Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mocks/Pres Discussion Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Closed ac

Jackobyte wrote: »
    Cool. What actually comes up in music?

Woah, that is impressive. English and Irish are the ones I'm expecting to score lowest in. But English! Fair play!

80% will be your lowest? D: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

Cool. What actually comes up in music?

Woah, that is impressive. English and Irish are the ones I'm expecting to score lowest in. But English! Fair play!
    Ehh set songs which are just random types of songs and you need to know stuff about, works by different composer, you need to know about Irish music, write a few bars of music that you hear on the tape and stuff like that.

Didn't you get like 80% in Irish? That's not low!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

DKZ wrote: »
    80% will be your lowest? D: :pac:
    Depends on English, getting back Monday. Actually my Spanish will be a lowish B I reckon, solely due to the Tape. Haven't got that back either.
    M&S* wrote: »
    Didn't you get like 80% in Irish? That's not low!
    Lowest, not low.

Depends on English, getting back Monday. Actually my Spanish will be a lowish B I reckon, solely due to the Tape. Haven't got that back either.

Lowest, not low.

Yeah, tape is worth way too much for Spanish imo, 45%?! I did pretty well in it for the mocks, but for the premocks I got an A in the written, but low C in the tape which really brought my mark down! :(

For my 2nd year summer exam, we got a full paper minus one or two of the comprehensions. I got 96% in the written, 67% in the listening and I ended up with a B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭WanderingSoul

Oh My Goddddd!!! I got an A in English! :eek::D So surprised! I was one of the ones mentioned in the examiner's report :D
    And an A in Irish too :)

Well done. I would never be able to get an A in Irish, especially in the mocks.
    My business teacher came up to me today and said "I corrected your Business P1 & I think you got in the seventies"

Although it's a good score, I'm a little disappointed. I thought I'd be getting in the ninetees tbh & I found P2 really hard so I may end up getting a low C or a high D! :(

Well, hopefully your Business teacher was wrong or if you got in the high 70s you should be fairly ok. Afterall, "it's only the mocks."

I think my lowest will be Irish, which I'm kind of worried about at the moment.

Yeah in French it's worth 140 out of 320 marks which works out at about 44%. I only got 53% in the listening so it brought my whole score down (if the listening was worth 20% I would have gotten a mid B). Looking at my paper, there were two people talking and I got about 85% of the answers correct when the man was talking and very little right when the woman was talking. =/

If anyone had the same Spanish as me, Q2 in Section D in listening was disgraceful. All the other sections you could differenciate between words and get answers but in that question, yer man just mumbled his way through it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭bluejay14

I still have to wait until Monday for any results:mad:We were supposed to get our music back today but the teacher never gave them to us.She had to play the piano for the LC choir while they were practicing during our music class.We asked her if we could have them and she said that she'd give them to us but she never did.We were going to ask here for them at the end of class but she was in the middle of a song.:mad:Will have to wait till Tuesday for it now!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭Blue_Seas

No posts since yesterday? Looks like most schools are finished :D
    I have History and French tomorrow, Science on Wednesday, Religion on Thursday and Music on Friday.

Anyone else still have exams?

I got my English HL back today. I was delighted with my 81% because the way the teacher was talking about the exam before handing it back, it sounding like everyone had failed!:P

When she was handing them back, she told me to wipe my smirk off my face (because I was happy with my exam and was probably grinning:pac:), that I had still underachieved. :rolleyes:

Got two papers back today which I'm happy with as I found both hard and was expecting C's.

Religion - 76% (B)
    Maths P1 - 70% (B)

Got two papers back today which I'm happy with as I found both hard and was expecting C's.

Religion - 76% (B)
    Maths P1 - 70% (B)

Ah how did you get your's before me!

Cos I'm awesome! :cool:

Ah no but seriously.Were they sent away to be corrected?

Nah, my teachers do it!

Just creating work for themselves.

I better get my music results tomorrow though.We were supposed to get them on Friday but the teacher was doing something else and didn't give them to us.:mad:We only have 10 mins of class though tomorrow - half day so we finish at 12.:D

I won't get my Business until next Wednesday. :(

Well, if you do get them - good luck! :)

I should be getting 2/3 results back tomorrow!

