Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stingiest thing you've seen stingy people do

• Registered Users Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

Just to point out coffee shops here generally are much the same for socialising, it's just the american chains that aim to get you out the door ASAP.

There is also a difference between socialising at a coffee shop and abusing their hospitality, the latter being what I have heard described here. When I worked in one we used to get a few groups a day of teens or students where one would buy the cheapest coffee they could find so the lot could sit in the corner and avail of free wifi/shelter for hours on end.
    You can spot these groups a mile away. The genuine groups socialising are different, sure some will sit over a coffee for bloody ages but they'll get at least one a piece and they'll be enjoying themselves, the stinges are obvious in that you can see the strain in trying to stay as long as possible whilst spending as little as possible, you wonder why they bother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

CD. wrote: »
    they also do it with drinks. we had maybe 100mls and were asked if we wanted a take away cup for it.
    the portions are ridiculous. was in burger king there, had a small meal and the small drink was 500 mls and the small fries were the size of our medium. really, you'd have to take it away with you. also, its a regular thing there for people to get one meal and split it because portions are so large

I was in New York last year and I went into a Burger King in Manhattan. I didn't know of the differences in meal sizes, I ordered a large whopper meal with Fanta. The drink was almost the size of a 2 litre!! I mean literally, it was practically the same height as one but obviously there was some ice in it and they didn't fill it up to the brim, but still! I was shocked.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

2 and a half years and still going :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

wmpdd3 wrote: »
    Yep I remember the year the bear was left in the hotpress too long!

Jesus, he must have been pissed when ye finally let him out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭nicechick!

CorkMan wrote: »
    I was in New York last year and I went into a Burger King in Manhattan. I didn't know of the differences in meal sizes, I ordered a large whopper meal with Fanta. The drink was almost the size of a 2 litre!! I mean literally, it was practically the same height as one but obviously there was some ice in it and they didn't fill it up to the brim, but still! I was shocked.

lol same here!! I learnt fast I spent time in the states with family when I was younger they called home and told my mother that I was starving myself!! My mother laughed saying ehh this is my ''name'' we're talking about she never stops eating....

I just couldn't force the huge and I mean huge portions of food these people eat it was beyond belief including this stuff with so called ''doggy bags'' or whatever there called and the portions of food in restaurants I was nearly more put off about the huge mountains of food placed in front of me

They used to call me sooo skinny I was an average size 10 with curves! perfectly healthy normal weight I might add I was getting an effin complex with the comments of your so ''skinny'' and dare to suggest they had eh a ''problem'' I had the misfortune of mentioning this! oh ehhh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭Hal Emmerich

nicechick! wrote: »
    average size 10 with curves!
    pics or gtfo:D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Had a spot of lunch at a restaurant on Jones Rd beside Croke Park last month. T'was about an hour before the Leinster semi final & the place was jammers. There are 6 tables outside, push 2 together and 6-8 people could sit there comfortably. When we arrived a man and woman were sitting at 2 of the tables pushed together. They ordered one cup of coffee the entire time we were there. Over the course of the hour, various friends & family would pop by, say hello, pic up tickets etc. They seemed to be using it as a base for an entire community to touch base. No one ever ordered food or drink. One of the blows bys parks herself there for about 30 mins, opens up a big bag full of sambos and offers them around. Then another one opens up a tin full of home made scones and starts offering them around, and get this, giving people her recipies. Not a bother on her. My jaw was on the floor. Talk about a hard neck ! One of their "guests" decides he wants some water and he goes inside to get some. Comes out bitching that they made him buy a bottle for a euro, as opposed to giving him a glass for free. After he and his party had been hogging seating for 8 people for over an hour, and not buying a thing. How mean of them !

This place has bills to pay, rent to pay, taxes to pay and the waiters an income to earn from tips and service charges. They can't do that with free loaders like that. While we were there, we saw lot of people stop, look at the restaurant but keep on moving when they saw that all the tables were full.

Am not making this a rant about our country cousins or mocking them for their flasks of tea and hang sanggers in tin foil. I can be pretty cheap myself. I always bring my own drink and snacks to the cinema instead of paying inflated prices for the cinemas watery Coke and rancid popcorn. But c'mon now, fair is fair. This lot cost the restaurant a good chunk of change on that day, one of the few days of the year that they probably bank on to bring in a fair amount of money. I used to be in the restaurant biz. If I was the manager there, I'd be out there quick as a flash to tell them to either eff off, or that only food bought on the premises can be consumed there. If they don't like it, too damm bad !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Had a spot of lunch at a restaurant on Jones Rd beside Croke Park last month. T'was about an hour before the Leinster semi final & the place was jammers. There are 6 tables outside, push 2 together and 6-8 people could sit there comfortably. When we arrived a man and woman were sitting at 2 of the tables pushed together. They ordered one cup of coffee the entire time we were there. Over the course of the hour, various friends & family would pop by, say hello, pic up tickets etc. They seemed to be using it as a base for an entire community to touch base. No one ever ordered food or drink. One of the blows bys parks herself there for about 30 mins, opens up a big bag full of sambos and offers them around. Then another one opens up a tin full of home made scones and starts offering them around, and get this, giving people her recipies. Not a bother on her. My jaw was on the floor. Talk about a hard neck ! One of their "guests" decides he wants some water and he goes inside to get some. Comes out bitching that they made him buy a bottle for a euro, as opposed to giving him a glass for free. After he and his party had been hogging seating for 8 people for over an hour, and not buying a thing. How mean of them !

