Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Bikers, and why they die.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,194 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

CaraFawn wrote: »
    Bikers are supposed to drive like cars and not swing between cars.

I agree that car drivers should know how to drive with bikes around, but then when you got bikers overtaking you doing 80-100 km/h coming from nowhere in the city center like I see every single day in Phoenix Park and other roads close by, they have no excuse.

A sad way to die

What??

If you're referring to bikes filtering that is 100% legal :)

And bikes don't come from nowhere, you weren't paying enough attention to see where said bike did come from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

dunsandin wrote: »
    Nice, mine was the bluey!!! Do miss it, but but dont miss the near misses!

The Bluey is the short stroke model, just after the H slab side. crude and snappy but rides like a stroker with a power band. :) (LC days)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭dunsandin

KamiKazi wrote: »
    What??

If you're referring to bikes filtering that is 100% legal :)

And bikes don't come from nowhere, you don't weren't paying enough attention to see where said bike did come from.

Ok, but we all know where the biker who gets hit is going. Who cares what party is at fault? The outcome remains the same - biker gets a spin on 4 wheels, lying down.

chughes wrote: »
    In fact, I'm sorry it didn't cover more stuff like showing videos of the result of motorbike accidents.

Yea because those shock horror videos shown by the RSA have worked so well :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

What? Don't want to face reality? How is it offensive? Explain please. Just as an aside, a flid in a starlet turbo head-on'd my sisters car last year leaving her disabled, so cars are not immune, but thats one person. I can bore you with my list of broke up and dead close friend bikers.
    You told us all about this idiot who could have got himself killed, fair enough, and I'm sure there are plenty more like him. But to couple that story with the thread title you have is what pissed me off. I've lost people close to me on the roads, at this stage most people have, but I take offence at you implying that it was their fault because they chose to ride bikes.

You keep asking us are we aware of the danger and why we bother but as a car driver you are actually more likely to be killed. Everybody knows and accepts the risks of using public roads no matter what kind of vehicle they are in/on, it just so happens that bikers are always the easy target.

Can't agree that most bikers are safe. They are just lucky, for now. Safe or not, if a fool in a car, or even a piece of stone is in the wrong place, you are going down. I realise bikers love their rides, but, man, its a hiding to nothing.

You sir are the epitome of what we call a cager.

The Bluey is the short stroke model, just after the H slab side. crude and snappy but rides like a stroker with a power band. :) (LC days)

Ha, I spent so much tuning that bike it was unreal! If it moved, mod it. If it could be ported, pared or power stroked, I did it! Many a happy sunday blast. Always realised wipe out was one false move away, still drive fast, but safe, know my limits and my machines capabilities, a lot dont.

You sir are the epitome of what we call a cager.

And, more to the point, you sir are what the A&E call an "organ donor":D

Ha, I spent so much tuning that bike it was unreal! If it moved, mod it. If it could be ported, pared or power stroked, I did it! Many a happy sunday blast. Always realised wipe out was one false move away, still drive fast, but safe, know my limits and my machines capabilities, a lot dont.

Want a job?

Its sick ATM pm me :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Bit uncalled for yet again...and I was just beginning to think you were allright;)

TJJP wrote: »
    Eh - no it isn't. Each to their own car or bike. How can any of us pre-read the actions of a RD350 at full tilt? Three C's care, courtesy and consideration. None of that was evident in the OP's recitation of their experience.

There are very few roads in Ireland that can take an RD350 on full tilt that don't have an M in their name :)
    TJJP wrote: »
    I'm afraid you can, certainly these days. Try the N4 for a 'laugh'.... I’ve never seen anything like it from South Circular to Maynooth. Lunatics. Maybe that’s where OP is coming from?

I'll be back commuting down the N4 in two weeks. Yea I realise that being stuck in your cage in traffic sucks (one of the reasons I got a bike) but please don't despise bikers just because they're able to zoom by you as you sit in traffic on a daily basis.

Want a job?

Its sick ATM pm me :)

Hah, Gods tellin ya somthin!!!:):D

AgileMyth wrote: »
    Bit uncalled for yet again...and I was just beginning to think you were allright;)

Not my quote, my mate works in tullamore ae, he told me thats what they call bikers!:D

Hah, Gods tellin ya somthin!!!:):D
    Cam chains a bit noisy, other than that it moves. It has vacuum as opposed to slab sided.

There are very few roads in Ireland that can take an RD350 on full tilt that don't have an M in their name :)

I'll be back commuting down the N4 in two weeks. Yea I realise that being stuck in your cage in traffic sucks (one of the reasons I got a bike) but please don't despise bikers just because they're able to zoom by you as you sit in traffic on a daily basis.

Could release a lot of cuss on this, but you seem sound, so will pass!!:D

Yeah it is. Sorry, but chances are, it is. Its transport, the image is a marlboro man thing, but at the end of the day, its transport. I smoke, you ride a bike, same difference. I crashed 10 years ago, so theres no rant left.

Boo fvcking hoo.

Most of us that come off do so because of blinkered cagers like yourself (it's pretty amazing how much of a cager you are, if your story of being on a bike earlier is actually true), even then we get back on unless we're not able to.

