Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hiberno-English

• 02-12-2008 12:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭

We on this island are blessed with our own language. No, not Gaeilge, but Irish English, which is as rich and diverse a language as any.
    Any stories or indeed misunderstandings where other English speakers have been left bemused by your colourful language? I'll get the ball rolling..

me in a pub in England " bag o' Taytos please"
    barman " youwha"???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

Excuse me, could you give me directions to the train station?

"Feck off"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Culchies...there's no escaping you guys is there?

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

pierrot wrote: »
    We on this island are blessed with our own language. No, not Gaeilge, but Irish English, which is as rich and diverse a language as any.
    Any stories or indeed misunderstandings where other English speakers have been left bemused by your colourful language? I'll get the ball rolling..

barman " youwha"???

"Tayto" is not a generic name for crisps, even within Ireland.

A friend of mine was given a verbal warning from HR when she worked in London for asking the office at large whether anyone wanted a sambo at lunchtime every day. Apparently several people had made complaints about her racist remarks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

using the words "how come" instead of "why".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

barman " youwha"???

example:starrry buddd dih yah nowww werrr i can change me chickens neck buud!! no warrr I meeaaannn!!!!!

in english: hello my good fellow can you tell me where the nearest post office or building society is as I would like to PAY a cheque ito my account?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

There is also the less popular and less understandible language - Culchie

The only word the majority of (non-culchie) people can understand them pronouncing is "tractor", which conviently enough tends to pop up about 3 times per sentence anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭pierrot

"shor", used in place of sure is another fave. can be used in almost any sentence. "shor, you know"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 891 ✭✭✭conceited

Will you wash the dishes, I will ya.
    The poor japs i was living with hadn't a clue haha their english is ****ed cause they learned it from me......:D

Translation will you wash the dishes, no!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

How's the form,

I'm only only coddin,

Are you pullin the piss,

etc, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Elbowed my way into an overcrowded put in London, not a million miles from the Brixton Acadamy and shouted to my partner..."jazzussss it's black in here". :eek:

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

"shor", used in place of sure is another fave. can be used in almost any sentence. "shor, you know"

and iv'e also had someone ask me how do you spell "yizzer" as in you's are

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Honey-ec wrote: »
    "Tayto" is not a generic name for crisps, even within Ireland.

A friend of mine was given a verbal warning from HR when she worked in London for asking the office at large whether anyone wanted a sambo at lunchtime every day. Apparently several people had made complaints about her racist remarks...

I'm lost. What ethnicity does Sambo insult? Somalians? Sambolians?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

conceited wrote: »
    The poor japs i was living with hadn't a clue haha their english is ****ed cause they learned it from me......:D

ha, i was teaching them. -"howaya"-"grand". sounds strange coming from a 9 year old Japanese kid. "It's class"

AnonoBoy wrote: »

Black people in general.

What amazes me is that she clearly wasn't using it in a racist context, but people still saw fit to get offended.

It's like someone being offended at the Irish word "focail" because it sounds phonetically slightly rude...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Bleeeeding deeadly whaaaaa, bud?
    And so it's off again, jackeens vs culchies :D

On topic: to be after something. "I'm after having a shave".

i work with a german lad thats living in ireland 15 years he sounds like macbaen with a dub accent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Google 'Little Black Sambo' movie...sometime in the 1930's. I think you'll find the answer. Firewall here won't let me get you a better reference. :)

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Black people in general.

What amazes me is that she clearly wasn't using it in a racist context, but people still saw fit to get offended.

It's like someone being offended at the Irish word "focail" because it sounds phonetically slightly rude...

Gotta love when a whole nation becomes so afraid and ashamed of its own past that they can't let slang words for sandwiches go.

"ja wanna come back to me gaff"
    "what's a gaff":confused:

ha, i was teaching them. -"howaya"-"grand". sounds strange coming from a 9 year old Japanese kid. "It's class"
    Pricelss and cute i'd say haha :)

The use of 'horse' as a verb, to put something without due care is also a favourite, for example, 'horse that over there', or ' I horsed it into her last night', even.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

I think the most colorful language comes form tinkers (no idea what PC word the're called these days)

"De blessins a jazus on ya mam, gotta grand bitta carpat in da back of da van reel cheap, give ya a great price mam"

Priceless when they come trying to sell you something. A bit like Bradd Pitt's accent in snatch. Never look like him though :(

I was in dublin last year and i heard one of the lads saying i;d wreck her box. I thought it was very nasty sounding lol !
    Is that common?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Using double verbs

eg: I do be really knackered on Monday mornings.

I didn't realise we do it until I read about it recently.

I was in dublin last year and i heard one of the lads saying i;d wreck her box. I thought it was very nasty sounding lol !

People saying that, or people wrecking other people's boxes???

yeah and another one I heard was "jaysus id love to rattle the box off her"

KTRIC wrote: »
    Using double verbs

eg: I do be really knackered on Monday mornings.

