If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Official bitch about daily life in UL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Is Gleeson's Spar not open on a Sunday? Pretty near to the library.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,656 ✭✭✭El Inho

Jester252 wrote: »
    or you could try walking to them?

true, and i forgot the vending machines over in red raisins would probably be available.

but still....

top floor of the library vending machine would be class

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭Mindkiller

eldwaro wrote: »
    anyone else think
    1. library should have vending machines
    2. for the coming week, all students should have to display a student card on their desk

6th years are strolling past security, just thought that would be a quaint solution.

1. Absolutely fupping not. Noisy enough as is without the clitter clatter of vending machines and change. Not to mention people munching on taytos while they sit beside you trying to study. Hate that.
    2. Absolutely fupping yes.

Mindkiller wrote: »
    1. Absolutely fupping not. Noisy enough as is without the clitter clatter of vending machines and change. Not to mention people munching on taytos while they sit beside you trying to study. Hate that.
    2. Absolutely fupping yes.

not going to be anyworse than the clitter clatter of change from the photocopying card machine...

and personally it doesnt bother me if people snack at their desk...

im always extra careful to be quiet opening my crisps, but i dont mind others.

anyway, ill stop defending my points now because im not actually trying to get these in place! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

not going to be anyworse than the clitter clatter of change from the photocopying card machine...

and personally it doesnt bother me if people snack at their desk...

im always extra careful to be quiet opening my crisps, but i dont mind others.

anyway, ill stop defending my points now because im not actually trying to get these in place! :P

Eating at your desk.... you are the devil sir! THE DEVIL! I've come sooo close to throwing people out of the third floor windows in CSIS when they're munching on chicken rolls and loudly inhaling taytos....

Some may feel I'm being to harsh by advocating murder for eating at a desk, I however feel I'm being too lenient!

Does that really not bother you guys? I find it disgusting. Worse than talking in the library imo.

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Eating at your desk.... you are the devil sir! THE DEVIL! I've come sooo close to throwing people out of the third floor windows in CSIS when they're munching on chicken rolls and loudly inhaling taytos....

Some may feel I'm being to harsh by advocating murder for eating at a desk, I however feel I'm being too lenient!

i dare you to tut at me...dare you!

look a snack takes two minutes...when you're on the top floor, trying to quit smoking...going outside just aint an option...

eating on the other hand is! I'll never stop me snacking...NEVER I TELLS YA

Does that really not bother you guys? I find it disgusting. Worse than talking in the library imo.

ah its in no way worse than talking!

i hate when a group of girls gets like three seats next to each other and spend the day laughing and chatting...

thats a day of annoyance rather than the 5 mins it took me to ate a sambo.

i dare you to tut at me...dare you!

look a snack takes two minutes...when you're on the top floor, trying to quit smoking...going outside just aint an option...

eating on the other hand is! I'll never stop me snacking...NEVER I TELLS YA

Ah sure I'd be lying if I said I'd never done it myself, but as a rule if I can avoid it at all I do. And I've absolutely no problem with people eating bars of chocolate, but an entire fooking chicken roll? You walked from Spar to CSIS, passing numerous places to sit, then climbed to the top floor, passing the lovely cantine made specifically for eating, and eat very loudly at a desk? That just pisses me off.

Though it may be a combination of the fact that they were talking as well as eating loudly. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭roro1neil0

ah its in no way worse than talking!

i hate when a group of girls gets like three seats next to each other and spend the day laughing and chatting...

thats a day of annoyance rather than the 5 mins it took me to ate a sambo.

people like you disgust me, eating your horrible snacky smelly foods, making loads of noise and smells. ****ing disgusting.

roro1neil0 wrote: »
    people like you disgust me, eating your horrible snacky smelly foods, making loads of noise and smells. ****ing disgusting.

people like you equally disgust me...

come down of your high horse and have an aul snack for yourself. :pac:

you obviously dont work in the library long enough to understand :P

Ah sure I'd be lying if I said I'd never done it myself, but as a rule if I can avoid it at all I do. And I've absolutely no problem with people eating bars of chocolate, but an entire fooking chicken roll? You walked from Spar to CSIS, passing numerous places to sit, then climbed to the top floor, passing the lovely cantine made specifically for eating, and eat very loudly at a desk? That just pisses me off.

That's the worst. The fooking stench off the things. Putrid. It's not like you're going to get much study done while cramming that down your gob. Why not just take a book to the Red Raisins?

All I've ever eaten in the library are bananas. No noise or anything.

people like you equally disgust me...

come down of your high horse and have an aul snack for yourself. :pac:

you obviously dont work in the library long enough to understand :P

go on out of that you library tourist you, what mickey mouse course are you in you're only in the library two weeks of the year.

i'm in the library everyday until closing and i don't eat at my desk

go on out of that you library tourist you, what mickey mouse course are you in you're only in the library two weeks of the year.

i'm in the library everyday until closing and i don't eat at my desk

im a regular too dont you worry. well you should eat at your desk...if your like me and a regular, you say screw it, im here enough to break rules for my own convenience. you're missin out lad!

