Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

X Factor 2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Laura had the same voice before the X-Factor, why wasnt she signed before now ask yourself
    Laura probably wasnt signed because she hasnt had publicity. Look at Leona Lewis. She's probably the best singer of this decade, and noone ever heard of her before XF, and if she didnt enter the show she'd probably never have been signed
    I reckon that if you were to convey your point to Laura or any other contestant they would give you a nice sturdy open-palmed slap across the face and Rachael would stick you with a sharp object

WTF are you on about here?
    Yes you're right, Leon probably would not of been signed but who is to say anyone should or will be signed if they dont win
    Its common sense
    Rhydian got signed to Sony at the same time as Leon, his album is out in a few weeks

As were Same Difference and Niki Evans [to diff labels]
    Sake, even Hope made it!
    Lower-key labels watch the final weeks of the show

Recording contracts are all about money, and if someone makes it to the finals of XF, they'd easily sell loads of CDs
    How would such a show survive if everyone was to be signed after being voted off

Because the show and talent grows every year. And Im not, and wasnt talkin about everyone, im on about the top 4/5

It used to be 3 amazing singers out of an OK top 12, but last year and this year the top 5 would all be huge
    Rhydian didnt with because he was as appealing as Cat Sick.
    he wasnt voted off. The public vote for the people THEY WANT TO WIN. The people with the least amount of votes go, meaning enough people didnt want them to win

And he was actually very likeable. We saw the worst of him in his audition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

unreggd wrote: »

Laura probably wasnt signed because she hasnt had publicity. Look at Leona Lewis. She's probably the best singer of this decade, and noone ever heard of her before XF, and if she didnt enter the show she'd probably never have been signed

EXACTLY! You've just argued and rebuttal ed against yourself in the same breath. *Jeesus* :rolleyes:

Do you honestly believe that Leona Lewis would be this famous if she came 2nd, further more do you think Simon Cowell or the X-Factor production company would let a 2nd place contestant steal the limelight and undermine the winner and the show overall, There are bigger cogs turning behind the scenes.

Yeah, record labels watch the end like Hyenas watch Lions eat a carcass, Simon picks off the talent and leaves the talentless entrails behind for them. They sign them with a 'Nothing to lose' attitude which is reciprocated from the signer who is doing anything to avoid going back to real life

Well I must say you are dead right about Hope, sure they were on Ireland AM a few weeks back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Full_Circle

At the end of the day, the X-Factor offers a direct avenue to potential stardom. A prepackaged contract that many singers need to spend 10years plus trying to achieve, I reckon that if you were to convey your point to Laura or any other contestant they would give you a nice sturdy open-palmed slap across the face and Rachael would stick you with a sharp object.

HA! Yes, yes she would.

I do see where "unreggd" is coming from, most of the top acts get signed each year anyways, whether they win or not, but surely the most effort (and exposure) goes to the winner. Alls I knows is, if the person I thought was the best didnt win, I'd be terribly angry at the show and all of the voting public!

The only problem is that each year, the divide between talent is so very very wide, that it makes a mockery of the people who are decent. Last year I thought they were all hopeless, and the previous year it was pretty much a one horse race with Leona winning (can anyone really believe that it was Ray Quinn who was the one in the final with her? I mean, seriously......come on)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 melissau76

The reason for the petition is that a fan started it up. If anyone wants to sign they would be able to read the comments on the matter. Apparently the phone line for Austin was down for 20 minutes during voting. There are people giving out saying that when they were voting for him that it was saying thank you for voting for diana etc etc. So now a lot of the voters have complained to ofcom who deals with all the telephone voting. This has been given a write up in the Sun newspaper yesterday. Fans are furiated over this whole situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

But its not just about having a strong voice!

It may not be as strong as Laura's, but its still strong in general

Watch her Audition and Call Me and its clearer there

She's goin to win cos she's been consistently good and improved over the weeks
    I heard Call Me - it was awful. A "yelp" at the end of every line - that's not "different" etc, that's just annoying.
    Wow... the Diana-loving has me bewildered...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

Can't understand what anyone sees in yer wan Vickers. She's like The Emperor's New Clothes.

