Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Awkward Moments....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

when ye try to silently fart at mass but instead hear an echoe

Try being caught at Mass when you're the grand marshall of your local satanic cult. Man I was so mad at my Mom that day!
    Earthhorse wrote: »
    Actually, one I just remembered. A few years back a guy in the post room took to calling me Paul Smith. I tried to correct him the first time he did it but he didn't understand me (English not being his first language). There were two Paul Smiths in the building, you see, though I wasn't either of them, but somehow he thought I was.

I gave up on trying to explain this to him and anytime he would see me in the office he'd say "Hi Paul" and I'd always respond.

The day he was leaving he was coming by our floor and he came by to say goodbye to his ole pal Paul. Only, where I work, you have a little nameplate above your desk.

"You are not Paul?" he said.

"No," I sheepishly replied.

"But why you not say?"

I just looked at him until he walked away.

Should have just looked at your nameplate in shock and said, "Ok smart guys - who the hell's been switching the nameplates again!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭NotSoDumbBlonde

Earthhorse wrote: »
    Actually, one I just remembered. A few years back a guy in the post room took to calling me Paul Smith. I tried to correct him the first time....

Same happened to me - worked somewhere for 3 years and this 1 particular person thought my name was Claire - which it isnt - but he never heard me when i tried to correct him so I went with the whole Claire thing and when he called me Claire, like you, I would respond.

When it came to MY leaving do he said "Hey Claire - are you going to the leaving do for yer one on floor 5?"........and I replied "Eh........yeh"

• Registered Users Posts: 14,714 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

When it came to MY leaving do he said "Hey Claire - are you going to the leaving do for yer one on floor 5?"........and I replied "Eh........yeh"

Whenever I remember our little conversations in the corridors there's always that Seinfeld bass playing in the background.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Medievalist

Once I was standing beside my boss while he was transfering work site photos from a camera onto his computer. We were both making comments on each photo, pretty mundane stuff. Then the last image comes up on screen and it's a photo of a couple in bed, both grinning at the camera! :eek: Cue nervous laughter, much embarrassed arm waving and eventually turning off of the monitor. There was a very hasty 'I think it's time for tea...' exit. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Also never trust TheZohan.

I don't. Not since he drugged me that second time ... :P

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

When you are walking down the path and it rather quiet with nobody else around and there is a woman in front of you, yet for some reason you are only a pace or 2 behind her.. you can see by the body language she is aware of your presance and as she proceeds on you neither pass or fall behind further...she begins to get nervous, she puts her hands firmly around the strap of her hand bag...

You, now are rather embarressed, because you think this bra burning man hating lesbian thinks you are a bag snatcher or a rapist, so now after the embarresment subsides a form of anger ensues, the rage builds further, so much so that you should have turned into your house nearly half a mile back the road but continued... she keeps walking afraid to stop, now you find yourself in the countryside, 5 miles outside town...what happens next is the difference between a taxi ride home, or making the front page of the local newspaper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

snyper wrote: »
    bra burning man hating lesbian

No wonder, in fairness:
    rather quiet with nobody else around and there is a woman in front of you

When you are walking down the path and it rather quiet with nobody else around and there is a woman in front of you, yet for some reason you are only a pace or 2 behind her.. you can see by the body language she is aware of your presance and as she proceeds on you neither pass or fall behind further...she begins to get nervous, she puts her hands firmly around the strap of her hand bag...

You, now are rather embarressed......

Its also embarrassing for the woman in front because even though she's beginning to feel nervous, she DOES actually feel guilty/awkward/silly clutching said straps tighter and walking faster. She wants to look behind her but she knows you know that she knows you're feeling embarrassed etc.....best bet is to overtake her!

• Registered Users Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Léan

I work in a video shop, this auld wan comes in.

Her: *old raspey voice* "Do you have Fatal Attraction to rent?"

Me: "No sorry, just to buy".

Her: "Oh right.... *long pause*..... Do ye sell adult movies?*

Me: (hoping i didn't just hear that) "sorry what?"

Her: "Adult movies?"

Me: :o:o Sorry no.

There was a porn shop across the street :/

I must be really bored to be continually posting on my own thread.

Anyway, what about the ole classic: When you wave at someone but they fail to see you waving. What to do with hand in air:-

(a) Shake it and pretend you're trying to get your watch to slide a lil bit further down your wrist!?

(b) Shake it and pretend you've got pins & needles?

(c) Scratch your armpit?

(d) Scratch your head?

(e) Pretend to wave at someone else......and then smile & mouth a "HEY" and then do the "Call me" thing to said someone else (who is imaginary) with the same hand..........Oh cringe :(

• Registered Users Posts: 915 ✭✭✭Bloody Nipples

Remember the straws in McD's when you were a kid, and you'd tear off bits of the paper wrapper, soak it in spit and fire it? My aim ain't great and it flew over my buddy's shoulder and hit the bald, tattooed man dead in the centre of his forehead...

...where it stuck fast. He reached up and scraped it off, with a look of absolute disgust. Then zeroed in on me, jaysus his stare would have boiled water.

