Fratton Fred wrote: » How's she cuttin? would ya go and ****e??? I will in me hole you're a gobdob aah, ask me bollox. There are a great series of books called "The Feckin book of Irish..." the two I have are "Insults" and "Slang". Both are very funny and are like a Hiberno English to English translation book. There is also an explanation of where you might use a phrase, for example "Jackean" - a country persons name for someone from Dublin as in What did the Jackean say on his first day at work? "What do you want me to do Daddy?
Septic Leper wrote: » example:starrry buddd dih yah nowww werrr i can change me chickens neck buud!! no warrr I meeaaannn!!!!! in english: hello my good fellow can you tell me where the nearest post office or building society is as I would like to PAY a cheque ito my account?
Tigger wrote: » its spelt jackeen as in little brit and its not something a country person should say to a dub
Fratton Fred wrote: » OK, apologies for spelling a slang word wrong. jesus, the amount of abuse country folk get from Dubs I'm not so sure people from the pale have any right to be too fussy :pac:
pierrot wrote: » 'going for the messages' is a good one, as is 'drinking minerals'
r3nu4l wrote: » Asking for white lemonade in a pub (they don't have any other type in England)
micmclo wrote: » What about red lemonade? Do they not have it? :eek: Another example is using "well" as a greeting. A Tipperary thing which many trainee gardai pick up in Templemore
phantom_lord wrote: » no one under 60 uses either of these
Another example is using "well" as a greeting.
asdasd wrote: » Hiberno is influenced by Irish. Like theres a hunger on me, ( ta ocras orm) not I am hungry. Mostly Hiberno proper has died out. Or I'm after hitting him with the car!" Táim tar éis é a bhualadh leis an gcarr!
Fratton Fred wrote: » why say sorry, sorry, sorry all the time when you quite clearly don;t mean it. You walk into someone, knocking them flying, they pick themselves up off the floor and say "Sorry, when they should be saying "You twat"
slipss wrote: » Ahh that would be what is known as having a little bit of class my friend, not sure you get that in England. Give it a go sometime.
Fratton Fred wrote: » Wow, that was brilliant. well done.