Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for a new campaign " She drives (into pothole) , He fixes puncture"

• Registered Users Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

"Ohhh you're killing me" She said.
    Yes we were in a car.

* potentially disasterous repeat of a joke that may or may not have been already made

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭AugustusMaximus

steve06 wrote: »
    I heard on the radio this morning that the RSA were trying to put forward proposals for 'boy racers' to be given a curfew and also make it illegal for males under 25 to be insured on cars with engines over a designated size. I can't believe this group of morons!

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/driving-curfew-proposed-to-save-young-mens-lives-1868264.html

"The options include a curfew banning late-night driving; restrictions on engine size and speed; and laying down who could accompany young men in cars."
    Well we're not allowed to drive with women in the car in case we kill them!

"RSA chairman Gay Byrne said yesterday that it was part of a proposed "reconfiguration of the driving licence" for young men."
    They should be taken to the high court for sexist behaviour!

Quite simply outrageous. There is no way in hell that this legislation could pass EU equality rules but even the thought that these idiots would come up with such a half arsed plan amazes me.

Its time to disband this quango and save the country some money in a time of need.

And just to see that this hopefully is against equality laws, here's a thread I started over on the legal board in regards to its legality.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=61780108#post61780108

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭thethedev

If any of this curfew bull**** comes in I will be putting forward a legal challenge!
    It is blatant sexism, and just another one of the RSA's attempts to look like they matter when they really dont. Its perfectly fine for Gay byrne and every other crooked twisted waste of space in government if this legislation comes in but as usual, ordinary people will suffer what about all the young tradesmen who need to drive for work?
    A fantastic way to lower the quality of life for a large proportion of the general public.
    Engine size means nothing! A 2.5 diesel van is going to be slow as anything. A 1.7 can have as much power as a 1.3.
    A 1.3 can be seriously powerful out of the factory and a 990cc car can be incredibly fast also, its so clear that these morons dont know what they are doing.
    Even working of BHP its still no real indication of what a car can do.
    How about getting rid of Gay Byrne and using the money they've saved to improve the roads and driver training!
    These statistics they have put forward are hugley flawed and just shows how un-scientific these peoples train of thought is.

Im starting to think that the RSA is simply working for the insurance companies and giving them ammo to fleece a large part of the general public who need to drive!

Useless bastards!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,761 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

If anyone wants, I have the MP3 of the He Drives, She DrivesWhines ad ......

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭Kiya

I spotted a male driving a busload of nuns yesterday, I quickly pulled over
    and phoned the gardai - it's not everyday I spot an attempted mass murderer in action.

Absolutely Hilarious!! :D

But seriously though, as a female driver I am sick to death of this ad campaign & the opinions it’s incensing.
    Its creating more of an issue with males getting all anti female, c’mon lads “HELLO, we didn’t ask for this”! :P

It’s basically just the morons in the RSA coming up with more sexist twaddle, being promoted by another sexist idea "rose of tralee"/models" to give them exposure.
    I don’t take anything issued by The RSA seriously, but I have complained against this campaign.

Now if they actually trained existing/upcoming drivers how to drive properly in this country.
    And petitioned for realistic road speeds (80km on a perfectly good motorway anyone?) then I’d consider supporting them but otherwise they make my blood boil... GRRrrr. :mad:

Should they start another one regarding the old people who never learned how to drive & automatically received licences? And who've almost taken me out on a ridiculous amount of occasions.
    Or the non nationals who arrive here from African countries who can’t drive for ****e, why allow them to swap their licence for an Irish one with no testing!?! MENTAL. Not very safe is it RSA? :confused:

If people are stupid enough to drink & drive then they deserve what happens to them.
    The same goes for anyone who gets into a car with a driver (who cares what’s between their legs?) they know cant be trusted with a lighter, let alone a machine that could kill them & other people... well tough nuts, you deserve what happens to you.

