Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A note of thanks to our resigning moderators

• Registered Users Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

TonyBlair wrote: »
    This might get deleted but i'm sure some will see. i would just like to say sorry to the mods for giving them all alot of hassle of this past year and a half. Fwiw you were always pretty fast at banning me so you did do a good job

chris
    I'll delete you ya little sh1te when i catch up with ya .

• Registered Users Posts: 37,898 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Just to say I too have always had great respect for the mods here. Actually said that in a recent pm to one of you before all this started.

Its a very sad time, I haven't posted in the replacement bbv and I won't. If its not restored I do hope we can find a new home and if thats the case maybe the admins will at least have the decency to allow us take our bbv with us.

The poker forum was the reason I joined Boards even though I've drifted from it since my arrival. Always been a great forum which is a credit to the mods that were in charge.

Well said Olly!

• Registered Users Posts: 246 ✭✭steoin

Like to echo the sentiments and thank the mods for the wonderful job they have done over the years hopefully this can be sorted

• Registered Users Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭carlop

I'd like to echo the above sentiments. For me, the BBV was Boards, even if I didn't post on it all that often.

I've recently finished my finals in college and didn't have a huge amount of free time to follow things like politics, economics, sport etc. The BBV kept me informed on all of these and more, and unlike with many other forums on boards and other internet forums like 2plus2, I could read the thread safe in the knowledge that i could learn something from people who generally actually knew what they were discussing.

The success of the BBV was in a large part down to the mods, who applied common sense in their judgement, something which I find lacking on most internet forums. I'd like to thank the lads for the time they contributed.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

I just want to echo what everyone has said. You have all done a great job.
    I am still hopeful everything will be resolved. Dev seems to be hinting at the fact he wants to resolve this correctly. I hope this happens and you return but if not thanks for doing an incredible job.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

BIGMICKG wrote: »
    ok so i wont start asking wtf happened etc. but it seems things have gone a little crazy on boards lately! i havent been online much over the past few weeks but have noticed things not looking too good here. dont even know half the story tbh bout the bbv bein deleted, mods resigning etc. but i think i speak for ever1 here saying itll be an awful pity if this is the beginning of the end of the poker section. tbh i hardly ever even read the bbv but i think its stats spoke for itself. views replies etc. i reckon the poker section on boards generates as much traffic as most of the other sections put together! suppose well just have to wait and see what happens over the next few weeks. anyway i wont be online much cos im heading to vegas in the morning for a month. for anyone who gives a rats how im doin they can find out here http://bigmickg.blogspot.com/. ill try keep it updated regularly while im over there. peace out. hopefully some sanity can be restored here :confused:

You're a credit to Irish poker sir. Gl in Vegas :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭smurph

Is it too soon for the "Bring back the Poker Moderators", we miss you.....

Seriously lads, it would be a great shame if the Poker Forum was moderated by non poker playing types,,,, they just wouldn't get it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Macspower

would love to see the matter sorted out to satisfaction... and all our mods remodded (is thats a word) but only if they are happy with the outcome... they are decent guys and I trust them to decide whats best for the forum

Just in case it all doesn't work out there is an alternative in place but as I say let's see how everything pans out here first...

(prob get deleted like every other mention of alternative I said today)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Macspower wrote: »
    would love to see the matter sorted out to satisfaction... and all our mods remodded...

None of the mods have actually left or been demodded. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭robinblinds

I predict at least two will still have moderatorshipism in one months time.

• Registered Users Posts: 386 ✭✭Laxie

Ponster wrote: »

No, they've only gone and resigned. Hence this thread.

You've worked yer tails off with us Lads (poker mods) and only now we realise how lucky we were. Regardless of how this all pans out, thanks for everything!

Laxie wrote: »
    No, they've only gone and resigned. Hence this thread.

You've worked yer tails off with us Lads (poker mods) and only now we realise how lucky we were. Regardless of how this all pans out, thanks for everything!

None of the poker mods who have 'resigned' have actually been demodded.

I've just saying that it may be a little early to begin mourning your loss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

I predict at least two will still have moderatorshipism in one months time.

ill take the overs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 .__.

Like your Irish politicians. None ever follow through on their convictions :)

Quite the weekend you guys and gals have had. Very interesting reading as I was looking for info on GJokerpoker deepstack :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭dougee19

this is true but if they decide to stay at least this is some thanks from the general posters, which they never get

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

I'd like to chip my thanks as well to the lads for doing a brilliant job over the years, I'm not 100% sure what's happening but hopefully they it can continue.

