Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The SirToYou "dignified discussion" with anything to do with Macau

• Registered Users Posts: 253 ✭✭Moro Man

Conbro wrote: »
    wtf?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055391439

The Ironic thing is he gave the money back but now ( for unrelated reasons ) is on the "Perma-Ban" list
    bops wrote: »
    The Macau is my fav card club in Ireland. I particularly enjoy going there for the 10k monthly game and the festivals in august and december.

In my 3 or 4 years going there i have only good things to say about the club:
    the structures are always good, the standard of dealing is good, the rake is fine, the food is excellent, the waiting staff are friendly, helpful, (and generaly sexy), Ken (or whoever else was TD) have always done a fine job

but most importantly (imo) the regs have always been very friendly, good craic, up for a bit of banter, polite, good losers/winners and so on - very much the opposite of the trolls you see on this thread

i'll be down there for the plo later today and later in the week for the ME and can't wait tbh!!

up Cork!

100% Accurate - But 99% Irrelevant

Beijing Olympics - Best Ever
    If anyone really thinks that 8k might have been taken from the prizepool, then if you don't question it, or if you do and don;t receive a legitimate answer - and you continue to play there, then you are an absolute idiot.
    I'd be very interested to see if anyone gets barred for asking where the money went.

The biggest standing joke to come out of The Macau was the circumstances surrounding the "winning" of the Progressive Jackpot on the Casino Poker tables. It wasn't of particular concern to the Poker players but the Chinese were up in arms over it.

The Jackpot had risen to over €25k. To scoop the lot you had to be dealt a Royal Flush in the first 5 cards and have paid the Bonus Amount of €1 to qualify. The Jackpot was creating a big buzz for the Chinese.

So when they came in one Evening they were quite interested to see that the Jackpot had been won. They presumed it had been won by someone they knew.

They approached the management who told them that the Jackpot had been won earlier that day. They asked by whom. They were told that A Guest in The Metropole had picked a flyer in the Lobby and decided to check the place out while waiting for his lift to the airport. He appeared around lunchtime. He was told that they weren't open but they left him to look around. He then asked could he try out one of the table games. Seeing as he was a tourist and going home that afternoon they opened the Poker Table for him. He played one hand, got a Royal Flush scooped the €25k. Walked out the door with the cash and went straight to the airport.

The Chinese wanted to know who the dealer was and they were told that there was no staff on the premises just the manager as the place wasn't really open at the time.

The next day they asked to see the CCTV but were told that due to the fact the premises wasn't actually open they hadn't turned on the camera.

I'm not saying this didn't happen. I have no reason to believe that it didn't. I'm just using this an example of "Legitimate" excuses that have been used in the past. ( Approx odds of Royal Flush in 5 cards about 650k/1 )

Alot of the Chinese showed how credible they thought the story was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭gorfield

Moro Man wrote: »
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055391439

The Ironic thing is he gave the money back but now ( for unrelated reasons ) is on the "Perma-Ban" list

100% Accurate - But 99% Irrelevant

Beijing Olympics - Best Ever

The biggest standing joke to come out of The Macau was the circumstances surrounding the "winning" of the Progressive Jackpot on the Casino Poker tables. It wasn't of particular concern to the Poker players but the Chinese were up in arms over it.

The Jackpot had risen to over €25k. To scoop the lot you had to be dealt a Royal Flush in the first 5 cards and have paid the Bonus Amount of €1 to qualify. The Jackpot was creating a big buzz for the Chinese.

So when they came in one Evening they were quite interested to see that the Jackpot had been won. They presumed it had been won by someone they knew.

They approached the management who told them that the Jackpot had been won earlier that day. They asked by whom. They were told that A Guest in The Metropole had picked a flyer in the Lobby and decided to check the place out while waiting for his lift to the airport. He appeared around lunchtime. He was told that they weren't open but they left him to look around. He then asked could he try out one of the table games. Seeing as he was a tourist and going home that afternoon they opened the Poker Table for him. He played one hand, got a Royal Flush scooped the €25k. Walked out the door with the cash and went straight to the airport.

The Chinese wanted to know who the dealer was and they were told that there was no staff on the premises just the manager as the place wasn't really open at the time.

The next day they asked to see the CCTV but were told that due to the fact the premises wasn't actually open they hadn't turned on the camera.

I'm not saying this didn't happen. I have no reason to believe that it didn't. I'm just using this an example of "Legitimate" excuses that have been used in the past. ( Approx odds of Royal Flush in 5 cards about 650k/1 )

Alot of the Chinese showed how credible they thought the story was.