All part and parcel of being on two wheels, maybe we can arrange for you to get some bigger balls and you'll be able to enjoy two wheels again? :)

I went to eastern europe to see a pal, and he collected me from the airport on a BMW 1000, and I sat on the pillion for a week, and marvelled at how he was still alive. Mostly, the car drivers around us were in the wrong, but he was the one gonna be in the hospital.

You don't think bikers know that they are gonna be worse off in a crash? Grow up.

Cam chains a bit noisy, other than that it moves. It has vacuum as opposed to slab sided.
    Zuki -fast, furious, frustrating, Mine was a niggly beatch as well, I had a good mechanic in Paul Coyne, some will know him, some wont. I am a deliberate woodenhead when it comes to mechanicals-someone else always knows better! I stick to concrete and steel!

In the original incident, Im up 6' in a dirty great Iveco. The biker is on a 250cc hairdryer. I might sweat and fret, but he's going down, I'm explaining to the Gardai what happened, worse case. How is that a rant. Thats just pointing out facts. Maybe I just would like it if a certain minority of bikers copped on. Some are great, some are cracked.

ha

ha

ha

ha

LOL

You don't think bikers know that they are gonna be worse off in a crash? Grow up.

Do me a flavour!! I had 2 kids, so I had to grow up and get a "cage". Low one mate. I'd just like it if a few more motorcycle riders got the chance to grow up, all cornyness aside. You seem to think I dont like bikers. Boll0cks. I love em. I just hate seeing them smeared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭FarmerGreen

Too many dead friends, you just know you're next.

Ok, but we all know where the biker who gets hit is going. Who cares what party is at fault? The outcome remains the same - biker gets a spin on 4 wheels, lying down.

What's your point?

It's common knowledge that bikers come off worst in crashes with anything bigger than a bicycle. You're coming across as a very angry little man, pissed that his cage is being out performed by bikes left right and center.

P.S. you're not this guy are you??? http://www.motorcyclenews.com/MCN/News/newsresults/General-news/2010/June/jun0110-daily-mirror-columnist-calls-bikers-pathetic/_/R-EPI-124418

Oh look, another stereotypical cager post.

Awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,674 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Hi all. Driving to Rathnew yesterday, in fast lane, overtaking. Got past, checked the mirrors, slapped on the indicators and started to move across left. At the last second, a lad on a bike swung around the car I'd overtaken and started to undertake me. I slammed the steering across to the right and missed him by inches - he flew away down the inside lane.

Fair play to ya for bringing this up as it is clear you are genuinely concerned about the risks to bikers. Most drivers in Ireland had very little or no training and it's not much better for bikers. Some people cope well through experience, but I feel it is fair to say that Irish drivers / bikers are the most incompetent of all the EU countries I have driven in (nearly all old EU 15 that is)

And I did some sums based on accident statistics one time - I'm not able to reproduce the sums here (you gotta take my word / statistical skills for it :)) but the outcome was that a "lifetime" biker (someone who rides his bike nearly every day for about 20 years) has about a 1% chance of dying in a road traffic accident. This is 100 times higher than a car driver, who on average does a much higher mileage too

Be safe out there on 2 wheels, dudes!

Do me a flavour!! I had 2 kids, so I had to grow up and get a "cage". Low one mate. I'd just like it if a few more motorcycle riders got the chance to grow up, all cornyness aside. You seem to think I dont like bikers. Boll0cks. I love em. I just hate seeing them smeared.

Yea you're real mature :rolleyes:

Too many dead friends, you just know you're next.

I have two dead cousins that both died in car accidents, no family members or friends who have died on bikes.

Should I say that all cars are death traps??

unkel wrote: »
    Fair play to ya for bringing this up as it is clear you are genuinely concerned about the risks to bikers.

I disagree, he comes across as a pathetic angry little man, pissed at the fact that his missus made him give up biking.

What's your point?

It's common knowledge that bikers come off worst in crashes with anything bigger than a bicycle. You're coming across as a very angry little man, pissed that his cage is being out performed by bikes left right and center.

P.S. you're not this guy are you??? http://www.motorcyclenews.com/MCN/News/newsresults/General-news/2010/June/jun0110-daily-mirror-columnist-calls-bikers-pathetic/_/R-EPI-124418

Hah. Im a way sight bigger than you, believe it. Your attitude suggests that you are another brain out trying to prove how fast you can go. Get a track mate. I care less how fast you are, when you are getting help to go to the jacks, you will not be so cocky-take a trip to the rehab clinic in Blanch, I did, to see my sis, that took a lot of the pi$$ and vinegar out of me. Try it. Little man.LOL!! Meet me buddy, and make nice.,

And car drivers and passengers are immune from serious injury in accidents?

Grow up, open your mind, and stop being such a narrow minded, biggoted cager.

Have had plenty of near misses on the roads,some my fault. Mostly reckless car drivers not paying attention to whats going on around them :mad: There are mirrors and indicators on cars for a reason people!
    Well aware of the risks and what could happen to me and am as well prepared as i can afford to be. I love bikes and can't ever see myself not having one.
    You talk about "growing up" and getting rid of the bike. Whats immature about riding a bike?