Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So, what you playing at the mo? Retro Edition

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

o1s1n wrote: »
    A mate of mine absolutely loves Skitchin. Don't get the love at all myself. I'd rather be riding a motorbike, whipping the head off P.E Number 1 with a chain.

Don't you mean Shiva? :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,772 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

That's how I remember it too.
    Road Rash 3 was a bit weak too, although my dev dreamer of the year is the mob who made Road Rash for the Sega CD, an awful game trying to cash in on the superb 3DO version.
    It uses lo fi menus and poor sprite grabs from the 3DO and the rest is straight lifted from the MD.
    Awful awful stuff!

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    That's how I remember it too.
    Road Rash 3 was a bit weak too, although my dev dreamer of the year is the mob who made Road Rash for the Sega CD, an awful game trying to cash in on the superb 3DO version.
    It uses lo fi menus and poor sprite grabs from the 3DO and the rest is straight lifted from the MD.
    Awful awful stuff!

True, at least it wasn't a "Push Left Now!", "Brake Now!" type game in the vein of Time Gal & Sewer Shark. God they were bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,523 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Shiva is a special one, I reserve the heel of my boot for that bastard :D

One thing that game really did was made me grow up with a real fear of motorbike riding Gardaí :(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,772 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

It was just such a pitiful cash in.

I do remember being in a mates gaf with my shiny new MD, a friend of his had brought over their Snes.
    He was showing off Super Mario Kart to lots of "Oooh's" and "Aaah's" and I popped in Road Rash 2 and convinced many of it's superiority due to the non-big carpet nature of the roads compared to SMK!

In retrospect I may have been a tad short sighted, I still dislike Mode 7 but the gameplay was outstanding and Road Rash 2 hasn't aged as well.

Still love it though!

I can still recall getting it for my new 3DO as well, jaws dropping at the visuals, remembering the other contemporaries were the 16bit systems, it was like having the arcade at home, in fact it was around this time that I stopped hitting Dr Quirkies for my racing game fix.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,371 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I'm a member of the Mode 7 lovers club. Road Rash you were really just heading into the screen in a straight line while Mode 7 racers had a 3D aspect to the courses that the megadrive couldn't match until late in it's life when some technical wizards like Core Design managed to approximate the effect.

Still think Road Rash is a great game though. It's rubbish in multiplayer though compared to Mario Kart.

Master of the Universe

One thing which really lets Road Rash down is the FPS.

Rather annoyingly, when I was looking for games to test out with the overclocked Megadrive, that was definitely one which I should have popped in. Just didn't think of it!

This guy overclocks it in an emulator at around 20 seconds and it makes a huge difference. I wonder what it would be like on real hardware. Another piece of equipment to get down out of the attic methinks.

So, just back from playing a spot of Road Rash, hmm, not gone on the music in the first one, the presentation is nothing like as polished as in Road Rash 2.
    Played a bit of Mario Kart in preparation for tomorrow, I still suck at it, oh and MK7 got 9 from Edge, it's been getting solid 9's from most reviewers so can't wait!

Also threw in Ridge Racer on the PS, seeing as I'm putting time into RR3DS at the mo, and it's still fun! I know what some say (that is to say Retr0) that polygon based games have dated and so most have, but I had a lot of fun with it, the issues with the graphics are mainly the low-res nature, even for the PS and the amount of polygon tearing due to inexperience with the brand new PS hardware.
    Ridge Racer Revolution was a hoot and Rage Racer stands out as the series high point for me.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,371 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Not all early polygonal games have dated. Racing games usually hold up very well.

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Not all early polygonal games have dated.

Mind = blown

First he enjoys Halo games then makes a statement like that about 17 year old polygonal games.
    Sera has softened him....
    Well bits of him anyways ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

Spent most of last night playing DoDonpachi Dai Ou Jou on the PS2. A beautiful, BEAUTIFUL game.

Also been spending a lot of time this week playing Nonono Puzzle Chai Rian on the GBA Micro. A bizarre yet simple and extremely addictive little puzzle title, which actually has lots of mini games packed in under it's main game which revolves around shuffling pigs in to cups inside a microwave to make a pina colada.

Yes, you read that right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭80s Synth Pop

We were playing Daytonaaaaaaa on the 360 with the racing wheel force feedback set to 10. This was at 7 am after several beers :pac: It looks stunning in 1080p and is highly recommended, especially if you have the racing wheel and remember pumping pound coins into the arcade.

Also played megaman 1 today on NES. Got as far as the megaman vs megaman battle in the dr. wily stages and the game crashed (because I was hammering the select button being a filthy cheater so it serves me right :p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,401 ✭✭✭Doge

Haunting - Starring Polterguy

586230_92113_front.jpg

I can remember the day a friend rented that for his MD, and I absolutely loved it, even just from watching it.

It was so different to any other game I experienced, extremely fun and the in house graphics were nice and colourful.

