Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Hiberno-English

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭pierrot

KTRIC wrote: »
    He's outta his box

I was outta me box last noite

etc

is that box meaning head, rather than a 'lady's box'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭KTRIC

pierrot wrote: »
    is that box meaning head, rather than a 'lady's box'

Yep, box as in head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

Yep, box as in head.

this is wher people are confused

eg: "I'll box the head off you" has two meanings

some jap fecker is probably thinkin' he's goin muff divin' when in actual fact he's in big trouble

Yep, box as in head.

this is wher people are confused

eg: "I'll box the head off you" has two meanings

some jap fecker is probably thinkin' he's goin muff divin' when in actual fact he's gettin' a "box (fist)" in the mush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭pawrick

I have a habit of making up words without realising but they'll catch on eventually. In the mean time - my house mates who are learning English are fecked.

The word I use the most in talking is ye (plural) or ya (singular) (youse if yer a dub) - e.g. are ya going to the shop? will you get me some messages (culchy speak for groceries)?

On the other hand last weekend I was complimented on not speaking English like an Irish person but more like an English person!!!!!!!??? wtf!

oh and they are Taytos!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Me bollix. Bag o' Taytos please isn't rich or diverse. I mean how in the name of jasus is dat unique? Would ya gwan outta that mister. A bag o' yore ma's knickers now dats cat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Crisp - generic product name for thinly sliced, round, flavoured potato chip. Customarily fried, apart from recent "healthy" alternatives.

Tayto - specific brand of slightly inferior crisp, much beloved of ex-pats and culchies.

dSTAR wrote: »
    Me bollix. Bag o' Taytos please isn't rich or diverse. I mean how in the name of jasus is dat unique? Would ya gwan outta that mister. A bag o' yore ma's knickers now dats cat.

Don't ya mean a "package a taytos" ??

yeahh deh bleedin' ones I trun ahh yehh!!

and thats another thing when did the word throw becom TRUN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Prolly why yer man at the bar says youwha. Although most likely would've been directed to the nearest post office :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

look guys, it's a cupboard. why on earth do you call it a Press? a hot press is an "Airing Cupboard" got it?

That thing in the gutter, that water goes down. its called a drain. Why do you insist on calling it a shore?

At the end of a sentence, you put a full stop, or a period as our American friends call it. not the word "So". why does everyone insist on ending every sentence with the word "So", so.

Gee is cool, no one in England has a clue what that means so you can get away with calling everyone and anyone a "Geebag" (Which I often do).

why say sorry, sorry, sorry all the time when you quite clearly don;t mean it. You walk into someone, knocking them flying, they pick themselves up off the floor and say "Sorry, when they should be saying "You twat"

I've got a couple of English friends who have lived in ireland for a long time, one since he was about 13. they use the word "Grand" whereas I would say great. I appreciate that it is one of those words that you would pick up, but it just sounds so wrong someone with an English accent saying grand, so

There you go, my take on Hiberno-English for all you Culchies, Jackeans and other such cute-whores, so.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

My Hiberno-English always gets laughed at in England:

Asking for white lemonade in a pub (they don't have any other type in England)

Asking them to take a mug from the press (they call it a cupboard)

Telling your friends there are extra towels in the hot press (they call it an airing cupboard).

If someone phones for a colleague and I say 'he's just after going out for lunch', I get laughed at (biko already noted this).

If I say 'Ah stop the lights!', I get funny looks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭pierrot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭sprinklesspanky

Honey-ec wrote: »
    Black people in general.

What amazes me is that she clearly wasn't using it in a racist context, but people still saw fit to get offended.

It's like someone being offended at the Irish word "focail" because it sounds phonetically slightly rude...

Little black sambo

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Little_Black_Sambo

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sambo_(racial_term)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭latenia

Talking about the film "Once Were Warriors" with an American girl:

Her: "Oh my gawd that is a brutal movie."