You are an adult & shouldn’t need an ad campaign to tell you what to do, that’s what your mammy’s for. :rolleyes:

Right,

Rant over.
    (Disclaimer: all opinions expressed here were during a rant & can’t be held against me)
    Kiya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

galwaytt wrote: »
    If anyone wants, I have the MP3 of the He Drives, She DrivesWhines ad ......
    post it somewhere, I believe it's needed to make a complaint!

Use Microsoft Movie Maker to make a video file out of it with a still picture of Gay Byrne in the background and then upload it to youtube to let it be ridiculed by the masses.

• Registered Users Posts: 865 ✭✭✭kazzer

• Registered Users Posts: 3,910 ✭✭✭GTE

Oh this is crazy!
    Of all the times Ive wanted to move out of the country this barbie doll starts crap like that?

Feck safety regs,
    Feck conditions of the road
    Feck driving education
    Why dont we take the piss out of guys again?
    BIGGER INSURANCE PREMIUMS!
    WOOP WOOP!
    MORE GENERALISATIONS
    WOOP WOOP!
    LETS PROMOTE SEXISM!
    WOOP WOOP

******* ******s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

What I want to know is what will happen to me if they bring in these regulations?

Im only 21, but I regularly drive high powered vehicles, and i regularly drive late night/early morning as part of my job. Does it mean i lose my job?

OK OK OK!!!

I was angry there, but I am now ready to talk.

I think a ban on cosmetic products should be brought in with 2 point penalty for each product found.
    I think parking sensors should be mandatory for all women drivers
    I think there should be a ban on women driving cars bigger then a Corsa

Oh whoopsie. . . . Im a generalising?:rolleyes:

What I want to know is what will happen to me if they bring in these regulations?

Im only 21, but I regularly drive high powered vehicles, and i regularly drive late night/early morning as part of my job. Does it mean i lose my job?

Yes as a man you should not be allowed drive, you will be committed to a sperm bank and sentenced to exile afterwards.

I dont think they could get away with those regs though man, there would be uproar.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭2 Espressi

Quantify "high powered vehicles". I presume you're driving a commercial or goods vehicle or a silage tractor?

I would think they are referring to social, domestic & pleasure usage under this proposal.

It would probably be up to the garda who stopped you to decide whether you're driving for work or otherwise.

I'm pretty sure that if a proposal were to be implemented it would have to be gender-neutral.

A curfew exists in the US for young drivers, you don't see the ACLU up in arms over it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

NANNY STATE

BE AFRAID!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,678 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Until found competent by a panel of your peers, you shall be demoted to delivering only vehicles up to 1200cc (1400cc in the case of non-turbo charged diesel vehikles)

All the better for us more mature folk :D

I'm actually astonished I'm still here as I had a 140bhp, 2 seat convertible aged 18 and a 240bhp Imprezza aged 22. According to all statistics, I should be dead (and have taken a good few wimmens with me) a few times over :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

How about we all submit complaints to the RSA about an elderly gent driving a Harley erratically...pesky pensioners:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 sarsarsar

While I think that this is a very unfair generalisation on the RSA's part, I do think that it is an important issue to some extent.

A lot of young fellas driving their souped up "sports" cars use their car as a means of impressing the girls. When I was back in school, it wasnt known the amount of fellas who would drive around like idiots, the young girls would swoon because he was seen as sooooo coooool. Something they grow out of. Inevitably getting in the car with the idiot, who does even more crazy driving to impress her. This attitude is the one the ad is targeting I think.

Still couldve gone around it a much less offensive way. I have plenty of male friends who are excellent drivers, moreso than my female friends.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 18,377 Mod ✭✭✭✭Solitaire

I have another great idea! We all know that older people are all dangerous on the road and are guaranteed to have Alzeimer's and be drunk at the wheel! So let's take everyone over the age of 50 off the roads! :P Another great ageist generalization by the RSGay!

