Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What controller should I buy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

If anyone's interested, my M-Audio Fast Track Pro arrived this morning, I plan to use it as a 4 deck soundcard, I'll let you know how it stands up to the Audio 2 DJ quality wise.

I'm guessing not great?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

So lads from my searches I've pretty much narrowed it down to these 3

1) Numark Omni (built in soundcard and supposedly pretty durable) 300 quid
    2) Reloop DJ 2 (Same as above but have heard it's bad for durability) 365 quid
    3) Vestax VCI-100. 450 quid approx, problem is then I have to buy an external soundcard which will cost even more.

I know the VCI-100 has the biggest fan base of those but really I don't have the budget for it as I still also need to some decent cans and monitors with it as well. I was thinking of going with the Omni and then If I do catch the digital bug I can upgrade to something like the VCI-100 or 300 or maybe even the A&H Xone DX. What do you guys think, any experience with either the Reloop or the Omni.

RMD wrote: »
    So lads from my searches I've pretty much narrowed it down to these 3

1) Numark Omni (built in soundcard and supposedly pretty durable) 300 quid
    2) Reloop DJ 2 (Same as above but have heard it's bad for durability) 365 quid
    3) Vestax VCI-100. 450 quid approx, problem is then I have to buy an external soundcard which will cost even more.

I know the VCI-100 has the biggest fan base of those but really I don't have the budget for it as I still also need to some decent cans and monitors with it as well. I was thinking of going with the Omni and then If I do catch the digital bug I can upgrade to something like the VCI-100 or 300 or maybe even the A&H Xone DX. What do you guys think, any experience with either the Reloop or the Omni.

Add the Xponent to the list for the love of god. Purpose built software (TORQ) as well so you're not running some dodgy pirated version of something.

So I need to buy a new controller. I was using an M-Audio Torq Xponent, which I loved and served me very well, but I think its time I moved to Traktor. There is a reason dozens of pros use Traktor and almost none use Torq...

Endorsement Deals :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭ianuss

I would defo recommend the the xponent myself. I got one a few months ago and I think it's perfect for what it is. It's a great way to get started. And if you want to upgrade you'll have no bother selling it on I'd say. They seem to hold their value quite well.

You can play it staright out of the box too. And Torq is grand. The search options and database interfaces suck ass but apart from that I can't fault it. Having never used Traktor I can't really compare, but Torq does everything you need to get started. Undoubtedly, there are better and more expensive set-ups out there, but if you're just starting out it ticks all the boxes.

I got m-audio studio-pro 3 speakers, headphones and the xponent for just over €400 - all new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

jimi_t2 wrote: »
    I'm guessing not great?

Bit late replying...But it turned out not to work as a 4 channel soundcard, 2 of the outputs just duplicated the other two. I exchanged it for an m-audio Profire 610, which is working great. Really good quality, very low latency, 4 stereo outs, and 2 XLR/jack ins. It's also firewire, which gets rid of any USB slot trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭YOP1992

I'm thinkin of getting the Xone Dx, anybody on here use it before or that?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

It looks amazing - are you going to use it with Itch or Traktor?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Lads, a question:

Quite a number of people have been asking me advice on controllers recently. Many want to go the same way I did and get rid of their decks completely and just have a laptop + controller setup. Thing is that the VCI-100 + Audio 2 DJ is fairly expensive. For someone who is only looking to spend €200 - €300 or so, what is the best value controller for Traktor?

Are the Numark ones any good? Which one has built in soundcard? What about the Hercules RMX?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭BigDaddyCan

Zascar wrote: »
    Lads, a question:

Quite a number of people have been asking me advice on controllers recently. Many want to go the same way I did and get rid of their decks completely and just have a laptop + controller setup. Thing is that the VCI-100 + Audio 2 DJ is fairly expensive. For someone who is only looking to spend €200 - €300 or so, what is the best value controller for Traktor?

Are the Numark ones any good? Which one has built in soundcard? What about the Hercules RMX?

i have the RMX and its proper order! i do 3/4 gigs a week with it and its solid! the sound card is solid but the NI ones are nicer sounding....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭was.deevey

I second the RMX .. its a very sturdy (Heavy METAL!) piece of kit for the cash, the only drawback (if it can been seen as a drawback) is no touch sensitive jogs.

Also Hercules brought out a custom midi mapper for it a while ago which made things interesting.

Really cant go wrong with it for the price, i've never had a crash with it + Traktor yet...

Sound is grand with Traktor But noticeably better if Autogain / Master limiter is off and you keep the gains lower than normal.

Oh and the headphone volume is feckin loud!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭clarke1991

hey guys!

so iv been dj'ing using virtual for about a year, but just from the laptop and im looking into getting this controler.. hercules rmx, any oppinions???:confused::confused:

thanks in advance :D

2670979153_28defc272d.jpg?v=0

Ummm see the 2 posts above you :P

Is there much of a difference in the sound card that is built in to the RMX versus the Audio 2 DJ for example? How noticeable a difference is it? It's once that I notived when moving from Xponent+Torq to VCI+A2DJ+Traktor was that the sound quality on the Xponent was not as good. RMX looks like a lovely unit but if the SQ is not up to scratch then.....

I reckon it sounds better than a pioneer mixer, not that thats' saying much :P not sure how it compares to the NI card though..