Me: "I thought it was quite good actually." (Realising 5 seconds later what she meant)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

I'm aware of the history of the term Sambo in that context. My point was, if you use a word that just happens to have a different meaning to the one you mean, in a totally different context to the one in which it would be offensive, do people really have any right to object to it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

I'm aware of the history of the term Sambo in that context. My point was, if you use a word that just happens to have a different meaning to the one you mean, in a totally different context to the one in which it would be offensive, do people really have any right to object to it?

yeah i was running a potato farm and there were some nigerians working, one of them broke his digging implement and got all huffity when i told him to get another spade and finish the harvesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,365 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Indeed it'd be like gay people get offended if you asked was anyone going outside for a fag.

Tigger wrote: »
    yeah i was running a potato farm and there were some nigerians working, one of them broke his digging implement and got all huffity when i told him to get another spade and finish the harvesting
    Indeed it'd be like gay people get offended if you asked was anyone going outside for a fag.

Its not that bad lads, no need to throw a paddy over it :D

Seemingly "Going out to smoke a fag" in Texas means something compleeeeetly different :o

As I was typing mine, Fred was typing his :D
    That thing in the gutter, that water goes down. its called a drain. Why do you insist on calling it a shore?
    On that note, why oh why do English people insist that if they fall on the footpath/road, they fell on 'the floor'? :confused: WTF? No, you fell on the footpath/road, not the floor...the floor is inside your house ffs! :)

r3nu4l wrote: »
    As I was typing mine, Fred was typing his :D

On that note, why oh why do English people insist that if they fall on the footpath/road, they fell on 'the floor'? :confused: WTF? No, you fell on the footpath/road, not the floor...the floor is inside your house ffs! :)

it could be worse, you could fall on your ear:confused::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

My point was, if you use a word that just happens to have a different meaning to the one you mean, in a totally different context to the one in which it would be offensive, do people really have any right to object to it?

The point is that the word has a specific meaning in Ireland. That doesn't give you license to use it in other countries where they already have an accepted meaning for it. Simple common sense really. For example, it's not uncommon in Ireland to call someone, even in jest, a bastard. Do that in Jamaica and you'll probably have a fight on your hands.

Gyalist wrote: »
    For example, it's not uncommon in Ireland to call someone, even in jest, a bastard. Do that in Jamaica and you'll probably have a fight on your hands.
    Indeed, like the Cork lad who was in the US and said to an African American waiter:

'I'll have the Budweiser, boy'

Pause...silence...
    'Boy? Who you callin' boy, you racist muthafuka?'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Gyalist wrote: »
    The point is that the word has a specific meaning in Ireland. That doesn't give you license to use it in other countries where they already have an accepted meaning for it. Simple common sense really. For example, it's not uncommon in Ireland to call someone, even in jest, a bastard. Do that in Jamaica and you'll probably have a fight on your hands.

why would you call someone you don't know a bastard?

a friend mabey?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭jaxy999

I live in Waterford where most people greet everyone with "well", anyways a lithuanian girl works part time in our office and I had to laugh when she greeted me with "well" one day, she's only living here a few years and already she's picked up the lingo....lol :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

English in Belfast:

Local: "What about ye?"
    English: "What about me? Er... errr.."

How's she cuttin?
    would ya go and ****e???
    I will in me hole
    you're a gobdob
    aah, ask me bollox.

There are a great series of books called "The Feckin book of Irish..." the two I have are "Insults" and "Slang". Both are very funny and are like a Hiberno English to English translation book. There is also an explanation of where you might use a phrase, for example

"Jackean" - a country persons name for someone from Dublin as in

What did the Jackean say on his first day at work?
    "What do you want me to do Daddy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

You think that's good?

Have you heard Anglo-Irish Medieval English?

''He taketh maidin of the route
    And turnith up hir white toute,
    And betith the taburs with his hond
    To make is monkes light to lond
    ''

Medieval Spanking!! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,522 ✭✭✭✭Alun

in english: hello my good fellow can you tell me where the nearest post office or building society is as I would like to lodge a cheque ito my account?
    No one in England "lodges" cheques, that's a hiberno-english thing as well. Over there they "pay them in".