Remeber kids, when you're in the RSA, anything goes!!! :D

[/sarcasm]

Seriously, I think this is all a blind to divert resources from stopping rich drink-driving Good Old Boys. Eh, Gay? ;)

I hope someone is taking (legal) note of all this highly illegal [CENSORED] the RSGay keeps spewing out - at this rate they'll have set themselves up nicely for an Irish Constitutional challenge and EU Supreme Court charges by the end of the year. Time to quash a quango lads :D

sarsarsar wrote: »
    While I think that this is a very unfair generalisation on the RSA's part, I do think that it is an important issue to some extent.

A lot of young fellas driving their souped up "sports" cars use their car as a means of impressing the girls. When I was back in school, it wasnt known the amount of fellas who would drive around like idiots, the young girls would swoon because he was seen as sooooo coooool. Something they grow out of. Inevitably getting in the car with the idiot, who does even more crazy driving to impress her. This attitude is the one the ad is targeting I think.

Still couldve gone around it a much less offensive way. I have plenty of male friends who are excellent drivers, moreso than my female friends.

I agree with you, the way the RSA have gone about this is the problem.
    People who do this excessive modifying shouldnt be allowed. Certain elements of modification should be banned, such as external uprating of horse power if you wanted to get extreme. Remapping should only be done by the vehicle manufacturer or a reputable expert for example.
    Exhaust modifications should be banned due to emissions and noise pollution.
    NCT's should be made more strict with regards to this area also.

You dont go attacking a whole gender like they have.
    I dont mean to sound like am getting at you, I think you have made a very good observation. Just this has really gotten on my nerves. Im already being priced off the road for next year when my parents wont be taking some of the financial load off me when it comes to car tax and insurance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

2 Espressi wrote: »
    Quantify "high powered vehicles". I presume you're driving a commercial or goods vehicle or a silage tractor?

Nope, more like Range Rovers, Audi's, Jag's etc. Along with the likes of Subaru Legacy's, and VW Scirocco's. Not the worlds quickest cars, but still highly dangerous according to the RSA.

R.O.R wrote: »
    Until found competent by a panel of your peers, you shall be demoted to delivering only vehicles up to 1200cc (1400cc in the case of non-turbo charged diesel vehikles)

All the better for us more mature folk :D

Mint. That means I get demoted to driving the Micra, and the odd Citroen C3.

The ironic thing is that faster cars and safer cars.

They are less like to skid off the road due to more grip and being lighter and will stop in far less distance than a slower car.

bbk wrote: »
    People who do this excessive modifying shouldnt be allowed. Certain elements of modification should be banned, such as external uprating of horse power if you wanted to get extreme. Remapping should only be done by the vehicle manufacturer or a reputable expert for example.

You have good intentions regarding how stupid the RSA are getting, but you're ill informed regarding car modifications!

How so?
    If remaps could be detected easily (manufactures must be able to compare maps of cars with what they should be, in this day an age they should or even be made reset ECU's unless a remap is declared) were restricted to offical dealers where it would be logged in the service history and declared to the insurance companies.

People who do this excessive modifying shouldnt be allowed.
    You're doing what the RSA are doing now... you're dumping enthusiasts in with boy racers. There's a difference!
    Certain elements of modification should be banned, such as external uprating of horse power if you wanted to get extreme. Remapping should only be done by the vehicle manufacturer or a reputable expert for example.
    Remapping is usually done by a reputable expert so your car doesn't blow up afterwards!
    All exhausts have a DB rating for noise pollution, and emissions rating to comply with laws!
    Noise pollution has nothing to do with NCT, never has been.
    Im already being priced off the road for next year when my parents wont be taking some of the financial load off me when it comes to car tax and insurance.
    Car tax has nothing to do with modifications! If your insurance is too high you can always go with another insurer or get a smaller engine.
    If remaps could be detected easily (manufactures must be able to compare maps of cars with what they should be, in this day an age they should or even be made reset ECU's unless a remap is declared) were restricted to offical dealers where it would be logged in the service history and declared to the insurance companies.
    If I paid for an expensive remap by a specialist, it's nothing to do with my local service centre. You can't place the law in the hands of a dealer and tell them to reset all ECU's in case of a remap! That's just plain stupid! And a local dealer is not going to go ringing insurance companies about modifications because they really couldn't care less as it's nothing to do with them. It's up to the car owner to declare all modifications to their insurance company.

