Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Awkward Moments....

• 09-09-2009 10:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭

1. When you're walking alone but realise you're in sync with someone beside you who is walking at exactly the same pace and is headed in the same direction...

2. When you see someone you know but you dont want to acknowledge you see them, for whatever reason, so you try to blank them, even though they're right in front of you....you do that whole "Hmmm, im thinking about something really important and i'm staring just above your head, deep in thought....." thing....

Any other awkward moments out there!?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 21,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭entropi

And i thought someone was gonna confess to getting caught having a thomas the tank in the living room, while their gran walked in with their mam:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

When you get to a thread in AH first but can't think of something witty to say :(

Edit: I wasn't first. Phew.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

When you're walking behind someone, they're walking at the same speed as you so you can't overtake them as it were. So you decide to keep your distance a bit and just look like a shit stalker.

And when a parent mentions anything rude.
    I got a few 'rude' cards off my mates for my birthday that I thought I'd hid well, obviously not
    "Get any cards Tom?"
    "Just off Seamus"
    "Oh right.. If you say so ;)"

or yesterday.
    "We going out to town now mom?"
    "Yeah, just wait until my Property Porn's finished" :eek: :eek: MOM!! (she means house programmes)

Like mother, like son

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭NotSoDumbBlonde

When you feel stupid for posting a stupid thread in the first place :(

Nope, its actually ok - someone else posted an awkward moment! Phew!! Cheers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Photi

When your pint-piss cycle falls into sync with someone else's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Last weekend, when we were getting ready to head out:

Me: "So, what are you wearing tonight?"

Friend: "Um ... this?! :confused: "

Me: "Ah ... lovely ..."

I'm cringing again thinking about it!

Going to see Bruno with your pops!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

brummytom wrote: »
    And when a parent mentions anything rude.

Agreed. I ordered a camera from eBay a few months ago and my mother was home when it was delivered, signing for it and all. Then I came home.

"Hello there Mom, did any post arrive for me today?"

"Why yes m'boy a rather large, rather plain brown package came for you not two hours ago!"

"Excelsior!"

"Yes, son. Is it a blow up doll?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

When you crack a "yore ma / da / gran" joke and the person pulls out the "He/She/It died last week"

:o

Thanks, Zohan! You Boards-embarrassed me!

Agreed. I ordered a camera from eBay a few months ago and my mother was home when it was delivered, signing for it and all. Then I came home.

"Hello there Mom, did any post arrive for me today?"

"Why yes m'boy a rather large, rather plain brown package came for you not two hours ago!"

"Excelsior!"

"Yes, son. Is it a blow up doll?"

"Tom... you do know the council monitor every site you visit on my laptop don't you?"
    "Errrrr...."
    "Just be careful"

Never felt more awkward. She got me my own laptop after that, fair play to her :P

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭-Leelo-

My boss is pretty old and isnt great on a computer so asked me to look through his email for something and one of the emails was entitled something random like "Want bear cock porn?" He was standing right behind me, he knew I saw it, awk-ward!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

When your granddad who has the same initials as you has not only opened your delivery of steam-powered dildos but is actually using them in his room while your Mam wonders is that a cat being murdered outside at loud volume while the sound of your granddad's rattling OAP orgasm comes through the walls and drowns out the sound of the heart-wrenching domestic abuse scene on Eastenders which your celibate aunt Maura has called over to watch with the whole family.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Being 14 years old and having to ask your dad to buy you some tampons

When someone walks into a toilet cubicle - and you're in it - and the lock was broken......so you're trying to hold it closed whilst peeing - and YOU say sorry!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

When you crack a "yore ma / da / gran" joke and the person pulls out the "He/She/It died last week"

Thanks, Zohan! You Boards-embarrassed me!

amateur!!

Thats when you reply "Serves the bitch/bastard right!!".

Also never trust TheZohan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

When someone walks into a toilet cubicle - and you're in it - and the lock was broken......so you're trying to hold it closed whilst peeing - and YOU say sorry!

I once did that to a friend in Boarding School. Well, kinda.