For your next account you open moro man may i suggest the username "GOOGLE" cos from where im standing you know EVERYTHING...........

gorfield wrote: »
    For your next account you open moro man may i suggest the username "GOOGLE" cos from where im standing you know EVERYTHING...........

This one has been on the go for over two years and in the present economic climate I don't feel like I can justify the expense of an upgrade.

If you are insinuating that I have opened a couple of accounts specifically to address matters on this thread please feel free to bring it to the attention of the moderators who no doubt will take the appropriate action.

No doubt you've been shown a letter from someone confirming that I have done this.

If you want to comment on any of the facts stated thus far in the thread or have an opinion ( rather than a paranoid delusion ) you would like to express feel free to do so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 mdiver

The Macau has treated their customers and staff so badly, this is the reasons why the threads are always like they are. They don't really try to hide what they are doing. The story about the Jackpot is a joke.Their explanation makes no sense, there must have been footage on the cameras, the cameras should be on 24/7, no casino would pay out a Jackpot like that without checking the footage of the hand, the odds are too high as is the chance of cheating. It is probably the biggest lie i have heard coming out of a casino and there is a lot of bull **** that comes out of casinos. The story about the guy not being let in by them because he does catering, well he has been told an outright lie by them. Punters do have a choice there now, the reason they have got away with this is because they have been the only club in town. A new casino takes time to build a reputation but it shouldn't take long to pull punters away from the Macau, all you have to do is treat them with respect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 bombinator

just a reply to the debate--

there has been a lot of negative posts concerning the macua, the final league payouts and a general bitter vibe coming from a few boardies--

1.-- if ye have a problem with the place then i suggest ye take your money elsewhere and plan in other casinos in cork-- if you dont like it their then move on--
    2-- generally speaking a successfull poker player and one thats content within himself will not be bitching and moaning about the casino they play in and accept their will be pros and cons about any business--so i say look at yourselfs first and if you handle yourself with class and dignity and still have an issue then take it up with managment--
    3-- the final league payout may have been bit short-- yet the macau offers and outstanding service--excellent dealers
    --best complimentary free food in the country
    --fast efficent waitresses attractive to
    --a safe confortable playing environment
    --its a fun exciting place where all playeres allowed to be themselves and no characthers that upset any others
    -- they have best run , organised festivals in the country--i could go on and on

now who do you think should pay for these services??
    remember it is a business and their goal is to make profit--are they not entiltled to provide all the excellent services and come out on with profit??
    how many people do they employ? staff, dealers, security, managment, restaurant etc----
    yet so many bitter guys on here complaining about free roll prize pool being under the full estimiate--its bugs me the cheek and lac of respect to be honest
    you go to other festivals and all you get in horrible cramp conditions, poor dealers, appalling cheap food adn the rake in the cash games are almost unbeatable--yet i never hear the same people complain about those events??
    what are ye real cripes and grievences????
    is it becuase some players are banned and this creates some hostility??
    i never heard any players of note or quality being abusive or disrespectfull concerning the macau--only ones that dont have a balance in their lifes and poker is their only source social interaction-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 gormand

bombinator wrote: »

there has been a lot of negative posts concerning the macua, the final league payouts and a general bitter vibe coming from a few boardies--

1.-- if ye have a problem with the place then i suggest ye take your money elsewhere and plan in other casinos in cork-- if you dont like it their then move on--
    2-- generally speaking a successfull poker player and one thats content within himself will not be bitching and moaning about the casino they play in and accept their will be pros and cons about any business--so i say look at yourselfs first and if you handle yourself with class and dignity and still have an issue then take it up with managment--
    3-- the final league payout may have been bit short-- yet the macau offers and outstanding service--excellent dealers
    --its a fun exciting place where all playeres allowed to be themselves and no characthers that upset any others
    -- they have best run , organised festivals in the country--i could go on and on

remember it is a business and their goal is to make profit--are they not entiltled to provide all the excellent services and come out on with profit??
    how many people do they employ? staff, dealers, security, managment, restaurant etc----
    yet so many bitter guys on here complaining about free roll prize pool being under the full estimiate--its bugs me the cheek and lac of respect to be honest
    you go to other festivals and all you get in horrible cramp conditions, poor dealers, appalling cheap food adn the rake in the cash games are almost unbeatable--yet i never hear the same people complain about those events??
    what are ye real cripes and grievences????
    is it becuase some players are banned and this creates some hostility??
    i never heard any players of note or quality being abusive or disrespectfull concerning the macau--only ones that dont have a balance in their lifes and poker is their only source social interaction-

ARE YOU FOR REAL????????? Its not money missing from a free roll its money missing from a tournament the players over the last 4 months have built up. who gives a flying **** how quick and attractive the waitress are or how many staff have to be paid or the food being nice we dont play poker for these reasons. if you want to spend lots of money and get these benifits thers a strip club round the corner, no business has the right to make money by effectivly stealing from there customers the casino makes a load of money to pay there staff by all the reg fees taken every day and the rake made evry day and all the money taken on table games.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

yada yada - Macau advertisement.....

