Advertisement
Boards are fundraising to help the people of Ukraine via the Red Cross at this horrific time. Please donate and share if you can, you will find the link here. Many thanks.

BT mega slow last couple of days!! Anyone else?

2456726

Comments

  • Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭✭ DirksDiggler


    316819089.png

    My connection has been absolute bollocks since yesterday (BT, 7.6mb - Co. Wexford area)

    In fact, its pretty much been up and down since the infamous upgrade.

    What a ****ing arse up. Typical of this bloody country.


  • Registered Users Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭ ondafly


    Sar! wrote: »
    The service right now for 3mb on BT is totally abysmal and am still paying for the highest package??!!

    same here - on the 3mb package for the last 4 years, paying max amount, but not upgraded (D20). This evening is the first time in 4 years I've noticed the internet connection going to ****e.


  • Registered Users Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ Zonda999


    Its been very slow for me as well the last few days, especially in the evenings too i notice.In Mid Cork btw.Mines a 1mb connection.My usual download speed is about 800 mb/s but i just tried right there and am getting ~300mb/s.Very annoying especially when browsing boards..

    316873954.png


  • Registered Users Posts: 670 C.D.


    Hi guys, I had similar problems yesterday. Connection dropped every 2 hours and around 21:00 I was at 312 kbps on speedtest.net . Restarted my router and was back at normal speeds (3mb connection). I'm on the Foxrock exchange which has already been upgraded by Eircom and we are awaiting the BT upgrade.


  • Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭ Wertz


    Sar! wrote: »
    On BT in Portmarnock for almost 4 years and am the same as everyone here - its mega slow especially in the evenings. Never had a problem up until this whole line upgrade was mentioned about 6-8 weeks back then the service got really awful.

    Havent been upgraded yet, have constantly been on to BT who havent sorted it out and am seriously considering switching altogether especially now they cant even tell me when the line WILL be upgraded. The service right now for 3mb on BT is totally abysmal and am still paying for the highest package??!!

    (We are most definitely not being throttled as are nowhere near our cap and our line can potentially take speeds of up to 15mb so its should not be a problem to upgrade to 8mb...)

    Almost ditto for me...have had their DSL (main Dundalk exchange) for about 5 yrs now, never really much bother apart from around the times they "upgrade" speeds. Net almost completely unusable yesterday, and had been slow all w/e...thought it was an issue at my end, came in here to see if anyone else had problems...obviously thr whole country is affected. I wouldn't mind, a speed increase on my line is pointless since the last time they switched it from 2->3mbit, I had to get it downgraded back to 2mbit as the copper couldn't handle the signal.
    Getting pissed off with this now...and it's defo not throttling for over use...I barely even d/l stuff these days...BT and whoever else need to get the finger out on this one...


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭✭ Mr Mojo


    Exactly the same case this end too.

    Finally gave in to my better judgement and rang them today, dude at the other end basically said this is the first they've heard of it, blah blah reset router blah blah the usual bollox. Now get this.... Apparently our problems with getting constant slow download speeds is not a serious enough fault to log with their system?!? so I also complained about seriously high ping times too. He logged that fault, not a bother at all. No word from them yet.

    My connection has been tip-top all evening. Co-incidence?


  • Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 Valentia


    I'm in Trim. BT is totally unusable tonight.

    I have no intention of ringing the morons that they have on support though.


  • Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭ Griffin87


    the isp's dont give a **** about are high ping times. i was onto perlico 3 times complaining about the high ping times. they never done anything they are finnaly going to do something, because i rang them today and gave out stink because i was getting these results.

    [IMG]file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/ADMINI%7E1/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/moz-screenshot.jpg[/IMG][IMG]file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/ADMINI%7E1/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/moz-screenshot-1.jpg[/IMG]Pinging boards.ie [89.234.66.107] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 89.234.66.107: bytes=32 time=76ms TTL=57
    Reply from 89.234.66.107: bytes=32 time=79ms TTL=57
    Reply from 89.234.66.107: bytes=32 time=768ms TTL=57
    Reply from 89.234.66.107: bytes=32 time=71ms TTL=57

    Ping statistics for 89.234.66.107:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 71ms, Maximum = 768ms, Average = 248ms

    results from irishisptest
    Speed test statistics
    Download speed: 578176 bps
    Upload speed: 213680 bps
    Quality of service: 73 %
    Download test type: socket
    Upload test type: socket
    Maximum download pause: 282 ms
    Average download pause: 65 ms
    Minimum round trip time to server: 110 ms
    Average round trip time to server: 1152 ms

    this is laughable, something is definatly gone t*ts up. i just want my stable 2mb connection back.
    316911713.png


  • Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 7,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭ Jonathan


    I am on BT 3MB Fastpath in Malahide.

    The connection is fine, but I have been noticing higher ping times.
    > ping boards.ie
    PING boards.ie (89.234.66.107): 32 data bytes
    32 bytes from 89.234.66.107: icmp_seq=1 ttl=58 time=25.0 ms
    32 bytes from 89.234.66.107: icmp_seq=2 ttl=58 time=20.0 ms
    32 bytes from 89.234.66.107: icmp_seq=3 ttl=58 time=20.0 ms
    32 bytes from 89.234.66.107: icmp_seq=4 ttl=58 time=20.0 ms
    
    --- boards.ie ping statistics ---
    4 packets transmitted, 4 packets received, 0% packet loss
    round-trip min/avg/max = 20.0/21.2/25.0 ms
    
    My ping times to boards are consistently in the region of 10-14ms.

    A traceroute yesterday showed up a delay spike in one of the routing servers used by BT yesterday.
    Doesn't seem to be showing up today.

    Pings are still about 5-10ms higher than normal tho.


  • Registered Users Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭ ondafly


    this is currently my 3mb line now

    316917879.png

    earlier it was this

    316859078.png


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 564 ✭✭✭ kmurph


    What I've found recently is that I've been occasionally getting very slow speeds when I've been connecting to the Easynews European server via xnews.

    This usually seems to happen if I've been assigned an ip address beginning with 78.16

    Disconnecting and reconnecting until I get a different ip address in a totally different range seems to sort it out.


  • Registered Users Posts: 19 ✭✭✭ donkeyradish


    316922574.png
    :(:(:( this is meant to be a 3MB connection


  • Registered Users Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭ JohnC.


    kmurph wrote: »
    This usually seems to happen if I've been assigned an ip address beginning with 78.16

    Disconnecting and reconnecting until I get a different ip address in a totally different range seems to sort it out.

    I've been getting throttle-like speeds much of the time the last couple of days too. I just tried what you said there and it does appear to be true. It was slow on 78.16 and when I eventually connected with something different, the speed went back to normal.


  • Registered Users Posts: 19 ✭✭✭ donkeyradish


    kmurph wrote: »
    What I've found recently is that I've been occasionally getting very slow speeds when I've been connecting to the Easynews European server via xnews.

    This usually seems to happen if I've been assigned an ip address beginning with 78.16

    Disconnecting and reconnecting until I get a different ip address in a totally different range seems to sort it out.

    Kmurph I think you cracked it, I was on 78.16.something, I just restarted my router and am now on 194.125.something and its back to normal speed! :cool:


  • Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭ Griffin87


    here is my traceroot

    Tracing route to www.boards.ie [89.234.66.107]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.254
    2 43 ms 43 ms 43 ms 89.19.64.1
    3 44 ms 44 ms 44 ms 89.19.64.53
    4 44 ms 44 ms 44 ms 213.233.129.253
    5 3677 ms 46 ms 45 ms 193.95.147.65
    6 134 ms 53 ms 46 ms vlan71.rt001.cwt.esat-x.com [193.95.130.201]
    7 65 ms 64 ms 64 ms 193.95.129.20
    8 64 ms 64 ms 68 ms to-inex-dub-deg-gw.digiweb.ie [193.242.111.20]
    9 48 ms 47 ms 46 ms ip-89-234-66-107.dedi.digiweb.ie [89.234.66.107]


    Trace complete.


  • Registered Users Posts: 1,327 Profiler


    Just tested it again and I'm now getting

    316940052.png

    Now I rang BT this afternoon and told them I knew that there was a problem country wide and the guy didn't deny it.

    I've been promised a call back sometime in the next 48 hours so I'm expected to hear nothing from them.

    I also told them there was a snowballs chance in hell that I was paying them for this month bearing in mind I've had at BEST dial up service since the 9th of Aug.


  • Registered Users Posts: 730 ✭✭✭ Ronan


    Profiler wrote: »
    I've been promised a call back sometime in the next 48 hours so I'm expected to hear nothing from them.

    Good Luck with that, I was promised call backs 3 times in the last 2 weeks and never got them.


  • Registered Users Posts: 21 ✭✭✭ BadCRC


    Hi Guys,

    If you are having this problem can you post your tracert results. To do this open the cmd prompt (click start, then run and type "cmd" without the ", then hit enter) and type:

    tracert www.bbc.co.uk

    wait for the traceroot to end then:
    right-click
    select all
    enter

    Then paste your results here. It's handy if you do a traceroot to a foreign address, hence my choice of bbc.co.uk

    Thanks. :)


  • Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 bombidol


    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Administrator>tracert www.bbc.co.uk

    Tracing route to www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.253.67]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.2
    2 * * * Request timed out.
    3 * * * Request timed out.
    4 * * * Request timed out.
    5 * * * Request timed out.
    6 * * * Request timed out.
    7 * * * Request timed out.
    8 * * * Request timed out.
    9 * * * Request timed out.
    10 * * * Request timed out.
    11 * * * Request timed out.
    12 * * * Request timed out.
    13 * * * Request timed out.
    14 * * * Request timed out.
    15 * * * Request timed out.
    16 * * * Request timed out.
    17 * * * Request timed out.
    18 * * * Request timed out.
    19 * * * Request timed out.
    20 * * * Request timed out.
    21 * * * Request timed out.
    22 * * * Request timed out.
    23 * * * Request timed out.
    24 * * * Request timed out.
    25 * * * Request timed out.
    26 * * * Request timed out.
    27 * * * Request timed out.
    28 * * * Request timed out.
    29 * * * Request timed out.
    30 * * * Request timed out.

    Trace complete.

    C:\Users\Administrator>


  • Registered Users Posts: 426 ✭✭ Vunderground


    I'm getting disconnects three or four times a day, rubbish you tube and poor web page loading. This is with BT 24Kbs very close to the exchange.


    Tracing route to wwww.bbc.co.uk [208.69.34.132]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 2 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.1
    2 21 ms 24 ms 24 ms bas508.cwt.esat.net [193.95.136.245]
    3 24 ms 22 ms 25 ms vlan500.rt502.cwt.esat.net [193.95.136.125]
    4 444 ms 412 ms 360 ms vlan54.rt002.cwt.esat-x.com [193.95.130.161]
    5 23 ms 25 ms 24 ms ge1-0.core001.cwt.esat.net [193.95.129.17]
    6 78 ms 79 ms 80 ms pos2-0.br001.ldn.esat.net [193.95.131.14]
    7 37 ms * 39 ms 195.66.224.185
    8 39 ms 39 ms 39 ms te3-1.mpd01.lon01.atlas.cogentco.com [130.117.3.
    225]
    9 85 ms 79 ms 64 ms opendns.demarc.cogentco.com [149.6.146.158]
    10 59 ms 59 ms 58 ms hit-nxdomain.opendns.com [208.69.34.132]

    Trace complete.


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 246 ✭✭ maninaskirt


    I'm not on BT but UTV 2Mb upgraded to 3Mb when exchange was " upgraded ", I've had an unstable connection all weekend, here is my latest:

    317318429.png

    It's killed my online gaming for the last few days, customer support give the usual response, regardless of ISP, reset router, reset computer, firewall, virus, blah, blah.......we've all heard them, Eircom won't answer my queries due to being a UTV customer and UTV blame Eircom......going round in circles!


  • Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 OK-Cancel-Apply


    I think mine's a bit better now.


  • Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭ BloodSugarSex


    EIRCOM 3mb
    317331855.png

    its been playing up like this the last few days, i called eircom yetserday and they said they were sending out a tech in the next few days....the connection was PERFECT today up until 6:30pm.....me smells a rat


  • Registered Users Posts: 134 ✭✭ Sar!