This place has bills to pay, rent to pay, taxes to pay and the waiters an income to earn from tips and service charges. They can't do that with free loaders like that. While we were there, we saw lot of people stop, look at the restaurant but keep on moving when they saw that all the tables were full.

Am not making this a rant about our country cousins or mocking them for their flasks of tea and hang sanggers in tin foil. I can be pretty cheap myself. I always bring my own drink and snacks to the cinema instead of paying inflated prices for the cinemas watery Coke and rancid popcorn. But c'mon now, fair is fair. This lot cost the restaurant a good chunk of change on that day, one of the few days of the year that they probably bank on to bring in a fair amount of money. I used to be in the restaurant biz. If I was the manager there, I'd be out there quick as a flash to tell them to either eff off, or that only food bought on the premises can be consumed there. If they don't like it, too damm bad !

Nothing to do with 'country cousins' really...just a pack of arseholes.

• Registered Users Posts: 408 ✭✭pencilsharp

Work in a hospital on the northside of Dublin. In the canteen tea and coffee used to be free but then they started charging around 1.50euro a cup, so people started bringing their own teabags/coffee! Now the scabby sh!ts charge 50cent for a cup of hot water!!

It was my little sisters 18th birthday a few weeks ago. She got loads of lovely gifts and lots of money from all the extended family-ahes the youngest in the family so everyone made a huge effort to spoil her! Yesterday my cousin who wasn't at the party arrived with a present for my sister-a lovely, expensive handbag......which my mam had bought my cousin for Christmas!!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

True. Just wanted to make it clear that I am aware that in these recessionary times a day in Croker is far more expensive for some one traveling up from the country, than it is for us who are just down the road from it. They have to make economies in areas that we don't re food, petrol, accommodation etc etc. But that is still no excuse to shaft the locals, or stopping them from making a buck, even if it probably unintentional.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭nicechick!

pics or gtfo:D

lol still have them!! :p

nicechick! wrote: »
    lol still have them!! :p
    I'm off to check "know your nerds";):p:D

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭theGavin

I once knew this stingy bastard who would masterbate instead of paying for a hooker.

theGavin wrote: »
    I once knew this stingy bastard who would masterbate instead of paying for a hooker.

lol \o/ lol \o/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

i didn't see it but my brother told me when he was with this massive session in a mates house a few years ago and everyone had gone, people had been drinking the same stuff, either cider or beer and there must have been about 20 people so there were lots of bottles/cans. His friend proceeded to bring all the empty cider cans to the kitchen and pour out the ends into a plastic bottle through a funnell and then did the same with the ends of the beers, ll amounting to not even a full plastic bottle.

When he enquired what his friend was doing he replied "predrinks for tomorrow night"

:eek::eek::eek:
    the effort some people put into being so stingy

• Registered Users Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Fozzydog3

Once the close fam where invited to dinner at the aunts house alls well and good until she asks us to bring over our own plates and cutlery !:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭weemcd

i didn't see it but my brother told me when he was with this massive session in a mates house a few years ago and everyone had gone, people had been drinking the same stuff, either cider or beer and there must have been about 20 people so there were lots of bottles/cans. His friend proceeded to bring all the empty cider cans to the kitchen and pour out the ends into a plastic bottle through a funnell and then did the same with the ends of the beers, ll amounting to not even a full plastic bottle.

When he enquired what his friend was doing he replied "predrinks for tomorrow night"

:eek::eek::eek:
    the effort some people put into being so stingy

I wish someone had of stubbed out a cigarette into one, or a couple of those cans. That is stingy and disgusting, how the hell could you drink slop like that? People are strange creatures:(

• Registered Users Posts: 78,349 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Work in a hospital on the northside of Dublin. In the canteen tea and coffee used to be free but then they started charging around 1.50euro a cup, so people started bringing their own teabags/coffee! Now the scabby sh!ts charge 50cent for a cup of hot water!!
    So you are too cheap to pay for providing the cup, the hot water and staff to clean up after you?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

weemcd wrote: »
    I wish someone had of stubbed out a cigarette into one, or a couple of those cans. That is stingy and disgusting, how the hell could you drink slop like that? People are strange creatures:(

that's what i was thinking, loads of people use used cans as ash trays he must have come across one but he didn't seem too bothered anyway if he was drinking slops

• Registered Users Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

Have a notoriously stingy mate, just in general would never buy ya drink back after asking ya to get him one. In the last week there's been two new stories of his stingyness.

1. Got a lift home from a night out with one of the girls and when he was getting out one of the lads said are ya not gonna give the poor girl a tenner and she collecting ya and bringing ya home, his reply to this "Sure won't she be getting a card off me next week", it was her 21st the following saturday, don't know if he actually gave her the card or any money in the card.