And at the end of the day, people would just stop using these garages if they did this.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

Remapping has many purposes and is not always about horsepower. There are 3 different aims you can remap your car towards (or a combination of those):

- less fuel consumption
    - more torque
    - more speed

As per remapping and the detection of it, that's a load of h**** sh**. Manufacturers are using it themselves to sell the same engine in various configurations and power options. If you let your car custom remap, you'd always go to a specialist, because you don't want your engine damaged over a longer time, do you ?

Exhausts, again, same thing: if it's an exhaust from a manufacturer that had it tested etc., there's nothing wrong changing it. The issue is when some bozo comes around and makes his own modifications to it, like removing the catalyst etc.

As for throwing boy racers and enthusiasts in one pot: The boy racers that are dangerous are actually not the ones with horse power. It's all the mocked up cars that don't have the engine power, especially don't have the break power, ergo a lot show, no go !! Those ones that then go out and try to act like they had the power under the hood.

If you have a car, that has been professionally trimmed so that bhp, torque, breaks, suspension etc. match, there is no issue with having 400-500 bhp.

The RSA doesn't seem to understand, that there is much worse issues on the road, like too much signage, signage left out even after things have been finished up, potholes that only are fixed when the CoCo gets sued, cars that aren't road worthy, people that drive on a learner license for 8 years etc. without ever haven given proper instructions, people that have a full license but never took a theory nor practical test, etc.

/M

Red text within quote is my reply
    You're doing what the RSA are doing now... you're dumping enthusiasts in with boy racers. There's a difference!
    Fair enough, it should be strictly regulated in that case

Remapping is usually done by a reputable expert so your car doesn't blow up afterwards!
    Yes, usually, not always

All exhausts have a DB rating for noise pollution, and emissions rating to comply with laws!
    If an exhaust can wake you up in the middle of the night when there is racing going on on the main road or whatever then the dB level should be brought down at least 3dB. What is the current rating decibel wise?Indeed Emmissions are regulated however it doenst stop people drilling holes in the piles, I have even had people brag about it to me.

Noise pollution has nothing to do with NCT, never has been.
    It should, you have missed my point totally. The NCT should include these areas to keep cars that are too loud off the road. Im saying the way the NCT is now could be changed to inhibit people overdoing it. Indeed if the comply with regs then thats perfect, but they dont always do

Car tax has nothing to do with modifications! If your insurance is too high you can always go with another insurer or get a smaller engine.
    Im prepared to pay for the insurance and car tax but not when I could be told I am not allowed drive at a certain time because of a subset of my gender causing problems, ridiculous.

If I paid for an expensive remap by a specialist, it's nothing to do with my local service centre. You can't place the law in the hands of a dealer and tell them to reset all ECU's in case of a remap!
    In what Im suggesting if the area of car modification is regulated better, your remap would have been declared in its log book or by an insurance company, if someone servicing the car who sees no declaration of a remap the ECU could be reset for example if the garage has the equipment, or at the very least if a remap is detected the appropriate declarations are made
    That's just plain stupid! And a local dealer is not going to go ringing insurance companies about modifications because they really couldn't care less as it's nothing to do with them. It's up to the car owner to declare all modifications to their insurance company.
    Indeed, then another alternative is to have the NCT test centre have the equipment needed to find and declare a remap. You see, I think you have missed the point. I know how it is now, im talking about how maybe it should be

And at the end of the day, people would just stop using these garages if they did this.
    At least it would be a start for regulating modifications to cars so that no mods go unnoticed, not saying that they are bad but as long as mods have to be declared in someway then maybe it will deter people from getting a remap for example, hiding it from an insurance company then when there is a service or NCT the remap is either declared or reversed.

