Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Growing up in Drogheda

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Bonkers_xOx

I remember way before Scotch Hall was built, I wanted to climb into those Lakeland Dairy yokes.

• Registered Users Posts: 168 ✭✭D rog

calex71 wrote: »
    I remember there being some other sort of parade thing in town durring the 80's????? Other than St. Patricks day, what was it ?

Yeah Pram race and Raft race- fierce!

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭Trafford Lad

LOL at the pic of the Spiral Flat Hat above...love it :)...I think there was a parade called the Bonanza parade in the early 80's as well..?

I also remember going up to Lucianos in a taxi and badgering the driver for concessions!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Ah yeah the Bonanza thats right !!!!

What was it in aid of do you recall?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭andrew1977

LOL at the pic of the Spiral Flat Hat above...love it :)...I think there was a parade called the Bonanza parade in the early 80's as well..?

I also remember going up to Lucianos in a taxi and badgering the driver for concessions!

Yeah the bonanza ,it used to come down the dublin road, for some mad reason i remember Gay Byrne being driven along in some posh car waving at everyone :D
    And a load of strange characters from the muppet show appeared in it also one year.

As for Lucianos.. DJ Dave.. brought the rave scene to the place:D

I'm not sure what the Bonanza parade was actually for, at a guess I'd say it was promoting local businesses via the mediums of lollipops and those Spiral Hats!

/ me is tempted to order a bunch of official 'boards - growing up in drogheda thread" hat's, we could have a picture of shanks or paddy mcabe on them.

How bad ass would we be in them bad boys :D

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Bonkers_xOx

/ me is tempted to order a bunch of official 'boards - growing up in drogheda thread" hat's, we could have a picture of shanks or paddy mcabe on them.

Ah yeah our very own Elvis;)

Not strictly drogheda but still fitting with the growing up theme , and speaking of shanks, did anyone ever have the privilege of visiting his country cottage on the way out to donore? Think it burned down mysteriously ....... TWICE

He had all sorts of cool memorabilia, including an godfather esq horsed haed mounted on the wall we must have been 5 at most at the time, and my brother was scared ****less of the head was roaring crying all the way home, did help that i was like waaaaaaaaaaaa woooooooo horsey's head to him :D

Remember another time me and a friend where in looking at oliver plunket's head just after they got it back when they thought there was hair growing on it, and a nun giving us a whole history lesson on him and taking us to the kylemore for buns and tea afterwards bless her.

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭Baltrux

I forgot about luchies, I remember the last heavy metal night, proper moshin'.
    I was doing work expierience there when "undercover" played, worst gig ever! Lol. Shifting girls in the woods waiting for their taxi's!!!

another couple came to me today

there was a homestead shop on west st opposite the west court, sold toilet roll and orange juice etc.

the grotto / rocks beside st peters with the statue of our lady on it , where the local 'hard jaws' would climb up and sit on for the st patricks day parade.

the cobbler's beside connolley's (now wogans)on shop st you could barely swing a cat in its a black tie /fbd now.

Live and learn on stockwell st where we used to get our school books.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭Dingatron

there was a homestead shop on west st opposite the west court, sold toilet roll and orange juice etc.

That the black and white shop front? Mc Quillans I think?

I remember the Live N' Learn alright, for some reason back then I thought that little alcove of shops was cool!..dont know why. Live n' learn used to stock the early video games as well, on cassettes. A few other shops:* Gerrards newsagents on West Street, the owner had a Bobby Charlton style comb over* Pat Carr's sport shop on the old narrow Dyer St for your swimming goggles and chalk for pool and snooker.* There was a deli at the end of the old Dyer St as well I think?

Dingatron wrote: »
    That the black and white shop front? Mc Quillans I think?

you could be right , definitely black and white though.

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭NAGGIE03

Dingatron wrote: »
    I have a hazy memory of buying a brick of the Linen Hall and signing it one night i was there. They never sent it on to me when they bulldozed the place to make way for the Haymarket though. :(

Joe Thomas's shop was great.

Had my first pint in the White Horse.

Spent some quality time mitching around the glen, 101 steps and what we used to call sh1t alley. (the lane at the back of the CBS)

Remember 'Higans and O'Riordan' beating the crap out of us in St. Marys. Probably warranted :)

I remember hitching into Drogheda every weekend for years and always getting lifts. You wouldn't do it nowadays.

The takeaway in Narrow West Street? They had a great video game called Tempest.

Callan's, The Coffee Garden ........

O'Shea's back when it was an awl fellas pub, forget the name. Reds when it first opened. The Weavers.

Good memories :)

O'Sheas back when it was an oul fellas pub was called "Dicey Reillys" and it looked like a dump, was never in it but can vaguely remember it, it was called "Squires" after that.When it was "Squires" it was class.

you could be right , definitely black and white though.

