Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Random/General Chat Thread

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 5,581 ✭✭✭deisemum

I've ended up doing something I've never done before and it was a very unusual experience for me. I'm having a cup of tea to get over it.

I went out to feed my hens this evening and one of them looked uncomfortable trying to walk so I carried her to the moveable hen run and then noticed her rear end/vent and it was not a pretty sight. The poor thing is egg bound so I had to google how to treat it or she could die within 48 hours.

I had to get the pet carrier and line it with paper and wood shavings, get a basin and fill it with warm water, get old towels, kitchen roll, olive oil and change clothes expecting to get a drenching when I submerged the hen's lower half in the warm water.

I did as instructed and had her in it for 30 mins and she was so docile and didn't even flap her wings, she nodded off but I reckon she was too uncomfortable to put up any resistance. When I dried her off her vent was still oozing and she tried straining and I thought she was going to have a prolapse. I put some olive oil around it, I wasn't brave enough to go further in. :eek: