Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does my bum look big in this squat rack?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

Monday 16/03/09 Cycle 2 Wave 3

Done in my brothers home gym

Bench:
    75% 95 x 5
    85% 107.5 x 3
    95% 120 x 3

DB Bench
    27.5kg bells (all I could fit)
    x18
    x14
    x12

Kroc Rows
    42.5kg
    Right:
    x16
    x10
    x10
    Left:
    x14
    x10
    x10

Bicep Curl:
    25kg barbell
    x14
    x7
    x6

Rev Curl:
    25kg barbell
    x9
    x7

This was rushed and with weird equipment so not a lot to say. Elbows were painful because I never got ice them after Saturdays squats, last few weeks I've been doing that and it's been helping. The pain wasn't as bad as it has been in the past so I think they're getting better, still cost me that 4th rep on 120 though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

WTF does POW stand for....? Have you been watching too much batman?? :pac:

That's really strong squatting and benching btw. Fair play!!

You deadlifting tonight?

Hanley wrote: »
    WTF does POW stand for....? Have you been watching too much batman?? :pac:

Ok just to clarify POW is "Prisoner of War"...ya know...ankles chained together...whatever.

You've just made me realise every action film I obsessively watched as a kid in the 80's had POW's somewhere in the plot. You never see that anymore. What happened to the POW's? Now it's all about the suicide bombers with their newfangled doohickeys.

I suppose Chain gang hypers would have been better, or maybe Cool Hand Hypers! "Doin a reverse hyper here boss!", "Do a reverse hyper there Dragline"

Yee probably don't get that either.

I'm old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭bigstar

kevpants wrote: »

I suppose Chain gang hypers would have been better, or maybe Cool Hand Hypers! "Doin a reverse hyper here boss!", "Do a reverse hyper there Dragline"

I'm old.

great movie, which reminds me i need to go eat some hard boiled eggs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Ok just to clarify POW is "Prisoner of War"...ya know...ankles chained together...whatever.

You've just made me realise every action film I obsessively watched as a kid in the 80's had POW's somewhere in the plot. You never see that anymore. What happened to the POW's? Now it's all about the suicide bombers with their newfangled doohickeys.

I'm old.

Quality post

Wed 18/03/09 Cycle 2 Wave 3

Deadlift:

75% 157.5 x 5
    85% 177.5 x 3
    95% 200 x 4

POW Rev Hypers
    2.5kg plate
    x27
    3.75kg
    x15
    x20
    x20

Ab Pulldowns:
    112.5kg +10kg
    x12
    x8
    x5
    x4

Nice PR on the deadlifts, 5th rep was there but it would have been a grinder, not much to be gained from it so I left it at 4 as I'm starting to feel beat up.

Still sorting out the correct weights and technique on the weighted hypers but reckon I'm good to go for a 5kg plate and have the form pretty much down too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

27 reps on rev hypers....you sir need your head examined...:)

Friday 20/03/09 Cycle 2 Wave 3

Military Press:
    75% 62.5 x 5
    85% 70 x 3
    95% 77.5 x 4

Military press Creepers:
    32.5kg
    x1 count to 10
    x2 count to 10
    x3 count to 10
    x4 count to 10
    x5 count to 10
    x6 count to 10
    x7 count to 10
    x8 count to 10
    x8 count to 10 (aiming for 9)
    x3 (aiming for 10)

Pendlay Row Creepers:
    60kg
    x1 count to 10
    x2 count to 10
    x3 count to 10
    x4 count to 10
    x5 count to 10
    x6 count to 10
    x7 count to 10
    x8 count to 10
    x9 count to 10
    x7 (aiming for 10)

Weighted Dips:
    10kg
    x13
    x6
    x4

TF Machine Curl:
    35kg
    x17
    x10
    x7

Stumbled across the "Creepers" template above and decided to implement it for my assistance work. The whole thing is over in a few mins and it absolutely kills. Hopefully it will be succesful in my ongoing mission to add lats to my latless physique.

27 reps on rev hypers....you sir need your head examined...:)

They were a bit light TBH. I am still experimenting with a good weight to get a difficult set of 12-15 to try and build on ya know.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

They were a bit light TBH. I am still experimenting with a good weight to get a difficult set of 12-15 to try and build on ya know.

I dread to think what would happen if the chain was to snap mid hyper when you get to the heavier weights!!! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

creeper stuff sounds interesting where did you hear about it? I'd also love to add some muscle wings...

Malteaser! wrote: »
    I dread to think what would happen if the chain was to snap mid hyper when you get to the heavier weights!!! :eek:

we used to use dumbells before we became all fancy....manys a hairy moment was had as 10-15kg took flight across a gym.....

Malteaser! wrote: »

If I can snap that chain with a weight that I can reverse hyper I don't care what happens... I'll be awesome!
    creeper stuff sounds interesting where did you hear about it? I'd also love to add some muscle wings...

