Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Game [The R.E.D. Album]

• Registered Users Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Hugh Cream wrote: »
    ye i read that about game being dropped,dont believe though.

The whole "rumor" stemmed from a line in the song 'Hustlin' (Champions Anthem)', Game says:

"Before I zip it up, Say **** Rap **** Interscope, Take my contract and rip it up."

Take whatever you want from it. The song has been around for 7-8 months. Don't understand why MUFCBoy thinks it's news?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭Hugh Cream

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    The whole "rumor" stemmed from a line in the song 'Hustlin' (Champions Anthem)', Game says:

"Before I zip it up, Say **** Rap **** Interscope, Take my contract and rip it up."

Take whatever you want from it. The song has been around for 7-8 months. Don't understand why MUFCBoy thinks it's news?
    ye fair enough,i couldnt really give a shyt,only remembered id read about it when i came in here.
    but lets be honest,game either fails to release the red album,or it flops,hes dropped,but hey so what,thats no big deal is it?

I reckon deeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep, deep down that PrettyBoy and mufcboy1999 really do like each other despite the fact that every second post between them is an attack on the other for trolling haha :p

I don't understand what the issue is, I'll be the first to admit that I am a big Game fan, I try to keep this thread updated with news and latest music but he just feels the need to look for a reaction from me because he knows if he posts something controversial I'll respond in an attempt to clear it up. He's admitted trolling before so make of it what you will, I'll keep posting the facts.

A few of the press pieces on Purp & Patron..
    GAME DROPS PURP & PATRON MIXTAPE

While the release of his long-awaited 'The R.E.D. Album' is on hold, Game is still dropping new music, this time courtesy of his latest mixtape, 'Purp & Patron.' The project, which was available for download on Monday (Jan. 24) received close to 10,000 downloads soon after it hit the 'Net. Clearly proud of his efforts, Game took to his Twitter page to congratulate himself. "I usually don't even listen to my own music but this Purp & Patron is a f---in problem," he wrote Tuesday (Jan. 25).

The 29-track double disc mixtape features a hefty guest list including the likes of Snoop Dogg, Dr. Dre, Wiz Khalifa, Lil Wayne, Travis Barker and Rick Ross. A joint effort between Game and longtime collaborator DJ Skee, and hosted by Funkmaster Flex, 'Purp & Patron,' is exceptionally put together, making for the perfect prefix to what fan's can expect on his official album release. Featuring a bevy of radio ready tracks, 'Purp & Patron,' is a prime example of the music magic that can be made, minus the push of a major label.

'Purp & Patron' marks the third mixtape Game has dropped since 2009, releasing 'The R.E.D. Room' and 'Brake Lights,' both in 2010. 'The R.E.D. Album' is expected to drop sometime in 2011.

http://www.theboombox.com/2011/01/25/game-drops-purp-and-patron-mixtape/
    The Game released a new mixtape yesterday titled Purp and Patron hosted by DJ Skee and Funkmaster Flex that was reportedly downloaded over 125,000 times in less than two hours. The 29-track double disc set includes collaborations with Lil Wayne, Wiz Khalifa, Pharrell, Dr. Dre, Ashanti and T-Pain.

http://www.rollingstone.com/music/news/digest-the-game-releases-new-mixtape-sheryl-crow-publishing-cookbook-20110125
    OK, so who saw this coming? Sure, a lot of rappers release bloated mixtapes. But how many have gone as far as making a glorified double-album of a mixtape? Well, we now know of one who definitely has: Game. Along with some help from DJ Skee and Funkmaster Flex, the Compton rapper put together a 29-track mixtape, Purp & Patron, that is broken up into two "discs." The lineup for the project is pretty insane as it finds Game linking with everyone from Dr. Dre to KRS-One to Ashanti to Pharrell to Wiz Khalifa ...I could go on. If you were looking for something to keep you busy until The R.E.D. Album finally drops, this should do it.

http://www.prefixmag.com/media/game/purp-patron-mixtape/48563/

• Registered Users Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

Und
    I literally laughed out loud when I saw what the link was, I'm a regular poster on that forum and I posted in that very thread. The thread you posted means nothing, it was a random member talking about a lot of "what if" scenarios. Believe me, I post on all the message boards and there has been nothing about Game getting dropped from Interscope.

Understand man, I started this thread and I post in it regularly - if you're going to bring up a random, unfounded, far fetched "rumor" of course I'm going to question your source. OK? Your source speaks for itself on this occasion.

Why the name calling?

Mate, I questioned your source. You gave a ridiculous answer. I'm not starting arguments, you're just a troll.

