Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chivalry

124»

• Registered Users Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Kold wrote: »
    I would've just punched them in the tits.

Of course I'd never advise that another person do this....

I prefer a kick in the ovaries tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Swizz

Falcon punch FTW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭googlefan

Totally agree with OP, this issue really grinds my gears. What disturbes me at the moment is the number of young women right now who are following the "ladette" culture.

This involves trying to drink like men with the terrible consequences involved. I've encountered horrible ones you see in management positions in the workplace who go out of their way to portray a masculine image.

The increasing amount of violent attacks by women is very worrying, particularly the increases in domestic violence upon husbands I'm hearing about. A Garda friend says many man are afraid to make complaints as they know that neither the Gardai or courts will take them seriously.

This topic has highlighted the changes to our society and the female role in society in general, which deseves some debate.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

I would only offer my seat to someone who needed it. Male or Female, doesnt matter

I was in a waiting room of Kilcreen hospital (bone hospital) in kilkenny, i had a chipped bone in my toe, so i was sitting down. The place was packed, no seats, and this poor guy hobbles in on crutches and a huge cast on his leg.
    There were people there with broken fingers/arms and poeple waiting with people, none of whom got up. so i said feck it and got up and gave yer man my seat, he was obviously worse off than me. he was very thankful and i felt good, doing me deed for the day :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

A lot of women are just bullies. If you don't give them your seat there's something wrong with you... and "chivalry is dead". If you do, you're a creepy, sinister fvcker who's just trying to hump their leg.

I've never seen a country like Ireland before where women hate men so much. It's frightening and, as another poster said, weird. We're a very socially retarded nation.

Having said that, there are plenty of genuine, decent, mature and socially sensible women out there. So just keep your own counsel until you meet one of them, lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭segaBOY

I remember a group of girls literally pushing all the lads out of their way as they were walking through a nightclub, drink was spilling everywhere etc. Not the first time I've seen it, happened to me before when some young D4 decided to do the same-I politely turned around pushed her back, she didn't look too happy...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭mandysmithers

NickNolte wrote: »
    A lot of women are just bullies.

Having said that, there are plenty of genuine, decent, mature and socially sensible women out there. So just keep your own counsel until you meet one of them, lads.

"A lot of women" ?? Seriously? Do you hang around in a jail or something? I don't know where half of you are meeting all these rude women. I would never expect someone to give up their seat for me, but if they did and I accepted it, I'd say thank you. Similarly if a guy holds a door for me, I'll smile and say thanks. There's nothing wrong with being a gentleman.

At least you acknowledged that there's lots of us normal women out there.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

Probably would have done them no harm to stand for 20 minutes out of the whole day - I bet they had pocked arses on them like 4 stone of cottage cheese packed into a large pillowcase.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

segaBOY wrote: »
    I remember a group of girls literally pushing all the lads out of their way as they were walking through a nightclub, drink was spilling everywhere etc. Not the first time I've seen it
    Happens to me every second night that i'm out. Some of the time its just knacker girls who forcibly shove you out of their way, one wouldn't expect anything less from these vermin. But other times it just normal girls who are either too drunk or too up themselves that they think the niteclub is their private palace.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

segaBOY wrote: »
    I remember a group of girls literally pushing all the lads out of their way as they were walking through a nightclub, drink was spilling everywhere etc. Not the first time I've seen it
    Happens to me every second night that i'm out. Some of the time its just knacker girls who forcibly shove you out of their way, one wouldn't expect anything less from these vermin. But other times it just normal girls who are either too drunk or too up themselves that they think the niteclub is their private palace.

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭Nuggles

What kind of **** nightclubs are ye going to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭fitz0

Splendour wrote: »
    There should be equality for all people, be they men, women or children. This does not necessarily mean that all are treated the same way; men should be treated like men, women like women and children like children.
    How boring life would be if men and women acted the same. Feminism has a lot to answer for!
    SO... men=men, women=women, children=children? Thats not gender equality. Children aren't even a gender. Gender equality means both genders are equal. Feminism is just a means to an end.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

There should be equality for all people, be they men, women or children. This does not necessarily mean that all are treated the same way; men should be treated like men, women like women and children like children.
    How boring life would be if men and women acted the same. Feminism has a lot to answer for!

Tell me then, what special privileges should men be given?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,378 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

FFS Chivalry died out in the middle ages along with knights!

Women moaning about men not being sexist, quite strange.

I expect they went to see U2 and were moaning that the edge wasn't playing a lute

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

Never give into a woman, you're only fueling them :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Splendour

vinylmesh wrote: »

I wouldn't see it as men or women getting any 'specialist' treatment at all but rather that men and women are different and should be treated so. I think this is what defines the sexes. I don't know if you're male or female but tell me honestly if you were on a date, getting the dart home and there's only one seat available would you give up/expect, the seat to be given to the female? What women wouldn't run a mile if you took the seat and left her standing?!
    There is an inbuilt instinct in (most) guys to protect and an inbuilt instinct in (most) females to want to be protected. It is both a privelege to 'protect' and be 'protected'.
    Think about it honestly, would you want a woman to take the reins and treat you (if you're male) like a woman? Or would you prefer if she let you carry out your role as a man?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

vinylmesh wrote: »

For one, I think women should take responsibility for chatting men up 50% of the time now that their new-found 'power and confidence' suggests that that's exactly what they should do. It's one of the more frightening realisations of this new equal society though so women tend to shun that responsibility. Along with any of the other more undesirable aspects of feminism that don't suit them :)

• Registered Users Posts: 32,378 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I wouldn't see it as men or women getting any 'specialist' treatment at all but rather that men and women are different and should be treated so. I think this is what defines the sexes. I don't know if you're male or female but tell me honestly if you were on a date, getting the dart home and there's only one seat available would you give up/expect, the seat to be given to the female? What women wouldn't run a mile if you took the seat and left her standing?!
    There is an inbuilt instinct in (most) guys to protect and an inbuilt instinct in (most) females to want to be protected. It is both a privelege to 'protect' and be 'protected'.
    Think about it honestly, would you want a woman to take the reins and treat you (if you're male) like a woman? Or would you prefer if she let you carry out your role as a man?
    A simple NONE would have done...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭Kradock

After reading the whole thread , this is what I think.

