Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First Year CS&IT 2010/2011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭TheCosmicFrog

:0 seriously? we def dont have to do both?! if what your sayings right i get a 12 oclock start er' monday!

Yup, just the one. You'll only ever have one lab per module a week.
    Anyone know the whereabouts of a map of the IT building?

Otherwise I'll be the lost one wandering around in the morning

Go into the Concourse and walk down until you see the blue double-doors. There'll be a grey sign next to it saying "Department of Information Technology". Walk all the way down and cross the glass bridge. You're now in the IT Building :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

Anyone know the whereabouts of a map of the IT building?

Otherwise I'll be the lost one wandering around in the morning:rolleyes:

http://www.nuigalway.ie/campus_map/

Select 'Buildings' in the first drop down box and IT in the second one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭yomamasflavour

http://www.nuigalway.ie/campus_map/

Select 'Buildings' in the first drop down box and IT in the second one.

Go into the Concourse and walk down until you see the blue double-doors. There'll be a grey sign next to it saying "Department of Information Technology". Walk all the way down and cross the glass bridge. You're now in the IT Building :)

Cheers lads for the info, though i had a look at the campus map earlier and it didn't seem to show anything other than where the building is.

I thought there would have been a more detailed map showing where each room or lab (e.g. IT 125, or IT 304) is located in the building.

Hopefully I'll find them easily enough.

Cheers lads for the info, though i had a look at the campus map earlier and it didn't seem to show anything other than where the building is.

I thought there would have been a more detailed map showing where each room or lab (e.g. IT 125, or IT 304) is located in the building.

Oh, I see. I thought you wanted to know where the IT building is.

IT125 is on the 1st floor. IT304 is on the next floor up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭yomamasflavour

Oh, I see. I thought you wanted to know where the IT building is.

IT125 is on the 1st floor. IT304 is on the next floor up.

Thanks, So I assume the rest of the IT labs and lectures are in the same building?

For the IT subjects, they are.

Maths/physics/electronic engineering etc will be elsewhere.

Haha, it's a small enough building don't worry. There's only three lecture halls: IT125, IT250 (both on the second floor) and IT125G on the ground floor.

The rest are just classrooms e.g. IT201, IT202, IT203, IT204 etc., with all the IT2xx rooms on the second floor.

The first floor is just labs: IT101, IT101A (Next Generation Technologies lab) and IT102.

IT304 is on the third floor, but it's mostly Postgrad offices.

Physics Labs will be in the Physics Department (green doors on the Concourse). No Maths labs, just Tutorials. There's no Electronic Engineering labs. That thing on your timetable that says "Eng." is actually just a Programming Lab with the Engineering students. The "OM" means Owen Molloy, your Programming lecturer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭Eamonn Brophy

Hello everyone, I'm a repeat first year so shall also be among you!

First time logging in here since seeing if there were any threads about it last year :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭barry181091

55 in our course and . . .* drum roll* . . 5 are women ! :D Very little privacy though as you can see everyones name :D

All thanks to Foxx92 for showing me how blackboard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭ru437z9t8fidq2

55 in our course and . . .* drum roll* . . 5 are women ! :D Very little privacy though as you can see everyones name :D

All thanks to Foxx92 for showing me how blackboard.

Hey how dya find that? looking around it but dont see anything bout that?:confused:
    5 is actually 5 more than expected imo ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭ciano1

Log into Blackboard.. Go to 'send email' and then click on 'select users' and a list of everyone in the course comes up

So are you guys going into the Saturday orientation thing? Dunno if I'm bothered...

ciano1 wrote: »
    Log into Blackboard.. Go to 'send email' and then click on 'select users' and a list of everyone in the course comes up

yeah fox92 showed me...
    thanks...mr hynes?..

So are you guys going into the Saturday orientation thing? Dunno if I'm bothered...

Might as well go... I actually have NOTHING better to do saturday!
    Though that might change if I decide to head out friday night! :p
    yeah fox92 showed me...
    thanks...mr hynes?..

Nope.. next Cian down ;)

cant actually go but no big loss i spose.

Nope.. next Cian down ;)

ah i see...

Spend the day under your duvet moaning instead :D

cant actually go but no big loss i spose.

All they do is kinda say welcome to the college, and you get a tour from students. that's about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭barry181091

Suppose this is a good place as any to get people.

Mad 'Get to know Eachother' CS&IT night on Saturday night !!!

Cian and Eamonn are already provisionally up for it, looking for more IT people.

College bar to start, then many clubs will be frequented hopefully, much drink will be..well drank and we can get to know one and other !

If I come up to you during Orientation asking if you're coming out Saturday night don't be freaked out :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭pphheerroonn

Going with the official word: "Orientation is mandatory" lads! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 riffmonster

Suppose this is a good place as any to get people.

Mad 'Get to know Eachother' CS&IT night on Saturday night !!!

Cian and Eamonn are already provisionally up for it, looking for more IT people.

College bar to start, then many clubs will be frequented hopefully, much drink will be..well drank and we can get to know one and other !

If I come up to you during Orientation asking if you're coming out Saturday night don't be freaked out :p

Count me in man, be good to meet a few people on the course and I am always up for a hard session on the beer hehe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Foxx92

Count me in too. Have little or no way of getting internet until sunday so i'll count on someone telling me whats happening on sat night during orientation

Elect someone to actually stand up after the orientation and break the ice.

That didn't happen at all haha :p

Seemed grand :) Counted 3 women in the whole place lol
    That Michael Madden seems like one of the most enthusiastic people i've ever come across!

I was the guy sitting near the middle who shouted Tipp when he asked where we were from..

When the 3 roscommon lads put up their hands, I said something like ''Jaysus, looks like we've half the population of the county here'' haha

Sorry that i didnt get to meet any of ye... didnt want to go up to any randomers thinking i knew them. Still up for beers tonight anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

That Michael Madden seems like one of the most enthusiastic people i've ever come across!

Michael is a legend alright!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 riffmonster

Foxx92 wrote: »
    Sorry that i didnt get to meet any of ye... didnt want to go up to any randomers thinking i knew them. Still up for beers tonight anyone?

Im up for it anway...have to make other plans if it's not happening tho as have thirst and a half on me. Can one of the guys who seem to know each other (cian/barry/eamonn) give us a location or something to meet up if your still on for it, cheers.

Same, need to know wheather or not to go elseehere soon enough

Foxx92 wrote: »
    Same, need to know wheather or not to go elseehere soon enough

College bar seems to be the best place anyway!

Kinda half promised some people id go out with them too though...Whether or not that'll happen I don't know though.. I'll make it to the college bar with ye either way for a while at least :)

Should decide on it soon enough. Ill pm you my mobile cian, cause i wont hwve internet after this.