I didn't realise we do it until I read about it recently.

comes from the Irish like 'bim', there isnt a tense like that in English, present continuous daily or something

Seriously it sounded funny as ****. Is it popular ? "saying it":)

He's outta his box

I was outta me box last noite

etc

He's outta his box

I was outta me box last noite

etc

is that box meaning head, rather than a 'lady's box'

Yep, box as in head.

this is wher people are confused

eg: "I'll box the head off you" has two meanings

some jap fecker is probably thinkin' he's goin muff divin' when in actual fact he's in big trouble

Yep, box as in head.

this is wher people are confused

eg: "I'll box the head off you" has two meanings

some jap fecker is probably thinkin' he's goin muff divin' when in actual fact he's gettin' a "box (fist)" in the mush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭pawrick

I have a habit of making up words without realising but they'll catch on eventually. In the mean time - my house mates who are learning English are fecked.

The word I use the most in talking is ye (plural) or ya (singular) (youse if yer a dub) - e.g. are ya going to the shop? will you get me some messages (culchy speak for groceries)?

On the other hand last weekend I was complimented on not speaking English like an Irish person but more like an English person!!!!!!!??? wtf!

oh and they are Taytos!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Me bollix. Bag o' Taytos please isn't rich or diverse. I mean how in the name of jasus is dat unique? Would ya gwan outta that mister. A bag o' yore ma's knickers now dats cat.

Crisp - generic product name for thinly sliced, round, flavoured potato chip. Customarily fried, apart from recent "healthy" alternatives.

Tayto - specific brand of slightly inferior crisp, much beloved of ex-pats and culchies.

dSTAR wrote: »
    Me bollix. Bag o' Taytos please isn't rich or diverse. I mean how in the name of jasus is dat unique? Would ya gwan outta that mister. A bag o' yore ma's knickers now dats cat.

Don't ya mean a "package a taytos" ??

yeahh deh bleedin' ones I trun ahh yehh!!

and thats another thing when did the word throw becom TRUN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Prolly why yer man at the bar says youwha. Although most likely would've been directed to the nearest post office :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

look guys, it's a cupboard. why on earth do you call it a Press? a hot press is an "Airing Cupboard" got it?

That thing in the gutter, that water goes down. its called a drain. Why do you insist on calling it a shore?

At the end of a sentence, you put a full stop, or a period as our American friends call it. not the word "So". why does everyone insist on ending every sentence with the word "So", so.

Gee is cool, no one in England has a clue what that means so you can get away with calling everyone and anyone a "Geebag" (Which I often do).

why say sorry, sorry, sorry all the time when you quite clearly don;t mean it. You walk into someone, knocking them flying, they pick themselves up off the floor and say "Sorry, when they should be saying "You twat"

I've got a couple of English friends who have lived in ireland for a long time, one since he was about 13. they use the word "Grand" whereas I would say great. I appreciate that it is one of those words that you would pick up, but it just sounds so wrong someone with an English accent saying grand, so

There you go, my take on Hiberno-English for all you Culchies, Jackeans and other such cute-whores, so.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

My Hiberno-English always gets laughed at in England:

Asking for white lemonade in a pub (they don't have any other type in England)

Asking them to take a mug from the press (they call it a cupboard)

Telling your friends there are extra towels in the hot press (they call it an airing cupboard).

If someone phones for a colleague and I say 'he's just after going out for lunch', I get laughed at (biko already noted this).

If I say 'Ah stop the lights!', I get funny looks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭sprinklesspanky

Black people in general.

Little black sambo

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Little_Black_Sambo

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sambo_(racial_term)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

Talking about the film "Once Were Warriors" with an American girl:

Her: "Oh my gawd that is a brutal movie."

Me: "I thought it was quite good actually." (Realising 5 seconds later what she meant)

I'm aware of the history of the term Sambo in that context. My point was, if you use a word that just happens to have a different meaning to the one you mean, in a totally different context to the one in which it would be offensive, do people really have any right to object to it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

I'm aware of the history of the term Sambo in that context. My point was, if you use a word that just happens to have a different meaning to the one you mean, in a totally different context to the one in which it would be offensive, do people really have any right to object to it?

yeah i was running a potato farm and there were some nigerians working, one of them broke his digging implement and got all huffity when i told him to get another spade and finish the harvesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Indeed it'd be like gay people get offended if you asked was anyone going outside for a fag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Tigger wrote: »
    yeah i was running a potato farm and there were some nigerians working, one of them broke his digging implement and got all huffity when i told him to get another spade and finish the harvesting
    Indeed it'd be like gay people get offended if you asked was anyone going outside for a fag.

Its not that bad lads, no need to throw a paddy over it :D

Seemingly "Going out to smoke a fag" in Texas means something compleeeeetly different :o