I literally laughed out loud when I saw what the link was, I'm a regular poster on that forum and I posted in that very thread. The thread you posted means nothing, it was a random member talking about a lot of "what if" scenarios. Believe me, I post on all the message boards and there has been nothing about Game getting dropped from Interscope.

believe me mate there has, why is that so hard to believe? that is one of the forums i heard it on infact that was the most recent and it wasnt that long ago. im telling you a few weeks back before the mixtape was announced that rumor was on quite a few forums and it makes sense you know its not like i said he was going to be dropped:rolleyes:.
    understand man, I started this thread and I post in it regularly - if you're going to bring up a random, unfounded, far fetched "rumor" of course I'm going to question your source. OK? Your source speaks for itself on this occasion.

ok honestly i gave my review of purp and patron which when you think about it has nothing to do with the red album so it shouldnt even be on this thread if we are going to be like that. it wasnt random it was a comment to do with the album, you use this thread for basically anything to do with game, you didn't question my source you said i made it up huge difference, so of-course im going to react bad because i wouldn't do anything like that. i mean if i said you made a post up and you know you didnt how would you react? maybe you wouldn't mind but going by your personality through boards hip hop forums i think you would react bad and so would 9/10 people.
    Why the name calling?

fair enough, it was the heat of the moment but you shouldn't be throwing around comments that i made something up just because it doesnt sound as you'd want it, if you didn't jump the gun and assume i meant he was going to be dropped we wouldn't be having this discussion, again what i meant was he could be leaving on his own back and maybe doing an independent release like most rappers these days bar the big guys.
    Mate, I questioned your source. You gave a ridiculous answer. I'm not starting arguments, you're just a troll.

so who's name calling now? a ridiculous answer right thats why i was able to give you one source and also prove you wrong on your words not mine :
    Do you think Interscope are going to let him go after all the money they've invested over the last two years? Game couldn't go if he wanted to. do your homework kid there's been a long line of artists dropped from major labels with more money spent on them than game, he's a B list rapper at best.
    I'm not starting arguments,

honestly you are the most argumentative person iv seen on these hip hop forums, i mean you said i made something up how is that not starting an argument :confused: should i take that as a complement.

im not going by any song, where's this coming from at all?

the last thing you,me and anyone else who's interested in the album want is this thread getting locked so stop getting emotional and feeling the need to jump down my troat if i say anything negative about game.

you didn't question my source you said i made it up huge difference
    My exact response was "Sorry, where did you hear this?".
    a ridiculous answer right thats why i was able to give you one source and also prove you wrong on your words not mine
    Prove me wrong? When was this? Your source was a random thread on a public message board.

I could start a thread on that site saying "Dr. Dre is going to step down and Game will take over as C.E.O. of Aftermath Entertainment". I'd make up a little story based on Games lyrics "Everybody knows that I'm the heir to the Aftermath dynasty" and you could post here telling everyone that you're hearing rumors that Game is running Aftermath now?

Makes sense.
    so who's name calling now?

* Troll;
    "In internet slang, a troll is someone who posts inflammatory, extraneous, or off-topic messages in an online community, such as an online discussion forum, chat room, or blog, with the primary intent of provoking other users into a desired emotional response"

These are your words, not mine.
    you took the bait and came to defend your beloved hero game in record time :D

honestly a part of me done that too see how you would react, too easy.

You're a troll mate, a self-proclaimed troll at that so don't be getting touchy about it.

Like I said, I'll keep updating this thread with relevant news and music. No one is interested in our back and forth arguments.

Prove me wrong? When was this? Your source was a random thread on a public message board.

I could start a thread on that site saying "Dr. Dre is going to step down and Game will take over as C.E.O. of Aftermath Entertainment". I'd make up a little story based on Games lyrics "Everybody knows that I'm the heir to the Aftermath dynasty" and you could post here telling everyone that you're hearing rumors that Game is running Aftermath now?

Makes sense.

* Troll;
    "In internet slang, a troll is someone who posts inflammatory, extraneous, or off-topic messages in an online community, such as an online discussion forum, chat room, or blog, with the primary intent of provoking other users into a desired emotional response"

These are your words, not mine.

You're a troll mate, a self-proclaimed troll at that so don't be getting touchy about it.

Like I said, I'll keep updating this thread with relevant news and music. No one is interested in our back and forth arguments.
    yes and then i told you where and then you said (the part this discussion is all about) : I think you just made it up yourself to be honest. and then i posted one forum where that topic was covered to prove i didn't make it up and that also says i wasn't trolling. So really that hits the nail on the head i.e you jumped the gun and reacted like a stan (again) and this is why we are arguing.
    i feel like a parrot talking to you:D.

number 1.

do you think Interscope are going to let him go after all the money they've invested over the last two years? Game couldn't go if he wanted to

as i said the likes of rakim,busta,bishop lamont were shelved and thats just aftermath let alone interscope as a whole, so yes game can be dropped or agree to leave and seek an independant release (creative differences happens a lot). so your wrong there.

number 2.

