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Quinn92

So our time table seems to just as-well organized as last semester! :p Any know where we are supposed to go for pass algebra tomorrow? and where exactly is the I.T department notice board with our exam results?

No idea.. We wandered around for a while but gave up on finding it eventually! :p
    The EEE results are on a notice board in the top floor of the IT building

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Fisher Calhoun

Top floor of the IT building is the departmental notice board. It's immediately opposite you when you get to the top floor through the main stairs. Don't expect them all to be up yet, though, it normally takes a few weeks to get them all together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 barry9100

Not sure if this is the right thread to be asking this in but its the only IT thread I can find. Anyways I was just wondering does everyone who studies IT have the right to request past FYP reports. Or are these confidential? Or only available to final year students?

barry9100 wrote: »
    Not sure if this is the right thread to be asking this in but its the only IT thread I can find. Anyways I was just wondering does everyone who studies IT have the right to request past FYP reports. Or are these confidential? Or only available to final year students?

After many confused seconds, I finally deduced that FYP = Final Year Project

No idea, good question though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Fisher Calhoun

After many confused seconds, I finally deduced that FYP = Final Year Project

No idea, good question though.
    Ask the IT department directly. Email Tina Earls or Phil Keys about it. They'll give you the answer fairly quickly I imagine: http://www.it.nuigalway.ie/people.html