Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Medical & How long have you been waiting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭King Ludvig

Yeah, think I'll give them a ring alright. I'm sure you'll get signed off, I havent heard of anyone who hasn't been so I'd say it's rare enough. You never know we could be in the same intake! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Yeah, think I'll give them a ring alright. I'm sure you'll get signed off, I havent heard of anyone who hasn't been so I'd say it's rare enough. You never know we could be in the same intake! :pac:

Hopefully I really want to get in and give it a go. That would be great to know of someone from here going down also..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭DustyMan

Not 100% if this is the discussion to post this, however....

Applied to Garda Reserve around a year back (after long thoughts about applying to other forces, long story, decided to stick with 'the locals', so to speak.

To make a long story short (or longer some may say!); Handed in my background check form to the local station (after taking some time to prepare for the interview,take some time off work, travel there, fill out the extensive BR form et cetera .....). It's 6 months now since I handed in the BR check form. I phoned Garda Headquarters - Reserve Section, today to see how my application is proceeding (I foolishly though it may have been nearing completion). Reserve section informed me they never received the BR check form from the station (despite the fact the Gaurd on duty that day signed and stamped the form and told me he'd get it sent on).

I'm so disappointed, even the person I was talking to in the Reserve Section seemed shocked it was never sent on. Frankly I'm somewhat tempted to feel that my application wasn't important to somebody and they couldn't care less about it. Honestly that's how I feel about it. Six months of waiting wasted..... ..

Moral of the story? Never assume something has been done, follow up on it.......

A disappointed GR applicant.......

Any thoughts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭Tyron Jara

DustyMan wrote: »

Applied to Garda Reserve around a year back (after long thoughts about applying to other forces, long story, decided to stick with 'the locals', so to speak.

To make a long story short (or longer some may say!); Handed in my background check form to the local station (after taking some time to prepare for the interview,take some time off work, travel there, fill out the extensive BR form et cetera .....). It's 6 months now since I handed in the BR check form. I phoned Garda Headquarters - Reserve Section, today to see how my application is proceeding (I foolishly though it may have been nearing completion). Reserve section informed me they never received the BR check form from the station (despite the fact the Gaurd on duty that day signed and stamped the form and told me he'd get it sent on).

I'm so disappointed, even the person I was talking to in the Reserve Section seemed shocked it was never sent on. Frankly I'm somewhat tempted to feel that my application wasn't important to somebody and they couldn't care less about it. Honestly that's how I feel about it. Six months of waiting wasted....

Moral of the story? Never assume something has been done, follow up on it.......

Go into the station and see do they still have it! Most likely not but if I were you pick yourself back up and hand in another! 6 months wasted because something happened, ie lost in transit, misplaced or forgotten about but I certainly doubt it was done on purpose.

I feel for you though thats a long time but hey just do it again and hope for the best. The application process is long hard and a horrible wait but that light at the end of the tunnel is well worth it. Also your right you need to keep ontop of that application right until your accepted to phase 1. Dont let this incident put you off keep going!!!

Garda Reserve in Phoenix Park rang my local station about it today. The form was still there in my local station, never sent. They (local station) are sending it to HQ today.

p,s In case any one is wondering why I didn't inquire earlier about the BR form?
    Shortly after submitting the BR check form, my next-of-kin got a phone call from her local Garda station asking her about herself/her background (in regard to my application to the GR). The only conclusion I can now bring from this is the Sergeant in my local station looked through my BR form and rang my next-of kin's local station to make a 'preliminary inquiry' about me.
    Also I phoned GR in Dublin a couple of months back to see how the BR check was going. They told me the 'system was down' at that time and they would "phone me back" with an update. They never did. But I felt it must have been proceeding ok, no news is good news, so they say.

All I know for sure is the same BR check form has been in my local station for the past 6 months (GR Phoenix Park would only confirm this to me after they rang my local station earlier).

Of course I do not believe it was not sent on purpose. But one can't but help feeling very disappointed..... and honestly is it worth it? Frankly, today I feel it's not.....

Oh well, rant over. There are more important things in life. That's for sure....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Of course I do not believe it was not sent on purpose but one can't but help feeling very disappointed..... and honestly is it worth it? Frankly, today I feel it's not.....