P.S Post of the day for OllyK so no need for the CT thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Ehhhh do you think this thread was started as a p1sstake? Do you think Lloyd, Dom, Ste, Kev and now Laf have resigned so that we'd all come on here and feel sorry for them and then let boards call their bluff?

The lads resigned and are no longer modding the poker forum. Whether the boards admin has accepted their resignation and officially demodded them is a different story.

Can you please leave this thread as a thanks thread from the people that know the mods and not spoil it by telling us something that we can all see with our own 2 eyes.

I, like 99% of the posters on here, hope this can all be solved and the mods come back and continue the fantastic job they've been doing all along. If that fails to happen, so be it. Boards will move forward, and so will its posters

• Registered Users Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

At the risk of being repetitive, i also want to extend my thanks to you all. A lot of us don't play poker as much as we used to do, but the BBV went far beyond poker to something brilliant. And you built it to what it was.

Finding out about The Wire and Entourage, recipes for Guacamole, life stories, economic and historical discussions, ballet girl and TylerDurdens encylopedic knowledge of softcore porn, books for Ste to buy his wife for Christmas, even the painful discussion of soccer, wrestling, and cricket.

A personal highlight was someone (who i can't remember) going back to his house with two girls he had picked up in a nightclub and then - rather than getting deep down and dirty - actually taking time out to come on to the BBV to tell us about it!

That's the type of dedication the thread created and a huge tribute to yourselves.

/ p.s. if ye go elsewhere send a message to 'cousins' and i'll join up

• Registered Users Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

About time in my opinon, that dom fella especially was getting too big for his boots, sure didnt they all play in the IO this year as a result, thankless me arse...:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭maloney333

I don't post a lot but get great enjoyed reading the forum, cheers lads for the contribution to the commuity that this is.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

At the risk of being repetitive, i also want to extend my thanks to you all. A lot of us don't play poker as much as we used to do, but the BBV went far beyond poker to something brilliant. And you built it to what it was.

Finding out about The Wire and Entourage, recipes for Guacamole, life stories, economic and historical discussions, ballet girl and TylerDurdens encylopedic knowledge of softcore porn, books for Ste to buy his wife for Christmas, even the painful discussion of soccer, wrestling, and cricket.

A personal highlight was someone (who i can't remember) going back to his house with two girls he had picked up in a nightclub and then - rather than getting deep down and dirty - actually taking time out to come on to the BBV to tell us about it!

That's the type of dedication the thread created and a huge tribute to yourselves.

/ p.s. if ye go elsewhere send a message to 'cousins' and i'll join up

I will take a bow, thank you :)

• Registered Users Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Donkathon

wow i' off for a few days and missed everything, sorry to see ye go lads gg

Flushdraw wrote: »
    Can you please leave this thread as a thanks thread from the people that know the mods and not spoil it by telling us something that we can all see with our own 2 eyes.

You know, just because someone doesn't post a lot in the poker forums doesn't mean that they don't spend a lot of time in it and don't also know the mods.

I'll wish them the best of luck too with whatever the future holds whenever they leave the forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭big_iain

I hope you get it sorted out and things can go back to normal. It has been great.

but if you can't, good luck with whatever you do.

Can the last mod out please lock the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭dK1NG

YULETIRED wrote: »
    I'm sorry ye felt moved enough to resign. It an admirable thing to do when your principles are compromised. I was surprised to see it and just goes to show what I know about ye. Fair play. Despite the nastyness of the whole thing though, Has their ever been a bigger issue to face boards.ie. It's a fascinating standoff with boards.ie being as big a loser as the forum itself. So WD lads.

QIA.

One of the best modded forums I've ever been on tbh.

PS I've been away from poker, forums etc the past few weeks cos of finishing my PhD - could someone PM me to fill me in on what exactly went on?! :confused:
    PM received, thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭RedJoker

dK1NG wrote: »
    PS I've been away from poker, forums etc the past few weeks cos of finishing my PhD - could someone PM me to fill me in on what exactly went on?! :confused:

part1y.jpg
    part2b.jpg
    part3.jpg
    part4.jpg
    part5s.jpg
    part6j.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

excellent photoshopping

• Registered Users Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Outstanding

• Registered Users Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph