Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Traffic Blues - RTE1 - May 31st

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

I thought they could spend a minute or so in a station detailing calls coming in. Maybe have a guard explain the controls on his car, the special equipment in the boot.

+1, absolutely know education about what the Garda use etc.

And is that not the whole ethos of the programme anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Irish_polizei

Well i can honestly say that the only thing we'll see pulled in anger on traffic blues is a ticket book or maybe if viewers are very very lucky............. a handbrake.
    haha

• Registered Users Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

But yeah fair fooks to the gardai in this country

• Registered Users Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

kippy wrote: »
    Several times a year? Seriously? Surely that cant be indicitive of the average member of the service?

Where are you based?

Traffic in a ''quite'' country area!! This is normal....its just the public doesnt hear about it. Any proactive member comes up against this every year. An a member is injuried more often than the public is aware either!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,540 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

Just to point out one difference between Road Wars and Traffic Blues. In Traffic Blues they are following regular members of the traffic corps, while in Road Wars they are following members of the roads proactive policing unit.

Basically they are a specialist unit and their primary task is to target and investigate car thieves, burglars who use cars, drug dealers who use cars, etc.

They still look out for extremely bad incidents of driving, but it isn't their primary focus, so that is why they get some more interesting footage, that and more in car cameras.

BTW in the latest series, they have BMW 3 and 5 series cars, I'd imagine you guys wouldn't mind some of them :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

Some AGS units have BMW 3 and 5 series cars

• Registered Users Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Maybe have a guard explain the controls on his car, the special equipment in the boot.

"So, here'd be a few of the controls in de ve-hickle, or as we like to call it, the car, *hee, hee*.

That there is the steering wheel. Then there's the lights - just pull it and the headlights go near....far....near...far, cool eh?

What, move on? OK so. This here is the siren. Not much call for it, to be honest, it upsets the cattle.

And that's it.

Now, the boot. Well you can see some of the specialist equipment we require. Here's one welly I kept from the searches we did in Ballinamore for Don Tidey. I think the other one is in the branch car. Then there's some white powder all over the carpet nobody can identify and believe me, we tried - (*winks at camera*) all over the place. That's standard in most patrol car boots. There's a county council traffic cone.

Spare wha? Oh, is that what that hole is? I thought it was for stopping the pizza sliding around the place.

And all that specialist equipment is interwoven with a roll of crime scene tape.

So, as you can see, folks, we have a lot more equipment on board than your bog-standard family saloon, kind of.

Oh, hello mammy."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

Several times a year? Seriously? Surely that cant be indicitive of the average member of the service?

Where are you based?

A Garda has a 20% chance of being seriously injured while on duty during the course of his/her career, with the definition of a serious injury being one that requires hospitalisation.

Gardaí are threatened with weapons on a regular basis, something the public don't realise.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,446 ✭✭✭✭kippy

cushtac wrote: »
    A Garda has a 20% chance of being seriously injured while on duty during the course of his/her career, with the definition of a serious injury being one that requires hospitalisation.

Gardaí are threatened with weapons on a regular basis, something the public don't realise.

I aint denying it, however, how often would a garda based in a rural area be threatened with a knife (or gun)?
    I honestly can't believe that it is as common place as being mentioned here.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

I aint denying it, however, how often would a garda based in a rural area be threatened with a knife (or gun)?
    I honestly can't believe that it is as common place as being mentioned here.

I doubt it as much but when smoething does happen theres no one else for miles and chances are no radio either so the **** hits the fan then

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Stekelly wrote: »
    Considering the amount of horrendous driving I've seen durign the course of my daily driving this week alone* the Gards must really go out of their way to avoid seeing offences, either that or they dont want to have to wear out their pens issueing fines and points.

Stekelly your comment above can be considered either trolling or you are taking this very much to heart.

Please dont make any more comments like this. It does not contribute to a discussion

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Where are you based?

It happens alot including syringes, sticks, chains, slash hooks and swords.

Although it hasnt happened to me yet a few of the Gardai I know have had guns pulled on them.