Things like this can & do happen. My own forms were delayed at the time too, longer than they should have been. Just accept that, & move on. The organisation doesn't owe you anything, yes the admin side was slow here, but frankly you'll just have to chalk it off & wait again. As for inquiring as to the reason it was delayed, all I'd advise is don't make a nuisance of yourself over this, in all probability it was forgotten about, but pushing to hear a reason won't change anything.

If your thoughts have now changed about going forward & being a Reserve, thats down to yourself. Personally, I'd curse for a few minutes & then just carry on with normal life & forget the delay ever happened.

It is worth the wait though, my application time in total was about two years, & I'm glad I stuck with it.

I agree with some of what you say but not all. True to some extent that the 'organisation don't owe me anything' as you say. But as with any organisation if one make's an application for an advertised position I think it only reasonable to inquire what is going on regarding same application (if you feel something may have gone amiss) , and also it shows I really do care about my application. I feel I would be entitled to ask, and get an answer, even just out of respect, as to why my BR check form was in my local station for 6 months. And if it's a totally legit reason that it was there for 6 months fine, but I'd like to know as I think anyone would. And I certainly wouldn't go making a nuisance of myself about it as you mentioned, or didn't! I just asked and got an answer too! (And I'm glad I asked, would just frustrate me not knowing what actually was wrong. I was frustrated enough!) and possibly the form could have been there much longer if I did not inquire today??! (It's actually been sent from my local station today).

The Garda Reserve did phone me later today (I actually felt by their attitude that I deserved to know why), and I might add they were very helpful and courteous, and explained to me that the local station told them today that they were 'conducting there own investigation's first' (i.e with local stations etc, I've had quite a few addresses) and were in/have been in the process of same, and were doing that firstly before they sent on my form. I didn't know this was the process and someone here can correct me if I'm wrong. Seemed a little strange. that's all? Although I thought that was all done through HQ in liaison with the local station? Anyway the local station are sending on the BR check form today to HQ (wonder why today?! :rolleyes:).

Anyway......it's all outside my control and perhaps my application may be expedited as a result of my call today? Maybe? Ah am not blaming anyone really, although I have to admit I was/am somewhat disappointed, but I'll get over that quickly! ;-) and as I said earlier GR HQ seemed very surprised the form had not been sent much earlier. At the end of the day everyone is only trying to do their best......I hope/we hope! I'm trying to do my best too!!
    ;-)

I'm so disappointed, even the person I was talking to in the Reserve Section seemed shocked it was never sent on. Frankly I'm somewhat tempted to feel that my application wasn't important to somebody and they couldn't care less about it. Honestly that's how I feel about it. Six months of waiting wasted..... ..

Any thoughts?

For anyone interested in an update regarding this;

Local Sergeant rang me today to confirm re HQ Reserve Dublin query re BR form. Form now sent to HQ. Local Sergeant said most of my BR check is now complete and he will be recommending my application. (The local Sergeant actually knows me and met me before, long story. And says he does not need to meet again me as he knows me from before). The Super will call to meet me too, soon.
    Faith restored! Happy today ;-) My dealing's so far with AGS could not have been better. I'm glad I got clarification re why my BR form was in the station so long. Now I do know. I still have a couple of hoops to jump through but hopefully I can make it.

Thanks for the replies to this post and encouragement as I have to say I was somewhat disillusioned recently!

My one quandary is this and is there anyone out there have an opinion from experience or not?
    What if you become a GR and you actually love the job so much that you become filled with regret that you didn't apply when you were under the age limit and the frustration that you just can't apply now (due to the age limit cut-off). I'm over the age limit myself. ;-(

Any opinion's? Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭A.G.S

Hi guys after two years my checks are finally done and I got my medical :D my eyes are the only thing Im worried about! I wear glasses but I pass the eyesight requirements with my glasses off, well that's what my optician said :) can you still pass if you wear glasses ? any reserves out there who wear glasses ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭Tyron Jara

A.G.S wrote: »
    Hi guys after two years my checks are finally done and I got my medical :D my eyes are the only thing Im worried about! I wear glasses but I pass the eyesight requirements with my glasses off, well that's what my optician said :) can you still pass if you wear glasses ? any reserves out there who wear glasses ?
    I know reserves who wear glasses. Best of look on the medical.