I knew she was in the cublicle, so I was winding her up and banging on the door. Then I kicked it... The door flung open, smacked her straight in the head and almost knocked her out!

Peeing?

Oh, I raise you shítting in a disabled toilet in the reception of a gym with a 60-something year old man opening it in full view.
    Even worse when you find out he's your trainer for the day :o

• Registered Users Posts: 14,714 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Stranger: Hi!

Earthhorse: :confused: Oh hi! *big grin*

Stranger's friend (behind Earthhorse): Hi, how are you?

Earthhorse: :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Oh this was my worst ever!

I was doing a job interview a few years ago, probably the first proper one I've ever done. We were chatting about my first year college exam results earlier in the interview, since I had just gotten them that morning. Anyways the interview finished up, I thought it had gone really really well. The interviewer stood up, shook my hand, and said with a big smile, "So are you ready to celebrate tonight?"

Me, all naive and happy: "Oh you mean I got the job? Thank you so much!"

Him: "Um ... no ... I meant, are you going out to celebrate your exam results."

The ensuing silence really was painful.

He still rang me the next morning and gave me the job though :)

• Registered Users Posts: 131 ✭✭Nihilist21

Having to repeatedly ask someone to repeat everything they say because you can't understand their accent, until you just give up and begin guessing appropriate responses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Something similar to that happened to me too. It was one of the last days of m working in a certain supermarket when I was talking to one of my co-workers:

"So Annie, there's no need to kill yourself now that I'm leaving. I'm sure life will go on."

*Annie wells up*

"Are...you okay?"

"Yeah, I'm fine...it's just that...*sniffle*...suicide is something that's affected me before and tends to make me...*sniffle*...upset...Excuse me a second!"

"Whoops, sorry."

Of course he did, he was avoiding an awkward moment of his own.
    Nihilist21 wrote: »
    Having to repeatedly ask someone to repeat everything they say because you can't understand their accent, until you just give up and begin guessing appropriate responses.

Yeah, yeah, it's around quarter past eleven mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭lightning_saa

when ye try to silently fart at mass but instead hear an echoe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Alexl

One time few years back, was using a condom for a water balloon when my old principle walked into jacks, sure enough I pocketted the opened condom and forgot about it, was in supervalu later on that day and went to get money out of pocket, accidentally pulled it out and it fell on the floor for everyone to gape at:eek::eek::eek: and I knew all these people!:D:D
    Paid, picked it up really quickly and sprinted out the door.

• Registered Users Posts: 57 ✭✭Dr.NickRiviera

Hmmm...Being forced to write something on a thread you have no interest in, in order to 'show support' of the authors post...yawn :p

Sitting around a table in a pub, having a drink with a group, some of whom some you know and some you dont........ you're discussing names you would never dream of calling your children......and you come out with "JORDAN" and then someone at the table says "My kid is called Jordan..........." AWKWARD.

(apologies to anyone called Jordan - it's a nice name)

Hmmm...Being forced to write something on a thread you have no interest in, in order to 'show support' of the authors post...yawn :p

Eh get on another thread!!

Actually, one I just remembered. A few years back a guy in the post room took to calling me Paul Smith. I tried to correct him the first time he did it but he didn't understand me (English not being his first language). There were two Paul Smiths in the building, you see, though I wasn't either of them, but somehow he thought I was.

I gave up on trying to explain this to him and anytime he would see me in the office he'd say "Hi Paul" and I'd always respond.

The day he was leaving he was coming by our floor and he came by to say goodbye to his ole pal Paul. Only, where I work, you have a little nameplate above your desk.

"You are not Paul?" he said.

"No," I sheepishly replied.

"But why you not say?"

I just looked at him until he walked away.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 21,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭entropi

K4t wrote: »
    When you get to a thread in AH first but can't think of something witty to say :(

Edit: I wasn't first. Phew.
    Its grand, i think that was witty enough to cover both our posts:P

Oh this was my worst ever!

Me, all naive and happy: "Oh you mean I got the job? Thank you so much!"

Him: "Um ... no ... I meant, are you going out to celebrate your exam results."

The ensuing silence really was painful.

LMAO!:eek: