Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shane Lowry - 2019 Champion Golfer of The Year (note first post please for posting guidance)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

Might be better off not in the last group anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭sydneybound

I think the last group would have been good for Lowry, good for him to get more of that last day last group experience.

Bet he'll be ripping about that bogey on 18 but great round.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,821 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Where did this performance come from .

The fact it is a links mix or a more relaxed set up.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭soundsham

I think the last group would have been good for Lowry, good for him to get more of that last day last group experience.

Bet he'll be ripping about that bogey on 18 but great round.

That's what it's all about
    The more times your there the easier it becomes

Has to fast out of the blocks today as this one is a shoot out
    Probably needs -6 for a playoff/win minimum

Tough ask any day
    Hope he does it

Seems to have really planned his season well this year
    With his few trips accross to the USA doing him a pile of good on and off the course
    And now seems set for a big finish to the European tour also

Gaining great experience all the time thanks to the exemptions from last years win

Where did this performance come from .

The fact it is a links mix or a more relaxed set up.

Well it's not really surprising. In the last two events (KLM & Johnnie Walker) he's had 6 rounds in the sixtys. If it wasn't for that 73 on the last round of the KLM he would have had a great finish while at the Johnnie Walker he had a top 10. The events before that were the USPGA, Firestone and the Open and made the cut in all granted there's no cut at Firestone but it was encouraging stuff and he clearly wasn't out of his depth. I feel a real good finish like this for Shane is a little overdue. Hopefully with this week and the Portugal Masters he gets a couple of real top finishes.

The only thing I'm gutted about is that I'm playing at 12 and will miss all the coverage, will watch the highlights at 8 but will be checking my phone every 5 minutes for updates and his progress.

Well it's not really surprising. In the last two events (KLM & Johnnie Walker) he's had 6 rounds in the sixtys. If it wasn't for that 73 on the last round of the KLM he would have had a great finish while at the Johnnie Walker he had a top 10. The events before that were the USPGA, Firestone and the Open and made the cut in all granted there's no cut at Firestone but it was encouraging stuff and he clearly wasn't out of his depth. I feel a real good finish like this for Shane is a little overdue. Hopefully with this week and the Portugal Masters he gets a couple of real top finishes.

The only thing I'm gutted about is that I'm playing at 12 and will miss all the coverage, will watch the highlights at 8 but will be checking my phone every 5 minutes for updates and his progress.

Hopefully,

I had a few quid on him in The Open, He did ok in end at T32. Can see him win one.
    But didn't push on this year as I expected, good finish could sort that.
    Maybe I've unrealistic expectations , starting off in US is like a start again in pro golf.

But the likes of 74 in round 3 on a near home course at Irish Open was a major let down for me. It was so uplifting to hear the support for him there. Whilest Rory was in another world, in every way.

So a great finish or a year of consolidation , we will see ?

Would love to see him have a faster start to 2014.

Cooommmmoooon Shane.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭soundsham

It would be nice to see him on tv a little

• Registered Users Posts: 3,146 ✭✭✭big_drive

Going to see him now as he's gone into lead

• Registered Users Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

big_drive wrote: »
    Going to see him now as he's gone into lead

Brilliant eagle.

Should see a big cheque coming his way.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

Outright lead with a birdie on 11.

Keep it going boy.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Someone would want to tell Sky Lowrys leading this thing...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,190 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Benny Cake wrote: »

True, he's getting very little tv coverage which is very poor.

Yes, Sky want their man Howell to win, like Howell meself - not today but.

How much is 1st place lads ?

• Registered Users Posts: 134 ✭✭clouter

Position Euro
    1 €589,561
    2 €393,038
    3 €221,439
    4 €176,868
    5 €149,984

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Yes, Sky want their man Howell to win, like Howell meself - not today but.

How much is 1st place lads ?

Half a Mil i believe. Looks set to drop a shot here!

clouter wrote: »
    Position Euro
    1 €589,561
    2 €393,038
    3 €221,439
    4 €176,868
    5 €149,984

Jaysus -

That would turn his whole season - nearly top 10 in Race to Dubai.

Joke of an event - great money.

Sorry - That is just me - can't handle celeb part or culture.

• Registered Users Posts: 424 ✭✭clickhere

Benny Cake wrote: »

There showing more of Hugh f@@king Grant,then they are of Shane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

I dont really understand it. He is the only player inside the top 5 in the top 100 in the world and at that he is leading. You would think he would be the marquee player that the majority not just us irish want to see.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,075 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

kiers47 wrote: »
    I dont really understand it. He is the only player inside the top 5 in the top 100 in the world and at that he is leading. You would think he would be the marquee player that the majority not just us irish want to see.

They are really rooting for Howell and Lewis. C'mon Shane!!

kiers47 wrote: »

Well Feck them - he should just go win it.

They will have no option then :rolleyes:

Jesus shocking miss there

• Registered Users Posts: 17,075 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Well Feck them - he should just go win it.

They will have no option then :rolleyes:
    Agreed, even though I like both Howell and Lewis.

Careless there from Shane - oh dear.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,146 ✭✭✭big_drive

Costly couple holes.

Notice Lowry is using new putter. When did he get rid if the 2-ball?

:eek::eek::eek: What the hell is that finger from shane

• Registered Users Posts: 8,538 ✭✭✭Speak Now

3 fives on the bounce could be costly. Not finished yet though.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭abff

Bit of a meltdown. Good pitch, but he's got to sink this one or his head will explode.

Lads since they started showing Shane has been a nightmare.

Be, careful what you ask for.

Good par save on his last hole, needs to find a birdie

17 not a great place to go look for one.

Thinking that alright, 18 though even if the wind is against