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭paulbolg

Tyron Jara wrote: »

I a reserve 4 years and i have glasses

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭A.G.S

Tyron Jara wrote: »
    paulbolg wrote: »
    I a reserve 4 years and i have glasses

Thanks guys! that takes the worry away :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8 Legalstudiesk

Hi everyone just looking n for a bit of help with the medical exam I tore my cruciate and had surgery last year could this actually go against me???

• Registered Users Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

Hi Lads,]]

Wats the story with BMI?
    Are they strict?

At the mo im 27.6 bmi as I am 6ft3 and 15stone

:pac::pac:

Hi everyone just looking n for a bit of help with the medical exam I tore my cruciate and had surgery last year could this actually go against me???

It should not go against you, but probably best to get a letter from the surgeon/consultant who performed the surgery stating that you are 100% again (assuming you are?). You should make an appointment with said same surgeon/consultant, pay privately, and tell him your situation and why you need a letter from him or her. Normally they will do this, again assuming the surgery was a success. I had somewhat of a similar circumstance some years back and the Consultant offered to write a letter for me. Normally they like to blow their own trumpet, so to speak, again if everything is all well and good (re the surgery outcome)..

Thanks a mill for the reply are u a reserve atvthe moment?

No, but I have the medical next week. So hopefully I will be after that, :)

Nice one best of luck with it. How long were u waitin for ur medical?

Well it's approx. 2 years since I first sent in my application. My background check would have taken longer than other as I lived overseas for a while and I have a couple of close family members living overseas long term too.

2 years o god!!! Let us know how u get on when its done an whats involved in the medical if you dobt mind?:)

Yes I have the medical tomorrow, will update on result.

This is a post form another poster here from a few years ago re the same medical. I don't expect it to have changed much but if there is any differances will update...

"First of all, you fill up another medical form, something similar to the one you down load or sent out to you..then they ask you for the following, urine sample, hearing test, blood pressure, test, lung capacity test. this is all undertaken by the nurses there.. then its up to visit the Dr. change into a surgical blue gown,and a dressing gown,.and wait till you get called..once in, your height is taken, then you stand on a weighting machine that calculates your bmi, body fat..this is noted..then the Dr. checks your eye sight test and colour blindness test..then you are asked to touch your toes..he gets you to stripe down to your briefs, and checks and listens to your lungs,followed by lying on the couch to check for anything unusual..etc.etc and your hernia, followed by a cough..he is also noting any scars or tattoos..and then he congratulate`s you, and tells you to get dressed and report back to the reception again.."

Yes I have the medical tomorrow, will update on result.

This is a post form another poster here from a few years ago re the same medical. I don't expect it to have changed much but if there is any differances will update...

"First of all, you fill up another medical form, something similar to the one you down load or sent out to you..then they ask you for the following, urine sample, hearing test, blood pressure, test, lung capacity test. this is all undertaken by the nurses there.. then its up to visit the Dr. change into a surgical blue gown,and a dressing gown,.and wait till you get called..once in, your height is taken, then you stand on a weighting machine that calculates your bmi, body fat..this is noted..then the Dr. checks your eye sight test and colour blindness test..then you are asked to touch your toes..he gets you to stripe down to your briefs, and checks and listens to your lungs,followed by lying on the couch to check for anything unusual..etc.etc and your hernia, followed by a cough..he is also noting any scars or tattoos..and then he congratulate`s you, and tells you to get dressed and report back to the reception again.."

Mostly as above. I got a deferral due to eyesight (slightly weaker in one eye) needed a eye specialist report which I got today(actually better than expected). All good.....

Got a call today from Garda HQ stating that I am 'medically fit for Garda Reserve trainee'. I'm happy! Waiting for the date for Templemore now! :-)

Well done Dusty!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Mc Jakester

Well done DustyMan,

Id say Sept onwards, Templemore here you come...

Hi lads,

Any advice for the medical?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭RUNNER 1

Is being colourblind a bar to getting in ?

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭want2b

Yes as far as I know you have to have normal colour vision

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭King Ludvig

RUNNER 1 wrote: »
    Is being colourblind a bar to getting in ?

Colour blind, yes. Colour deficient, no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭RUNNER 1

Your right king ludvig, got email back sayin same.