Yeah it was Mcquillans shop alright, selling Homestead branded food:D

Remember Paddy Dwyers original shoe shop/sport shop on shop street beside the genoa, think there is a poundland store in there now
    First proper shop in the town to sell the soccer shirts and Nike runners:D

You had a choice for your sports gear, paddy dwyers or monahans were elvery sports is now.

andrew1977 wrote: »
    Yeah it was Mcquillans shop alright, selling Homestead branded food:D

Remember Paddy Dwyers original shoe shop/sport shop on shop street beside the genoa, think there is a poundland store in there now
    First proper shop in the town to sell the soccer shirts and Nike runners:D

You had a choice for your sports gear, paddy dwyers or monahans were elvery sports is now.

wow totally forgot Paddy was there on that side of the road, the pound place is closed now too, wasnt it joe thomas's originally? eagleton's is over the road on shop st now , remember they used to be on west st 1st on the corner of stockwell st then over opposite westcourt, i still buy my shoe's there to this day , was in there only last saturday fair play the guy gave me €5 off when i told him i was on the scratch.

How long has monaghans been gone? it was empty for a long time , think it was lifestyle sports for a while too.

remember when easons was maghers!!!! gerards shop where mc donnagha's is now, what was the news agents on narrow west st ?

Flip is long gone from narrow west st. too there used to be a news agents on shops st too , i remember i used to buy raw magazine in it. think is a picture place now , was also an internet place around 96/97 run by a nice chap called Dino i think?

I am wrecking my brain trying to think of the pub which was destroyed in a fire, it was between the AOH hall and where that picture framing place is now in shop street.It was the in place to be in drink in Drogheda at that time,
    Anyone throw some light on that ?

Remember Newsbeat newsagents ? If my memory serves me right it was run by a northern bloke up in bolton square beside the market where paddy powers bookies is now !

Tenakoe stores in Crushrod Avenue, Ollie Berrills sweet shop on Laurence street ( the fish shop is there now ).. give it time.. more will come to me:D

wow forgot about the AOH there, cant think of the pub / remember it.

I remember the Gwent there on west st where the bookies is now, and didnt there used be a pub opposite dunnes on west st think its a building society now ?

I'm pretty sure the pub that burnt down on Shop St was called "Harveys"...black front to it, where Ladbrokes is now I think. Remember the Cellars before it turned into the Kevin & Tracey pub that it is now? Nice early drinking memories in there.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭sudzs

Does anyone remember the toy shop on the corner of West St and Peter st. Schwears (sp??) Was it a newsagents or a bookshop upstairs ?? and downstairs was packed with toys. Going back to the 70's here! :o

And has no one mentioned Bubbles disco in The Star and Cresent yet?? Anyone remember that?!! :D

I was gonna mention that but wasnt sure if I was imagining it or not..accross the road from Dunnes on West St, I think where the ptsb is now? I have a vague memory of being downstairs in a shop with toys..must have been late 70's - very early 80's, must ask my folks but I think the name could have been Shwears alright..weird name!

• Registered Users Posts: 377 ✭✭garrincha62

Really enjoying this thread!

Anyone remember Phillips newsagents on Scarlet Street and the Newfield Stores shop?

That NewsBeat specialised in army men and model aeroplanes if memory serves.

And what of Campbells Newsagents near the Joeys Primary school? Think it is a butchers now...

Really enjoying this thread!

Anyone remember Phillips newsagents on Scarlet Street and the Newfield Stores shop?

That NewsBeat specialised in army men and model aeroplanes if memory serves.

And what of Campbells Newsagents near the Joeys Primary school? Think it is a butchers now...

Yip remember newfield stores alright, manys a happy lunchbreak i spent from the Joeys smoking down there. :D
    Also Campbells shop, into loughgrans for chips and any spare cash left over to campbells for sweets, they had a big glass counter covering the penny sweet and jawbreakers:D
    An odd time we would venture down the town and into Mckeons newsagents to read the magazines, mckeons is where the shop is now directly across from Tesco.
    I can recall the sweet shop where Mcdonnells in Hardmans gardmens is now
    And going back even further , where the golden bowl is and before La Mirage was there , there was a sweet shop owned by Eugene Cunningham

• Registered Users Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

andrew1977 wrote: »
    there was a sweet shop owned by Eugene Cunningham

AWW YEAH! I forgot all about that!

Remember they had tables and chairs inside so you could actually feel like you were in a restaurant?

• Registered Users Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Whiskey Devil

Shorties Shop in Newfield! Remember that when I used to be over here as a kid.

• Registered Users Posts: 168 ✭✭D rog

Wow, I had totally forgotten about comb-over newsagent guy.
    :D:D:D

Newsagents where the betting shop is now in the Boyne shopping centre?

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭35notout

sudzs wrote: »
    Does anyone remember the toy shop on the corner of West St and Peter st. Schwears (sp??) Was it a newsagents or a bookshop upstairs ?? and downstairs was packed with toys. Going back to the 70's here! :o

And has no one mentioned Bubbles disco in The Star and Cresent yet?? Anyone remember that?!! :D

Wow - Scherws (or however the hell you spell it) - thta was my favourite shop growing up - all the Hornby train stuff was in the basement. I spent a fortune in there on Hornby - and I'm female!!!

Still have most of it too

CMpunked wrote: »
    AWW YEAH! I forgot all about that!

Remember they had tables and chairs inside so you could actually feel like you were in a restaurant?

Yip i remember it alright, and when you bought your penny sweets, he wrapped them up in a piece of paper in a cone shape !

Great childhood memories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Glydeside white

And the memorys of winning everything around us in soccer, oh no wait sorry that was us