Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sky: "Protesters Storm Irish Parliament"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭northwest100

Weren't the founding fathers of the United States, revolutionaries?
    Are they also "loonies" ffs donegalfella, make up your mind.

you're either for bailouts or against.

bailing out the banks is more socialism than letting them collapse.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,934 ✭✭✭20Cent

They did it to get publicity.
    It worked.

There will be even more at the march next week.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Weren't the founding fathers of the United States, revolutionaries?
    Are they also "loonies" ffs donegalfella, make up your mind..

:pac: What a ridiculous post. Some people can just be loonies, others can just be revolutionaries.... get this SOME PEOPLE CAN BE BOTH. Christ on a bicycle.

You know what's ridiculous?

People like yourself hoping the IMF bailout this country because of the idiots like FF who can't.

I'd rather see Irish people handle Irish affairs, you seem to favour banks coming in to handle them.

I'm against bailouts, are you, prinz?

You know what's ridiculous?
    People like yourself hoping the IMF bailout this country because of the idiots like FF who can't..

I'm hoping for a bailout :confused: Ye what?
    I'd rather see Irish people handle Irish affairs, you seem to favour banks coming in to handle them.

Any suggestions of what to do differently?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

but you were in favour of the IMF coming to bailout Ireland, were you not?

i don't want IMF in this country and I don't want banks being bailed out anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,884 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

As opposed to scumbags in suits?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,029 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Meh.

I'm a filthy leftie but I distance myself from these kind of actions.

Leinster House stands as something; democracy. Especially as it is the strongest seat of all our branches of power. 'Storming' it sends the message that a rejection of democracy is taking place. I don't support Fianna Fáil, NAMA, the bailouts or their policies but sadly, the majority voted for them in a STV system. I'm not happy about it but I respect that this was the majority decision. Otherwise it sets a horrible precedent.

I'd rather wait for the next election runup (which can't be too far away and make my point that way)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

20Cent wrote: »
    They did it to get publicity.
    It worked.

There will be even more at the march next week.
    Contrary to popular opinion, there is such a thing as bad publicity.

Wherever your politics lie, any attempt to violently infringe on the democratic process must be held as reprehensible, and condemned as such. We have the system we have, and that system allows you to change it to anything you like, as long as you can convince the majority of people that its a good thing.

Amhran Nua wrote: »
    Contrary to popular opinion, there is such a thing as bad publicity.

Wherever your politics lie, any attempt to violently infringe on the democratic process must be held as reprehensible, and condemned as such. We have the system we have, and that system allows you to change it to anything you like, as long as you can convince the majority of people that its a good thing.

Do you think next weeks protest will have more or less marchers at it?

This was a scuffle.
    Not an attempt to overthrow the democratic process.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

Probably more people who like brawling in the street, and less of everyone else, would be my guess.
    This was a scuffle.
    Trying to break into the seat of an elected national government by main force, and getting a tap on the head for your troubles, definetely qualifies as a) violent and b) attempting to subvert the democratic process. If they want in that badly they can get elected. No? Well then they are imposing their minority will on the rest of the country, and what a lovely picture that paints of the future they have in mind for the rest of us.

Probably more people who like brawling in the street, and less of everyone else, would be my guess.

Trying to break into the seat of an elected national government by main force, and getting a tap on the head for your troubles, definetely qualifies as a) violent and b) attempting to subvert the democratic process. If they want in that badly they can get elected. No? Well then they are imposing their minority will on the rest of the country, and what a lovely picture that paints of the future they have in mind for the rest of us.

More of both types is my guess.

How is it trying to subvert the democratic process? Is there some rule that if you make it past the guards into the Dail chamber your in charge then!!

They were idiots for doing it but it should not become the message of the whole protest which was we should not be pouring money into banks. A message thats shared by a lot of citizens.

How is it trying to subvert the democratic process? Is there some rule that if you make it past the guards into the Dail chamber your in charge then!!
    The Dáil isn't just a pile of bricks and mortar, its a physical symbol of the democratic republic in which we live, just the same as the House of Commons in the UK and the House of Representatives in the US. Breaking into it by the use of violence therefore has some very nasty symbolic overtones.
    They were idiots for doing it but it should not become the message of the whole protest which was we should not be pouring money into banks. A message thats shared by a lot of citizens.
    Give over, the clowns in the SWP have only one message, and thats the application of their outdated 19th century political theory to an unwilling population. These are no martyrs to the wellbeing of the country. I guess the Greek fisaco must have gotten them all agitated and mildly jealous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

The Dáil isn't just a pile of bricks and mortar, its a physical symbol of the democratic republic in which we live, just the same as the House of Commons in the UK and the House of Representatives in the US. Breaking into it by the use of violence therefore has some very nasty symbolic overtones.

I think it is an offence under the Offences Against the State Act too.