You are REALLY missing my point. Im not out to get people with loads of horse power, its about detering people from getting mods that will end up being dangerous. Im not implying for a moment that you have gotten a remap from an unreliable source or gotten the car chipped by some dogy lad. Its not an attack on you, its a suggestion on how mods should be delt with. If you are above board you are above board and you shouldnt worry.

A friend of mine got a BHP bias remap and its made the car uncontrollable in the wet! The insurance company know about it but my point is if someone gets the car chipped or remapped for horse power from an unreliable source and then the get a car thats too powerful for its own good then we have a problem. If its regulated correctly then at a full service or ideally at an NCT once the modification which hasnt been properly declared is found the car owner must tell the insurance company, incur a rise in premium if it applys or have it reversed.

Marlow wrote: »
    The RSA doesn't seem to understand, that there is much worse issues on the road, like too much signage, signage left out even after things have been finished up, potholes that only are fixed when the CoCo gets sued, cars that aren't road worthy, people that drive on a learner license for 8 years etc. without ever haven given proper instructions, people that have a full license but never took a theory nor practical test, etc.

/M
    That is indeed a much bigger problem then the "boy racer" thing they are going after now, but thats the easy route to take so of course being Ireland the easy route is taken.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

To be honest I think Gay Byrne is a lunatic. He has lost it with the RSA.

Did he not say once that we should limit people not from Ireland to a reduced speed limit?

All of this rubbish annoys me because I drive a safe prob what they would class high powered car and because of that they want me tucked up in bed after a time they think I would suddenly turn into a danger at.

I mean you can give a 20 year old a smart car and he car still use it as a weapon. It doesnt matter if he was driving a bus or a mini he can still kill people. Education not limitations will ultimatly reduce the number of road deaths oh and enforcing the current road legislation.

At least it would be a start for regulating modifications to cars so that no mods go unnoticed, not saying that they are bad but as long as mods have to be declared in someway then maybe it will deter people from getting a remap for example, hiding it from an insurance company then when there is a service or NCT the remap is either declared or reversed.
    So you expect the NCT centre or service centre to call insurance companies to ask if mods are declared? Sure, that'll work! :rolleyes: And you're obsessed with remaps for some reason....
    You are REALLY missing my point. Im not out to get people with loads of horse power, its about detering people from getting mods that will end up being dangerous.
    You're the one missing the point, it's lack of driver education that's dangerous, not car modifications!
    If you are above board you are above board and you shouldnt worry.
    All modifications I have, are declared with my insurance company, I pay an extra premium for them!
    A friend of mine got a BHP bias remap and its made the car uncontrollable in the wet!
    Again, that's down to lack of driver education to control cars in certain conditions and know the limits!

Oh, and anyone that drills holes in their pipes is a f*cking moron and the car wont pass an NCT, they will also be told by most service centres that the car is illegal and be made sign a disclaimer when leaving to state that they've been told about the issue.

Marlow wrote: »
    Remapping has many purposes and is not always about horsepower. There are 3 different aims you can remap your car towards (or a combination of those):

- less fuel consumption
    - more torque
    - more speed

As per remapping and the detection of it, that's a load of h**** sh**. Manufacturers are using it themselves to sell the same engine in various configurations and power options. If you let your car custom remap, you'd always go to a specialist, because you don't want your engine damaged over a longer time, do you ?
    I would, but would everyone? I know manufactures use maps for the same engine in different country's, what exactly is your point there? Remaps and chipping doesnt have to be done by the book
    Exhausts, again, same thing: if it's an exhaust from a manufacturer that had it tested etc., there's nothing wrong changing it. The issue is when some bozo comes around and makes his own modifications to it, like removing the catalyst etc.
    Thats exactly my point about the bozo you speak of. Exhausts are generally a ok, its the aftermarket ones that are fitted or modifications made the the exhaust that give it an over loaded dB level.

hat then go out and try to act like they had the power under the hood.

If you have a car, that has been professionally trimmed so that bhp, torque, breaks, suspension etc. match, there is no issue with having 400-500 bhp.
    And then there will be no issue as its been declared accordingly, dear lord Im not out to get you!

/M