I think you just made it up yourself to be honest.

then i posted a link to prove that i heard it somewhere. its a pitty i cant find the various comments on other sites because id post them too.

http://thisizgame.ning.com/forum/topics/a-potential-beef-between

all i said was what i heard, i never stated anything about it being a confirmed source, most rumors always start off on public forums anyway before they are confirmed. so ye i proved you wrong cheif;).
    Shut up man, you contribute nothing.
    so i guess your a fellow troll too, because that has nothing to do with the jay z vs nas vs biggie vs 2pac thread:D. if anything my comment that just proves your a stan.

listen fellow troll your right no one is interested so lets keep it on topic and talk about the red album only, no purp n patron no game on twitter etc no more trolling for us 2 trolls.

lets keep it red only if we are going to get technical otherwise you should of named this thread THE GAME.

im not posting for other people's amusement (even though i know its funny im even laughing) but i wont have you saying that i made sh*t up end of i proved you wrong on that no matter how you like it so lets move on.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

I don't understand what the issue is, I'll be the first to admit that I am a big Game fan, I try to keep this thread updated with news and latest music but he just feels the need to look for a reaction from me because he knows if he posts something controversial I'll respond in an attempt to clear it up. He's admitted trolling before so make of it what you will, I'll keep posting the facts.

I was only messing but I can see where you're coming from. I am grateful though that you post everything on here cause i don't have the time to be looking for it. He may not be the GOAT but he puts out some quality music when he puts his mind to it. He better hurry on with this album or people will start to lose interest quickly

its a pitty i cant find the various comments on other sites because id post them too.
    Yeah it's a real pity you "can't find" them :rolleyes: Oh well, I guess a random member on a Game fan site is as good as any other source :pac:
    so i guess your a fellow troll too, because that has nothing to do with the jay z vs nas vs biggie vs 2pac thread:D. if anything my comment that just proves your a stan.
    This sentence makes no sense. I just gave you the definition of a troll - you're not good with English, are you?

I told the guy in that thread to shut up because he constantly disrupts any thread that mentions Tupacs name (like you do with Game-related threads). He was trolling, I said shut up and he did. End of.
    lets keep it red only if we are going to get technical otherwise you should of named this thread THE GAME.
    Are you slow? Games last 3 mixtapes have included songs that were recorded for the album.

I can't understand where this argument came from? Do you want me to change the name of this thread so people like yourself don't get confused?

Here's a new interview with Game from DJ Skee's show last night,

He talks a lot about the mixtape but touches on other subjects;
    • He will be on Detox and Dre will be on The R.E.D. Album
    • He wrote a couple of songs for Detox
    • He talked about the album, said he couldn't give a date but he's "almost done".
    • He met with Jimmy Iovine (C.E.O. of Interscope) last week (probably letting Game know he's getting dropped :rolleyes: )
    • He's shooting a video for 'White Soft Porn', says it includes Asher Roth and "some other people".

Also came across this on the new Black Wall Street website (wearebws.com)
    Now a multi-platinum artist, this West Coast Leader from Compton is set to release his 4th studio album, titled "The R.E.D Album" with features from Drake, Rick Ross, Wiz Khalifa, Big Boi, Akon, Dr. Dre and more.

Excerpt from an interview with Complex.
    Like his mentor, Dr. Dre, Jayceon “The Game” Taylor has an oft-delayed album that people have been waiting to hear. His fourth release, The R.E.D. Album, has been getting pushed back since the end of 2009 while the Compton native has been recording and tweaking songs. He even released the street single, “It Must Be Me,” featuring the album’s executive producer, Pharrell, as well as the Justin Timberlake-featuring single, “Ain’t No Doubt.” While the singles didn’t catch, the recent release of his mixtape, Purp & Patron, is a good sign that we’ll finally hear the album this year. To see if our assumptions are correct, we got Game on the line to talk about including Dr. Dre-produced songs on the new mixtape and when we can expect to hear The R.E.D. Album.

As told to Toshitaka Kondo (@ToshitakaKondo)

On Including Two Songs Produced By Dr. Dre For His New Mixtape, Purp & Patron

"Everything on that is new. [I recorded the songs with Dre] probably a couple months ago in late July. I was just trying to fill a mixtape, so I just put as many ****s as I could. They didn’t necessarily have to be Dre songs, or Cool and Dre. I just was going through the hard drive and whatever I found that was of good quality and recent recording, I gave to Skee. And some of those had already leaked, maybe a verse or hook. The whole version didn’t leak, so that’s why I threw the Dre joints out because they had already leaked.

[In terms of having a song with Ashanti], I don’t think she was riding with anything. She separated herself from the beef if anything. Dre called me and was like, 'You ever work with Ashanti?' and I was like, 'Nah.' He was like, 'Are you opposed to it?' And I said, 'Nope.' So we did it.

People think 'You’re back in with Dre,' but I’ve been in with Dre. I haven’t necessarily had him on an album, but I’ve been working with Dre on Detox for my entire career. The world doesn’t know ‘cause Detox hasn’t come out yet and I haven’t had anything from him on L.A.X. and Doctor’s Advocate because, you know the politics. But me and Dre been talking and chilling since the beginning. Documentary came out and I went my own way, did what I had to do to take care of my family, but it ain’t like he didn’t call me or I ain’t check on him."

