Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish army could be deployed on the streets to combat rioting.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I don't see how the hell drug dealers and gangland murders got into a thread about the general army.

Because someone ranted that instead of being used against good honest law abiding rioters the army should be used to help lower gangland murders in some way. (or somethign like that)

Hard Larry wrote: »
    Its no big deal just replacing old kit and some hack picked up on the story.

Not when chief boards tabloid "blow stuff out of proportioner" RTDH is about. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Its a Run_to_da_hills thread. Put him in between the two groups as referee. Please.

• Registered Users Posts: 888 ✭✭✭stop

RTÉ just mentioned there on six-one that the Army will be deployed to the Dáil on November 24th to provide security instead of the Gardai. They didn't give a specific reason for this but mentioned that the Dáil would only have about 6 or 7 people making sure Dáil business continues uneffected due to staff out on strike.
    IIRC I've seen someone in Army gear at the metal detector gate before so not that much out of the ordinary.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

stop wrote: »
    RTÉ just mentioned there on six-one that the Army will be deployed to the Dáil on November 24th to provide security instead of the Gardai. They didn't give a specific reason for this but mentioned that the Dáil would only have about 6 or 7 people making sure Dáil business continues uneffected due to staff out on strike.
    The Gardaí can't go on strike as far as I know. I've forgotten the name of the agreement stopping that.

Unless you mean the Ceann Comhairle...hahaha...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

IIRC I've seen someone in Army gear at the metal detector gate before so not that much out of the ordinary.

Did it say why?

wudangclan wrote: »
    Did it say why?

• Registered Users Posts: 25,068 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I've always thought the Army should be put to use on the streets. They have it way too easy as it is, once training finishes it's a few days a month on cash escort or down in Portlaoise prison, and a couple of stints in sunny Lebanon/Chad, then retirement at ~40!

Put them on the streets, outside nightclubs etc. If it means less crime then it'd be stupid not to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭espinolman

Maybe there will be mandatory 'vaccinations' and the army is to shoot those who refuse ! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 cannonball1234

this country is in serious finiancial trouble.people are afraid of what is coming down the tracks and the government are not listening to people & explaining things as they really are...yes there will be roits everyone is on a short fuse at the moment and we have to be heard!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

I've always thought the Army should be put to use on the streets. They have it way too easy as it is, once training finishes it's a few days a month on cash escort or down in Portlaoise prison, and a couple of stints in sunny Lebanon/Chad, then retirement at ~40!

Put them on the streets, outside nightclubs etc. If it means less crime then it'd be stupid not to

Totally agree. Put us on the street and lets us bring guns. Streets will be reclaimed and free of crime in no time.

Then when we're done on the streets we'll start censoring the internet and next we'll be kicking in front doors looking for dissident, hippies and poets. We'll put 'em to work in Labour Camps to fund the Public Sector wages.

Wait :confused: ...i think we need to think this plan through a bit.

(PS Having a puppett pic of Kim Jong Il and your above post starts alarm bells ringing, mein furher :) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Jebus, thats a very general view from someone that hasnt a clue what goes on in an organisation.

Putting armed soldiers on the street should be the very last resort, we need to train and arm a new and improved generation of beat walkin coppers. Gone are the days were Gardai should only be armed with a pair of slacks and a friendly smile. We need every one of these guys to at least, at least be armed with a 9mm pistol.

The army should only be deployed when the **** has hit the fan and is all over the walls.

But saying that....we dont have all Gardai armed and patrolling the beat, I suppose that having the army out on the streets would be some type of deterrent, but what happens then???

Our "first world" "Civilised" nation could possibly become more like a South American free for all show of force.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

espinolman wrote: »
    Maybe there will be mandatory 'vaccinations' and the army is to shoot those who refuse ! :eek:
    I ****ing love that smiley because it acts as a brilliant flag for ill-conceived scaremongering.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,068 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

benwavner wrote: »
    Jebus, thats a very general view from someone that hasnt a clue what goes on in an organisation.