As someone who hasn't set foot in Cork in the last 10 years I can safely say I have no 2nd agenda.

What has most of your post to do with the issue at hand?
    I have regularly seen people on here complaining of poor tournaments - be that structures, raped prizepools or whatever.
    If the Macau run a freeroll and players money is used as the prizepool then not a single penny should be taken from the prizepool by anyone unless this is clearly known beforehand. To defend anyone who does take money from the prizepool is ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭D.C.C

ABSOLUTELY....That was one of the most ridiculous posts i have ever read!!!
    Tournament league money is a freeroll but not free money...It's player's money and it is effectively stealing...Every prizepool should be transparent and if it's true that 8k is missing from players money it's a disgrace and should be aired here and all over Ireland.And if people still go and play in a casino who stole from them,then their the idiots...

Staff costs/attractivness of staff/food quality are completely irrelevant.

• Registered Users Posts: 968 ✭✭✭the_pits

-
    I had a problem with macau, and when I phoned up looking for explanation got an ear full of abuse down the phone ( which I recorded, and still have it on my phone )

you run a charity event---
    before you pay for charity you must take away the cost of running the event--the dealers/food/secuirty whatever
    yes the macau should have posted what the league final figures were etc...
    surely the same applys to a freeroll--
    my comments were made in general about the macau to those consent bitter posts concerning the macau and same few posting their issues -- there has been an underlying resentment for some time amoung few players and their problems concerning the macau are not a true reflection on 99% of members there-
    i read fewposts where some post say theu wont go to the macau because of the problems some folk are saying----im just tryin to highlight the positive ones and in my time their( 3years) never had an issue once--
    important to give a balanced view

everybody who feels hard done by get together(30-40 players) in a group.They will be forced into at least some sort of explanation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 487 ✭✭Theeglinton

big_iain wrote: »
    Forgive me for being niave but can you guys just not get along.

There are two clubs Galway, they don't fight and have petty arguments they just concentrate on trying to be the best club and let the people decide with their feet.

There are a million clubs and orgainisers in Dublin. They seem to get on. Again trying to do there best to get people in and run the best club they can.

These hot headed threads who doing what to who and who feels aggreived by who are tiresome.

Surely if you are unhappy with a club you just don't go there. If you don't like the sturctures or the way things are run, just don't go there.
    Power to the players i say. At the moment there is always another game close by.

Goodluck. I hope you all kiss and make up. Or level each other and at least we will not have to listen to it.

Ian there's only one club in Galway .............:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭corkie123

come on folks keep this tread going i need about 26 more posts on it to win my bet /.

-__________________________________________________

ps . it only worries those who cant come to the party not
    those who are here already:D:D:D

Ian there's only one club in Galway .............:p

theres only one in cork as well the rest don't count or figure really only there owners play there :D:D:D

_____________________________________________________________________________________

ps 25 more to go keep them coming guys

D.c.c--if you so upset write your name down and organise a list---
    be open and public about your problem with the leaugue

• Registered Users Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I was actually born in Cork. Was there for a full 5 days before taken home to Kerry.

This proves once and for all, that nurture is more important than nature! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

What if they have your money??
    Pros and cons! prizepools goign missing, pots having to be repaid etc etc a con is right!
    8k's worth?
    They should! I suppose we should chip in for detergents etc for the toilets as they should hardly have to pay so we can enjoy a good shíte!
    ~This cannot be serious~

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭a147pro

as an independent observer, I'm astonished that the Macau haven't come on to respond to this. some of the allegations are, literally, criminal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 mdiver

Well the Chinese had their explanation when the 25k jackpot was won, are the poker players going to accept such an explanatio? If the league was done fairly they should be able to show people the figures. If they can't then they have something to hide. These are serious allegations against their club so surely they should sort it out in order to keep their reputation as a fair upstanding club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Tobyglen

Some women work there though:D

• Registered Users Posts: 968 ✭✭✭the_pits

basicmath.jpg

motivational-poster-ignorance-best-small.jpg

thats it guys keep it going post 83 here hope to get to 100 by friday to win my bet :D:D:pac::pac::pac:

ps, it only worries those who cant come to the party not those who are here already :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭Enzo Scifo

a147pro wrote: »
    as an independent observer, I'm astonished that the Macau haven't come on to respond to this. some of the allegations are, literally, criminal.