On The R.E.D. Album

"I think 'The KIll' is the only song [off Purp & Patron] with enough potential to make it on The R.E.D. Album. The R.E.D. Album is pretty much 95 percent done. Until I find a record that is just so amazing to me, and it’s next level and doesn’t sound like anything that’s out, and makes me feel comfortable with it being played on the radio and shooting a video to it, I won’t give R.E.D. Album a date. At this point it’s pretty much in my hands. I had a meeting with Jimmy Iovine and the label heads about a week ago and they gave me the green light to kind of pick a date when I want.

The album is so classy, that I can’t sell it short with any single man. I wanna come with the right song, and make sure it’s a song that’s classic and iconic, and then we’ll know. I’m recording every day for no reason. Pharrell is executive producer and it ain’t gone change. I got Dre producing on the album, I got Premier. Like all the people I’ve wanted on one album, are on this album.

I knocked out like two, three joints with Premier before I left on tour, so maybe ****, the end of like October, but, I’m probably gonna use one on the album. Premier sent me the joints he did. Something he don’t never do. Premier don’t send you **** through email, but we’ve been meaning to catch up to each other and work, and he was doing some stuff with Christina Aguilera and some other things so he be everywhere. So he ended up saying, 'I’ll just send you these joints. I made this for you.'"

http://www.complex.com/music/2011/01/game-talks-dr-dre-produced-tracks-on-purp-and-patron-and-the-red-album

Yeah it's a real pity you "can't find" them :rolleyes: Oh well, I guess a random member on a Game fan site is as good as any other source :pac:

This sentence makes no sense. I just gave you the definition of a troll - you're not good with English, are you?

I told the guy in that thread to shut up because he constantly disrupts any thread that mentions Tupacs name (like you do with Game-related threads). He was trolling, I said shut up and he did. End of.

Are you slow? Games last 3 mixtapes have included songs that were recorded for the album.

I can't understand where this argument came from? Do you want me to change the name of this thread so people like yourself don't get confused?

should of guessed you'd say that, bitter pill to swallow but look we all get it wrong sometimes, but think about did i make it up??? the obvious answer is no, no matter what source iv got all i said was that i heard it. why is that so hard to believe??? im right end of, your the one who went all troll on it:pac:.
    your the slow one believe me, you cant understand because your the one who clearly talk circles around yourself. honestly you keep going around in circles, i explained above where the arguement started when you said i made it up do you understand that for the 100th time:rolleyes:.thats where it started, are you confused? can you understand that? is that simple enough for you?

you dont know why it started because you spun a web around yourself, i heard you started mentioning game songs a few posts above saying thats where it started so your imithing the rumor was true a few months back newsflash game has done fu*k all to kill that rumor so its no surprise its been mentioned on a few forums up till a few weeks ago even hugh cream said he heard it what more do you want, fu*k its like talking to a judge with all your sources and evidence theory's, you'd make a good judge kid fact;).
    I try to keep this thread updated with news and latest music but he just feels the need to look for a reaction from me because he knows if he posts something controversial I'll respond in an attempt to clear it up. He's admitted trolling before so make of it what you will, I'll keep posting the facts.

this is between me and you chief so lets keep it that way. I said a part of me done it but i do think he's a studio gangsta anyway because of the video's on change of heart etc where he looked soft so i was gona post it anyway, i just knew you would be the only one to defend him and anyway there's nothing to defend he was on change of heart end of, you didnt see me defending dr dre or ice cube when they were called studio gangsta's. you dont clear anything up you respond from a fanboy perspective jumping the gun and defending him like he's your missus.

just because i hit some hard home truths about his music because i like his music but he's been making a lot of rubbish, loads of attempts at a single flopped, he has pharrell and dre and still cant make a hit aswell as countless features including justin timberlake and he just messed it up big time why? because he's completely fallen off and thats something you cant handle and come at me for saying it.

you see me on this thread i give him praise when he deserves it, but for the last 2 years he has been terrible, thats why his album is pushed back constantly and just like i said last year on this very thread he's taking a back seat to detox which you again argued over.

so dont think you clear anything up you just add fuel to the fire by defending him 24/7 on every thread.

look you'l get the 2 of us banned if you keep this up, because im not stoping on this one i made fu*k all up, imithe your wrong for once, iv done to you before its not the end of the world.

Game and Skee just dropped 'White Soft Porn'!

wsppe.jpg

wsp2.jpg

DOWNLOAD HERE: http://www.sendspace.com/file/ubkbf1

Game and Skee just dropped 'White Soft Porn'!

wsppe.jpg

wsp2.jpg

DOWNLOAD HERE: http://www.sendspace.com/file/ubkbf1

just sayin you'l get done for posting the download link.

my opinion on the track, its pretty average, from the snippet and the buzz surrounding it i expected better. iv actually heard better on purp n patron to be honest.

just sayin you'l get done for posting the download link.

