Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shane Lowry - 2019 Champion Golfer of The Year (note first post please for posting guidance)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,078 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Anyway, after that performance, he has managed to hold on to 50th in the world rankings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭abff

He seemed out of sorts all week. I wonder is there something bothering him or was it just the pressure of being under the spotlight because he was playing at home.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,930 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

I think it's frustration with the putter, cold a long time now

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,781 ✭✭✭Speak Now

slave1 wrote: »
    I think it's frustration with the putter, cold a long time now

3rd in driving accuracy and 11th in greens in regulation tells the putting story alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

3rd in driving accuracy and 11th in greens in regulation tells the putting story alright.

Belting the stick off things isn't the way to fix that. Not the first time he has done it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 MYOPIA

Shane Lowry needs someone to help him. He is so immature when things dont go his way.
    He should have learned a lot playing with the 2 gentlemen he played with Thursday and Friday .
    Ernie Els and Francesco Molinari are princes of the game.
    Pity but Shane is still a pup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭redarmy

MYOPIA wrote: »
    Shane Lowry needs someone to help him. He is so immature when things dont go his way.
    He should have learned a lot playing with the 2 gentlemen he played with Friday and Saturday.
    haha

redarmy wrote: »
    haha

No laughing matter.

MYOPIA wrote: »
    He should have learned a lot playing with the 2 gentlemen he played with Thursday and Friday .

I think he normally conducts himself very well - the putting is going badly and needs fixing, and given the event, the spotlight was on him.

vienne86 wrote: »
    I think he normally conducts himself very well - the putting is going badly and needs fixing, and given the event, the spotlight was on him.

Pretty lame article in today's Irish Times. More of the "I am who I am" nonsense he goes on with to justify everything. If he thought a bit more about what he could be instead of rationalising his lapses we might see some changes and improvement.

Yes, he can (and does) make a very handsome living as things stand but if he seriously aspires to getting the most from his talent he needs to cop on and grow up a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭Old diesel

He will hopefully get better in time.

But even with his flaws he is still number 50 in the world.

I find the idea that even at number 50 hes still got things to work on - exciting.

Meaning theres still potential there

I could not agree more First Up.
    Shane may be what he is, heart on sleeve etc. but that is not good enough.
    He is a most accomplished player but he needs help with his attitude and decorum.
    Surely Neil Manchip sees this and hopefully will persuade him that he might consider
    adding to his team someone who can show him how to develop a more attractive style and demeanour.
    Poor regrettable behaviour does not enhance confidence in the long term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

First Up wrote: »
    Pretty lame article in today's Irish Times. More of the "I am who I am" nonsense he goes on with to justify everything. If he thought a bit more about what he could be instead of rationalising his lapses we might see some changes and improvement.

Yes, he can (and does) make a very handsome living as things stand but if he seriously aspires to getting the most from his talent he needs to cop on and grow up a bit.

Agreed. He does need to cop on and grow up. Breaking the putter was inexcusable. Could you imagine if Woods did it? Or even McIlroy? A lambasting they would/did get. And i would be top of the queue (particularly for McIroy!)
    In fairness though he does go someway to addressing the putter breaking in his article:
    What happened with the putter was my own fault and stupid on my behalf but these things do happen. I was lucky to make the cut, and probably deserved to miss it.

"these things do happen" part though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Yes he shouldn't have hit the putter off the metal fence in frustration, but the person who lost out most because of that was Shane because he had to use something else to putt with.

But some of the comments im reading in the last few posts - youd think he wrecked the whole golf course or the clubhouse.

Problem is - EVERYONE has a different personality - and as such each personality has its good and bad traits.

For some people the "the good behaviour" traits come easier to them then others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Old diesel wrote: »
    Yes he shouldn't have hit the putter off the metal fence in frustration, but the person who lost out most because of that was Shane because he had to use something else to putt with.

But some of the comments im reading in the last few posts - youd think he wrecked the whole golf course or the clubhouse.

Problem is - EVERYONE has a different personality - and as such each personality has its good and bad traits.

For some people the "the good behaviour" traits come easier to them then others.

I really like Lowry. Sound fella. I just didnt think he was the type who would break their own club. No big deal...but just a bit bratish!
    Onwards and upwards Shane

I really like Lowry. Sound fella. I just didnt think he was the type who would break their own club. No big deal...but just a bit bratish!
    Onwards and upwards Shane

Second time he's broken his putter. The other time it was after he 3 putted the 18th but he didn't spot the damage until he was preparing to go out next day. Evidently his preferred way of improving his putting was to whack the club instead of practicing after the round.

That was a few years ago and you would have hoped he had learnt from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,945 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Old diesel wrote: »

Look - I like Shane a lot.

But the guy is playing golf.