Even kids these days would love it, with all the mischief one can get upto in the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,401 ✭✭✭Doge

Pyongyang wrote: »
    Spent most of last night playing DoDonpachi Dai Ou Jou on the PS2. A beautiful, BEAUTIFUL game.

Also been spending a lot of time this week playing Nonono Puzzle Chai Rian on the GBA Micro. A bizarre yet simple and extremely addictive little puzzle title, which actually has lots of mini games packed in under it's main game which revolves around shuffling pigs in to cups inside a microwave to make a pina colada.

Yes, you read that right.

No words can describe the immature, giddy, hyper reaction I felt inside while watching the start of that commercial.

I think if I spent a day in japan I would spontaneously combust!

We were playing Daytonaaaaaaa on the 360 with the racing wheel force feedback set to 10. This was at 7 am after several beers :pac: It looks stunning in 1080p and is highly recommended

I didn't like it at all.
    I much prefer the much expanded and superior Dreamcast version, plays great with my DC wheel.

I didn't like it at all.
    I much prefer the much expanded and superior Dreamcast version, plays great with my DC wheel.

It's a really ****ty port if you havent' got a steering wheel. The controls are horrendous if you haven't got one.

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    It's a really ****ty port if you havent' got a steering wheel. The controls are horrendous if you haven't got one.

Which one?
    The XBLA or the DC version?

Both pale next to the frankly awesome excellence of Sumo's Outrun 2006 on most formats.
    The HD version is great on XBLA but I prefer the last gen editions as you get more content, the graphics still pop off of the screen and the controls are superb.

Which one?
    The XBLA or the DC version?

DC version.

Master of the Universe

Just picked up Kirby for the 3DS and I have to say, it's really really enjoyable. The 3D brings a nice little touch to it. I think Ciderman mentioned that he can only imagine what it would look like for Super Mario Bros. I can't help but agree. That better be one of the titles which gets the 3D classics makeover!

Anyone else here playing Zen Pinball 3D by the way? It's also really enjoyable. Some of the best (easiest to see too) 3D I've seen on the 3DS. Plus the ball physics just work great.

The only thing that's really bothering me about it is the shoulder buttons being used as the flippers. It makes sense, but my god does it hurt your hands during extended play!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,650 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Had a pretty addictive session of The Binding of Issac yesterday.

Diablo meets Zelda and Smash TV by way of Super Meat Boy.

Just picked up Kirby for the 3DS and I have to say, it's really really enjoyable. The 3D brings a nice little touch to it. I think Ciderman mentioned that he can only imagine what it would look like for Super Mario Bros. I can't help but agree. That better be one of the titles which gets the 3D classics makeover!

I would certainly love to see the SMB series translated into 3D and given we are only in the early stages of the 3DS' lifespan, fingers crossed, I hope we'll see plenty more.

I wonder though, if we are setting the bar way too low.
    What about Snes and even N64 titles?
    The console is certainly powerful enough.
    One would imagine that the likes of F-Zero X would be relatively easy to do, given the lack of sprites and the focus on polygonal rendering, the big job, surely, would be rendering the scene from two, slightly different, points of view and piping them to each eye.

Super Mario World too, Super Metroid, certainly a vast amount of work but potentially quite lucrative.
    Maybe we'll see carts of Snes classics? Download only?

Lets hope the recent spurt in 3DS sales bodes well for the consoles future, although heaven knows what they'll have next Christmas to generate sales, there won't be another Kart on this format, and unlikely to be another Mario platformer for a year or two.
    Perhaps we'll get Super Smash Bros 3D Melee?

I spent some time today playing Elevator Action Returns. What a fantastic game it is! I want the PCB badly!

Master of the Universe

I love that game! The flying platforms in it look like the ones in Akira.

You could get it for the Saturn for about €30 up until recently...and the price has shot up for some reason. Should have bought it when it was cheap!

Aye I have the Taito Memories edition but I would like the PCB or failing that the Saturn version. The airport level is brilliant.

Sid Meiers Pirates today. First time I've played it, I'm not sure how deep it is, or if repetition is a problem, but initial thoughts are its a fun little game

Master of the Universe

I've heard nothing but good things about that game. Still haven't played it yet though. I think Pirates! Gold on the Megadrive is a remake of it?

Any of your lads fancy going for some high scores in Zen Pinball on the 3DS? It's only €6, great game.

If you go to a table and select rankings, you can see the rankings in your country. My pitiful top score of 12,000,000 on the Excalibur got to number 25 in Ireland. Would be good craic seeing some usernames from here on that list.

Master of the Universe

Hah! Up from 25 to number 8 on the Irish scores for the Excalibur table with 28,500,000 points.

I can see this being addictive.

I've heard nothing but good things about that game. Still haven't played it yet though. I think Pirates! Gold on the Megadrive is a remake of it?

I actually noticed it while perusing the Onlive arena. Was watching someone playing it & thought is looked fun & different, have to say I like it :)

I've gotten over the clunky controls of System Shock 1 and I'm now absolutely loving it. It's so far ahead of its time, hard to believe it came out in 1994.