Im based in inner city dublin and im not traffic corps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 snaring

vulcan57 wrote: »
    He maybe only 17 but he had already broken the law with the speeding incident for which he should have had a warning. We were all young, but at what age does the law kick in? He was breaking the law by not having L plates, he was breaking the law by not having a qualified driver with him. At the end of the day he was breaking the law by driving that car. Whats the point of laws if they are not enforced? Makes a farce of them. A gard has to operate with in the law and that must be frustrating, but when laws are broken then they should do their job. If the laws of the road were applied like roadwars then the roads of Ireland would be far safer places! I am not Garda bashing as such because in general the gards do a good job, and I wouldn't do it for love or money. Like I said if that lad had killed or injured someone on his way home I think the excuse of "he's only 17 and he is entitled to a warning" would not go down well with the relatives of the victim. Warn him by all means but get him off the road untill he is legally in a situation to drive.

You must appreciate that the garda at the side of the road has no say in whether the youth is prosecuted or not even if he has had his warning. that gard must still refer the matter to the national juvenile office and if they decided that he was to be prosecuted then and only then it can be done. even if the youth has had ten warnings the garda must get sanction from national juvenile office to prosecute him. of course if the kid went down the road and killed someone the gard would be dragged over some serious hot coals but he would be able to answer any enquiry cause in reality he covered his ass. if he took the car and prosecuted the kid he would be deemed to have infringed the kids civil rights and the little s***e would end up in a very fancy motor paid for by the claim against AGS. it would make a man dizzy. The big problem is that the gard at the side of the road is the cold face of policing and its problems while the law makers never have to deal with the tragedy that occurs on the road. irish law is way too complex

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭Roadrat

deadwood wrote: »
    "So, here'd be a few of the controls in de ve-hickle, or as we like to call it, the car, *hee, hee*.

That there is the steering wheel. Then there's the lights - just pull it and the headlights go near....far....near...far, cool eh?

What, move on? OK so. This here is the siren. Not much call for it, to be honest, it upsets the cattle.

And that's it.

Now, the boot. Well you can see some of the specialist equipment we require. Here's one welly I kept from the searches we did in Ballinamore for Don Tidey. I think the other one is in the branch car. Then there's some white powder all over the carpet nobody can identify and believe me, we tried - (*winks at camera*) all over the place. That's standard in most patrol car boots. There's a county council traffic cone.

Spare wha? Oh, is that what that hole is? I thought it was for stopping the pizza sliding around the place.

And all that specialist equipment is interwoven with a roll of crime scene tape.

So, as you can see, folks, we have a lot more equipment on board than your bog-standard family saloon, kind of.

Oh, hello mammy."

Dead Wood.How apt.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

seen both episode twice, and while its not exactly exciting tv, its not supposed to be. its a documentary in fairnes and the reason the gardai here are slating it is because its work for them! for us with an interest its good tv and while it could be imroved in a lot of areas its not a bad start.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Gotta love the Guard on the M50 with the tash!

There is one similarity with road wars though, the Guards were driving a vectra.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Roadrat wrote: »
    Dead Wood.How apt.

MMmmmmm....

Wood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

I Cant wait for another brilliant show tonight :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

dj, can you guess what's coming up tonight?.

They hinted at it last week but i never would have guessed.
    Coming up next week on Traffic Blooos , a Drunk driver is arrested.

Shocker! VCR Record button at the ready :eek:.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Posted this on the thread in commuting & transport by mistake.

The guy stopped in the Carina that was impounded was probably kicking himself after watching last weeks show, He should have gotten himself a set of Czech plates and an accent like the guy on the motorbike.He'd have been sent on his way.

Whats the story with the woman with the 5 kids in the back?Is it common practice to send these people on their way? I would have thought seeing as its a fairly significant safety issue she shouldnt be allowed continue?

Points and a fine wont stop the kids being killed in a crash half a mile up the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

THE INTOXILIZER!!!!
    THE ALCHOTEST MACHINE!!!!!

ROFLMFAO!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

THE INTOXILIZER!!!!

ROFLMFAO!!!!!

I dont get it

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭DCTF

THE INTOXILIZER!!!!

ROFLMFAO!!!!!

6000_thm.jpg

Lion Intoxilyzer
    Evidential breath test machine located in the Garda Station gives a printout / reciept of the test results for use in court

images%5Cproducts%5CDSAT1.jpg
    Dräger Alcotest
    The Dräger Alcotest 6810 is a hand-held instrument for quick and accurate breath alcohol analysis at the roadside.