Anyway, she's proving popular so I've done a bet on both her and Laura. Total bet cost 23 and if either win I get 43 back. Good value bet IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,105 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

It was a Damien Rice song actually :)

Not in the bootcamp audition tho. Damien Rice in the first audition.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yUk0o1GVIm8&feature=related

Cringe. That was part of her downfall for me. Manufactured uniqueness

Do you honestly believe that Leona Lewis would be this famous if she came 2nd

Yes

Clive Davis said Win or lose, he's working with her

She wouldnt have had such a big launch, but she defo would have been signed

Thats my point

Leon won last year, and the bigger voices that didnt win got signed anyways

BUT, since his voice isnt AS big, if he didnt win, I doubt he woulda been picked up

As Full Circle said, it used to be a one-horse-race, but not anymore

I can see Alex, Laura and Ruth bein signed regardless of winning

Would have said the same about Rachel but her attitude is a loada me bollix, so fvck her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭marti101

Also i think Leona Lewis has something extra its called real talent.I think she would have made it anyhow.As for Leon time will tell
    Nobody this year really stands out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Wouldn't be surprised if time already "told" where Leon is concerned.

I reckon that bird's flown at this stage. Rhydian had the better voice by far but Leon had the advantage of being prettier and having a conventional image.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Maglight

The best bit was having Will Young giving the Masterclass. Do you reckon the producers were deliberately taking the p*** or was it genuine. Hilarious. Still I watch it every week. It's the only show I can watch with the kids and we all get something out of it. Though they take it very seriously indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭Innervision

Rhydian's album's out at the end of November, looking forward to it!
    Had a fiver on Austin, though he never really stood a chance, too similiar to Leon to win imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

Rhydian's album's out at the end of November, looking forward to it!
    Had a fiver on Austin, though he never really stood a chance, too similiar to Leon to win imo

The Riddler is suppose to be on one of the results shows soon

Marian Carey songs this week with queen bee Diva herself singing sorry miming

Still bettin Daniel will do One Sweet Day, or maybe Always Be My Baby

Wonder what the lineup is this week [whos openin and closin the show]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

^Impossible to say.

So it will be Mariah Carey week. This should be an easy enough week for everyone except for Daniel and Eoghan.

What ye on about???

Eoghan will sail through singin Heartbreaker!

And I thought I was dumb :rolleyes:

hahaha

Ooh, American Idol is gettin a re-vamp next season

Said they're cuttin down on the auditions to have more performances, and extended results shows

I think XF should do this

I tape it as I work every Saturday, and watchin the actual performances and the results only takes about 22 mins, its mad

Death to the VTs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭overexcitedaj

:(
    aww the auditions are the best part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭gscully

I tape it as I work every Saturday, and watchin the actual performances and the results only takes about 22 mins, its mad

Death to the VTs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The whole thing before each performer with the tired old lines like 'if X doesn't hit that note, he/she could well be going home this week' or 'this could be a disaster' really annoys me. Friedman is a joke too. Pity immigration didn't catch up with him and haul his ass back to the US!

Still bettin Daniel will do One Sweet Day, or maybe Always Be My Baby

Wonder what the lineup is this week [whos openin and closin the show]

I would've liked to see one of the girls (Alexandra preferably) tackle hero as it's Mariah's best song IMO, but I seriously doubt anyone will be allowed to sing it. Open Arms would be a suitable alternative I guess.

Rachel Hylton has fired her mentor Dannii Minogue and will work without the assistance of a judge for the rest of The X Factor, according to tabloid reports.

Hylton, who was voted into the bottom two on last week's show, was unhappy with Minogue's song selection in recent weeks.

"There have been some differences of opinion between acts and judges before, but not on this level," a source told The Mirror.

"There is a total breakdown in communication between the two girls with Rachel ultimately feeling that Dannii is failing her."

A crisis meeting was apparently held between the pair following Hylton's disappointing performance last weekend.

