If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Official bitch about daily life in UL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

eldwaro wrote: »
    Jester252 wrote: »
    or you could try walking to them?

true, and i forgot the vending machines over in red raisins would probably be available.

but still....

top floor of the library vending machine would be class
    Oh I though you wanted a vending machine on all the floors.
    Also they could put them in the photocopy room keep all the noise in one place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

I was so feckin tired after being in college for 16 hours that I didn't have the energy to get p*ssed off. I actually ended up looking on the bright side, that they didn't rob the wheel nuts while they were at it, so I was actually able to put on my spare wheel.
    Would have been up s**t creek if they had robbed my nuts while they were at it!!

How considerate of them:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭roro1neil0

go and get a look at the cctv just for curiosity sake. i wonder if it was a couple of little brats messing? what the **** do you do with a random wheel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Bored Accountant

roro1neil0 wrote: »
    go and get a look at the cctv just for curiosity sake. i wonder if it was a couple of little brats messing? what the **** do you do with a random wheel?

Security are reviewing the security tapes, but they have 16 hours of tape to go over and you can't see the side of the car which the wheel was taken off, so it makes it a lot more difficult to narrow down when it happened. and because the back of the car was left back down on to the kerb, there's not that much of a difference in the slope of the car.
    also the cameras aren't fixed so they move back and forth. don't know how long a swivel takes so if its very slow moving they could have missed the whole thing. and then once it gets dark, there's a light near enough my car so there's a small bit of a glare on the camera, which makes it alot more difficult to see everything perfect.

ppl were suggesting to me that maybe it was someone who got a puncture, had no spare so just robbed a wheel of another car, my car. i have no idea really. but someone isn't going to have just walked away with a wheel, so i'm hoping they catch it being put into a car or on a car, so that the number plate can be gotten and they can be pursued!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,577 ✭✭✭garv123

ppl were suggesting to me that maybe it was someone who got a puncture, had no spare so just robbed a wheel of another car, my car. i have no idea really. but someone isn't going to have just walked away with a wheel, so i'm hoping they catch it being put into a car or on a car, so that the number plate can be gotten and they can be pursued!!

That was the first thing i taught when i finally stopped laughing. They wouldn't need the wheel nuts either because of it. Was it a wheel or an alloy? a set of lock nuts might do no harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,832 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Obligatory - > "Dat's Limerick Citay!"

And that's the kind of talk that gives this city a bad name! You have no proof that people who did this are from limerick city and UL is in COUNTY Limerick so keep your stereotyping to yourself!

[/Rant]

Went to the stables yesterday after handing in assignments for a pint and Id a match so i got mi wadi whilst the last got pints with their food.

€1 for mi-wadi. what the fudge is that about? even hotels only charge 30-40cent

garv123 wrote: »
    That was the first thing i taught when i finally stopped laughing. They wouldn't need the wheel nuts either because of it. Was it a wheel or an alloy? a set of lock nuts might do no harm.

twas an alloy. they were just the stock nissan alloy that are on all Nissan Almeras sold around then. and yea a set of lock nuts would be a great idea. typical though, that you take preventive matters after something has happended!!
    question now is how hard will it be able to replace the alloy. Don't want to have one normal wheel on the car & 3 alloys.

twas an alloy. they were just the stock nissan alloy that are on all Nissan Almeras sold around then. and yea a set of lock nuts would be a great idea. typical though, that you take preventive matters after something has happended!!
    question now is how hard will it be able to replace the alloy. Don't want to have one normal wheel on the car & 3 alloys.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/find/carextras/for-sale/Ireland/nissan%20alloy

If its a standard alloy chances are you'll get one. Find out where the car breakers are around your area and they probably have some crashed cars with sets on them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭highlydebased

Somebody told me that apparently the stables are going to start charging for water! I don't know how true that is. I trust the source (No pun intended)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Somebody told me that apparently the stables are going to start charging for water! I don't know how true that is. I trust the source (No pun intended)

Isn't that illegal? (It was my understanding that pubs had to provide free tap water...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Isn't that illegal? (It was my understanding that pubs had to provide free tap water...)

