Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Am I Irish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

I can never understand why ANYONE wants to be Irish.

YUCK! Another self loathing Irish man

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

I can never understand why ANYONE wants to be Irish.

Fair enough. Men who dont want to be men get sex changes. If you dont want to be Irish, renounce your Irish citizenship and go and apply for citizenship of Nicaragua or Botswana or whatever country you like. If you dont want to be here, I dont want you to be here either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

Fair enough. Men who dont want to be men get sex changes. If you dont want to be Irish, renounce your Irish citizenship and go and apply for citizenship of Nicaragua or Botswana or whatever country you like. If you dont want to be here, I dont want you to be here either.

Your wants are immaterial to me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

As are yours to me. Mods? Troll in our midst.

I bet you say that to all the girls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Dr_Phil

Alright so, the subject seems to be exausted by the looks of things, thank you very much for sharing your perspective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Oranage

To OP, all your questions are void since the 3ed of october. The term we now use is European

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Dr_Phil

Oranage wrote: »
    The term we now use is European

Dubliner>Irish>European.. Its the same, but blurred.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

Lirael wrote: »
    no, they may not wish to have irish cs but they still can apply for irish cs for the child as they have fulfilled the minimum period of 3 yrs living in the state ... unless I am mistaken ;)

you are mistaken and have not read the previous posts and context of same. please read the last couple of posts. i even posted the actual bloody legislation for convenience. jesus if someone says black do you say white?

If the non irish parent has resided in the state on a legal basis for three years prior to the birth of the child, then that child will be an irish citizen, by birth. they won't need to "apply" for citizenship. They will be considered citizens the minute they enter the world! the minister does not have the power to deny their (child)entitlements to citizenship once the criteria is met. they don't even have to get a passport, though, to save hassle they will often obtain a passport. all this will entail, is to go through the same procedures as we all would in order to get a passport with the addition of the parent providing evidence of 3 years legal residence. a flash of their passport and gnib card would normally do that. It gives nothing etra to the parent

when you say "they" at the first part of your sentence, surely you do not believe that we are saying once the three year requirement is met then that parent can apply for citizenship himself? utter nonsense its the usual five years for them, or 3 in the situation where they marry on irish citizen or are refugees. and nothing has been said to say that the parent can then get citizens if they wish by the 3 years. you are correct, the parent can apply for ciizenship, once they meet their residency requirements, but it does not mean the minister will grant the citizenship.

the scenerio two matter was in response to a post questioning why the certain children should be allowed citizenship were the parent is not a citizen nor intends to become an irish citizen. that was then followed by an example, later, to a legal chinese person who may not wish to get citizenship, or as you correctly state apply for citizenship, who is not allowed (by china) o dual citizenship.the point was, it would be unfair for the child, who would be entitled to the citizenship (by virtue of section 6a) where it is likely they have lived in ireland for most of their life, and may never have or never intend to set foot in china, unlike the parent(s)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Trust me, you don't want to be irish.

bleg wrote: »

I'd wager its you that doesn't want to be Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Lirael

you are mistaken. please read the last couple of posts. i even posted the actual bloody legislation for your convenience. jesus if someone says black do you say white?

If the non irish parent has resided in the state on a legal basis for three years prior to the birth of the child, then that child will be an irish citizen, by birth. they won't need to "apply" for citizenship. They will be considered citizens! the minister does not have the power to deny their entitlements to citizenship once the criteria is met. they don't even have to get a passport, though, to save hassle they will obtain a passport. all this will entail, is to go through the same proceures as we all would in order to get a passport with the addition of the parent providing evidence of 3 years legal residence. a flash of their passport and gnib card would normally do that.

when you say "they" at the first part of your sentence, surely you do not believe that we are saying once the three year requirement is met then that parent can apply for citizenship himself? utter nonsense if that was the case.

no, I am well aware that parents can apply for their citizenship after 5 years spent in Ireland ...

I have just refferd to your post in case of the parents who lived there 7 years ... yes I might have misunderstood you previous post - I haven't read it all but still ... a small child cannot aply for a passport himself so still it is parents will to do so ... nevertheless this child is considered Irish by birth as u say ...

eu citizenship?

jesus man/woman, less of the self loathing and get on with things.learn from yer mistakes, never listen to gombeens from ff again and move onwards and upwards.ye probably had little problems being irish for the past 15 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Lirael

the scenerio two matter was in response to a post questioning why the certain children should be allowed citizenship were the parent is not a citizen nor intends to become an irish citizen. that was then followed by an example, later, to a legal chinese person who may not wish to get citizenship, or as you correctly state apply for citizenship, who is not allowed (by china) o dual citizenship.the point was, it would be unfair for the child, who would be entitled to the citizenship (by virtue of section 6a) where it is likely they have lived in ireland for most of their life, and may never have or never intend to set foot in china, unlike the parent(s)

good point - but in that case a decision shall be postponed until these kids reach 16 and then they may decide what cs would they want ... noo, bad idea, that's ridiculous, stupid etc ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,491 ✭✭✭kingtut

Born in Ireland = Irish

Not born in Ireland = Not Irish

Doesn't matter how long you lived in your birth place for or where your parents are from.

Lirael wrote: »
    good point - but in that case a decision shall be postponed until these kids reach 16 and then they may decide what cs would they want ... noo, bad idea, that's ridiculous, stupid etc ....

why?

