Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hate the English??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

caseyann wrote: »
    Thats a whole different story don't even try compare what happened there like what happened in Ireland :rolleyes: While i don't like the fact there was bombings of innocent civilians in Britain.God alot of the Irish are forgetting this> http://news.bbc.co.uk/onthisday/hi/dates/stories/may/17/newsid_4311000/4311459.stm

http://breaking.tcm.ie/archives/2004/0517/ireland/kfeyidaukfoj/
    Wow its true what they say Irish is not Irish anymore.
    I am not living in past but i sure as hell wont forget it nor will i say oh well that's what happened then.For you maybe your own language may not be important but it is to alot of us.
    I assume you're a fluent Irish speaker then? I also assume you speak Irish as a first language?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

Forgive my first post in this thread, I was being facetious. I can`t say whether Irish people hate the English, but I am an English person living in Ireland, and have been for eleven years now. In all that time i`ve only ever had one nasty remark, while I was at work (as a barmaid). The next afternoon, the person who made that remark had sobered up, came to the bar and finding me not there, asked when my next shift was, and he actually did return again, and apologised for his behaviour. The only other times my nationality has been remarked upon have been the occaisional request from friends to `teach` them my scouse accent!?! (Why on earth would anyone what to speak with a Scouse accent?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭Kradock

Travel , makes you more tolerant of things , embracing other cultures can to some degree help to appease some of the natural intolerances that have been passed down knowingly or not from generation to generation .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Everybody keeps going on about the "history". Has everyone forgotten the present situation? No matter what way you look at it, they still control one quarter of our country.

And can you realistically tell be a viable alternative to this arrangement me_right_one? Do a wee bit of research and you will find out that a 32 county united Ireland would be eonomic suicide for us. Certainly at the moment in any event. Now I'm a romantic myself but the way I see it is that we are in deep enough sh!t at the moment.

In the scenario the OP pointed out somebody ranting and raving about hating the English while wearing a Man Utd gersey is just pathetically sad. He should have being told to take a stand back and take a good look at himself and cop on. I do realise that the actions of the British in the past in this country could never be condoned. Likewise the actions of the British establishment against their own people was downright wrong through the years no doubt and could never be condoned either. This has no doubt and continues to be the case in many countries throughout the world. I don't think you need to look too far away from home. Perhaps its on a different level but when I see the likes of Roddie Molloy getting a one million euro golden handshake and ordinary people losing their jobs and homes (not so many homes being lost at the moment but its probably a case of watch this space) it makes my blood boil. Maybe all you Brit haters should look a little closer to home? Also the IRA's tit-for-tat killing campaign instigated in recent decades gone by. Like the British campaign how could this ever have being condoned. I certainly wouldn't consider these people true Irish patriots (scumbags more like). Please note that I am just trying to point out that there were wrong-doings on both sides of the political divide that can never be justified. On the hole I find English people to be warm and really nice people. Sure some English people are assholes and some Irish people are assholes also.

For such a nation of Brit haters by hell do we embrace their culture, sports, music, chainstores, tv channels, catch phrases, magazines, websites, etc etc etc. People should also realise the extent to which we rely on our nearest neighbours for Economic reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

Thats a whole different story don't even try compare what happened there like what happened in Ireland :rolleyes: While i don't like the fact there was bombings of innocent civilians in Britain.God alot of the Irish are forgetting this> http://news.bbc.co.uk/onthisday/hi/dates/stories/may/17/newsid_4311000/4311459.stm

People were killed in Warrington, People were killed in Dublin, People were killed, its the same thing. And you are living in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,266 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Forgive my first post in this thread, I was being facetious. I can`t say whether Irish people hate the English, but I am an English person living in Ireland, and have been for eleven years now. In all that time i`ve only ever had one nasty remark, while I was at work (as a barmaid). The next afternoon, the person who made that remark had sobered up, came to the bar and finding me not there, asked when my next shift was, and he actually did return again, and apologised for his behaviour. The only other times my nationality has been remarked upon have been the occaisional request from friends to `teach` them my scouse accent!?! (Why on earth would anyone what to speak with a Scouse accent?)

But Scousers aren't English.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

(Why on earth would anyone what to speak with a Scouse accent?)
    You might also ask why would anybody want to speak with any accent ie, a belfast one ? .A whole thread going on at the minute about accents we love ,the liverpool one being liked by a few .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

ejmaztec wrote: »
    But Scousers aren't English.:p

Scousers aren't human

• Closed Accounts Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Warfi

All rice, all rice, chyalm down, chyalm down:D

brummytom wrote: »
    Scousers aren't human
    Fail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,923 ✭✭✭Terrontress

http://breaking.tcm.ie/archives/2004/0517/ireland/kfeyidaukfoj/
    Wow its true what they say Irish is not Irish anymore.
    I am not living in past but i sure as hell wont forget it nor will i say oh well that's what happened then.For you maybe your own language may not be important but it is to alot of us.

It wasn't English people who planted those bombs. It was other Irish people.

It wasn't English people who planted those bombs. It was other Irish people

Who did it in the name of and without the consent of ' most ' Irish people .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

Nobody in ireland hates the English. And the English dont hate the Irish. They think we dont have a chip on our shoulder, unlike the Scots and Welsh.

That said Britain was **** in Ireland, but only a fool blames people not alive at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

I was brainwashed as a kid to hate the English. Luckily I grew up and developed my own opinions on what I saw around me. Yeah, you can get a few eejits who are english but its the same everywhere, in any country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

i dont hate the english dont see the point in hating them. only thing i dislike is when a sports team does well and suddenly there media says they are best in the world

It wasn't English people who planted those bombs. It was other Irish people.

Um, no. It was people who are Unionists, and are British in ethnicity. That is how they describe themselves. As someone who doesn't want to reunite the country I dont accept - either - the English guff about the Irish fighting the Irish in Norhtern Ireland ( which is part of the UK). In fact most actors in the "troubles" were British citizens ( IRA included), most of the violence happened between British citizens, and a significant majprity in Northern Ireland is British by enthicity first.

English conservatives see Northern Ireland as as British as Finchly, and totaly Irish at the same time. Especially the latter when even Union Jack wearing radicals plant bombs.

EDIT: Note the bombs in question were the Dublin and Moghanan bombings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

sky88 wrote: »
    i dont hate the english dont see the point in hating them. only thing i dislike is when a sports team does well and suddenly there media says they are best in the world

ENGLAND WILL WIN THE WORLD CUP!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,266 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Dean820 wrote: »
    I was brainwashed as a kid to hate the English. Luckily I grew up and developed my own opinions on what I saw around me. Yeah, you can get a few eejits who are english but its the same everywhere, in any country.

Unfortunately, some people never change the views that are rammed down their throats when they're kids, and spend the rest of their lives obsessing over it, before dying bitter and twisted old codgers.

Latchy wrote: »
    Who did it in the name of and without the consent of ' most ' Irish people .

Of course not. Every terrorist atrocity carried out by the varying Irish factions did not have the consent of the majority of Irish people but we can't blame the English outright for the actions of these vile people and we cannot point to Dublin and Monaghan as justification for Canary Wharf, Warrington or Manchester.

asdasd wrote: »
    Um, no. It was people who are Unionists, and are British in ethnicity. That is how they describe themselves. As someone who doesn't want to reunite the country I dont accept - either - the English guff about the Irish fighting the Irish in Norhtern Ireland ( which is part of the UK). In fact most actors in the "troubles" were British citizens ( IRA included), most of the violence happened between British citizens, and a significant majprity in Northern Ireland is British by enthicity first.

English conservatives see Northern Ireland as as British as Finchly, and totaly Irish at the same time. Especially the latter when even Union Jack wearing radicals plant bombs.

EDIT: Note the bombs in question were the Dublin and Moghanan bombings.

So you think Ulster Unionists are English?

What about the Scottish and Welsh? English also?

Just because they see themselves as British or that Belfast is as British as Finchley does not make them English.

Believe it or not, being English usually has something to do with being from the geographic area known as England.

Just because they see themselves as British or that Belfast is as British as Finchley does not make them English.

Good you. Now read the post again. I said British, not English. And there is a difference between the Irish Catholic in Northern Ireland ( who sees himself as Irish first), and the Irish protestant ( who sees himself as British). Unionists are settlers of English, or Scottish descent.

England can hardly be excused for this. The UK was often called England during the heyday of the British Empire ( watch an NewsReels at the time). The Queen is often called the Queen of England. Not Britain.

In effect the UK is the start of the "English Empire". What the UK is not, and never was, is a multinational state with equal regard to all nations - for instance the staus of Gaelic and Welsh leave that in no doubt ( compare with Flemish and French in Belgium).

The settlement of Ireland - of English people in the South, and Scots and English in the North - was an act taken by the London parliament.

So yes, England stands at the centre of this.

Good you. Now read the post again. I said British, not English. And there is a difference between the Irish Catholic in Northern Ireland ( who sees himself as Irish first), and the Irish protestant ( who sees himself as British). Unionists are settlers of English, or Scottish descent.

England can hardly be excused for this. The UK was often called England during the heyday of the British Empire ( watch an NewsReels at the time). The Queen is often called the Queen of England. Not Britain.

In effect the UK is the start of the "English Empire". What the UK is not, and never was, is a multinational state with equal regard to all nations - for instance the staus of Gaelic and Welsh leave that in no doubt ( compare with Flemish and French in Belgium).

The settlement of Ireland - of English people in the South, and Scots and English in the North - was an act taken by the London parliament.

So yes, England stands at the centre of this.

I said it was not English people who planted those bombs but other Irish people and you disagreed.

Whether you like it or they like it, those Unionists whose family have been in Northern Ireland for years are Irish, coming from the island of Ireland.

The rest of your post is sheer smoke and mirrors.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Unfortunately, some people never change the views that are rammed down their throats when they're kids, and spend the rest of their lives obsessing over it, before dying bitter and twisted old codgers.
    It's an obsession which can eat away at people till they die yes

Of course not. Every terrorist atrocity carried out by the varying Irish factions did not have the consent of the majority of Irish people but we can't blame the English outright for the actions of these vile people and we cannot point to Dublin and Monaghan as justification for Canary Wharf, Warrington or Manchester.
    Hang on ,I think your reading me wrong . Nowere in my post am I alluding to any bombing of anywere, in any city, be they taking lives of Irish or British people . No justifcation at all for any atrocitys whoever they are carried out by .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭cianl1

10 pages and this thread is still going, are the mods still in bed or something?

Latchy wrote: »
    It's an obsession which can eat away at people till they die yes

Hang on ,I think your reading me wrong . Nowere in my post am I alluding to any bombing of anywere, in any city, be they taking lives of Irish or British people . No justifcation at all for any atrocitys whoever they are carried out by .

I was merely elaborating on your post to counter that of caseyann. Apologies if I made it sound like you had attempted to justify murder.

No probs .

To be honest I am not a fan of these do you like / dislike the Eglish threads they have being done to death already .

Whether you like it or they like it, those Unionists whose family have been in Northern Ireland for years are Irish, coming from the island of Ireland.

They are primarliy British Nationalists - see the Union Jacks they fly. The only problem with this analysis is that the Islannd is also called Ireland - so in that sense they are "Irish".

The thing would be different on the continent. Imagine Germany invades part of France. Imagine that part of France becomes part of Germany. Imagine Germany plants Germans there. Do the Germans in the German "mainland" get to call the German nationalists in German occupied France French? Is it not part of Germany? Are they not Germany nationalists?

The problems in Northern Ireland were not caused by Irishness, or Irsh people acting unilaterally.

As for not considering hte Unionists Irish - they dont consider themselves so, so why should we? Lets take them at their word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭newmills

Jesus i was bored starting this thread this morning but hey.......can...worms!!

They are primarliy British Nationalists - see the Union Jacks they fly. The only problem with this analysis is that the Islannd is also called Ireland - so in that sense they are "Irish".

The thing would be different on the continent. Imagine Germany invades part of France. Imagine that part of France becomes part of Germany. Imagine Germany plants Germans there. Do the Germans in the German "mainland" get to call the German nationalists in German occupied France French? Is it not part of Germany? Are they not Germany nationalists?

The problems in Northern Ireland were not caused by Irishness, or Irsh people acting unilaterally.

As for not considering hte Unionists Irish - they dont consider themselves so, so why should we? Lets take them at their word.

They do consider themselves as Irish. They just have a different notion of Irishness to you. Look up the website of the Orange Order. They call themselves something like the Grand Lodge of Ireland.

I am not sure if you understand the concept of the United Kingdom. It is four countries and one state. A union. It is not possible to be British and British alone. Being British you will either be English, Welsh, Scottish or Irish.

But all this is a side issue to my original point which you disagreed with. It was not English people who carried out the Dublin and Monaghan bombings but people from Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

No, I don't hate the English at all. History is just that, something that happened along time ago. Only fools dwell on the past. The average Englishman and woman had nothing to do with Irish oppression, even moreso nowadays. Most English people I have met are great fun (dare I say more than the Irish). Also, they seem to be more open to different conversations. In Ireland, we consider talking about the weather the height of sociability.