I agree with Rory. Fair enough, threads like these aren't meant to be serious but it doesn't hurt to take others into consideration. Some of us aren't as tolerant as you might like to believe, and it doesn't require much effort to relocate somewhere else for 20 minutes to eat. The five minutes you spend eating your 'sambo' is enough to disrupt anyone's train of thought for more than 5 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Bored Accountant

So after spending all day in college Friday working on a project, I finally decided to give up at midnight and head home.
    Walked out to my car which was parked in the Foundation Carpark to find somebody had robbed the back wheel of my car.

Who robs a wheel of a car???????

So after spending all day in college Friday working on a project, I finally decided to give up at midnight and head home.
    Walked out to my car which was parked in the Foundation Carpark to find somebody had robbed the back wheel of my car.

the whole wheel like?

I agree with Rory. Fair enough, threads like these aren't meant to be serious but it doesn't hurt to take others into consideration. Some of us aren't as tolerant as you might like to believe, and it doesn't require much effort to relocate somewhere else for 20 minutes to eat. The five minutes you spend eating your 'sambo' is enough to disrupt anyone's train of thought for more than 5 minutes.

ah i know i should move...but its just cos people do it around me...like a while ago there a girl tucked into an apple...i noticed and i shut it out...

now there is one thing that wrecks my head and really has no excuse..

crap headphones that everyone else can hear...and laptops overheating like mental...

my laptop started that craic so i took the whole thing apart and cleaned it, just so she wouldnt bring down the library! now its uber quiet! loud laptops and bad headphones are a million times worse than the snacks!

but i will take your notes on board, and may relocated for my snacks...(no promises!)

the whole wheel like?

Heck, I'm not even mad; that's amazing.

the whole wheel like?

yea the whole wheel. they must have jacked up the car taken the wheel, and then left the car back down.

jaysus...:eek:

I'd be lookin at mates before anyone else for that one!

my laptop started that craic so i took the whole thing apart and cleaned it, just so she wouldnt bring down the library! now its uber quiet! loud laptops and bad headphones are a million times worse than the snacks!

Yeah, that one's a pain. Hate the clowns who play this ridiculous circus music at full blast on their huge headphones. I only every play super mellow ambient crap or dream-pop stuff at a super low volume with no extraneous noise. I don't even like half the stuff I pick but it's better than nothing when you have crowds of people chatting. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

That's the worst. The fooking stench off the things. Putrid. It's not like you're going to get much study done while cramming that down your gob. Why not just take a book to the Red Raisins?

All I've ever eaten in the library are bananas. No noise or anything.

bananas fcuking STINK

jaysus...:eek:

I'd be lookin at mates before anyone else for that one!

I wish it was mates. but hey I'm doing a post grad at this stage, and the majority of my undergrad friends are long since gone from limerick, so don't think any of my current friends are immature enough to do it.
    well possibly one or two, but they deny it!!

Yeah, that one's a pain. Hate the clowns who play this ridiculous circus music at full blast on their huge headphones. I only every play super mellow ambient crap or dream-pop stuff at a super low volume with no extraneous noise. I don't even like half the stuff I pick but it's better than nothing when you have crowds of people chatting. :pac:

actually used this last year...

http://simplynoise.com/

takes a few minutes to get used to it, but then your in the zone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

Really sorry about this as I'm sure that p*ssed you off like f*ck, but I just spent the last 5 minutes laughing at it. Then just as I was finished and recomposing myself you went and threw up a picture, and I spent another 5 minutes laughing.

Robbers?

Obligatory - > "Dat's Limerick Citay!"
    actually used this last year...

http://simplynoise.com/

takes a few minutes to get used to it, but then your in the zone.

Nice! Cheers for that, might come in handy. Always get uber distracted when I use iTunes.

yesno1234 wrote: »
    Really sorry about this as I'm sure that p*ssed you off like f*ck, but I just spent the last 5 minutes laughing at it. Then just as I was finished and recomposing myself you went and threw up a picture, and I spent another 5 minutes laughing.

I was so feckin tired after being in college for 16 hours that I didn't have the energy to get p*ssed off. I actually ended up looking on the bright side, that they didn't rob the wheel nuts while they were at it, so I was actually able to put on my spare wheel.
    Would have been up s**t creek if they had robbed my nuts while they were at it!!

I was so feckin tired after being in college for 16 hours that I didn't have the energy to get p*ssed off. I actually ended up looking on the bright side, that they didn't rob the wheel nuts while they were at it, so I was actually able to put on my spare wheel.
    Would have been up s**t creek if they had robbed my nuts while they were at it!!

See you in another five minutes YesNo! :pac: :pac:

you could have sacrificed one nut off every other wheel and still had three on each hub...

i thought of this while imagining myself in a MacGuyver outfit.