Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What controller should I buy?

18910111214»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Gian-Pa

copeyhagen wrote: »
    ah ok, didnt know you were planning on selling em.
    that denon unit looks nice, but remember the native instruments new controller is to be unveiled today too.

you using traktor?

Yeah just saw the Kontrol S4!! seems wicked. I think i'm going to buy it when it's out. They say it's winter but seems it should be out sooner as there are videos of people already using it...

Yeah I use traktor for everything from House to Techno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 smight

I was just about to press "purchase" on the VCI 100 se , said I'd give myself one more day . . .

thank God i waited, this S4 looks deadly. €899 is a fair bit more than i was willing to pay, but it looks like all you ever need what with them integrating timecode control.

Funny that they have a price listed but you cant purchase it, I'd love to find out an official release date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Gian-Pa

smight wrote: »
    I was just about to press "purchase" on the VCI 100 se , said I'd give myself one more day . . .

thank God i waited, this S4 looks deadly. €899 is a fair bit more than i was willing to pay, but it looks like all you ever need what with them integrating timecode control.

Funny that they have a price listed but you cant purchase it, I'd love to find out an official release date.

officially "winter".
    http://www.facebook.com/aquariussound say on the 1st of Nov.
    but futuremagazine after christmas... so don't know really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 smight

nice one.

hopefully thats wrong tho and they arrive tomorrow :)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 3,839 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeloe

Yeah, i'd say i'm gonna be all over this

Gonna have to ring aquarius and drop a deposit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

Denon comes with Traktor LE (US version with VDJ).

DN-MC6000_EM_top_00.jpg

DN-MC6000_EM_fr_00.jpg

I still prefer the look/layout of the NI Traktor Kontrol 4, no real need for a standalone mixer and I've the feeling the jog wheels will be higher resolution.

kontrols4.jpg

• Integrated audio interface
    • Four-channel mixer section
    • Full support for looping, effects control, browsing for tracks in the library
    • Sample Decks, controlled from the hardware, allow beat-synced sample manipulation, with a live Loop Recorder for sampling an external audio input or resampling a mix from the DJ app
    • Multicolor backlighting and LED
    The Kontrol S4 also promises better jog wheel support, using NI’s own electromagnetic technology to generate high-resolution touch information. (Unfortunately, NI uses their own proprietary NHL protocol; it’d be nice to make use of that control signal in other applications using something like OSC.) NI says they’ll also add external time-code control in a future update; for now, there’s not support for control vinyl for those who prefer conventional decks to jog wheels.
    The bundle will cost you, at US$999/EUR899, but that includes the hardware controller and audio interface plus software. A hard road case will be available for US$189.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭BigDaddyCan

anyone know what the story is with using microphones on the new kontroll? i do the odd mobile gig and would rather not have to drag around a second mixer!

yeah there's a mic in on the s4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

anyone know what the story is with using microphones on the new kontroll? i do the odd mobile gig and would rather not have to drag around a second mixer!

In that second video Shiftee (is that his name?) uses his headphones as a mic, so I'm sure there is a mic input.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

dragging this back up rather than starting a new thread

in the amrket for some midi goodness, plan is

faderfox or xone 1d for mixer duty

denon dn sc2000 midi controller. this controller has gotten some serious reviews.
    254738.jpg

it has the ability to act as both decks, via a switch on the front of it.

question is, is it really viable to use one controller to control 2 decks, or would i get pissed off fast and end up buying a second one anyways?

also, anyone any better ideas than using the likes of a faderfox for the mixing side

I've seen lots of DJs using Serato with just one deck, if there isn't much space in the booth, one of the decks is dodgy, or they're just not bothered setting both up, so it mustn't be a problem only controlling one at a time.

As for a mixer, there's that M-Audio MIDI mixer thing, like a mini Xponent, forget what it's called.

seems odd though, to just use one doesnt it. might just chance one and then if im not happy with the one setup get a second.

whats the m-audio mixer? the uc33e?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

copeyhagen wrote: »
    seems odd though, to just use one doesnt it. might just chance one and then if im not happy with the one setup get a second.

whats the m-audio mixer? the uc33e?

Think it might be this:
    http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/XSessionPro.html

never seen that one before, looks perfect.

cheers

Yep, that's the one I was thinking of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Cormacp6

Does anyone know if the xpononent can be mapped with traktor?

You can map any MIDI device you like. I'd say DJ Tech tools have one made too.

Eh, Yup: http://www.djtechtools.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/04/xponentpadtks.zip

Yep, I had my Xponent mapped to traktor, worked good enough too! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

Lads, said I wouldn't bother starting a new thread! But do any of ye have any experience with the Numark Mixtrack Pro? I've seen loads of good reviews and I think I'll get it. This is the link to it on Thomann...

http://www.thomann.de/ie/numark_mixtrack_pro.htm

Anyone??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

Looks grand you will become Deadmau6 with that yoke!

Ah now....just wana play around in my room or whatever, no need for the abuse :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭BigDaddyCan

http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http://www.djtechtools.com/2011/01/10/pioneer-to-release-traktor-and-serato-controllers_ddj-t1-ddj-s&h=a5323

new pioneer controller being released! looks very similar to the s4! could be some real competition for the s4!

34829_486943812860_84688247860_6028255_5290213_n.jpg

At the NAMM show. Drooling over this one.

got my denon dn sc 2000 up and running yesterday, will give a review of it tonight / tomorrow.