I don't use trains , have only ever been in one in my life but I assume when you buy a ticket you are paying for the seat , yeah ? . If you get a seat you sit on it , if someone doesn't get a seat they are stupid to be paying for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Jaeger 90

Kradock wrote: »

I don't use trains , have only ever been in one in my life but I assume when you buy a ticket you are paying for the seat , yeah ? . If you get a seat you sit on it , if someone doesn't get a seat they are stupid to be paying for it.

Yes Im sure thats the way it looks from your rock, but actually your paying for the journey, because sometimes the train is so full of commoners coming back from their factory labour or welfare office, that there arnt any seats left and some have to stand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭Kradock

Jaeger 90 wrote: »
    Yes Im sure thats the way it looks from your rock, but actually your paying for the journey, because sometimes the train is so full of commoners coming back from their factory labour or welfare office, that there arnt any seats left and some have to stand.

What Rock ?. So you are saying that because the train is sometimes full of people that they have to stand. Then why have seats at all and not just standing for all journeys?

And before you go any further , I live in the west of Ireland which doesn't have a train service to any of the places I need to go , so I bought a car, hense my lack of train use.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Splendour

rubadub wrote: »
    A simple NONE would have done...

Nah-that'd be too boring...

• Registered Users Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Svalbard

I was going home on the commuter train from Dublin to Maynooth about 2 weeks ago. I fell asleep for a couple of mins and when I woke up, I heard two women standing in the aisle beside my seat pass a comment that "Chivalry must be dead in Ireland or some people are choosing to ignore this". This was directed at me.

My problem is:
    • I had a sprained anke and needed to sit down. I know they didn't know this but they automatically assumed I didn't require a seat
    • Women automatically think they are entitled to a seat

These were able bodied women who were in their 40's. Why should men have to give up their seat for people like this? They are well capable of standing like any other man.

Don't get me wrong if there was a pregnant woman or elderly woman or any person who looked like they needed a seat I would be first one to offer and have done so on many occasions but I don't agree with having to give up my seat for women who are well capable of standing for 20 mins (maximum journey on the train)

Any thoughts??

There's your problem, right there. Forget the rest of the scenario. You could have been a Masai warrior stalking your prey on the Serengeti when two middle-aged Irish women roll in on their 4x4 and start giving you evils and bitching.

They're all cvnts. The end.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭Demonique

sharms wrote: »
    there was this man and woman who get the everyday and they had two children in buggies with them and i was, as i always do, let them on first, so as i was standing to the side this old woman turns to me in such an aggressive b*itchy tone "will you get out of the way and let them on" i was just like oh my god the man and woman had to apologse for this complete stranger.. anyways they get on the woman gets 2 seats for her and her husband and the old lady pushes the husband out of the way... its like wtf!!!!

She verbally abuses you and then shoves the husband out of the way? If I were him I would have complained to the conductor about her, pushing someone is still regarded as assault, is it not?
    Sad to see so many cynical responses.

I was brought up to hold open the door, not swear in ladies presence, offer my seat etc to the fairer sex, not because they are women, but because I wish to be a gentleman.

I do not give a toss if a woman/Lady is offended if I offer to assist, I do it because its a nice thing to be, a gentleman.

What's this fairer sex ****e? In what way are women supposed to be the fairer sex?
    Give em a seat my eye, no chance, i only give seats to the elderely, and if i saw a pregnant woman id give her a seat except if she was a skanger.

Same here, especially if she was a pregnant skanger who'd just had a fag hanging out of her lips at the bus-stop
    I don't know if you're male or female but tell me honestly if you were on a date, getting the dart home and there's only one seat available would you give up/expect, the seat to be given to the female? What women wouldn't run a mile if you took the seat and left her standing?!

Well, if they really like each other they could share the seat, she could sit on his lap or something and, if they're complete knackery scumbags, they could even have a ride in front of the other passengers like those complete knackery scumbags did on the LUAS once

To the OP, they were lazy bitches and you should have told them to go **** themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭mehfesto2

Kradock wrote: »

Hey. He's right. The old people don't pay for their fare on the buses! I paid for my fare and ol' cheap-o here is making me stand. I think not. Chivalry is now confinded to pregnant women only.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

What you're describing sounds like the way i would treat a woman i am in love with, in which case I would definitely not be getting nothing in return. She would hopefully be the future mother of my children, I think the situation is a little different.

I would be perfectly happy with us both being equals tbh.

Such "the man" and "the woman" roles really only belong within a sexual relationship imo. You seem to be suggesting that women are always submissive towards men. In the real world this is a million miles from the truth.
    Women who act "the woman" (with all it's pitfalls) around every man are incredibly rare. Men who do the reciprocal are not so rare. I see them as lacking in respect for themselves and their gender. It shames me to be associated with such lick-arses.

Also re the dart situation (assuming it's the first or second date so there's no real feelings, just casual), I would expect her to stand with me out of courtesy. At the absolute least I'd expect her to say something like "Do you mind if i sit, I'm really tired" which would make me slightly cautious.
    If she just walked in and plonked herself on the seat as if she automatically deserved it i would say to myself; "****, I'm glad I'm seeing this now and not in two years time". The break up would be swift and i would briefly feel sorry for whatever guy she does wind up with.