2. The lads were down in the local and were in the jacks, one of the lads dropped a 50c on the floor, pissed on it and said wait and see he'll come in and pocket it. He went to the jacks, lads went in after it and the 50c was gone. The shame:o

• Registered Users Posts: 22,113 ✭✭✭✭Esel

yesno1234 wrote: »
    The lads were down in the local and were in the jacks, one of the lads dropped a 50c on the floor, pissed on it and said wait and see he'll come in and pocket it.
    Piss is usually sterile - there's a lot worse on the coins in your pocket already.

Definitely a sad, tight bloke, though.

Also, I reckon all the tags on this thread were added by a single, sad (or bored) user.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭inkwell

Two years ago I invited friend with her boyfriend to summer house I rented for two weeks (nice with sauna, fireplace etc) I also bought all the food and alkohol for at least three days (they were staying five). I usually dont smoke, just sometimes when I drink and one evening I felt like smoking so I asked them for one (both smokers) - gave me strange look, but it was ok, then I asked second time some time later - It didnt cross my mind it could be a problem.. but I've heard : "ok, but no more -we are short on money" -another one : people bringing their rubbish to work place in the morning because nappies are heavy!!! nightmare!!! (but yes -they can afford holidays in Spain) :/

Esel wrote: »
    Piss is usually sterile - there's a lot worse on the coins in your pocket already.

Definitely a sad, tight bloke, though.

Also, I reckon all the tags on this thread were added by a single, sad (or bored) user.
    Can you catch chlamydia by drinking urine?

nopic_48.gif jacko basically me and couple of lads were drinking after we had it couple it came to a man test!! (drink) a glass of urine, the lad that urinated in it i was told he had somethin and people said he didnt so im jus wondering can u catch it by drinking even though i threw it up straight after?
    Best Answer - Chosen by Voters

1ujHMA4GCAAAB2qJpPJNvAsuO44E1vw==.medium.jpg Nikki
    WelI, I do question your thought process in deciding to follow through with such a stupid dare. But nevertheless, I do believe it is possible. I know one of the ways to test for gonorrhea and chlamydia is via a urine sample, so I can only assume one could contract it by drinking it. Whether you held the urine in your mouth long enough to infect yourself is anyone's guess.

I'd recommend getting tested in about 2-3 weeks (or sooner if symptoms start to appear), and if you should have happened to catch it, it can be easily cured with a round of antibiotics. So nothing really to be concerned about, although in the meantime you better be using condoms if you're having sex, lest you inadvertently infect a partner. And seriously...what happened to just trying to moon the neighbors or something? Drinking urine on a dare? O_o You guys need a hobby.
    Source(s):

Medical assistant in a sexual health/family planning clinic.
    100% 1 Vote

• 1 person rated this as good

Not the right answer? Try Yahoo! Search

Search Yahoo! for

Other Answers (3)

• nopic_48.gif Ray L
      Maybe, but you can make yourself seriously ill, a real man would have refused because it is stupid. 0% 0 Votes

• 1rtWFgkqhAAEE_IFH_MgDCw==.medium.jpg kenlove3...
      But you can get HERPES coz urine contains ANTI-BODIES.
      Source(s):

im a pharmacist 0% 0 Votes

• nopic_48.gif dru21519
      No! I hope you vomitted after that. Drinking urine does not make you a man. Please be wuss next time!
    Yahoo answers said you can get STDs from Pee so it must be true.

Yahoo Answers

There's some dumb questions on there, I really hope they are trolling. It would make a good thread though linking to some of the crazies on there.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Fozzydog3 wrote: »
    Once the close fam where invited to dinner at the aunts house alls well and good until she asks us to bring over our own plates and cutlery !:eek:

That's not stingey at all really, she simply didn't have enough plates. It would be so expensive to buy a load of new ones which will rarely be used.

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭iamyourending

We were in a chipper on Saturday night, and my stingy friend went and asked for extra ketchup for himself...the guy behind the counter (he was only following instructions from his boss, in fairness!) told him they sell it in tubs for 30 cent...my friend went rooting for change and found a fifty cent, so he asked us for change because he didn't want to break his fifty cent! Now that's what I call stingy... :eek:

^ It was the piss-soaked 50c from the post above. You can get AIDS from sharing ketchup....

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

I don't want to know what you do with ketchup...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

It was my little sisters 18th birthday a few weeks ago. She got loads of lovely gifts and lots of money from all the extended family-ahes the youngest in the family so everyone made a huge effort to spoil her! Yesterday my cousin who wasn't at the party arrived with a present for my sister-a lovely, expensive handbag......which my mam had bought my cousin for Christmas!!
    well your cousin is into recycling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭blodvyn

Have a mate i used to live with, pretty well off. doesn't drink or smoke earns a good wage and doesnt spend much.

ANY pennies he seen or we dropped round the place he'd pick up and pocket instantly with a smile, nod and wink at you.

PRICELESS!

blodvyn wrote: »
    ANY pennies he seen or we dropped round the place he'd pick up and pocket instantly with a smile, nod and wink at you.
    Organise a night in the George and bring your shrapnel jar.

Not your ornery onager