It's a free download though, part of a free mixtape?

Song is OK, plenty of better songs on the mixtape but it's good to finally hear the full track. Remix is on the way.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

It's a free download though, part of a free mixtape?

Song is OK, plenty of better songs on the mixtape but it's good to finally hear the full track. Remix is on the way.

I've removed the link. Can you provide something official to say it's a legit link. If so i will re-instate it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Edgehead

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I've removed the link. Can you provide something official to say it's a legit link. If so i will re-instate it.

Its a free mixtape...nobody makes any profit...

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Agreed that it's a freebie, but there needs to be a source for send space links. Can you give the link to the Official page that it was released on?

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Agreed that it's a freebie, but there needs to be a source for send space links. Can you give the link to the Official page that it was released on?

There's no links to the individual songs but you can download the full mixtape here: http://purpandpatron.com/

• Registered Users Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Underground

Delighted to finally hear a finished WSP,my favourite Game track of recent years anyway.

Game reveals that the response to "The Kill" has come from many places, prompting him and DJ Skee to shoot a video, and that "Purp & Patron" was largely written since Saturday morning.

Compton, California emcee Game has had a massive week, by way of his Purp & Patron double-mixtape. The effort, hosted by both Funkmaster Flex and DJ Skee has fans excited about the upcoming R.E.D. album.

Speaking with HipHopDX just minutes ago, Game spoke about getting the legendary club deejay and radio personality Funkmaster Flex to co-host this monstrous tape. For starters, the mixtape's title took its form from simple studio surroundings. "I told [DJ] Skee that it was about time for another mixtape, because I had been getting a bunch of things done just on the random - [not necessarily for the R.E.D.] album. I called [Lil] Wayne and I called [Fabolous], just callin' in favors. I just knew I was gonna put out a mixtape, but I didn't even know what I was gonna call it. We was in the studio, drinkin' this Cafe Patron, which is the bottle featured on the tape [cover], and smokin' and everything. One of my boys was like, 'Yo, we gonna call it Purp & Patron.' So I called Skee [and asked] to get a cover drawn up."

Once Game went public with the concept, Hot 97's evening deejay wanted in. "As soon as I put the avatar on my phone, [Funkmaster] Flex called me up like, 'Yo, I'm bein' part of this thing. Call Skee and let him know it's me and him.'" DJ Skee, who has been making mixtapes with Game for nearly eight years, agreed to have the legendary mixmaster host.

Without much warning, the double-mixtape released on Monday. The short notice was actually game taking a challenge from Black Wall Street producer Ike. "I didn't think I was gonna be able to make the deadline, but my boy challenged me," said the rapper. On Saturday at 11 a.m. PST, the rapper says he had nothing recorded, but began feverishly writing and recording. "I just started writin' my verses to everything I had. ****, I went in, man. My engineer Sam, I kept asking him, 'Sam, where we at?'" The contents of Purp & Patron went from three songs, to 12, to 18, to a total of 30. "Send Skee 30 songs," Game told his engineer, without having previously conceptualized a double-mixtape. "****, it's called Purp & Patron. Let's make one Purp, let's make one Patron."

When DJ Skee received the weekend recordings, Monday's 4:20 pm EST deadline was fast approaching. "Skee was on an airplane from New York to L.A. He sequenced the tape and put the drops in, and got the tape right on the plane," Game revealed. "As soon as he landed [we put it out]." Although the initial deadline was not met, Game teased fans, claiming he meant Pacific Standard Time instead. Once the tape reached online sites, the fans swarmed. With a hearty laugh, Game told DX, "That **** spread like HIV on a homo dick."

Among the songs that fans are talking about the most on Purp & Patron is the Cool & Dre-produced "The Kill" . Asked about the La Roux-sampling song, Game provided an interesting anecdote. "I hadn't talked to Nas in like a year, since [L.A.X. when] we did 'Letter To The King.' Out of nowhere, I get a text from this ****in' [New York] number, and I read the text: 'Yo, it's Esco. Two words: 'The Kill.'" As Game tried to engage in a text conversation with his friend and collaborator, Nas stopped respond. With a chuckle, Game stated, "He disappeared again. He just chimed in to give me props on 'The Kill.'"

More than just Nas' blessings, the song is a favorite by fans. "That song is crazy, I love 'The Kill.' That's my favorite song on the mixtape," said Game. "I just got off the phone with Skee like two minutes [ago], and we was talkin' about how we gonna shoot this video to 'The Kill,' 'cause fans are really going crazy for it. So we're gonna have to do a visual. We're gonna work on that in the next seven days."