People are paying in to watch - he is there to win 1,000 euro or more per shot. There are kids around etc.

We all have times we are arseholes when young - and it takes a brother or a father to give a guy a good kick in the hole. (as they call it around here)

If there isn't a lad around to do that - you are in real trouble in life.

So a bad week at the office. Learn, we move on - we are all freinds again.

But -a kick in hole needed. And if you know Offaly, as I do a bit, he should get it.

I don't care who it is - But, I don't play golf with lads like that. When they are like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭OffalyMedic

But -a kick in hole needed. And if you know Offaly, as I do a bit, he should get it.

He's more than likely got it off everyone already believe me :p if I see him around the county I'll let him know too...Just in case he didn't get the message :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,340 ✭✭✭Trampas

I thought was funny that he said at the end of last round I think that he's disappointed he has no where to play in before the U.S. Open.

He could have teed it up in Sweden this week if he wanted to but he could have been trying to get an invite to PGA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭D Hayes

Trampas wrote: »
    I thought was funny that he said at the end of last round I think that he's disappointed he has no where to play in before the U.S. Open.

He could have teed it up in Sweden this week if he wanted to but he could have been trying to get an invite to PGA

Quote from his latest Irish Time article:

Link to article ->
    I didn’t play in the Nordea Masters because I don’t really like the course, too many big open fairways for my liking; and I didn’t play in the Memorial because I am tight on the number of events I can play on the PGA Tour as a non-member and I want to include the US Open, the British Open, hopefully the Bridgestone and the US PGA in trying to get that PGA tour card.

D Hayes wrote: »
    Quote from his latest Irish Time article:

Link to article ->

Fair enough. I was wondering why he wasn't playing this week. Hopefully he is calming down and will just move on.

What's the restriction on the amount of events he can play as a non pga member? I thought the only restriction was that you could only get 7 sponsors invites?

Drop of 5 places to 55th on OWGR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,809 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

What's the restriction on the amount of events he can play as a non pga member? I thought the only restriction was that you could only get 7 sponsors invites?

Being in the OWGR top 50 (up to last week) probably means that technically he could enter any of the regular tournaments on the PGA tour - if it wasn't for that restriction. For players outside the top 50, the constraint would be the maximum number of sponsors' invites and the qualifying requirements for majors, WGC etc.

See Irish Times today June 11 Shane Lowry pictured with his coach Neil Manchip.

Does Shane look better without the beard ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,783 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Breaking the putter was inexcusable. Could you imagine if Woods did it? Or even McIlroy? A lambasting they would/did get. And i would be top of the queue (particularly for McIroy!)

But it's alright if you just throw your clubs then, like McIlroy did...into the water? Once you don't break them and once it's not the putter?

Players like Azinger and 'Gentle' Ben Crenshaw have succumbed to the same frustration as well.

It's stupid. It's pointless and the only thing it does is makes your round exponentially more difficult.

But you can only hope he learns from it. He probably will.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,930 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Can't believe folk still think he broke his putter, he bent it slightly, thus making it non-conforming so could not use it, as it was not bent taking a normal stroke etc. he could not replace it during the round...

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭rocky911

Cannot believe people are spouting on about that incident..Rory throws a club ( IMO far more dangerous and wrong ) and it was forgotten about a few days later.

I don't think that there are many people here who have never hit their club off the ground or thrown one in anger before because I sure as hell have.

I think this break he is doing atm, in NYC with herself and doing a bit a promo work is ideal for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭Russman

slave1 wrote: »
    Can't believe folk still think he broke his putter, he bent it slightly, thus making it non-conforming so could not use it, as it was not bent taking a normal stroke etc. he could not replace it during the round...

Exactly.
    But IMHO a lot of people seem to dislike Shane because he doesn't always conform to what they think a pro golfer should be like. He doesn't practice when they think he should practice or doesn't do x,y,z which is what they think he should be doing and when he should be doing it. As if there is a one size fits all approach to being a pro. They won't be happy until he's 9 stone, clean shaven, doing triathlons and hitting balls 12 hours a day and probably miserable as f--k.

rocky911 wrote: »
    Cannot believe people are spouting on about that incident..Rory throws a club ( IMO far more dangerous and wrong ) and it was forgotten about a few days later.

I don't think that there are many people here who have never hit their club off the ground or thrown one in anger before because I sure as hell have.

I think this break he is doing atm, in NYC with herself and doing a bit a promo work is ideal for him.

Only if you are a fish. He threw it into a lake - after he had worked out he wouldn't need it again for the rest of that round. It was a bit childish but there is a difference between letting off steam and cutting your nose off to spite your face.

Casual golfers doing it is one thing - a world ranked pro damaging his equipment is pretty dumb. Just because you like him because he comes across as "one of the lads" is not a reason to excuse it.