Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

swan82 wrote: »
    Is Jennings available or or you guys just not picking him in this fantacy backrow?
    He has been unavailable recently and we don't know if he will be available for Munster/Leicster so the discussion is about who to play if he isn't available

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭Jemo

danthefan wrote: »
    8 is still very much a specialised position, the way things are going 6 and 7 can be considered interchangeable though.

There still seems to be a stronger link between players playing 6 and 8 than 7/8 or even 6/7. The lines are blurring but the roles are still there, they just aren't as number specific any more (barring 8 where scrum control and fielding are more important). A lot of good 7's can play well at six, but not a lot of good 6s excel on the openside.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

McLoughlin
    O'Brien
    Heaslip

McLoughlin played well on Sunday and is capable of good stuff. No bother to O'Brien moving to 7, sure he picked up MOTM playing there the last time these teams met. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

I'd like to see SOB, Ryan, Heaslip but i'd have no qualms with Locky at 6.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Morf wrote: »

would be worth using Locky's height in the lineout.

bamboozle wrote: »
    would be worth using Locky's height in the lineout.
    Would it? Rhys is only an inch short of Kev's height. Also you don't really need 4 lineout options and jamie is just as good a lineout option as Locky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

Haven't seen much of Ruddock to suggest he's a tail gunner myself, and Locky always plays well against Munster too.

Really think we can target their lineout and scrum. Bar POC and Doc, they've no other jumpers, whereas we've 4 with Locky, and we should have the superior scrum.
    I'd probably start Ross and Heinke too, and bring in Wright and Healy to finish the game out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

Some good news on Jennings it seems. Hopefully will get a bit of game time. Hugely important player for us.

Joe Schmidt in the Irish Times:
    Shane Jennings didn’t train today. We’re hopeful he’ll be back on the field tomorrow. That would be a fairly tight turnaround for Jenno so we’re just going to wait and see on him. He’s got a bit of a knee niggle. It’s coming right but it’s that stage of the season where you’re damned if you do, damned if you don’t: push him too hard and you might lose him for another three weeks.

I'm happy enough for him to sit out this weekend and play next weekend!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,745 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Haven't seen much of Ruddock to suggest he's a tail gunner myself, and Locky always plays well against Munster too.

Just watched the RDS game from 18 months ago over the weekend. And Locky was excellent. I was at the game so never saw it on the box. Didn't realise at the time he got MOTM even after being subbed in under 60 mins. Really great display from him. He's really getting back to form now too so I'd have no issue seeing him start.

I'd like Jenno to get some gametime though. He's been out a while now and the QF would be a big game to get thrown back into (not that Munster wouldn't!).

Really hard to call the back-row really. I can't make up my mind so heaven help Schmidt if Jenno isn't available. Any 1 of the 3 could do the business for us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Morf wrote: »

Me too. Ryan has been playing well during the 6Ns, and if Jennings isn't called upon, I'd like to see Ryan. Spoiled for choices really.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,637 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

If Jennings doesn't play this week they're hardly going to through him in against Leicester surely?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

molloyjh wrote: »
    Just watched the RDS game from 18 months ago over the weekend. And Locky was excellent. I was at the game so never saw it on the box. Didn't realise at the time he got MOTM even after being subbed in under 60 mins. Really great display from him. He's really getting back to form now too so I'd have no issue seeing him start.

I think he's a vastly underrated player. As he didn't come through until late due to a unbelievable injury run people tended not to take much notice of him as they did the young lads who made their debuts last season. His mobility and work rate are massive. That Munster game was a truly superb performance. Against Clermont all the plaudits went to Heaslip (and he deserved them) but I recall KMcL was the biggest ball carrier on the pitch that night. It was he who made the initial run and presentation off the line out that led to Heaslip's second try. He offers something that our other back rowers don't. He's a very mobile, clever player who excels in the line out. Dare I say it, he's a similar player to Quinlan. You will very, very rarely see him make a mistake. If I was Garret Fitzgerald or Tony McGahan I'd be enquiring as to when his contract is up.

GerM wrote: »
    He offers something that our other back rowers don't. He's a very mobile, clever player who excels in the line out. Dare I say it, he's a similar player to Quinlan. You will very, very rarely see him make a mistake. If I was Garret Fitzgerald or Tony McGahan I'd be enquiring as to when his contract is up.
    My feeling is that David Humphries would be looking at him as something of a replacement for Ferris (who surely won't last that long in professional rugby)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭ambid

"Dippy"?
    Dom Ryan
    WeeBushy wrote: »
    Its his nickname from school.

Okay. Thanks. Unfortunate nickname.

Still I imagine he didn't get picked on much in school, he's a very big bloke :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Ryan has a great work rate, but he's still inexperienced and has gotten himself in trouble once or twice this season with silly penalties.

He's going to push Jennings hard for the 7 jersey I think, with McLoughlin and O'Brien battling it out for the 6 jersey, but for the moment, I just think McLoughlin has good experience with the derby as he's played in a few, and he's a better carrier than Ryan and O'Brien will be superb at 7 as usual. A backrow of McLoughlin, O'Brien and Heaslip is a monster unit to send to Thomond and I think we need that abrasive physical pack to boss Munster a bit.