Asked about the inspiration to the song, Game affirmed his critics for bringing the lyrics out. "I was in the mind-state of people always doubting me, lyrically. I think it's 'cause I have fun and I got plenty styles. I can change my voice and change my style, and I'm always havin' fun on records. I don't know why people doubt me lyrically, but I really am a superb lyricist." The self-confident emcee continued, "When I sit down and really give myself a chance to think and vibe with a beat, [I can be great]. I think I've proved that album-after-album, joint-after-joint, from 'Hate It Or Love It' to 'My Life' to 'Dreams' on down to 'The Kill.' When I start writing real music, it always comes across like this."

The emcee also praised longtime collaborators Cool & Dre, as well as his deep for the culture. "When I get a beat like that, and I'm in that real music, real Hip Hop, then that's gonna be the outcome every time."

http://www.hiphopdx.com/index/news/id.13843/title.game-says-that-nas-loves-the-kill-purp-patron-was-made-in-72-hours

• Registered Users Posts: 29,560 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

The Kill is def best song on the mixtape, rest of it is very meh. Brake Lights was way better.

I put the link back in above as the source is verified.

Part 1 of a 2 part interview with 'All Hip-Hop'
    Game & 'Purp & Patron': 12 Months, Three Mixtapes, One Album

Compton, California rapper Game has the Internet world a buzz with his latest mixtape Purp & Patron, his third mixtape in the past 12 months. Purp & Patron, which is a double mixtape hosted by DJ Skee and Funkmaster Flex, features 29 songs.

Purp & Patron features artists like Snoop Dogg, KRS-One, Big Daddy Kane, Doug E. Fresh, Wiz Khalifa, Fabolous, Rick Ross, Bun B., Jim Jones, Mistah Fab, Lil Wayne and others, following Game’s trend of dropping epic mixtapes.

Purp & Patron is Game’s third mixtape in the past 12 months, following the releases of The R.E.D. Room and Brake Lights. According to Game, his fans are snapping up the mixtape an incredible pace, with claims of over 1.1 million downloads since it’s release on January 24th.

As if that weren’t enough, today (January 28th), Game is supposed to drop The Hangover, 12 more songs from his vaults.

Game chopped it up with AllHipHop.com’s Founder Grouchy Greg and went into detail about how the massive mixtape came together, the possibilities of a collaboration with 50 Cent, his thoughts on Bloods in Hip-Hop and how a monumental track with KRS-One, Doug E. Fresh and Big Daddy Kane came to fruition.

All of this is to hold fans over until his fourth official LP The R.E.D. Album gets a release date. According to Game, the mixtape is a throwaway until the real thing comes along. Check out Part 1 of this 2 Part interview.

AllHipHop.com: Congratulations on the success of the Purp and Patron mixtape. Your reps told me it has done about 200,000 downloads since you dropped it.

Game: Ni**as is congratulating me on the mixtape all day, like a Ni**a just won the NAACP Award or some s**t. (Laughs). I got three albums, all of them are platinum. I can understand it. They aint gravitating to some nobody in s**t. But I have to be honest, I didn't think it was going to do all this s**t. I can't even begin to understand it.

AllHipHop.com: How do you think the people at Interscope are feeling since the official album has been delayed?

Game: The label, they talking about putting The R.E.D. Album out tomorrow (laughs). We had a conversation, I'm going to go play them the album next week. The label is already on board, that's why I put the mixtape out.

AllHipHop.com: So Interscope had no problems with you dropping this double mixtape with all of those cameos? They gave you permission?

Game: Gave me permission? Grouchy, Ni**as don't give me no f**king permission. I met with Jimmy Iovine himself, I told him what my ideas were as far as my project. Then he put the whole building at my disposal.

AllHipHop.com: So there's like 30 some odd new songs out and that doesn't include this Hangover bonus you said you are going to drop. Didn't these songs take a lot of money to make, with the amount of guest appearances on this mixtape?

Game: I'm from one of the most notorious cities in America. Over the years, throughout the early phases of my career, all the way up until now, I've developed friendships, so I can pretty much get anybody on a song as far as reaching out. Fab, Wayne, those are my dudes, along with Snoop. Me and Wiz [Khalifa] got tight in the last four or five months. It wasn't hard to put together the project, but the studio time, that was on me. I probably spent about $20, $30,000 working on this mixtape. But I just came off tour, I'm caked up, so we made it happen.

AllHipHop.com: With all these guest appearances, what in the world can be left for your official album?

Game: The album is nothing to be played with. It's killing the mixtape. The mixtape I threw that s**t out and Skee helped sequence in the right way.

AllHipHop.com: Is there any conceptual theme to this album? I noticed the song you gave AllHipHop.com "The Kill," it seems like you are speaking to your fans a little bit different. To be honest it sounds more mature.

Game: The album sounds like The Documentary on steroids. The only thing missing from this album is 50 Cent. As much as he don't like me and I don't like him - or we say that we don't like each other - it's the only thing missing. I worked with Dre again, Just Blaze is back on it, I worked with Swizz Beatz again, I worked with 'Ye (Kanye West) again, I got DJ Premier on the album, Pharrell is executive producing it. Snoop, Drake, Trey Songz, Chris Brown, E40, Big Boi, it's crazy.