Dave Tate's Facebook page ;)
    we used to use dumbells before we became all fancy....manys a hairy moment was had as 10-15kg took flight across a gym.....

Hanley actually caught one of my plates as it skidded across the gym floor one day before I implemented the chains!

chains not needed my friend a simple mens leather belt is your friend...but it round yous ankles and through the center of the plates...job done...

Dave tates on facebook....im so not being hes friend any more :D

If I can snap that chain with a weight that I can reverse hyper I don't care what happens... I'll be awesome!

lol I hope you are videoing your lifts that day!

Oh man, I'd like to add him but he probably doesn't add anyone under 220 pounds?? :(

He'll add anyone who might potentially buy elitefts gear!

Lol still not me so.

Tue 24/3/09 Cycle 3 Wave 1

Squat:

75% 135 x 5
    80% 145 x 5
    85% 152.5 x 9

Squat creepers:
    72.5kg
    x1 count to 10
    x2 "
    x3 "
    x4 "
    x5 "
    x6 "
    x7 "
    x8 "
    x7 was aiming for 9
    Didn't do a 10th set as I couldn't breath :rolleyes:

Ab Pulldowns:
    112.5kg +10kg
    x10
    x6
    x4
    x3

Well I found something more brutal than the 20 rep squats. The creeper layout for squats is insanely difficult. It basically turned into a cardio/deep tissue burn mess of sweat and broken dreams. Apologies to Malteaser who had to squat after me while looking into a mirror I pebbledashed with sweat and some saliva. Nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Link for creepers. purlease

I GM'd in that rack afterwards. I was wondering WTF happened the mirror!!

Link for creepers. purlease

Don't have one. Just get 90% of your 1RM on any barbell exercise (guess if you have to I mean who ever does a 1RM pendlay row), then find 40% of that.

Then just do what I do above and aim for 10 reps on the last set. You won't get it though!

Hanley wrote: »
    I GM'd in that rack afterwards. I was wondering WTF happened the mirror!!

I should probably have wiped it off. Woops!

Wed 25/3/09 Cycle 3 Wave 1

Bench:

75% 97.5 x 5
    80% 105 x 5
    85% 110 x 8 (1 rep PR)

DB Bench:
    35kg
    x12
    x8
    x8

Pendlay Row Creepers:
    60kg
    Did the full set!

TF Machine Curls:
    35kg
    x18
    x10
    x8

TF Rev Machine Curls:
    20kg
    x15
    x14
    x12

Friday 27/3/09 Cycle 3 Wave 1

Deadlift:

75% 160 x 5
    80% 172.5 x 5
    85% 182.5 x 6

Rev Hyper:
    5kg plate
    x18
    x18
    x13

Ran out of time. Deadlifts felt heavy, could do with a deload but I'm close to the comp so I'm gonna hold off.

Mon 30/03/09 Cycle 3 wave 1

Military press:

75% 62.5 x 5
    80% 67.5 x 5
    85% 72.5 x 7

Seated DB Power Cleans:
    10kg bells
    x20
    x12
    x8

JM Press:
    52.5kg
    x8
    x6
    x4

Ran out of time again!

Tuesday 31/03/09 Cycle 3 wave 2

Squat

80% 145 x 3
    85% 152.5 x 3
    90% 162.5 x 7

Squat creepers:
    72.5kg

Completed 9th set then gave up.

Ab Pulddowns:
    stack + 10kg
    x12
    x7
    x5

Really happy with 162.5 x 7. Reckon I'd be able for a set of 10 with that weight if I didn't ahve 2 work sets prior to it and was just nice and warm. Really enjoying the squatting at the moment. Form just feels perfect every time, not losing it forward, just feels like instinct.

Friday 3/4/09 Cycle 3 Wave 2

Bench:

80% 105 x 3
    85% 110 x 3
    90% 117.5 x 5

DB Bench:
    35kg
    x15
    x10
    x9

JM Press:
    45kg
    x10
    x7
    x6

Bench was very shaky but could have been worse. How the fúck did I manage a 6 rep PR on the DB Bench on last week, I'll probably struggle for a set of 11 next time I go for it, they go up and down for no apparent reason.

Mon 6/4/09 Cycle 3 Wave 2

Deadlift

80% 172.5 x 3
    85% 182.5 x 3
    90% 192.5 x 5

Good mornings:
    70kg

Ab Pulldowns:
    Stack +10kg

Twinged the old lower back again last night. Not injured per sé but definite discomfort. Didn't stop me getting 192.5 for 5 reps when I was already fecked tired, which was good. Need a rest, felt the need for a de-load last week but it just came a week early. Military press Wednesday evening, which is relatively easy going then rest until the comp on April 18th.

Looks liek training's coming together perfectly at the right time!!!

I've been totally MIA recently. Things have been mad with work and the equipment so training's been real unpredictable. Hope you're still getting on ok in TF?

I'll probs be around tomorrow evening if you're training!