The child would be entilted by birth to Irish citizenship if parents mets criteria of Section 6 A. that child is in the same boat as you or me.

you are now making huge differences between the child's entitlement and privileges under Artilce 40-44 of the constitution (fundamental rights), solely on the basis of ethnicity / nationality of parent. It means that for 0-16 years (the most important stage of any person) they are being marked.it makes a mockery/joke then to the aspirations and goals of articles 2 and 3 of the constitution. why should the children be treated different to some fat half wit yank who has never resided in ireland and who knows feck all about Ireland, yet maybe entitled to Irish Citizenship from the day he/she was born, simply because his granny/grandad was born in Ireland? Its not exactly a good way to ensure these "foreigners" integrate into Irish society is it? Surely, the Irish child should not have to experience de facto legal discrimination on top of a possible chance children in the school yard will make it clear to him already that he is different due to the colour of his skin? By 16 the child will be looking at the career guidance books and cao points and thinking about their choices of college, like nearly every other Irish child. Whilst not every Irish child will get the grants and whilst some are liable to some college fees, the child that we are talking about, if he was not entitled to Irish Citizenship since birth or holds another passport of another EU State, would be liable to Huge college/univeristy fees. regardless of who there parents are, why should these children be dragged down to the gutter and there chances of improving themselves and contributing to Irish society like, Fiachra, Fionnula and Cabaiste, be curtailed?

The child is likely to stay in Ireland anyway, so he or she ain't going to be a bigger burden on state resources if he is simply another immigrant (the continuation of the parents immigration status in Ireland, assuming they are not eu citizens will normally be heavily depended upon them being economically viable in the State). Moreover, are you aware of the crap immigrants have to put up with with the GNIB and INIS? do you realise that at the best of times, competence in said departments is not always the strong trait they possess.

kingtut wrote: »
    Born in Ireland = Irish

Doesn't matter how long you lived in your birth place for or where your parents are from.

That's far too simplistic. So someone born in Ireland to two African parents, who left after a year, is Irish? And someone who came to Ireland as a toddler and has lived here ever since (and possibly had one or two Irish parents) is not Irish? Where you were born says absolutely nothing really. Loads of people are born in crazy places like Singapore or Tokyo because their parents were working there for a while. It's more about where you grew up, IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭b12mearse

Dr_Phil wrote: »
    Quick question, as a foreigner: when do you consider a person to be Irish:

1. When has an Irish citizensip
    2. Was born in Ireland
    3. Born in Ireland from Irish parents, who were born from Irish parents, etc, etc..
    4. Is just well integrated into society and the lifestyle

Cheers.

never

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

I'm Irish...as well as Chinese (naturalised). Poo to anyone else who says otherwise.

Born in China, English accent (spent a few of my early years there), lived in the US too for a year but I'm as Irish as the O'Flaherty or the O'Reillys (though admittedly I don't drink at all :D ).

Born in Ireland = Irish

is that a statement of fact or opinion?

What happens when John and Mary head off on a holiday during Mary's pregancy and gives birth whilst in eg Wales, London or Paris and the family return to Ireland? By your definition of the facts, the child won't be Irish?

I'd say some of your Oirish cousins in London, Birmingham, Sydney or New York find you to be a barral of laughs. I sincerely hope the Irish State don't treat your future children or friends future children differently when they come into Ireland (visa / passport control wise) if you ever had to leave this country for work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭gav240

Why?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭marko91

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Can you play for ireland ?

sadly thats the criteria.

half of the irish team is english.

Dr_Phil wrote: »
    Quick question, as a foreigner: when do you consider a person to be Irish:

1. When has an Irish citizensip
    2. Was born in Ireland
    3. Born in Ireland from Irish parents, who were born from Irish parents, etc, etc..
    4. Is just well integrated into society and the lifestyle

Cheers.

If it is the culture you most identify with, then your Irish.
    **** what anyone else says.

Ich bin ein leitrimer!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

b12mearse wrote: »
    never
    So no one can ever be Irish?
    So what do you call all the people living on this island?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭gav240

well if you have to ask
    i'm guessing..............no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭artielange

As far as I know if a child is born to one Irish citizen, that child is automatically an Irish citizen (at birth thats the criteria). And if that child is born in America and entitled to US citizenship the the Irish consulate will tell you to get the US passport first and send it in with your child's Irish passport application.

Now two Irish citizens(sole citizenship) have a child in America that child isn't entitled to US citizenship that child would be considered ...........Irish born American? What if the parents and child move back and the child is 2 months or 16?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

I think what a lot of people woukd think as Irish, is when your family has been here so long you are indistinguishable from the indiginous population. ie. more irish than the irish themselves.

Born in Ireland = Irish

Er. So even though I have lived here since I was 7, I have an Irish passport, my mother is Irish, I can speak Irish pretty well, my name is Aoife and I have a Irish accent I'm not Irish?

Righty-o.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

If you are born in Ireland, then you are an Irish citizen.

Afaik it doesn't matter what nationality your parents are, but if they are different to yours then you have dual citizenship re whatever country they were born in.

This I know because of my liking of Wrestling believe it or not.

wowo i dont believe it, please to be explaining moar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

nuxxx wrote: »
    wowo i dont believe it, please to be explaining moar

Well, nuxxx..

If you bothered to read past the post of mine that you quoted you would have seen that it was already questioned and answered.

No backlash required this time.
    Sorry to burst your bubble.