The source continued: "It has been bubbling under for weeks, ever since Dannii gave her the Robyn track 'With Every Heartbeat' to sing which didn't really complement her amazing voice.

"But it was the final straw when she ended up in the bottom two. She demanded Dannii had to go."

Minogue will be left with Spanish-born singer Ruth Lorenzo and single dad Daniel Evans in her category.

Previously, an X Factor spokesperson had said: "There have been problems with Rachel and Dannii but they're working together to resolve the situation."

Is this possible surely she would be left go from the show without a mentor :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Ah it's just the usual PR nonsense to get column inches.
    Although, I'd say your one Rachel would be a nightmare to work with regardless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

JP Liz wrote: »
    Is this possible surely she would be left go from the show without a mentor :confused:

If it's not tabloid BS then yes it is possible, The Conways fired Cowell and were allowed to continue, granted though they were eliminated the first week they picked their own song.:pac:

Thats BS

Danni chose Feelin Good, her best and only good performance

Im shocked at her diva-bitch attitude

And on Xtra Factor she was like "I just wanna go home to my real friends"

Get over it! you survived!

JP Liz wrote: »

She's denied it already (from digitalspy):
    Rachel Hylton has denied rumours that she has split from her mentor Dannii Minogue.

Tabloid reports claimed the 26-year-old fell out with Minogue after she was voted into the bottom two on last week's show.

In a statement, Hylton admitted she wanted "more control" over her performances, but insisted she is still working with the judge.

"Dannii and I talked yesterday and I don't have anything against Dannii at all and she is still very much my mentor," she said.

"I respect her opinions, all I want is a little more control over my performance and styling, which she is allowing me to have. But I am a fully fledged member of Team Minogue."

Minogue commented: "Rachel and I have not fallen out and there has never been any discussions that she wishes to leave Team Minogue.

"I have, as always, spent lots of one-on-one time with Rachel this week and have even organised a personal shopping trip so she feels more confident about her look."

An X Factor spokesperson added: "Being in the bottom two last week knocked Rachel's confidence and the pair have agreed that Rachel will have more ownership over her song choice and styling of the performance this weekend. But she is still very much part of Team Minogue."

They're screwed either way

Danni's choice week 1 = crap

Rachel's choice week 2 = crap

They need to play to her strengths

She's trying to hard to be versatile. Yes, its important, but not if you're crap at it!

Agree with her stylin tho, they made her look old from week 1, she looks about 35

She wont last anyways, and I hope the judges dont save her again, esp if it ended up Rachel and Ruth in the B2

Danni will be screwed, she's gna hafta choose between her 2 acts :P

Ruth wont win but I really hope she goes far. I think she's the best performer on the show, and even if its not as great as Alex and Laura, her voice is still amazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭iseegirls

I really am not liking Rachel.

Her attitude stinks - you'd think she'd be a lot more grateful to be on a show like the X-Factor. Even why Holly was talking to her on the Xtra Factor - she just seemed disinterested. Yeah get over it - everyone will be in the bottom 2 sometimes.

I don't think she'll last this weekend.

Leona Lewis will be the guest next week

Alex will be deloyrehhh

Wonder what the theme will be.........?

Leona Lewis will be the guest next week

Alex will be deloyrehhh

Wonder what the theme will be.........?

Is both Leona and Mariah on the same show?

Rhydian is also scheduled to debut his new single on one of the X Factor shows :)

No, not this week, next week

A throat infection is reportedly threatening Diana Vickers' performance on The X Factor tomorrow night.

The 17-year-old has been forced to miss rehearsals after being diagnosed with laryngitis yesterday. Vickers, who is in Cheryl Cole's camp, is currently the bookies' favourite to win the ITV contest.

A source told The Mirror that there is only "a 10% chance" that Vickers will be able to perform in the show. This week contestants will sing songs from the back catalogue of Mariah Carey, who is also due to perform.

"Diana lost her voice on Tuesday and couldn't sing a note," the source added. "She's dosed up on medication and just hopes she'll regain it."

no hands action and no Diana :)