Give over, the clowns in the SWP have only one message, and thats the application of their outdated 19th century political theory to an unwilling population. These are no martyrs to the wellbeing of the country. I guess the Greek fisaco must have gotten them all agitated and mildly jealous.

Look at the video it was about a dozen ejits trying to push past the Guards no big deal.

The SWP didn't organise the protest though.
    There were lots of groups there. The common factor was opposition to the bank bailouts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

This was a scuffle.

I think it will have a lot more Gardaí anyway. And I doubt they will be so easy going next time.

k_mac wrote: »
    I think it will have a lot more Gardaí anyway. And I doubt they will be so easy going next time.

Agree. Hopefully it will pass off peacefully.
    March was mostly good humored except for that incident.

Look at the video it was about a dozen ejits trying to push past the Guards no big deal.
    The SWP didn't organise the protest though.

And amongst those dozen eejits was close on a dozen SWP flags.

I already know that, but do you not agree we should be working collectively to remove FF from power?

Instead we're fighting with each other, when our common enemy is FF and the banks..all our bickering against each other is to FF's advantage and will not solve anything.

Never said I agreed with those involved and what happened, but atleast they're doing something, atleast they're not sitting behind the computer moaning about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,576 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I already know that, but do you not agree we should be working collectively to remove FF from power?

Instead we're fighting with each other, when our common enemy is FF and the banks..all our bickering against each other is to FF's advantage and will not solve anything.

Never said I agreed with those involved and what happened, but atleast they're doing something, atleast they're not sitting behind the computer moaning about it.

Bunch of socialist unemployed with nothing to lose, driven on by people who never contributed anything in their lives.

Idiots.

Bunch of socialist unemployed with nothing to lose, driven on by people who never contributed anything in their lives.

Idiots.

As opposed to who exactly? Bankers? Politicians?

What exactly have they done for you without doing something for themselves in the process?

People here are constantly complaining about how politicians get paid too much, about the bankers who are loading up IOU's for future generations of Irish people..

What do you think of those people? are they any better?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

Instead we're fighting with each other,

The socialist/nationalist protesters were the ones fighting. Against the Gardai - public servant who have had to endure pretty steep cuts in their pay.

No how on earth is that going to help the cause? Who does attempt to beat your way past Gardai in order to get into the Dail at 9 o'clock on a wet Tuesday evening help anyone?

It is the actions of the brain dead few that got involved in this protest that are dividing people.

Can I ask, if these protester did get inside - what on earth would they have done then??

• Registered Users Posts: 78,253 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    Can I ask, if these protester did get inside - what on earth would they have done then??
    In such events, where the maddened crowd storms parliament, there is typically one of two results (a) they trash the place (b) they get shot.

I'm wondering how linked the underlined parties are. http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2010/0512/1224270210953.html
    Socialist Workers’ Party representative Mary Smith said she received a blow to the head when she and others attempted to gain access to the front concourse of Leinster House through the gate.

Some 800 people had attended the rally of a “Right to Work” campaign, which is backed by the Unite trade union and involves a coalition of community groups, young unemployed and other activists.

The march travelled from the Garden of Remembrance at Parnell Square to the Dáil.

The Government would be remembered in history for ignoring the basic needs of the people, Janette Byrne of Patients Together told the rally.

Richard Boyd Barrett of People Before Profit Alliance wanted it to be the first step in a campaign against Government policies which he said had caused the economic crisis.
    Valmont wrote: »
    Have a look at this advocacy group: Youth Against Dole Cuts, who are trying to keep their hand-outs at celtic tiger levels and if you think that is bad enough, they have sponsored the live4less card which is the ugliest, most abominable embodiment of the welfare state:

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=4279158&o=all&op=1&view=all&subj=201402053953&aid=-1&id=523600086&oid=201402053953

Victor wrote: »
    In such events, where the maddened crowd
    More like the dirty dozen.
    Victor wrote: »
    I'm wondering how linked the underlined parties are
    Welcome to the hydra headed world of SWP entryism.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

It's called an election. Revolutions might sound fun but they have an unfortunate tendency to eat their own children.

Problem is that many of those protesting now, likely voted for FF in the previous few elections. We'd be a lot better of as a country if people put as much time and effort into their vote before they cast it, as they do into making protest placards when the consequences of their choices become apparent to them.

ok, when's the election?

i see our international image is in tatters now..
    how could those ruffians let us down?

i'll make sure to wear my best edward green shoes next time a riot errupts.

• Registered Users Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Mutz

Aren't Eirigi a a breakaway group from Sinn Fein? Thats all I need to know tbh, so I'll stay well clear of both groups of criminals.

Listen to Joe Duffy from the 12th May 2010 to get a taste of their ideals. "I thought it was like it was 1916 again". Pure meatballs. How do they expect to be taken seriously?

mutz wrote:
    How do they expect to be taken seriously?

don't worry, bono said he'll be there...and bertie too.
    we will uphold the international image!