Well, if you do get them - good luck! :)

I should be getting 2/3 results back tomorrow!

Good luck to you too!

There is one downside though to only having 4 classes tomorrow - I have to walk home.:(

Finally got at least 1 result!

Music 77%.
    If it wasn't for that stupid dictation -I got 11/40:oWhen we did one in class the other day I got 32/40.But still I'm really happy with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭RML

i also got my result back......got science:)......74%........skipped Q's we didn't study:P.....

had maths paper 1 found them easy except i messed on 2 big Q's[worth 20 mks each] silly mistakes.....silly me

Some of the girls in my class were talking to our religion teacher today and she told them that ours had come back but most of them were not very good:eek:I'm just hoping that mine was not one of the ones included in that most.I usualy do fairly well in religion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

Got one result back! :(
    French I got so bad! People who put no effort in done better than me! :(
    I thought I didn't do too bad so wouldn't like to see the rest of my results!

Got three more results today:

Irish - 67% (C) - Kinda disappointed, would have liked a B. :(
    Science - 83% (B) - Got the highest in my class, but again, annoyed I got so close to an A but didn't get it.
    English Paper 1 - 89% (A) - Couldn't believe it! I'm so happy with that result! Hopefully Paper 2 doesn't bring me down.. :(

my written expression was so bad and it was worth 80mks......i think i am going to get C- in french...WHY!..coz i studied at midnight:D and 8hours later i didnt have a clue what was i going to write........But i think my comprehension were goooood

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Steve Collins

Had CSPE and Maths Paper 2 today. Maths 2 was really hard, and paper 1 was even harder, so I'd say I'll get a D again. Definitely moving down to pass...
    I've never seen a CSPE exam paper in my life (we haven't got our papers yet) and that was the piss easiest thing ever. I must have gotten an A, for once :P. If I get anything under a B, there's something wrong with me.

Science - 83% (B) - Got the highest in my class, but again, annoyed I got so close to an A but didn't get it.
    English Paper 1 - 89% (A) - Couldn't believe it! I'm so happy with that result! Hopefully Paper 2 doesn't bring me down.. :(

WOW:eek: that's good.......i wrote a lot on Paper 1+2 and reached the last Q on paper 2 but didn't finish:o.......believe it or not i wrote 8 pages front and back......some girls didn't believe me but i had a witness beside me:) and she was staring at me for an hour:p........english mocks better be worth it.....my arm were so sore for the whole weekend and i had 2 irish papers next day:eek:.......

Religion - 76% (B)
    Maths P1 - 70% (B)
    Well done.
    Finally got at least 1 result!

Music 77%.
    If it wasn't for that stupid dictation -I got 11/40:oWhen we did one in class the other day I got 32/40.But still I'm really happy with that.
    That dictation thing sounds hard.
    RML wrote: »
    i also got my result back......got science:)......74%........skipped Q's we didn't study:P.....

had maths paper 1 found them easy except i messed on 2 big Q's[worth 20 mks each] silly mistakes.....silly me
    Very few people did well in Science in my class so that is pretty decent.
    Some of the girls in my class were talking to our religion teacher today and she told them that ours had come back but most of them were not very good:eek:I'm just hoping that mine was not one of the ones included in that most.I usualy do fairly well in religion.
    Ah, you'll be grand! :pac:

Science is unlucky. I hate that as well. I think I've gotten a load of tests in the 83 zone as well and I know it is frustrating.
    RML wrote: »
    WOW:eek: that's good.......i wrote a lot on Paper 1+2 and reached the last Q on paper 2 but didn't finish:o.......believe it or not i wrote 8 pages front and back......some girls didn't believe me but i had a witness beside me:) and she was staring at me for an hour:p........english mocks better be worth it.....my arm were so sore for the whole weekend and i had 2 irish papers next day:eek:.......
    I did 21 pages altogether so that would be 10 pages back and front +1

Got metalwork back today. There was no practical part to it so it was all theory.
    92% :D
    I was delighted. Next highest was 80 and then the next was like a low 70. Yay!

Well done.

That dictation thing sounds hard.

I did 21 pages altogether so that would be 10 pages back and front +1

I think I'm just useless at dictation.:(
    I actually don't think my religion exam was too bad but that's only me talking.

I wrote 21 pages too!:D