Once your not driving the b0110x out of it.. it sounds decent enough, I guess i'd put it on par with the maya88.. Sure you could use the audio2 with it or upgrade later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭YOP1992

@Zascar I'll prob use it with itch for a while , and wait for the traktor mappings to be perfected :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

I use the TC and IO. €270 for the lot. I like it. Platic but a reasonable weight and sturdy. Nice layout. You can change the skin and it comes with traktor LE and Cue LE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,624 ✭✭✭milltown

Is there much of a difference in the sound card that is built in to the RMX versus the Audio 2 DJ for example? How noticeable a difference is it? It's once that I notived when moving from Xponent+Torq to VCI+A2DJ+Traktor was that the sound quality on the Xponent was not as good. RMX looks like a lovely unit but if the SQ is not up to scratch then.....

Not all that noticable at all IMO. I was using the RMX as a sound card for my VCI while I was waiting for my Audio2 to arrive, then did a side by side comparison while I had them all. My 37 year old ears couldn't find any discernable difference, although that was just at home playing through 30w monitors.

I've no doubt any minor differences would be amplified (sic) by a club sound system but, conversely, from following some of the discussions on here, there seems likely to be bigger issues with the systems in many clubs that may render minor sound card differences moot.

Ah yeah then I'm sure its absolutely fine. As I said in a few other threads, I had an Xponent for ages and loved it, but when playing out one of my mates commented that the quality was not great. I thought he was being over picky I thought it was fine. I later got the VCI + Audio2 DJ + Traktor, and it was only when a mate came over with his Xponent to play with me, did I notice a real different in sound quality. It just sounded a bit muddled and the signal was not as strong I don't think. I'm guessing it was more down to the actual Torq software than the sound cards though. The EQ's just sounded crappy in comparison to the VCI/Traktor which emulates the A&H mixers.

€300 for a decent quality 3 channel midi is pretty dam good.

hercules_djconsole_rmx_2.jpg

Looks like a pretty good layout etc I have to say. Just the basics well laid out as you'd expect them, wouldn't mind a play with this to see what its like in comparison to the VCI...

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 3,842 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeloe

Second hand VCI's are starting to drop in price, there's one on donedeal there at the minute with a ****ty soundcard for 350.....

i wouldn't change mine for the world, last week, i got the DJtechtools overlay and the black knobs and faders! :D

some job!

Yeah to anyone getting one, definitely get the DJ Tech Tools overlay and mapping. I just got the latest version of the overlay too - way better than the original mapping. There is something around having to have the right firmware I'm not quite sure but its worth checking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭clarke1991

was.deevey wrote: »
    Ummm see the 2 posts above you :P
    yeah just seen them after i posted:o

Yeah to anyone getting one, definitely get the DJ Tech Tools overlay and mapping. I just got the latest version of the overlay too - way better than the original mapping. There is something around having to have the right firmware I'm not quite sure but its worth checking.

Yeah there is a problem with firmware 1.2 and the current mappings, it doesn't really hinder the performance of the unit, just some of the LEDs don't work correctly and some of the fader fx are the same!

But still an awesome mapping!

I would love if vestax brought out a new vci 100 with enough mixer space for 4 decks, something similar to the xone dx!!

eeloe wrote: »
    Yeah there is a problem with firmware 1.2 and the current mappings, it doesn't really hinder the performance of the unit, just some of the LEDs don't work correctly and some of the fader fx are the same!

But still an awesome mapping!

I mentioned it before but in case anyone missed it: I got the DJTT firmware updating doohickey as my VCI had one of the older firmwares on it. Updated my own without a hitch and now works perfectly with all the DJTT mappings. If anyone on here needs their VCI firmware done, all they need do is drop it over to me.

Milltown, i'd like to get this done if possible, i'm running the 1.2 firmware, is it definately possible to get it running 1.3?

eeloe wrote: »
    Milltown, i'd like to get this done if possible, i'm running the 1.2 firmware, is it definately possible to get it running 1.3?

PM'ed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 smight

Hey,

I've been meaning to make the transition for years, decks have been in the wardrobe and havn't bought a record in yonks.

This VCI 100 looks the biz, and pretty straight forward. But, I'm not sure about all this sound card business, can i plug in this thing with Traktor and listen to a tune on my headphones while one is playing ?

Sorry for the **** question - i have no idea.

cheers.

The VCI is just a midi controller - so there is only one connection between it and the computer via usb - all it does it move e.g. knobs and faders on the software. To be able to split two channels of the sound, one for the Audio Out and one for Monitor Cue, you'll need a sound card.

3881004662_d148e3548c.jpg

The Audio 2 DJ has 2x Out's - one to headphones and the other usually goes into a channel on the mixer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

smight wrote: »
    Hey,

I've been meaning to make the transition for years, decks have been in the wardrobe and havn't bought a record in yonks.

This VCI 100 looks the biz, and pretty straight forward. But, I'm not sure about all this sound card business, can i plug in this thing with Traktor and listen to a tune on my headphones while one is playing ?

Sorry for the **** question - i have no idea.

cheers.

With the VCI 300 you can, it has a built in soundcard, but the VCI 100 doesn't. Generally the VCI 100 is rated as better, so I'd say get the 100 and the Native Instruments Audio 2 DJ, which is a great soundcard for only about 100. Then you can cue up tracks like on normal decks.

If you already have a hardware mixer my advice would be to get the Native Instruments Kontrol X1 and an Audio 2 DJ. The Kontrol X1 is made to be used alongside a hardware mixer, whereas the VCI is a standalone device. I've 2 Kontrol X1s and they're perfect.