Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Wicklow 200 (2009) Thread

• 18-02-2009 6:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭

I'm starting this thread in the hope that we can keep tips, maps, info etc. relating to this year's W200 in the one place. (Worth a try anyway...)

This will be my first year doing it so I'm keen not to miss anything that might help prevent me freewheeling backwards down Slieve Maan, half a chewed banana drooping from my semi-comatose mouth.

I'll start with two related questions: does everyone leave UCD at the same time? If so, how long does it take before the crowd thins out enough for riders to attain a decent pace?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Anyone up for a training spin up Slieve Maan & Shay Elliot at some stage.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

Beware of the queue to sign in at UCD on the morning. It can snake back a 100yds or so. So, if you plan to pop down, sign in and take off at for eg 7am, all over and done in 5 minutes, think again.
    1700 odd last year trying the same thing.
    Go down earlier, sign in and doss around for a while. Soak it up, you'll be in the saddle long enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭Ghost Rider

Yep. How about Saturday 28th, preferably around mid-day?
    ROK ON wrote: »
    Anyone up for a training spin up Slieve Maan & Shay Elliot at some stage.

Good to know. What time does registration open at?
    Planet X wrote: »
    Beware of the queue to sign in at UCD on the morning. It can snake back a 100yds or so. So, if you plan to pop down, sign in and take off at for eg 7am, all over and done in 5 minutes, think again.
    1700 odd last year trying the same thing.
    Go down earlier, sign in and doss around for a while. Soak it up, you'll be in the saddle long enough.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

6 I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭Ryaner

I'm starting this thread in the hope that we can keep tips, maps, info etc. relating to this year's W200 in the one place. (Worth a try anyway...)

This will be my first year doing it so I'm keen not to miss anything that might help prevent me freewheeling backwards down Slieve Maan, half a chewed banana drooping from my semi-comatose mouth.

I'll start with two related questions: does everyone leave UCD at the same time? If so, how long does it take before the crowd thins out enough for riders to attain a decent pace?

Does anyone have a more detailed map than what is available on the website? Secondly, how much climbing is involved? 1000+ metres?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

6 ! Good God, that's early. I'll be entering for the first time this year as well. We should get a good boardsie showing

Absolutely. I'm going to need moral, and possibly physical, support.
    Gavin wrote: »
    6 ! Good God, that's early. I'll be entering for the first time this year as well. We should get a good boardsie showing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

If I do this, it will only be the 100 methinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

One of my big goals this year - the SK 160 is the longest ride I've done to date.

I believe Slieve Mann and Shay Elliot are tough enough ?

Here is a link to the route (unofficial) on MMR...

http://www.mapmyrun.com/ride/ireland/stillorgan/661367646922

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

Funkyzeit wrote: »
    One of my big goals this year - the SK 160 is the longest ride I've done to date.

It's going to be quite the day for all of us to see you in your mankini

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

Gavin wrote: »
    It's going to be quite the day for all of us to see you in your mankini

Thats the SK later in year - give me time to have that Brazilian...:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Yep. How about Saturday 28th, preferably around mid-day?

I was thinking of getting train to Athy or Carlow and heading to Slieve Maan etc and back to Dublin, via Sally Gap.

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=Athy&daddr=Unknown+road+to:R747+to:Hacketstown+to:Aghavannagh+to:Sraghmore+to:Kippure+to:Dundrum,+County+Dun+Laoghaire,+Republic+of+Ireland&hl=en&geocode=%3BFUyXKAMdiNyW_w%3BFfXPJwMdrWGZ_w%3BFZGjJgMd8PKb_yGcaeHU2MUSow%3B%3B%3B%3B&mra=mr&mrcr=2&via=1,2&dirflg=ht&sll=53.015609,-6.361084&sspn=0.102032,0.307617&ie=UTF8&ll=53.080405,-6.60244&spn=0.203757,0.615234&z=11

The idea behind train is that I would mean that I would be reasonably fresh getting to Slieve Maan. Otherwise cycling there would take almost the 200km of the route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

penexpers wrote: »
    If I do this, it will only be the 100 methinks.
    Do the 200, the 100 would be no challenge to you, that ride would be substantially easier than the ROK. My first time (2007) I had done no more than a flat 160km before* and I left it to the turn to decide- I'm glad I went for the 200. It will be tough but you have more than enough time to prepare.

*and even that was split into before work, lunchtime and after work- it wasn't in one go, I don't think I had even done 100km in one go before.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I take a couple of trips down to Slieve Mann every year, but usually wouldn't og down this early in the year. I take the N11 and then go to Rathdrum and head over to Slieve Mann from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭trek climber

Question - if I start in Tallaght and head up Embankment then take a left and over Sally Gap and down into Laragh, next over Wicklow Gap - how do I get to Shay Elliott or Slieve Mann and what is best route back to Tallaght form there ?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Question - if I start in Tallaght and head up Embankment then take a left and over Sally Gap and down into Laragh, next over Wicklow Gap - how do I get to Shay Elliott or Slieve Mann and what is best route back to Tallaght form there ?

