Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Hiberno-English

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

How's she cuttin?
    would ya go and ****e???
    I will in me hole
    you're a gobdob
    aah, ask me bollox.

There are a great series of books called "The Feckin book of Irish..." the two I have are "Insults" and "Slang". Both are very funny and are like a Hiberno English to English translation book. There is also an explanation of where you might use a phrase, for example

"Jackean" - a country persons name for someone from Dublin as in

What did the Jackean say on his first day at work?
    "What do you want me to do Daddy?

its spelt jackeen as in little brit and its not something a country person should say to a dub

i have seen an idiot from cavan announce in slatteries at 8 o clock in the morning that these jackeens are a load of idiots

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

example:starrry buddd dih yah nowww werrr i can change me chickens neck buud!! no warrr I meeaaannn!!!!!

in english: hello my good fellow can you tell me where the nearest post office or building society is as I would like to PAY a cheque ito my account?

I stand corrected;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Tigger wrote: »
    its spelt jackeen as in little brit and its not something a country person should say to a dub

OK, apologies for spelling a slang word wrong.

jesus, the amount of abuse country folk get from Dubs I'm not so sure people from the pale have any right to be too fussy :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭pierrot

'going for the messages' is a good one, as is 'drinking minerals'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

How's it going?
    Or Howya?

To be answered in the same way and not an invitation to tell us your life story.

soo true,

feckin hate when yopu go howya to some one and they start with good and then say more stuff

OK, apologies for spelling a slang word wrong.

jesus, the amount of abuse country folk get from Dubs I'm not so sure people from the pale have any right to be too fussy :pac:

its not a slang word its an insult

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

pierrot wrote: »
    'going for the messages' is a good one, as is 'drinking minerals'

no one under 60 uses either of these

sure tey do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Had mates over from Manchester a few weeks ago.
    Told them we'd bring them the the best pubs and clubs to score.

They told us after they were unsure, as to 'score' in loads of places in the UK means to score drugs.... not wimmin!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

The different slang in different parts of the country causes trouble as well. For example the phrases 'meet' (East coast) and 'be with' (West) both meaning to pull, but being ridiculously confusing to those unfamiliar with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

r3nu4l wrote: »

Asking for white lemonade in a pub (they don't have any other type in England)

What about red lemonade? Do they not have it? :eek:

Another example is using "well" as a greeting. A Tipperary thing which many trainee gardai pick up in Templemore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

micmclo wrote: »
    What about red lemonade? Do they not have it? :eek:

Another example is using "well" as a greeting. A Tipperary thing which many trainee gardai pick up in Templemore

Well is also common in Connacht and Cavan, but perhaps it was imported by former Gardai.

And yes red lemonade is uniquely Irish like white pudding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

no one under 60 uses either of these

My mate always says minerals - he's 24 - I'd say it a bit myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 cool username

As far as I can make out "scone" for a kiss is purely a kilkenny thing? as in "did you scone him?" interchangable with "shift", I remember a cousin of mind getting insulted about the "shift" which she thought meant to give a hand job!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

Another example is using "well" as a greeting.

Is that Hiberno-english. Probably, like using Ye in Munster, it is old English. Short, for Well Met.

Hiberno is influenced by Irish. Like theres a hunger on me, ( ta ocras orm) not I am hungry. Mostly Hiberno proper has died out.

Or I'm after hitting him with the car!" Táim tar éis é a bhualadh leis an gcarr!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

Brilliant exposition on Hiberno-Irish proper in this wiki page.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

asdasd wrote: »
    Hiberno is influenced by Irish. Like theres a hunger on me, ( ta ocras orm) not I am hungry. Mostly Hiberno proper has died out.

Or I'm after hitting him with the car!" Táim tar éis é a bhualadh leis an gcarr!

Well if you're going to say certain aspects have died out, why use carr?
    That's only a recent thing, probably introduced because it was easier then gluaisteán.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,418 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Go for the messages and put them in the press.

'Bold children' is another one that confuses non-Hiberno-English speakers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

I still think we should all be speaking Anglo-Irish Medieval English!!! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭NewFrockTuesday

I dont even know how to spell the pronunciation of this.....but awl wans down our way say "chalk-lot" for choclate - not sure Im even spelling that right!

Has someone done apackageatatyo already?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

What about the Dub phrase "in anyway".

As in "I wasn't going there in anyway"

Outside Dublin people would leave out the "in".

The Nordies also have one "so he did" or "so it was"

As in "Twas a very close match so it was - He went out for the messages so he did"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

One other one that seems most common in Munster - Cork and Limerick - using the word leave instead of let

As in they wouldn't LEAVE him into the pub - or the other kids wouldn'y leave her play.

It's let for for freeks sake - :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

hope Im not repeating an earlier one but; "do be" (no not doobie).. as in, ah don't be worrying about them kids there, the only "do be" messing around out back..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

why say sorry, sorry, sorry all the time when you quite clearly don;t mean it. You walk into someone, knocking them flying, they pick themselves up off the floor and say "Sorry, when they should be saying "You twat"

Ahh that would be what is known as having a little bit of class my friend, not sure you get that in England. Give it a go sometime.

slipss wrote: »
    Ahh that would be what is known as having a little bit of class my friend, not sure you get that in England. Give it a go sometime.

Wow, that was brilliant. well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

I started saying "messages" after being in Scotland for a bit. Let's bring it back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Wow, that was brilliant. well done.

Thank you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭S.I.R

So i was saying = in all in anyways

Best phrase ever.

My mother in law (Not that i listen to her much) keeps saying Wogeous" as in the weather was Wogeous today" or "the traffic was Wogeous"

Is that actually a word?