    Has anyone bothered reporting this to Comreg or is there little point?

    Seems insane that we all continue to pay BT for this total bs.....also this whole callback thing seems like a total scam too as I have yet to receive one at all over the past three weeks - left my name and number at least twice. So frustrating.


  • Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭✭ miftha


    Just saw this thread.

    Same for me for past week or so in Swords exchange. Rang tech support now, usual checks which are useless as usual - standard checks which are not going to show anything (nothing has changed on my side). Should have been on here beforehand to prove it is widespread - which I guess they are well aware of by now!!!

    Will give it a few days before I hammer them for a solution! Ridiculous!


  • Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭ MickeyD


    On Swords exchange, been having the same issue for a few weeks now (as well as frequent disconnections and long DSL sync times but this hasn't been happening so much recently). Pings are higher than usual and some packet loss. Getting slow download speeds from most sources - e.g. youtube vids take an age to load. Interestingly, if I go to download a Linux iso from heanet, it comes down at 1.6MB/s.


  • Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭ The Bouncer


    BadCRC wrote: »
    Hi Guys,

    If you are having this problem can you post your tracert results. To do this open the cmd prompt (click start, then run and type "cmd" without the ", then hit enter) and type:

    tracert www.bbc.co.uk

    wait for the traceroot to end then:
    right-click
    select all
    enter

    Then paste your results here. It's handy if you do a traceroot to a foreign address, hence my choice of bbc.co.uk

    Thanks. :)

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\>tracert www.bbc.co.uk

    Tracing route to www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.253.67]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 10.0.1.1
    2 5 ms 2 ms 2 ms voyager.home [192.168.1.1]
    3 20 ms 19 ms 19 ms bas503.cwt.esat.net [193.95.136.239]
    4 23 ms 20 ms 18 ms vlan500.rt502.cwt.esat.net [193.95.136.125]
    5 39 ms 90 ms 431 ms vlan52.rt001.cwt.esat.net [193.95.130.145]
    6 74 ms 182 ms 70 ms ge1-0.core002.cwt.esat.net [193.95.129.2]
    7 124 ms 35 ms 259 ms pos2-0.br002.ldn.esat.net [193.95.131.50]
    8 422 ms 45 ms 297 ms bbc-gw1-linx.prt0.thdoe.bbc.co.uk [195.66.226.10
    3]
    9 92 ms * 60 ms 212.58.238.133
    10 61 ms 61 ms 57 ms te12-1.hsw0.cwwtf.bbc.co.uk [212.58.239.222]
    11 60 ms 58 ms 59 ms www.bbc.co.uk [212.58.253.67]

    Trace complete.

    On hold for 15 mins to BT and then just cut off at 21:00!!


  • Registered Users Posts: 360 ✭✭ Calebmcd


    Profiler wrote: »
    Just tested it again and I'm now getting

    316940052.png

    Now I rang BT this afternoon and told them I knew that there was a problem country wide and the guy didn't deny it.

    I've been promised a call back sometime in the next 48 hours so I'm expected to hear nothing from them.

    I also told them there was a snowballs chance in hell that I was paying them for this month bearing in mind I've had at BEST dial up service since the 9th of Aug.


    Yeah tried that, all you get is your line is fine.

    Pings have gone back to 60-70 on boards.ie for me.
    Like when i had my up to 7.6mb
    but i'm on 3mb now, thought that woud sort it.
    Looks like Eircom screwed us over. If only bt had more control.
    Although it wasn't great before 9th of august either(once a month i'd get a bad ping) but now its daily but usually weekly.

    317398107.png


  • Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 7,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭ Jonathan


    Was taking me 20 mins to download to download the new version of pidgin.

    Restarted the router, got my self a new non 78.xxx.xxx.xxx ip and downloaded it in less that a minute.


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 670 C.D.


    Last night around 12:00 my connection dropped. Tried the usual, but nothing worked. Eventually figured out my router could not connect to the BT server to authenticate my username and p/w (ie it was offline). Was down till 2, then I just went to bed ^^


Advertisement