This is the most important post in this thread. We have many + and - arguments, most probably biased either way. People in general being told to p i s s off by the club and how nice the food is and the decor and whatever else should be put aside. My last job had me in Cork once a week for a couple of years, great club, Ken is sound, food is great, dont get on the wrong side of them yada yada, all mean nothing. The accusations here are

1 Somewhere in the region of 8k being held back from a club league.
    2 Someone being banned from a league final with a pathetic excuse.
    3 25K being won by the Stig :rolleyes: , the man with no name etc etc.

If any of the above are true, well the future looks great.

Ken, can you come back in reply to the above, after all its your clubs reputation at stake here. Non response or '' I've learned my leason to keep my mouth shut since my ban'' is really not good enough. This should also see Corkie lose his 100 post bet if your quick enough :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Rookie447

The "story" about the random guy coming in and hitting the 650,000 to 1 jackpot is quite frankly a joke and an insult to the intelligence of the punters. Its not provable that there was foul play, but i certainly would not play in that place.

Also, I am of the opinion that all Cash leagues and Tournament leagues should be finished with in all casinos.

Lets be honest, and we all know it, the casino will always "skim" money off of them.

We play poker to play poker, not play stupid leagues or stupid bad beat jackpots.
    A cash game should be just that , a cash game.
    A tourney should just be a tourney.
    Quit robbing the punters !

• Registered Users Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

Maybe the 8k went to buy %'s in someone @ the WSOP.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

D.C.C wrote: »
    everybody who feels hard done by get together(30-40 players) in a group.They will be forced into at least some sort of explanation

SirToYou is trying to get one off the ground. He's too busy trying to organise it to post on any of the topics here at the moment.
    D.c.c--if you so upset write your name down and organise a list---
    be open and public about your problem with the leaugue

It would be like the team sheet the SAS put out for their Forces Rugby Side

15. A. N. Other
    14. A. N. Other
    13. A. N. Other
    12. A. N. Other
    11. A. N. Other
    10. A. N. Other
    9. A. N. Other
    1. A. N. Other
    2. A. N. Other
    3. A. N. Other
    4. A. N. Other
    5. A. N. Other
    6. A. N. Other
    8. A. N. Other
    7. A. N. Other
    corkie123 wrote: »
    thats it guys keep it going post 83 here hope to get to 100 by friday to win my bet :D:D:pac::pac::pac:

ps, it only worries those who cant come to the party not those who are here already :D:D:D

It's a pity none of the Macau Regs / Apologists / Management feel they can refute or even claim things are being exaggerated or you would surely have a slam-dunk of a bet.:rolleyes:

But what of those in the party already, notice the management have taken a big slice of the cake, but don't wan't to say anything out loud in case the bouncers hear them and throw them out before they get their (albeit smaller than expected) slice.

Didn't your Mother ever teach you that

"Half a Loaf is Better than No Bread";);)

BOMBINATOR.....

I don't even live in Ireland never mind Cork...I was giving my opinion the same as you only mine made some sort of sense!!!!

Let's be serious here too,most small operations in Ireland would Skim of the prizepool in cash and tournament leagues,but 8k is crazy and if true a stupid amount to even try and take not being noticed....Although that said i have worked in a certain casino in Ireland where money was added to the tournament league because the owners were honorable and trying to use is as a tool to keep people coming in and not to piss everyone off...

• Registered Users Posts: 372 ✭✭Lplated

Wow, interesting thread.

I'm surprised the casino owners/operators haven't come on to either vehemently deny the allegations or at least explain their side of the issue.

If the allegations are true, then i think the casino shouldn't be allowed to promote itself on this poker forum - just taking a quick look at the events section here, theres at least five recent threads promoting their festival and sats into the festival.

Would Mods consider banning all mention of them, boards wide, until such time as they deem fit to give a credible explanation fully refuting the allegations?

I've no axe to grind here, i play in Dublin mainly, but i'd be disappointed if this forum were to continue to be used to promote a club that MAY have practices that are a damn lot less than should be acceptable to us as poker players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭westlife

Have just seen this and and too lazy to read all the posts so if this question has already been asked then I apol........ This guy was refused entry into the cash league final (which he had qualified for) on the basis that he is employed by another casino.... So how did he get the hours up in the first place if he is not allowed play?