If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Official bitch about daily life in UL

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 64 ✭✭sigmund.jung

you omitted a key word there - library.

perhaps this will stop leaving cert students coming in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,298 ✭✭✭freyners

Its a good idea in theory but like the gym every semester, this will probably last all of two weeks and then be forgotten about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭highlydebased

It's leaving cert/junior cert pre/mock season so its no harm. Saw a youngfella no older than 14 making use of desks on the 2nd floor during the week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,682 ✭✭✭Gumbi

It's leaving cert/junior cert pre/mock season so its no harm. Saw a youngfella no older than 14 making use of desks on the 2nd floor during the week
    It is, though. I'm paying 2 and a half grand to study at UL, it's quite annoying to see others who haven't paid to use up a spot that should rightly be yours.

Not a huge deal, no, but if it's impacting UL students, then of course it has to stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Gumbi wrote: »
    It is, though. I'm paying 2 and a half grand to study at UL, it's quite annoying to see others who haven't paid to use up a spot that should rightly be yours.

Not a huge deal, no, but if it's impacting UL students, then of course it has to stop.

I think highlydebased is agreeing with you. As in, no harm that they ARE checking, coz now is the time that the invasion gets stepped up every year!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 64 ✭✭sigmund.jung

well they just have to get in before 5 and not leave again until they're going home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Chris Martin

I can't see them going around to people asking them for ID...
    Saying that,
    They shouldn't be too hard to spot anyway,
    Uniform wise and the books they'll be using..
    There'll be a sudden rush of people between about half 3 and 5ish,
    So if they're on guard for that period of time only, there shouldn't be too much trouble afterwards..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Really should soundproof the group study rooms in the library... No point in having them if every discussion we have means a librarian comes to tell us to shhh....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭FionnK86

Did anyone notice the amount of scumbags hanging around today near the bus stop?I don't usually get the bus before 6, is this a regular occurence? Lads with sticks and hoods up walking around thinking "where am I", surely their leaving cert. results(or lack of) is a deterrent for these people?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

FionnK86 wrote: »
    Did anyone notice the amount of scumbags hanging around today near the bus stop?I don't usually get the bus before 6, is this a regular occurence? Lads with sticks and hoods up walking around thinking "where am I", surely their leaving cert. results(or lack of) is a deterrent for these people?!

Judgemental much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

Jester252 wrote: »
    Judgemental much?

I think when they're carrying sticks, it's fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Chris Martin

Batons and switchblades, hoods covering their eyes, pants tucked into socks... :P

Daniel S wrote: »
    I think when they're carrying sticks, it's fair enough.

Maybe they were by the river doing a nature walk?
    You never know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

This is the kind of ignorant shite you get off the snooty After Hours crowd.

Cydoniac wrote: »

Oi don't talk sh1t about AH or I'll tell them that your a bad road user.

I like AH...go to any thread regarding drug use or Dublin streets, etc. though and you'll get the most ignorant shower posting about the 'filthy junkies', nothing but nonsense stereotyping.

Wait until 6 pages in and the bleeding hearts are out in force attach them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭FionnK86

Hold on buddy, if you saw these lads swinging the sticks at some poor lad with a school bag you'd change your mind fairly quick. Its not ignorance its called having a general sense of cop-on. You don't walk around the place with a stick in this day and age honestly.

You never mentioned them hitting anyone. Anyone flailing sticks around probably aren't up to good but I just don't like the stereotyping thing going on here either.

A lot of people that walk use sticks FYI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

They could be disabled and need those sticks to walk. You heartless judgemental bastard! :P

Or they could have been part of a marching band and those were their batons!

A lot of people that walk use sticks FYI

like these guys?

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSh7miMTpAEnLjUrZdIRUiR25V6JboGorWEQXBs7eLxbmnlr2Kq

freyners wrote: »
    like these guys?

Damn Skippy

So some girl in the common room is waving around a dildo. Good to see the standards for students lowering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

So some girl in the common room is waving around a dildo. Good to see the standards for students lowering

Is she just randomly doing it or is some SHAG week dealio?

Shes just sitting there with her pals playing with it doesn't seem connected with the SU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,577 ✭✭✭garv123

Does the payprint account on the desktop not work for anyone else anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

The slabs going across the grass next to the ERB are too close together to walk on each one and too far apart too skip every second one.

It's like having to do this everymorning!

FT956_TyreRun.jpg

First world problems and all that... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭highlydebased

Eurobus going up to 1.50 tomorrow :( (1.30 at present)

still cheaper:D