You go to Holywood, Donard, Rathanagan to get to the bottom of Slieve Mann. Shay Elliot is right after it. To get back to Tallaght, you'd need to go back over the Sally Gap from Laragh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

A bit soon I guess, but we should organise a boards photo closer to the date, maybe have it before the start if everyone is going for an early sign up. We can do it on the steps in front of the gym, or maybe something more scenic like in front of the lake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭trek climber

el tonto wrote: »
    You go to Holywood, Donard, Rathanagan to get to the bottom of Slieve Mann. Shay Elliot is right after it. To get back to Tallaght, you'd need to go back over the Sally Gap from Laragh.

Any idea how long that would be - planning to to down next month

About 175km from The Square and probably a harder day in the saddle than the W200. Is that what you're looking for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Tackleberry

Which is the "harder" side of the Shay Elliott and SleiveMann?

Has anyone ever taken the valley road in between the two that seems to be a deadend after 5 miles or so - if so whats it like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭steinone

Anyone have the rules for the race?
    The problem I have is I only have fixed gear bikes, I recon I could get a loan of my friends road bike for the day but its not fitted for me and I wouldnt have much training on it.
    So...100 on my Fuji Track? Much of a stretch for someone who hasnt dome something of that distance other than a day of cycling to, around and anywhere in Dublin?

It's not a race.

Whoopseydoodles... Typo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Tackleberry

steinone wrote: »
    The problem I have is I only have fixed gear bikes, I recon I could get a loan of my friends road bike for the day but its not fitted for me and I wouldnt have much training on it.
    So...100 on my Fuji Track? Much of a stretch for someone who hasnt dome something of that distance other than a day of cycling to, around and anywhere in Dublin?

On a fixie?!?! Be fascinating to see....

Im expecting gawking lol.
    Im hoping its as fascinating to do:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭rughdh

You can use any bike you want. Someone did the 100 on a penny farthing one year! There's an FAQ here

The main rule I was wondering about was the whole two brake rule.
    Im trying to think how he might have put a brake(never mind two) on it(the penny farthing btw). Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

NeilMcEoghain is doing it on a fixie, I'd imagine he is using brakes.

Fair play if you do it steinone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

I am looking forward to it, i am struggling to find time for some serious hill training but i want to do it. Are stops allowed and is there a time limit to finish it?

The main rule I was wondering about was the whole two brake rule.

The rule is whatever is legal on a public road.
    Im trying to think how he might have put a brake(never mind two) on it(the penny farthing btw). Haha

Not sure if he had brakes, but the photo is here
    (you may need to scroll down)

AstraMonti wrote: »
    I am looking forward to it, i am struggling to find time for some serious hill training but i want to do it. Are stops allowed and is there a time limit to finish it?

Stops are certainly allowed, some are even compulsory (for card scanning). You can stop as often as you need to. The time allowed is 14 hours, but if you leave at 6am you have 15 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Big Bob

Which is the "harder" side of the Shay Elliott and SleiveMann?

Has anyone ever taken the valley road in between the two that seems to be a deadend after 5 miles or so - if so whats it like?

I did both when training for the 200 last year and they're practically back to back. it's going to be a wipe out at that stage of the course. if anyone is giong down there to do slieve mann they should consider taking in Glenmalure as well.
    We parked in Laragh and went over the wicklow gap to Donnard from there to slieve mann and we thought we would be heading straight back to Laragh but found Glenmalure was in our way and had no choice but climb it :(. Boy did I nearly cry that day :)

Is it feasible, as part of one's training, to cycle from Dublin city centre to Slieve Maan/Glenmalure, do the climbs and then cycle home? Or would that be tantamount to doing the whole course?

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    NeilMcEoghain is doing it on a fixie, I'd imagine he is using brakes.

Fair play if you do it steinone.

I think I will do it:P
    I was talking to Neil at last fridays alleycat and managed to talk to him about anything but it..ha.
    As for road legality as far as I know two methods of braking are necessary(front brake and direct drive) so I should be grand as I am:P.
    Being...well a fixed gear rider that doesnt do any competitive events other than bike polo I dont really have much cycling specific gear, what would be the recommended gear needed(bib shorts? cream?)?
    I assume a messenger bag would be out of the question..

It would make good sense to take a look at slieve maan and glenmalure, but looking at the map on the mapmy run link i can't see any road that would take you to the correct side of slieve maan without going over the wicklow gap and if you do that your looking at close to 200k, and personaly I wouldn't do 200k unless I had to, it's a long ride and you wouldn't even get a meddle at the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭NeilMcEoigheann

I'm actually seriously considering putting a back brake on as I can imagine my legs splitting at the knees if I tried with just the front break, (it doesn't get much use and its not too strong)
    i think i might head out over the weekend on the fixie just to test the waters so to speak

I was talking to Neil at last fridays alleycat and managed to talk to him about anything but it..ha.
    As for road legality as far as I know two methods of braking are necessary(front brake and direct drive) so I should be grand as I am:P.
    Being...well a fixed gear rider that doesnt do any competitive events other than bike polo I dont really have much cycling specific gear, what would be the recommended gear needed(bib shorts? cream?)?

