Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post pics of your watches ***Please NO QUOTING PHOTOS***

• Registered Users Posts: 3,684 ✭✭✭david

Credit to the better half, the result of Covid boredom. Click for more!

516901.jpg
    516908.jpg
    516909.jpg516910.jpg
    516911.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 16,548 ✭✭✭✭banie01

david wrote: »
    Credit to the better half, the result of Covid boredom. Click for more!

Ah now you're just pitching for TF's starlight photo work :P

Seriously tho, lovely photos

• Registered Users Posts: 65,001 ✭✭✭✭unkel

She makes a Seiko look better than the best I could make a Rolex look :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Pablo_Flox wrote: »
    Postman brought something other than just bills today!

That's a lovely watch. I really like them, I've one on my list for a while to buy new as a pressie to myself but I keep dithering over the size. I just think I might find 39 a tad small - not that I have massive wrists but ...

And then the Steinhart 44 is too big.

If you've a few more on-wrist shots post em up please ! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,684 ✭✭✭david

banie01 wrote: »
    Ah now you're just pitching for TF's starlight photo work :P

Seriously tho, lovely photos
    A blatant plug... :pac:

In fairness I'm sure she could make my manky big toe look better than most people could do with a Rolex at this stage. Macro watch photography is genuinely the most difficult subject you could pick. The understanding of composition and light required is next level. Just seeing behind the scenes of the whole process blew my mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Frankie5Angels

Did you buy direct or is it second-hand? I'm tempted by the new Hulk, just wondering how long i'd be waiting.

• Registered Users Posts: 791 ✭✭✭Roycropper63

@pablo beautiful

• Registered Users Posts: 651 ✭✭✭2shea

Very nice piece that Stienhart. Made the design a bit more their own and not a blatant rip off of Rolex.

But in saying that I'm loving Stienharts new 39mm Hulk!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Today's watch is the hand wound Orient Monarch.

517003.JPG

• Registered Users Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Pablo_Flox

Did you buy direct or is it second-hand? I'm tempted by the new Hulk, just wondering how long i'd be waiting.

I got it second hand, but its like new. The seller had said he only wore it twice and looking at it I would believe him.

• Registered Users Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Pablo_Flox

fat bloke wrote: »

If you've a few more on-wrist shots post em up please ! :)

Aqsm1J0l.jpg

As requested. I don't know what size my wrist is, but here is a pic with the 42mm Steinhart for comparison. The 39mm doesn't feel small.

nEMalgJl.jpg

That Steinhart Batman wears beautifully IMO. Looks lovely on the wrist.
    The only thing that catches my eye is the angle on the "2"s, it just jars my eye but it would not in the least put me off owning one.
    I'd get used to it quickly for such a nice watch :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭TheRepentent

The only thing that catches my eye is the angle on the "2"s, it just jars my eye
    Hadn't noticed that till you said it , ye bollix :pac::pac::pac::pac::p

Arra don't worry about it like ;)
    Like i said, I'd get over it very quickly and i don't dislike it :D
    Its just different, and its nice to see Steinhart strike out a little.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

I've posted this before but for reassurance purposes here it is again 39mm on my 7" wrist. That's tight inches or 7.5" loose inches.
    It certainly doesn't wear small for me.

517033.JPG

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Blanchy90

I didn't have a watch to go with my new Venturo strap so I built this scuba dude
    517077.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 970 ✭✭✭somebody_else

Again something completely different.

517110.jpg

image.png.67d3847528cd8ab88f2cc12668ae3680.png

Tom

• Registered Users Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Post man delivered an early birthday present today. Seiko perpetual.

517150.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭Panic Stations

Very nice watch Pinch.

Have a vintage Seiko en route from the states. Hoping to get her this week!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,797 ✭✭✭893bet

How do you read the month?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

893bet wrote: »

the little half moon on the bottom right points to today's date (20 June). You press a button again and it moves to the month. The day is set up wrong - hadn't finished set up when i took the photo

• Registered Users Posts: 970 ✭✭✭somebody_else

893bet wrote: »

https://youtu.be/jQEMRIAQTcw

From around 5:30 and Mark using almost identical watch.

Tom

• Registered Users Posts: 8,797 ✭✭✭893bet

Very cool.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,150 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

My dad's watch.
    It's been in a drawer for over 26 years, I resized the strap yesterday, wound it and wore it all day, and seems to still be keeping very good time.

NIMAN wrote: »
    My dad's watch.
    It's been in a drawer for over 26 years, I resized the strap yesterday, wound it and wore it all day, and seems to still be keeping very good time.

Very interesting strap Niman, well wear and nice to see a bit of personal history out of a drawer.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,150 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Very interesting strap Niman, well wear and nice to see a bit of personal history out of a drawer.

Been trying to put a year on it, my mother can't remember when he got it.

I'm guessing early 70s?

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Blanchy90

• Registered Users Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

Postman had a little Russian number for me yesterday. Binned the tin cheap bracelet that came with it but the watch itself is a serious bit of kit for the money.

Tried a few different straps on but it actually goes well with most colours.

All for €75 delivered (5 weeks)

20200623-144156.jpg
    20200623-144313.jpg
    20200623-144513.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

unkel wrote: »
    Nice Komandirskie!

Haha, I did the same with the bracelet of the Scuba Dude I got many years ago. Toedeledokie! (nobody in here will get this, but it's something like good riddandce that I say when I feck something into the bin). Made me feel a little bad, but it just had to be done :p

Yep gone.. wouldn't even insult anyone on here asking if they wanted it.

• Registered Users Posts: 65,001 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Nice Komandirskie!
    sparrowcar wrote: »
    Binned the tin cheap bracelet that came with it

Haha, I did the same with the bracelet of the Scuba Dude I got many years ago. Toedeledokie! (that's what I say when I feck something sub standard into the bin). Made me feel a little bad, but it just had to be done :p