If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Official bitch about daily life in UL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭highlydebased

f0ggy92 wrote: »
    The union are breaking out the big bucks. no mojo this week they shelled out for durex. i'm shocked :pac:

beat me to it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

The boxes spelling out shag filled to the brim with johnnies was the pista de resistance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Chris Martin

And I missed it..
    Should go out more :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭Hybrid_Theory

GRANT FINALLY CAME THROUGH ^_^ about time xD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Aragneer

They said 1pm for the line up to be announced and it's late *rant* Impatience *rant*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

Aragneer wrote: »
    They said 1pm for the line up to be announced and it's late *rant* Impatience *rant*
    I've it on good authority that Rizzle kicks are playing. fecking awesome.

anyone know when tickets go on sale ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Tea_Bag wrote: »
    I've it on good authority that Rizzle kicks are playing. fecking awesome.

anyone know when tickets go on sale ?

Prolly next week.

Though we'll need to know who's on first. :pac;

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Prolly next week.

Though we'll need to know who's on first. :pac;

If it's rizzle kicks my money will probably be saved for plenty of drink insteadd haha

Also, rather than splitting the discussion, might be better to migrate over to the RAG Week thread? Jus' sayin'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭OhMSGlive

Also, rather than splitting the discussion, might be better to migrate over to the RAG Week thread? Jus' sayin'.

+1.

I'm guessing Damo and Ivor are appearing too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭RovinPirate

Okay. I knew when my grant check FINALLY got to my bank account I'd have to wait 3 days for it to be cleared...

According to my internet banking.
    The money was added to my account at 10.30 Monday morning. Still no cash. A bit of a joke to be honest, was expecting it Wednesday/Thursday. Thought the whole electronic thing Galway county council were doing was meant to make it FASTER!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Okay. I knew when my grant check FINALLY got to my bank account I'd have to wait 3 days for it to be cleared...

According to my internet banking.
    The money was added to my account at 10.30 Monday morning. Still no cash. A bit of a joke to be honest, was expecting it Wednesday/Thursday. Thought the whole electronic thing Galway county council were doing was meant to make it FASTER!?
    Did you provide the bank details to Galway Co. Council or UL.

UL lodges the cheques it gets in batches, meaning that it would have appeared in your account without you needing to lodge it, but someone else did. In this case it takes 6 working for funds to become available in the clearing banks, more if you don't bank with AIB, BOI, PTSB or Ulster Bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,167 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

Meh. That's just something they SAY. Whether or not it happens "isn't my department sir." It's all very Little Britain-esque in the bank when it comes to students. Computer says no. Feel free to come and find me when the money does clear however and take me out to dinner and we can drink 40 pints of Guinness to wash it down. That would be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭RovinPirate

^^ sadly i have to pay about 80% of the grant out on loans and accom. payments right away.

Ul had my money like 3 weeks ago..
    Yes they have my bank details. I got a letter from Galway Co.Council saying they were making all the systems electronic to make it faster... obviously not working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Well if UL got the payment, then it isn't electronic. The University doesn't have any part in electronic payments apart from confirming registration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭floutingmaxims

My womanly charm works everytime! Escaped a €140 fine with my banter. WIN WIN WIN WIN WIN WIN.

I know this a bitch thread, so hard luck everyone else.

WIN!!!!

only thing i know that has a fine like that is the time a friend got fined for public urination.

something you'd like to tell us? :P

Cawcheen wrote: »
    My womanly charm works everytime! Escaped a €140 fine with my banter. WIN WIN WIN WIN WIN WIN.

I know this a bitch thread, so hard luck everyone else.

WIN!!!!

140 fine?!! For what?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭OhMSGlive

Aragneer wrote: »
    140 fine?!! For what?!
    f0ggy92 wrote:
    only thing i know that has a fine like that is the time a friend got fined for public urination.

Does that answer your question in some way? ;)

Looks like Dromroe's gonna be locked down for Week 5, can't possibly imagine why.......

OhMSGlive wrote: »

Looks like Dromroe's gonna be locked down for Week 5, can't possibly imagine why.......

Ha...wow... :L I hope THAT isn't the reason :P

Yeah, it's the same with Plassey...we also have house inspections the very Monday after it :/ Not cool..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭floutingmaxims

No no nothing of the sort, my friend was bold :P

locked? don't tell me i'm gonna have to be flashing my student card everytime i cross the bloody bridge? :mad:

any notion of why.?

locked? don't tell me i'm gonna have to be flashing my student card everytime i cross the bloody bridge? :mad:

any notion of why.?

Yep you most likely will be, Plassey are having to do the same as well..
    Stupid Over-worried adults believing that house parties will be in EVERY house. :(
    Might just move down to one of my mates houses that aren't in the student accommodation on campus.

okay as of next week i shall be smuggling people across the river illegally for a nominal fee. :cool::pac:

( as i have the belief that the internet is gone 1984 i state for the record that this is a joke)

okay as of next week i shall be smuggling people across the river illegally for a nominal fee. :cool::pac:

Extremely weird imagery...
    I have bushes behind my house so that's where people will be sleeping if their at mine :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Lucky Shag Week was week 4 then :D

These next two weeks will be the most depressing you'll ever put down in Dromroe. I got stopped one night last year coming back from the offie. The looked in the bag, in which I had about 18 cans, a bottle of Tequila, a bottle of Jager, and two other bottles of stuff that I can't remember. Cnuts. :\

My own bitch....

Fúck the printers in CSIS. Took a solid 2 hours to print off FIVE sheets of paper this evening... I've lost about a stone in weight from going up and down the fúcking stairs between labs trying each printer multiple times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

These next two weeks will be the most depressing you'll ever put down in Dromroe. I got stopped one night last year coming back from the offie. The looked in the bag, in which I had about 18 cans, a bottle of Tequila, a bottle of Jager, and two other bottles of stuff that I can't remember. Cnuts. :\

My own bitch....

Fúck the printers in CSIS. Took a solid 2 hours to print off FIVE sheets of paper this evening... I've lost about a stone in weight from going up and down the fúcking stairs between labs trying each printer multiple times.
    Did they take the drink off you?

Daniel S wrote: »
    Did they take the drink off you?

Nah, not a chance I'd have let them anyway. They just laughed and said they hoped I wasn't gonna drink it all the one night.

Tbh, the lads in Dromroe last year were sound enough. Got stopped twice in total by them, bot on the same day, which was the Sunday of Week 6 (Charity Week). And we were having a house party one night with about 10 lads, we were on the ground floor, curtains open, music blaring, they came up and knocked on the window and told us cop on, which we did, and heard no more.

Advice would be, if you're going having a house party and are intending heading to town afterwards, get your friends in before 6pm. 7pm you could get lucky, but after that your pushing it. Close your blinds, and don't have the music too loud, or have people screaming and shouting.

And for those in Dromroe, we've a new village manager, so no way of telling how he'll deal with stuff like this yet.

Stay clear of Thomond though. Not a chance of getting in there after 6pm without going off the track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,652 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Smashed up cars. Had a totally different impression of what was going on. Half expected to see a burnt out one as I walked on.