AllHipHop.com: You think 50 will ever go back and work with you?

Game: I think 50 might. I think we might work together again one day. But I tell you what, it will be on his project first, not mine (laughs).

AllHipHop.com: Has there been any dialogue between you guys or your camps in terms of figuring out a way to end the beef?

Game: There aint nobody to middleman the situation. It's going to have to be me and him. People would think it was a hoax or one of us was messing around with the other. We would really have to sit down, or it's going to be nothing.

AllHipHop.com: It's obvious the fans are waiting for The R.E.D. Album. XXL Magazine did a poll among the fans to see what album they were waiting for the most in 2011. You won by a landslide, over a lot of rappers.

Game: Of course. When it comes to albums, I don't disappoint. Like people can diss, bring up the "Change of Heart" s**t, say that I'm a fake blood. Like the "Change of Heart" s**t. OK, I went on there. That was me, I loved it, I had a ball. I was 17, that s**t was fun and I'd do it again today at 30. That was then. Ni**as say I'm a fake blood. But the Ni**as that think they are real bloods got their affiliation from me. I can dip in and out of any hood. Ni**as f**k with me man. I done paid my dues in the street. I don't have to try and be a "real" blood. I'm not out doing drive-bys, I'm at home with my kids. But as I elevate my life, my career, my family, I'm still the same person on the inside. If you push my button, I will break your s**t in half. Anybody will. If someone is testing your manhood, a f**king nerd will fight you. This album is me, I want it to see the light of day, not for me, but for my fans. They've been waiting on it.

AllHipHop.com: You touched on you being a blood. And you dropped that cut "Soo Woo" with Lil Wayne, who also reps the bloods in his music. Do y'all ever worry about law enforcement messing with y'all since everyone is claiming one affiliation?

Game: I'll flip that question on you. Do you think the gang banging problem is realistically worse now than it was, when Ni**as like Snoop and N.W.A. was out? Why would anyone try to stop me or any of them Ni**as around the world who "think" they are bloods? Being a blood has become more a fad or a fashion for some people. Ni**as say blood and never seen it. ****, I got Kim Kardashian and them on the mixtape yelling
    "Soo Woo." It aint nothing.

AllHipHop.com: How do you feel about that, seeing as though you come from the era and area when it was real?

Game: I'm glad that being gang affiliated has become less violent.

AllHipHop.com: You have Lil Boosie on a track titled "187." Man of all the song titles, "187"? Wow. He's in jail facing the death penalty over a murder. What was it like working with Boosie?

Game: When he was going through trial, he did that for me and he was like "you can hold that. You are going to have the only Boosie verse and you might have the last Boosie verse for a long time." He looked out and I want everyone to know I am doing it for him too. I remembered I had it and I was like let me give the dude some light. I know that where ever he is, he got wind of it and he knows what's up.

AllHipHop.com: Well it's pretty dope how much balance this mixtape has artist wise, with cats from The Bay, West and the East. Why is this always so important for you to have this amount of unity?

Game: When have I not been a universal artist? When have I not named dropped my favorite artists? It's just who I am. When have I not paid homage? I got KRS, Doug E. Fresh and Big Daddy Kane on this album, on one track! A lot of the younger rappers aren't grass-rooted in Hip-Hop. They don't even know who Digable Planets is. They would think that was a special on A&E about the stars or some s**t. Ni**as don't go back to EPMD, Strictly Business or The Geto Boys, Tela, they don't know about the first Blueprint. Ni**as think Jay-Z had the first Blueprint.

AllHipHop.com: So on the "History" track with KRS, Doug E. Fresh and Big Daddy Kane, you actually worked in the studio with them?

Game: We was all in the studio at the same time. I got it on camera. Outside of meeting Dr. Dre, that was the best night of my f**king life. I will never forget it, and I am forever in debt, first to KRS-One, cause he put it together. Doug E. for being a good friend of mine and coming to the studio and my other homie Dougie D. who was like 'You got them in the studio? Let me call my man Kane!' Even KRS said 'Us three never been in the studio at one time, never."

http://www.allhiphop.com/stories/features/archive/2011/01/28/22569964.aspx

GAME’S ‘R.E.D. ALBUM’ TO BE STAR-STUDDED FEST

Game struck gold with his double-disc mixtape Purp & Patron, a worldwide trending topic on Twitter since its release. But the Compton native promises that the giveaway has nothing on his long-awaited R.E.D. Album.

The West Coast MC claims that his oft-delayed fourth LP will exceed any material on his mixtapes. “The mixtape **** is incredible by the fans’ choice, but I know my music and the album is 20 times better than the mixtape,” he told Rap-Up.com. “It’s just a mixtape. I had no intention that it was going to be this big of a deal, but if people are raving over this mixtape like that, then the album is nothing to play with.”