Government was supposed to provide free water too... Just saying... :pac:

garv123 wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/find/carextras/for-sale/Ireland/nissan%20alloy

If its a standard alloy chances are you'll get one. Find out where the car breakers are around your area and they probably have some crashed cars with sets on them

yea been on to a scrapyard near home, but they don't think they have anything, but they said they'd keep an eye out. they probably have couple of thousand cars there so fingers crossed. the other problem, is anyone selling alloys is going to be selling a set and not just one alloy. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Nockz

yea the whole wheel. they must have jacked up the car taken the wheel, and then left the car back down.

What car park was that? I saw another car jacked up last week at some point but didn't think much of it.

Question for everyone: Would it be wise to ask whoever is at the jacked up car to open the car door so you know it's their car?

Nockz wrote: »
    What car park was that? I saw another car jacked up last week at some point but didn't think much of it.

Question for everyone: Would it be wise to ask whoever is at the jacked up car to open the car door so you know it's their car?

it was in the foundation car park.

I wouldn't look twice at someone with a car jacked up taking off the wheel presuming they were just changing a puncture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,656 ✭✭✭El Inho

it was in the foundation car park.

I wouldn't look twice at someone with a car jacked up taking off the wheel presuming they were just changing a puncture.

well now i will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Some fecker leaving off stink bombs in the Post grad PC lab :mad:

Going to take a walk for some fresh air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Cadroc

Wifi in the Red Raisins... Like seriously, wtf? Actually, Wifi on campus in general. Come on UL, get with the times :mad:

being here since 8 and still havent started studying...definitely UL's fault

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

eldwaro wrote: »
    ah its in no way worse than talking!

i hate when a group of girls gets like three seats next to each other and spend the day laughing and chatting...

thats a day of annoyance rather than the 5 mins it took me to ate a sambo.

Completely agree, drives me up the wall! You'd swear they couldn't go anywhere else to talk. It'd grand if they only talked for a minute or two and leave, but no, it's this constant whispering :mad: as if they feel better because they're no outright talking! Go somewhere else for feck sake! I'm here to do work/study not to listen to ye natter about what 'crazy' stuff you go up to the last night!
    Food drives me mad as well, more so food that smells like crisps etc. and is noisy, had to sit beside someone eating Skips once! Argh! Having to sit beside that is unbearable. Admittedly, I bring food sometimes to the library :o because I bring in stuff from home and feel weird just leaving to eat. However, I'm totally paranoid about being as quiet as I can and never bring food that may be smelly or make too much noise! :o

Food drives me mad as well, more so food that smells like crisps

However, I'm totally paranoid about being as quiet as I can and never bring food that may be smelly or make too much noise! :o

I've always wanted to bring in a kettle with me to the library for the laugh and just pull it out and make myself a cup of tea or something at my desk. I wonder what kind of reaction would you get to that!!

Making sure of course to offer everyone around you and even in the other benches a cup of tea Mrs. Doyle style! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Nolimits12

I'm guilty of being a noisy eater with smelly food. But in fairness, if you go ou to eat then the amount of time wasted! Quicker to eat at laptop.

People who talk though they piss me off so much! Ha this one girl sitting next to me earlier.She spent the day on facebook and looking at everyone walking past. Then chattedto anyone and everyone!

one of the highlights of study week..

was pulling a red bull sponsored all nighter...

these two lads sat down in red raisins, mini kettle out, mini milk, few tay bags few bikkies, and worked away at the study for the evening..

not the library but still genius! a tip of the cap to them i say.

Maybe I should make and eat my lunch in the library like Mr. Bean? :P Now that would get a reaction!

Grrr... why must the Main Building be so confusing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭CJKeane

Grrr... why must the Main Building be so confusing?

Go back to CSIS where all is right in the world!:pac::pac::pac:

CJKeane wrote: »
    Go back to CSIS where all is right in the world!:pac::pac::pac:

Back where corridors are straight and rooms are numbered sequentially... *stares wistfully into the distance....*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Dear Next Door Neighbour,

I regret to inform you, as cheery as your and your friends' laughter is and as rhythmic as the sound of the ball you're bouncing off the dividing wall is, some of us have an exam tomorrow and would very much like to study. It would not have been so much of an issue if you weren't bouncing that ball off the dividing wall for hours last night too, when I was trying to sleep. If it doesn't stop soon, I will have no choice but to walk over to your house and duct tape your hands and mouth... something which would be an epic waste of my time so I would prefer to avoid it.

Regards,
    sup_dude, aka the girl in the room beside you who had little sleep and now can't concentrate because of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Nockz

Let's hope they read Boards then!