Will you guys please write your names on the soles of your shoes so I'll know who I'm pulling out of the bogs :D

Big Bob wrote: »
    Will you guys please write your names on the soles of your shoes so I'll know who I'm pulling out of the bogs :D

Will do:D

Neil, you up for me tagging along with you....To wherever your going lol.

Is it feasible, as part of one's training, to cycle from Dublin city centre to Slieve Maan/Glenmalure, do the climbs and then cycle home? Or would that be tantamount to doing the whole course?
    Big Bob wrote: »
    It would make good sense to take a look at slieve maan and glenmalure, but looking at the map on the mapmy run link i can't see any road that would take you to the correct side of slieve maan without going over the wicklow gap and if you do that your looking at close to 200k, and personaly I wouldn't do 200k unless I had to, it's a long ride and you wouldn't even get a meddle at the end.

It's possible to go straight down from Dublin and over the two from the correct side and straight back. It's about 145km and no, you don't have to do the Wicklow Gap. Here's the way I'd go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭alfalad

Well this thread certainly is popular, only started after 6 yesterday evening and 3 pages already!
    And as for the photo, thats a pretty good idea I'll be doing it for the laugh (only i have a feeling it will be other people laughing as they see me cry on some of the climbs!)!

One question though is it limited how many people can do it? Haven't entered yet so don't want to find it's full!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

The 100 is certainly doable on a fixie without too much hassle -there's really very little climbing involved in it (which is why I'd suggest the 200 to you penexpers!)

As for advice, I would try and stay in a bunch at every opportunity-you save so much energy that it's madness not to try and pick up a draft when you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

I've done this with RogerB a few times. It's a long day out, but it's really great training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

@Tackleberry- the Shay Elliot side of Slieve Maan (the way the W200 descends) is the hard one in my opinion, in fact it is probably the hardest climb in Wicklow. Long and steep in places.

I've never been up the Slieve Maan side of the Shay Elliot but I reckon it is probably the harder one- the other side is pretty easy while the descent down there was fast. The Shay Elliot is shorter than Slieve Maan though.

@steinone- I'd fit a back brake if you can, you will appreciate it on the looooong descents. Have you cycled the Fuji up the mountains before? What gearing do you use? I have 46-17 (73.1") which personally I think is optimal for this sort of thing, will get you up all the hills while not killing you on the descents.

blorg wrote: »
    I've never been up the Slieve Maan side of the Shay Elliot but I reckon it is probably the harder one- the other side is pretty easy while the descent down there was fast. The Shay Elliot is shorter than Slieve Maan though.

Yes, the southern side of the Shay Elliot is the hard one. I've done the northern side is very easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Wylie Luke

Oh man I'm in trouble (there are zero hills in Galway to practice on) but kinda looking forward to this little jolly...

alfalad wrote: »
    Well this thread certainly is popular, only started after 6 yesterday evening and 3 pages already!
    And as for the photo, thats a pretty good idea I'll be doing it for the laugh (only i have a feeling it will be other people laughing as they see me cry on some of the climbs!)!

One question though is it limited how many people can do it? Haven't entered yet so don't want to find it's full!

I think last year was limited to around 1,700 and it was over subscribed so if you are going to do it there is no point in waiting until the last minute.

Wylie Luke wrote: »
    Oh man I'm in trouble (there are zero hills in Galway to practice on) but kinda looking forward to this little jolly...
    I've got the same problem so I asked the lads on here for some advice,
    Here's a link to there suggestions
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055489153

Keep an eye on the aldi or lidl websites i bought cycling shades, rain/wind breaker( very light and perfect for the job) cycling tops, saddle bag for spare tubes tyre wrenches ( money for taxi home just in case :)) I probably got the lot for about 40-50e. I didn't buy the shorts or tights as they looked a bit crappy so i invested in decent ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Greyspoke

Regarding checking out the Slieve Maan and Shay Elliot climbs without completely wrecking yourself, I'd suggest driving down to Roundwood or Laragh and riding from there.
    Then head down to Rathdrum from Laragh and on to Aughrim. Shortly after Aughrim, turn right and take the road to Aghavannagh which brings you to the start of the Slieve Maan climb. For a longer loop, continue from Aughrim to Tinahely and then head north west through Hacketstown to Kiltegan where you can pick up the W200 route and take a longer run in to the big climbs.
    I thinks it's important psychologically to be reasonably fresh the first time you do those climbs to give you the confidence that you can do them without too much trouble (hopefully!) I plan on doing this sometime in the next month or so.