Game maintains that R.E.D. will still be executive produced by Pharrell and feature production from Dr. Dre, and that he’s only a week away from settling on an official single. “I got a couple singles picked out. I talk to the label in a week and I’ll play them the whole album and we’ll come to an agreement collectively on what we should go with,” he explained. “I got ****loads of singles for the album. So we’ll see what catches and we’ll roll with it.”

As far as collaborations, the former G-Unit rapper did reveal that Chris Brown and Wiz Khalifa will make the final cut. “Oh yeah, Wiz is on the album, Chris is on the album. Pretty much everyone is on the album,” he shared. “Whoever you could think of. Except Jay-Z and 50.”

Though he wouldn’t say who else would be featured on the LP, he assures that R.E.D. will arrive in the next few months. “The album is going to be finished within the next couple of weeks so you can be looking for Interscope to get behind the single and push it and deliver a date,” he said. “The **** that’s on The R.E.D. Album is incredible.”

http://www.rap-up.com/2011/01/28/games-red-album-to-be-star-studded-fest/

There's a lot of talk on the message boards about a song called 'Red Nation'.

Cool and Dre posted this on Twitter.

redwp.jpg

Nothing has been confirmed yet but apparently it will be a single from the album.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

I was a little dissappointed with White Soft Porn, the synth wasnt as prominant and the vocals were changed from the one in the YouTube video and I liked them as they were.

Ah well, still love the mixtape, like it more than Brake Lights personally.

Game jumps on another big remix...

GAME PROMISES HIS 'R.E.D ALBUM' WILL DROP THIS YEAR

Forget about 'The R.E.D. Album' for now, Game is turning all interest to his 'Purp & Patron' mixtape. The Compton rapper had the Internet buzzing this week with the street release of his 26-track double-disc offering, boasting a slew of positive reviews (including from us) and more than 30,000 downloads in two days from one site alone.

"The fan response is crazy," Game told The BoomBox. "I don't do the numbers. I just know that everybody has it and I feel honored and privileged that I'm the n--- behind the mixtape because it's crazy."

The mixtape -- put together by DJ Skee and hosted by Funkmaster Flex -- spread like wildfire, quickly becoming a trending topic on Twitter. The 'Purp & Patron' guest list isn't too shabby either. Game "called in favors" and the result was appearances from the likes of Lil Wayne, Dr. Dre, Snoop Dogg and Wiz Khalifa.

"Purp & Patron' is the last mixtape before the album comes out for the simple fact that I don't care about buzz," Game says. "I have a core fan base that is gonna send me platinum every time. I got three platinum albums and I got fans that [are] gonna cop my albums whenever they come. I can sing my ABCs on an album and I got people that love me enough to support it. I got real diehard fans that f--- with me from here all the way to Australia. I just threw out a mixtape, it wasn't even no long thought process."

Popularity aside, Game made it clear that even though 'Purp & Patron' is good enough to be an album and has several singles readymade for the radio, the mixtape has nothing on what he's cooking up for next official studio album. Buzz for his fourth release dates back to 2009. A after several pushbacks, 'The R.E.D. Album' appeared to be hanging in the balance, but Game explained that despite the fodder, the two projects couldn't be more different. "My albums take a lot more songs and it's a longer process. The process of elimination is just crazy. I try my best to put out a 100 percent of who I am into my album. [With] mixtapes, I just call in favors and enough people support me to where they send it back in a timely manner and I throw it out.

"The R.E.D. Album' is one of the most anticipated albums. I don't need the mixtape to hold any of my fans over, I just like to feed my fans every now and then because I'm constantly working on the album, so some of the songs that don't make the album or some of them that leak, I give them to [DJ] Skee and he makes incredible mixtapes with them. I don't wanna pass judgment on nobody's music, I f---- with everybody, from Kanye, to Jay-z, to Drake, but 'The R.E.D. Album' is not to be played with or confused with any other album. It's going to be the best album of my career."

Although the tracklist has yet to be announced, Game has re-teamed with longtime mentor, Dr. Dre, consulted with Nas, and tapped Pharrell Williams to executive produce the project. "The lyrical skill that I present now, I'm at an all time high. I've been in the zone as far as my writing goes. I've been happy, my family is good, my girl is on point, she lets me work, I don't get hassled. I got a free spirit, a free mind. All my friends are on my album, my hip-hop friends. Everybody that I f--- with in music really on an everyday basis those people are on the album.

"I ain't doing no dates til I got a song in the top 10 and its going, then Imma say what the date is, because I'm tired of playing date games with the label and my fans. 'The R.E.D. Album' is supposed to be slated in the summer and if not it will come before the summer or after but I know it's 2011. It's got a 2011 release. It's gotta come out this year otherwise it will be old and I'm going to have to start over."

http://www.theboombox.com/2011/01/28/game-promises-his-r-e-d-album-will-drop-this-year/

Game, Kendrick Lamar and Dre in the studio last night.

gamedrelamar.jpg