Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Wicklow 200 (2009) Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,293 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

How many bike shops have you been to today ... spreading around the dough equally to all .. I see.

Only two. I was going to go into Cycleogical and show them my new pump, but I thought better of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 scammer101

Lumen wrote: »
    Only two. I was going to go into Cycleogical and show them my new pump, but I thought better of it.
    Is there a boards members rally point tomorrow??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,510 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

scammer101 wrote: »
    Is there a boards members rally point tomorrow??

Look for the jerseys near sign-up.

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Look for the jerseys near sign-up.
    Oh yeah,that might help!Thanks

The comms from WW200 mentions a "control card". I don't have one of these, just a number, a route sheet and an information sheet.

Wassup with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

The comms from WW200 mentions a "control card". I don't have one of these, just a number, a route sheet and an information sheet.

Wassup with that?

Did you not get a plastic card with a barcode?

If not, presume they'll give you one tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

Wassup with that?

Plastic card with your name on one side, cyclesuperstore on the other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭Gavin

Taking into account the see-through nature of wet boards.ie shorts. Go for tights or potentially see-through shorts?

Also. Number on person or on bike? Bike might be more useful for referencing photographs.

Number is supposed to go on the person. As for identifying, I suspect if the weather's bad, there'll be so many jackets etc that you won't see number or boards jerseys!

I'll be in shorts (most likely my sorta see through ish Craft ones), and embrocation on the legs. Only question is training jacket or rain shell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Due to a late drop out I'm looking for a group to join now.. so Everybody is heading off at 7? Will keep an eye out for ye at sign on... Pink planet-x should be easy enough to spot ;)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Is anyone driving up from Kilkenny, I have no way up and would like to go.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

Number is supposed to go on the person. As for identifying, I suspect if the weather's bad, there'll be so many jackets etc that you won't see number or boards jerseys!

I'll be in shorts (most likely my sorta see through ish Craft ones), and embrocation on the legs. Only question is training jacket or rain shell!

Jacket for me I think. Always boil in the shells. Muguards on the bike. Perhaps I wear shorts and bring leg warmers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ryder

Just back from holidays to find this misery. Am also still planning on a fixed attempt

This this gonna be great!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭ba

best of luck lads, would have liked to been there and said hello to you all. but i gots the flu, again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

Hey Boardsies - just wanna say good luck & hope the weather gives ye a bit of a break. Have a good one and watch out for the facebook fan club eh!?:D

Anyone have spare safety pins to lend me in the morning, I've none here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭irishmotorist

Anyone have spare safety pins to lend me in the morning, I've none here!

I have a pile here so I'll take some along. They're goldie ones!

How many kilometers....hang on a minute...cycling up what...screw this I'm going to the pub1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Does anyone happen to have a .crs or .tcx Garmin course file for the 200 route with the summits and rest stops marked in it that they could share?

I installed Windows 7 on my machine so I had to reinstall Training Center and there's something up with the new version - it shows the elevation as all flat with only a couple of spikes in places. Can't find an older version of TC to install so thanks to anyone that has a file to share.

I have a pile here so I'll take some along. They're goldie ones!

Cheers :)

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Hmmm, been working the election count since 8:30 this morning sustained only on coffee, fags and muffins. Excellent preparation, don't you think?

Is there a plan to meet up with other boardsies at a place or time or is it play by ear before?

Yo Tiny, can you bring along my crack extractor actually ? I'll chuck it in the car.

Totally going over the top and have copious supplies of food and crap and tools in my support vehicle/photographer/dogsbody.

Anyway, off to bed for a 5:00 start. See yee all at UCD.

edit I'm going for Gym at around 6:45

edit part deux. A Bikeroutetoaster version I made. Could add the stops and such to that maybe frank?

lukester wrote: »
    Did you not get a plastic card with a barcode? If not, presume they'll give you one tomorrow.
    Plastic card with your name on one side, cyclesuperstore on the other

Great, thanks. I found it my wallet, hiding between all my maxed out credit cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Dodser

Best of luck tomorrow. Fingers crossed the weather is better than today!

Dodser wrote: »
    Best of luck tomorrow. Fingers crossed the weather is better than today!

Ah sure, it'll be grand.

81947.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Bikerbhoy

LOOKS LIKE ITS GUNNA BE MOSTLY CLOUDY...... can you stick another 8 hours onto that forecast for 2moro there is noway Im gunne be back by 2pm

Bikerbhoy wrote: »
    LOOKS LIKE ITS GUNNA BE MOSTLY CLOUDY...... can you stick another 8 hours onto that forecast for 2moro there is noway Im gunne be back by 2pm

Same all the way. The wind is forecast to drop slightly, but not by much.

Don't think I'll bother with overshoes.

Gavin wrote: »
    Yo Tiny, can you bring along my crack extractor actually ? I'll chuck it in the car.

Totally going over the top and have copious supplies of food and crap and tools in my support vehicle/photographer/dogsbody.

No bother at all mate, will have it with me :)