Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

That's all we have time for...

• 16-12-2009 6:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭

Well if RTÉ comedy doesn't get any worse I don't know what will. The discription reads with the following to names Barry Murphy (Host) and Mario Rosenstock as one captain and the other .......

Kevin Myers! :confused: Loath him or Love him he does not suit comedy.

This will be excruciating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Drinking it will be so.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Suicide might be on the cards...waterboarding would be more fun then this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Wyndman

Oh go away and **** off RTE. You shower of simpering, circle-jerking, unqualified hacks.

Eddie Doyle needs to be promoted sideways - can't fire a civil servant - to a less important department immediately. RTE Entertainment has sunk lower and dumber under his watch.

EDIT: That said, I'm very fond of Barry Murphy. Soupy Norman was the last decent RTE comedy, commissioned before Doyle's reign of ****e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

The first episode of this is tonight at 10.15pm:

http://www.rte.ie/tv/programmes/thats_all_we_have_time_for.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Kevin Myers is an attention-seeking whore.

Worth a look I suppose. Who knows, it could be funny....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

New quiz show, wonder if it is better than David McWilliams et al? Kevin Myers is an interesting choice as team captain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I'm a big fan of Kevin Myers.

The first two minutes of it are **** :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Ah wait, there is a thread already, delete me please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭nickhx

Rip off of Have I got News For You

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Clemon

thought it was good enough at the start?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

RTÉ comedy cringe...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Very slow start.. What is terry prone doing there... Is she an RTE staffer now?

I had high hopes for this.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭dambarude

It's cringeworthy.

Even more so than The All Ireland Talent Show. At least they're not trying to be funny.

Mario Rosenstock needed to read his introduction about Terry Prone from a sheet of paper in front of him.

Baaaaaaad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Mad_Max

well 2 minutes is all they got from me.

Another reason to remove the buttons for RTE's channels on my remote.

I had high hopes for this.

So did I.

Not anymore though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭backspacer

christ this is dire,can't stand that twat Gildea anyways so that ain't helping matters!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭nickhx

This is shocking. Canned laughter?

It's as bad as The Panel.

RTE: Forget comedy.
    Bring back Challenging Times for Kevin Myers instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Arathorn

I agree with the Cringe comments, Kevin Myers is terrible did no one tell him to try to be funny on a comedy show

On second thought this is ****

amdublin wrote: »
    It's as bad as The Panel.

The Panel is bad, but not this bad. It's actually shocking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Black Magic

This will go down in history. Save a copy for later. it will be worth a lot in a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Terry Prone is a horrid little creature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭mangledbadgers

they've probably had all of christmas to prepare their jokes... shockin.... rosenstock is a complete pleb....

So did I. Not anymore though :(

They have about as much enthusiasm as a crowd of pot smoking students around your house to watch south park... Barry needs to lift his game, bring some life into the thing. I've had half a bottle of whiskey, and I'm still not laughing...

The answers are very obviously scripted.. they are giving their answers in sequence ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Nate--IRL--

The Byrne Ultimatum has a rival.

There can only be One! It is a fight to the death!

Nate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,767 ✭✭✭el diablo

pretty bad alright and all their responses are so obviously rehearsed.

Orange pilled.

Who commissioned this [EMAIL="cr@p"]cr@p[/EMAIL]?

Are they on drugs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Murphy -1
    Gildea -2
    Myres 3
    Prone 1
    Rosenstock 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

RTE stoop to a new low.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Spectacular rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Black Magic

Terry Prone -10
    Mario Rosenstock -5
    Kevin Gildea -5
    Kevin Myers -10
    Barry Murphy -11

Surely they must realise themselves that this is in no way funny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

Kevin Myers can fock right off.

dambarude wrote: »
    Surely they must realise themselves that this is in no way funny?

Barry Murphy certainly does: look at the misery painted all over his face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

Are they on drugs?

If the writers were on drugs it'd have some chance of being funny..

Woeful content, that messages gag before the break.. Oh Lord..

I too am a fan of Myers but clearly TV comedy aint his forte. But he's not alone there.

Murphy seems like he's in mourning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Maybe it'll improve so I'll keep an open mind. But jaysus a teleprompter would have raised the production values above something looking like it was produced for a leaving cert project.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Ilovelucy

This is baaaaaaaaaad really baaaaaaaaaaad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭Radiotower

Terrible stuff, thought terry prone was alright she actually was a bit witty, that so called comedian with Meyers isn't funny at all.

Something always wrong with RTEs attempt at current affairs comedy, thought this might be something a bit different but its trying to be Have I Got News For You (without the humour)

Shut up Mario, shut up Mario

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Balanceit

I can't believe how bad it is. Terrible. In a promo ad Kevin Myers said that it will be truly awful. He was spot on with that comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

They've taken the best bits of "Would I lie to you" and thrown them away, then kept the rest. No banter can develop if they're allowed ask only one question.

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaagggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭mangledbadgers

I'm unsure who's wearing the brighter lipstick rosenstock or prone....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭Radiotower

Balanceit wrote: »
    I can't believe how bad it is. Terrible. In a promo ad Kevin Myers said that it will be truly awful. He was spot on with that comment.

Thought they were trying to be clever in the ads but no they were just been honest

That idea about the women's parking spaces seems like a good idea all the same..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭Happy Monday

Rip roaring laughter has eluded RTE once again!
    Tripe - this is dead from the toes up.

Your wan terry is A FUKING WITCH... SHEEEEEEEEEEES THE MOST UNFUNNIEST bitch ive ever seen on telly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭friendface

This is terrible! :(