I'd be more than happy with Ryan or Ruddock on the bench.

I don't think Jenno will be risked, and I'm happy enough with that.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,597 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

if jennings is unfit , i'd go with dippy ryan - i think it would be great that him and SOB could alternate between flanks - i see ryan as a long shot for WC , if he keeps his meteoric rise going

Very interesting interview with Nathan Hines in Scottish media at the moment. From what he says, Leinster wanted to keep him and he wanted to stay but the IRFU wouldn't permit Leinster to hang onto him.

Extract:

He insists that he never wanted to leave Ireland but the IRFU have a strict quota for foreign players. Clubs need to get a NIQ (Not Irish Qualified) document from the governing body and for reasons best known to themselves the Dublin suits have withdrawn Hines' exemption. Leinster are said to be not best pleased but as the lock concedes, "their hands are tied".

• Registered Users Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

Very interesting interview with Nathan Hines in Scottish media at the moment. From what he says, Leinster wanted to keep him and he wanted to stay but the IRFU wouldn't permit Leinster to hang onto him.

Extract:

He insists that he never wanted to leave Ireland but the IRFU have a strict quota for foreign players. Clubs need to get a NIQ (Not Irish Qualified) document from the governing body and for reasons best known to themselves the Dublin suits have withdrawn Hines' exemption. Leinster are said to be not best pleased but as the lock concedes, "their hands are tied".

That would be odd, it's not like he's blocking any up and coming Leinster lock from gametime and he's contributing an awful lot.

Extract:

He's 35 so I suppose it's a hard case to argue.
    Risteard wrote: »
    That would be odd, it's not like he's blocking any up and coming Leinster lock from gametime and he's contributing an awful lot.

He's arguably keeping Toner, O'Donghue, Sheriff and perhaps even McLoughlin out of the team. It might sound silly but the suits are a tough bunch. We've appeased them by signing a younger, 'project' player in that position.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

CouchSmart wrote: »
    He's 35 so I suppose it's a hard case to argue.

He's arguably keeping Toner, O'Donghue, Sheriff and perhaps even McLoughlin out of the team. It might sound silly but the suits are a tough bunch. We've appeased them by signing a younger, 'project' player in that position.

He's a good bit better than those IMO. Also I forgot about his age, I'd say that had a good bit to do with it.

I think someone mentioned around the time Warwick was announced to be leaving that NIQs over 30 are offered less lee way with regard to contract lengths.

Risteard wrote: »
    He's a good bit better than those IMO. Also I forgot about his age, I'd say that had a good bit to do with it.

I think someone mentioned around the time Warwick was announced to be leaving that NIQs over 30 are offered less lee way with regard to contract lengths.

Ye, he's definitely better than them. One of Leinster's best players but I can't imagine it being too easy to convince the head office of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Extract:

Link?

• Registered Users Posts: 38 escape m1

doesn't really make to much sense seeing as leinster have signed another NIQ to replace him. I know Sykes can potentially become Irish qualified because he's not been capped and all that but I really don't see how the IRFU would not allow leinster sign Hines back up and then let them have 2 NIQ come over...

escape m1 wrote: »
    doesn't really make to much sense seeing as leinster have signed another NIQ to replace him. I know Sykes can potentially become Irish qualified because he's not been capped and all that but I really don't see how the IRFU would not allow leinster sign Hines back up and then let them have 2 NIQ come over...

Sykes is also a lot younger.

Our NIQ list for next season:

Strauss(Project)
    Heinke
    Sykes(Project)
    Berquist
    Nacewa

Will we be adding another? I reckon we need another lock and perhaps prop?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Dunno about a lock, we have the possibilty of Ed making a mark if he gets fully fit, Sheriff, Toner, Cullen and my number one Christmas/Birthday wish: Locky the Lock. I think they'll give the season to see if any of the young guns put up their hands.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,801 ✭✭✭✭phog

Extract:

Is that more to do with other NIQ players that Leinster wanted than the IRFU telling Leinster to drop him or was it around the duration of his contract? It's hard to see the IRFU saying to a province that you must cut loose one of the players that you have but you can sign others.

Big loss to Leinster but not in the same league as Rocky.

phog wrote: »
    Is that more to do with other NIQ players that Leinster wanted than the IRFU telling Leinster to drop him or was it around the duration of his contract? It's hard to see the IRFU saying to a province that you must cut loose one of the players that you have but you can sign others.

Big loss to Leinster but not in the same league as Rocky.

Well it would seem to me that Leinster were happy to offer a one year deal (as is standard for NIQ players who are getting on such as Howlet does with Munster) and Hines was happy to take it. The PAG appears to have vetoed the offer though (as is their remit) on the basis that he's an older NIQ who cannot qualify for Ireland and will take up a spot that can be given to a young project player such as Sykes and he would be ahead of a current international in Toner. It's frustrating but those are the breaks unfortunately. I would understand if they had vetoed Stan Wright being offered a new contract but Leinster are quite short in terms of quality locks. Seems a rather harsh call by the PAG but it could work out to our advantage given Sykes will be around for the WC.