Putting armed soldiers on the street should be the very last resort, we need to train and arm a new and improved generation of beat walkin coppers. Gone are the days were Gardai should only be armed with a pair of slacks and a friendly smile. We need every one of these guys to at least, at least be armed with a 9mm pistol.

The army should only be deployed when the **** has hit the fan and is all over the walls.

But saying that....we dont have all Gardai armed and patrolling the beat, I suppose that having the army out on the streets would be some type of deterrent, but what happens then???

Our "first world" "Civilised" nation could possibly become more like a South American free for all show of force.

I wasn't being totally serious with that post =p I do think steps could be taken in regards to at least providing an ad-hoc on-demand backup service to the Gardai though. Everyone knows that the Gardai are over-capacity so why not use the resources we have to help alleviate the problem until it's properly fixed?

Yeah I agree 100% with that, temporary measures should be in force.

Well said!

• Registered Users Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Kingkong

I wonder will the government deduct a days paid from those picketing, I hope they do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭espinolman

Robbo wrote: »
    I ****ing love that smiley because it acts as a brilliant flag for ill-conceived scaremongering.

The world has an expiry date , 21/12/12 . :eek:

World War three may break out soon . :eek:

A metorite could come down and smash your house to bits at any time . :eek:

In fact a lightening bolt could strike you at any time . :eek:

A physical pole shift is due . :eek:

Anyone could catch swine flu , it could be you . :eek:

A massive tidal wave from Canary island volcano could wipe out half the country at any time . :eek:

The world has an expiry date , 21/12/12 . :eek:

World War three may break out soon . :eek:

A metorite could come down and smash your house to bits at any time . :eek:

In fact a lightening bolt could strike you at any time . :eek:

Anyone could catch swine flu , it could be you . :eek:

A massive tidal wave from Canary island volcano could wipe out half the country at any time . :eek:

Sooooooooo, ur saying its time to spend my communion money on a heavy blunt object and a one way ticket to Thierry Henry's gaff before its too late?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭waitinforatrain

Is this thread about the world cup?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

**** the riot geat, wake up the COS, we're taking out Henry. 5 Bn - ON ME!

It's already happened! :eek:

Is this thread about the world cup?

Good point.......multi posting isnt a good idea.

On topic.

It will be interesting to see what happens in relation to the proposed strike action and if the DF needs to step in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭Crow71

They should be deployed to the soccer forum right now, its mental :D

Crow71 wrote: »
    They should be deployed to the soccer forum right now, its mental :D

Looking at the rack of padlocks in AH, I think that they should lend a set or two to the AH mods...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Christy Moore predicted this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

I can retire at 40? Nobody told me.

Oh and tell the lads that served in the Leb they had it way too easy. In fact, go tell the family of the lads that came home in a coffin that their husband or son had it way too easy.

The Dáil will sit later but, with all staff out on strike, the army has had to be called in to provide security.
    From: http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/harney-strike-is-most-regrettable-435572.html#ixzz0Xls9EDPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Its ok for Harney to give out about strikers, she has well enough blubber to survive the winter. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Thick suggestions so far in this thread-

Armed forces being deployed on our streets to curb a few drunken fights.

Martial law to help stop drug dealing.

A military coup.

Keep them coming lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Its ok for Harney to give out about strikers, she has well enough blubber to survive the winter. :p

She's actually lost alot of weight so she may not.

Seriously though trained killers should not be deployed to the streets of Ireland to deal with civilans, has Bloody Sunday not taught anyone anything about the folly of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Poccington wrote: »

Oh and tell the lads that served in the Leb they had it way too easy. In fact, go tell the family of the lads that came home in a coffin that their husband or son had it way too easy.

Don't rise to stupidity, never (or just sometimes :) )

I've done a few Christmas's away from home, having it easy in the sun.

This year my daughter asked "Dad, will you be in Chad or Kosovo this Christmas?" ... "No Princess I won't, but I'm on duty Christmas eve".

At 14yrs old she broke down like a little girl - yup, I've got it so fucking easy its unreal!.