So as theNog says your point is???

• Registered Users Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭McCrack

I watched the second showing of this (last week) and two things struck me. I'm wearing my lawyer hat here..

Firstly the NI driver speeding and overtaking dangerously. He was arrested under S.53 RTA 1961 for dangerous driving. The Garda arrested him because he couldn't verify his identity. S53 doesn't provide for arrest in this circumstance, it only provides for arrest without warrant when death or serious bodily harm to another person is caused.

Secondly the locked driver arrested for S49 who had the slash hook in his car. It said he was charged with possession of an offensive weapon...but he never took it out of his car so my understanding is he couldn't satisfy the requirement of having an offensive weapon in a public place.
    A private car is not a public place.

Am I completely off the mark here?

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭DCTF

McCrack wrote: »
    I watched the second showing of this (last week) and two things struck me. I'm wearing my lawyer hat here..

Firstly the NI driver speeding and overtaking dangerously. He was arrested under S.53 RTA 1961 for dangerous driving. The Garda arrested him because he couldn't verify his identity. S53 doesn't provide for arrest in this circumstance, it only provides for arrest without warrant when death or serious bodily harm to another person is caused.

Secondly the locked driver arrested for S49 who had the slash hook in his car. It said he was charged with possession of an offensive weapon...but he never took it out of his car so my understanding is he couldn't satisfy the requirement of having an offensive weapon in a public place.

For the first instance you gave the offence was Dangerous Driving contrary to Section 53 of the RTA 1961.

However because of the situation with the accused being a foreign national and having no way to verify his identity he was arrested under Section 107 of the same act to ascertain his identity; where a member of the Garda Síochána alleges to a person using a mechanically propelled vehicle that the member suspects that such person has committed a specified offence under this Act, the member may demand of such person his name and address and may, if such person refuses or fails to give his name and address or gives a name or address which the member has reasonable grounds for believing to be false or misleading, arrest such person without warrant.

I'm assuming that this is the power used.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Didn't watch the show, however, my understanding of it is he is in a public place if he is driving on a public road unless his vehicle is his place of abode.

Had something similar when working in London, where the driver was arrested & charged with Drink Drive & also charged with having a kitchen knife in his car at the time (Points & Blades).

However he claimed he was of no fixed abode and he slept rough in his car. The knife charge was dropped in court later, as his vehicle was deemed his place of abode.

Laws may slighly differ here though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

If that was the case, I could not drive down to my local hardware store and purchase a slashook. Would you not need the element of intent?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

Is an Offensive weapon not just a curcumstace of where it is at the time and the percieved or possible intent of use?

A Scew driver in my jeans on sat night in tiwn would eb anoffensive weapon.
    But my Glock 9mm in my bag on the way to go shooting at a range would not be an offensive weapon.

There is a power of arrest for Section 53 where no injury etc was occured. Cant find it on irish statute but i'll get me law book out for it. Its a common arrest around the country. No power of detention (serious harm or death has Section 4 detention) but arrest for purpose of charging, name address etc etc. As I say McCrack I cant back it up now but i'll try dig it out for you.

In relation to Sec 9(1) offensive weapons Act, most iof not all judges accept that in this act a public place is your vehicle (not like some RTA offences:rolleyes:).

Trojan made a good point there, one was recently thrown out in Cork when the driver gave evidence that he lived in his car and sop it was his abode and a private place. This is another one that is convicted all over the country. Reasonable defence was inserted in the act to cover the likes of someone going to work as a chef or going fishing etc.

Bond-007 wrote: »
    If that was the case, I could not drive down to my local hardware store and purchase a slashook. Would you not need the element of intent?
    maglite wrote: »
    Is an Offensive weapon not just a curcumstace of where it is at the time and the percieved or possible intent of use?

A Scew driver in my jeans on sat night in tiwn would eb anoffensive weapon.
    But my Glock 9mm in my bag on the way to go shooting at a range would not be an offensive weapon.

As stated above a defence was added to the act (Section 9(3)....as you say a stanley knife at 2am would be taken as offensive where as at 2pm its someone cutting carpet.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1990/en/act/pub/0012/sec0009.html