Naturally, an apology was in order, so I turned and ran.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭ziggy23

was at a 21st and went to find the toilets . seen a big bloke with short hair using the handryer so said oh this isn't the womens is it? Big bloke turned around and it was a big butch woman. She just stared at me like she was goin to murder me then and there. Had to pretend I was drunk to get out of it:o

• Registered Users Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭jiltloop

I hate when this happens, you're walking down the street and a car is driving past you, you think you're the only person around. The driver of the cars gives a beep. You don't recognise the car and you can't see the driver cos of the sun glaring on the windscreen. You decide to wave at the car in case it is someone you know cos you don't want to appear rude.
    Cue the 2 people who the driver was actually saying hello to laughing and pointing behind you.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

jiltloop wrote: »
    I hate when this happens, you're walking down the street and a car is driving past you, you think you're the only person around. The driver of the cars gives a beep. You don't recognise the car and you can't see the driver cos of the sun glaring on the windscreen. You decide to wave at the car in case it is someone you know cos you don't want to appear rude.
    Cue the 2 people who the driver was actually saying hello to laughing and pointing behind you.

I had that happen with some old woman waving out of a car. Me and some random 40ish year old guy waved back. Turned out neither of us knew her.

when ye try to silently fart at mass but instead hear an echoe

When your phone rings in mass and Tubular Bells is your ringtone........:(

• Registered Users Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Jeanious

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    When your granddad who has the same initials as you has not only opened your delivery of steam-powered dildos but is actually using them in his room while your Mam wonders is that a cat being murdered outside at loud volume while the sound of your granddad's rattling OAP orgasm comes through the walls and drowns out the sound of the heart-wrenching domestic abuse scene on Eastenders which your celibate aunt Maura has called over to watch with the whole family.

By jove old boy, you've only gone and done it! This post is the very pinnacle of After Hours, it's all downhill from here on in people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 529 ✭✭✭Homicidal_jesus

farting in an elevator....actually its unbelievable hilarious but yano:p

running out of things to say when chattin to a girl*face palm*

everynow then some fellas(me:D) voices can go high pitched forno good reason not awkward just bloody embarrasing ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

When your sitting on the train with your friends and theres 3 of you and a random person sits at the 4th place....its jsut weird!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Playing at a 21st a few years back i was going through the usual routine of the cake, 21 kisses etc when the birthday girls brother asked me to get the family up for a few photos. I oblige and everyone is standing there with her except her dad. So i pick up the mic again and i start calling for 'Daddy' to come up and then say 'Sure he's probaby at the bar getting pissed' followed by 'Come on daddy where are ya hiding?'

I get a tap on the shoulder from one of the bar staff who tell me that 'Daddy' died two weeks ago of liver failure.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

everynow then some fellas(me:D) voices can go high pitched forno good reason not awkward just bloody embarrasing ha
    Thats just part of puberty.Youre becoming a man :pac:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Your mother catching you ****. Especially when you're doing it on her face while she sleeps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 529 ✭✭✭Homicidal_jesus

Thats just part of puberty.Youre becoming a man :pac:

that could be it:D but it happens to alot of people i no well into there 20's its pretty funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Your mother catching you ****. Especially when you're doing it on her face while she sleeps.

Yeah your mother caught me at that........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

that could be it:D but it happens to alot of people i no well into there 20's its pretty funny

I'm 21 and it still happens to me occasionally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

my sister loves south park so i had this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cp2N_Dj1ZfI&feature=related as my ringtone to make her laugh.

Forgot about it and bumped into my exs father today- was chatting and all of a sudden my phone rang. I swear to god the shame he must have thought i was a ****ing nut job:(

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Léan wrote: »
    I work in a video shop, this auld wan comes in.

Her: *old raspey voice* "Do you have Fatal Attraction to rent?"

Me: "No sorry, just to buy".

Her: "Oh right.... *long pause*..... Do ye sell adult movies?*

Me: (hoping i didn't just hear that) "sorry what?"

Her: "Adult movies?"

Me: :o:o Sorry no.

There was a porn shop across the street :/

Reminds me of last month, i was down in Cork working for the week, i brought the fiance and her young fella whos 8.

We, after work were walking down the city centre and there was this sex video store in front of us, i seem it - you cant miss it, its pink, glaring pink... He seen it and said "oh look ma, a video store - can we het a video" I simply replied, no my good man, we dont have the proper cloths on to go in there, you see, you must be wearing a long trench coat and have on a pair of sun glasses and be over 50 to be allowed enter.

The childs disappointment was palpable.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Farting on a bus with someone beside you, even worse when you've been letting off absolute stinkers all day and haven't been able to hold them in. This exact situation in taxis are horribly awkward too !

When someone waves at another person behind you while you're sitting on a bus. you can't even walk away to hide your shame :o

Tapping someone on the shoulder thinking it's one of yer mates only to find out it's a complete stranger, made even worse if you call out their name while you do it.

I work in a call centre and while trying to get people back online i've asked them to check their net access by opening up a browser etc I've found my self saying "Are you able to get it up ?" numerous times, it's cringe worthy when you actually hear the person on the other end sniggering a little. I just make a joke out of it then :D

• Registered Users Posts: 721 ✭✭✭TheTubes

I was having a kick around in the park when my buddy (who is rubbish at football) hit an old man in the side of the face with the ball.
    he was fine about it but it was pretty awkward.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,661 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Was leaving the house in a rush yesterday morning and while I was locking the door I saw someone coming down the street. I only glanced really and the sun was in my eyes but I thought it was my friend Dave. He said hello so I let out a big cheery "Hi Dave". I think it's obvious at this point that it wasn't Dave and I looked like a spanner.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭cathysworld

When you're in lectures or a really quiet meeting in work coming up to lunch time and your stomach starts to rumble quite loudly.. You try gulping water and fidgeting to block out the noise while your face is turning puce and you think everybody is laughing at you!!

Or maybe thats just me :o