Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just got a court Summons for illegal plates

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭Ciaran_Dub

Mossin wrote: »
    My point about the double standard was that you got given leniency and the OP didnt, and not that it was because you got stopped equally in different cars, I was unaware of that information wasnt I!!

The double standard applies because Webmonkey got summonsed for having illegal plates, and you got given time to get your tax and insurance discs on display. TBH, each time you had been stopped, you were stopped for breaking more serious crimes than having illegal number plates....no tax and insurance, and then for speeding...its damn right you take your punishment in situations like that although you were given leniency on one occasion. Whereas I feel that Webmonkey got a raw deal, for being summonsed for the most trivial of things.

Again miss information Mossin read my post, I had got insurance I hadnt got a valid disc displayed. I couldnt get my disc because my license was out of date which I had a receipt for to prove I applied for it and couldnt get the tax because I didnt have my insurance disc. How does not having tax any more serious then not having legal plates. I agree with you on the speeding. I wouldnt call it a double standard I call it inconsistency (sp) with the Gardai.

Maybe I should try and make my point a little concisely (sp). The OP is complaining about the treatment of the Garda in question. Where is the Garda's side of the story? not in this thread anyway so excuse me for playing devils advocate and not running with the sheep when I take another side of an arguement. Is that a little more concise.

The Garda on this thread has already said as I did at the start the Garda who stopped the OP CAN summons the driver straight away and DOES NOT have to give a warning to the driver. So how is it a double standard if al the Garda was doing was going by the book? He would be ridiculed in other circumstances if he didnt go by the letter of the law.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,134 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Ciaran_Dub wrote: »
    I am part of this turf only reason I came across the original post is because this is the only part of boards worth looking at.

Oh and cant help you on the servo's am a static model man myself, you know the plastic kids that are for kids :rolleyes:

What, you play with plastic kids? Man, you've got some issues!:p

I play with those little radio controlled cars, you know, sort of like the ones that you buy at Smyths...:D

• Registered Users Posts: 9,579 ✭✭✭Webmonkey

Ciaran_Dub wrote:
    What has post counts or one of the slowest areas of the boards got to do with anything?
    What has plastic kids to do with anything in this thread -
    Ciaran_Dub wrote:
    Did you see the questions I possed to you about getting shoulder no from the Garda and making an official complaint?
    I didn't unfortunetely - I'm going to leave things be anyways - I was simply making a point of him being a bit un just but I am taking it no where - I don't want the hassle tbh.

T-Maxx wrote: »
    What, you play with plastic kids? Man, you've got some issues!:p

I play with those little radio controlled cars, you know, sort of like the ones that you buy at Smyths...:D

Lol oooppsss must remember not to try and eat lunch while typing lol

T-Maxx wrote:
    I play with those little radio controlled cars

Keep them off the roads anyways unless you have fully legible and legal number plates.

Webmonkey wrote: »
    What has plastic kids to do with anything in this thread -

I didn't unfortunetely - I'm going to leave things be anyways - I was simply making a point of him being a bit un just but I am taking it no where - I don't want the hassle tbh.

I meant Kits, and the fact the thread is in models i would have said a lot. Plus I was replying to T-Maxx

You didnt but your so insistent the Garda is wrong...oh I give up!!!!

TBH the fact your not making an official complaint says a lot!

I meant Kits, and the fact the thread is in models i would have said a lot. Plus I was replying to T-Maxx

You didnt but your so insistent the Garda is wrong...oh I give up!!!!

TBH the fact your not making an official complaint says a lot!
    I didn't know I had to make an offical complaint to the ombudsman about a Gaurds behaviour before posting a thread in models. It should be added to the charter, but no one follows that anyways, section one was clearly ignored.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

The double standard applies because Webmonkey got summonsed for having illegal plates, and you got given time to get your tax and insurance discs on display
    Again miss information Mossin read my post, I had got insurance I hadnt got a valid disc displayed.

Oh look, I did read your post, and you hadnt the decency to do the same with my reply :rolleyes:
    How does not having tax any more serious then not having legal plates. I agree with you on the speeding. I wouldnt call it a double standard I call it inconsistency (sp) with the Gardai

The point was that you knew it was illegal not to have them displayed, and yet you drove without them displayed. You got given leniency by probably being able to explain yourself, meanwhile the OP was treated badly and not given the same chance. Thats a double standard imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

How does not having tax any more serious then not having legal plates.

Are you serious?

*shakes head*

My point about the double standard was that you got given leniency and the OP didnt, and not that it was because you got stopped equally in different cars, I was unaware of that information wasnt I!!

The double standard applies because Webmonkey got summonsed for having illegal plates, and you got given time to get your tax and insurance discs on display. TBH, each time you had been stopped, you were stopped for breaking more serious crimes than having illegal number plates....no tax and insurance, and then for speeding...its damn right you take your punishment in situations like that although you were given leniency on one occasion. Whereas I feel that Webmonkey got a raw deal, for being summonsed for the most trivial of things.

This is what i was refering too Mossin.

Kaimera, please explain how having no tax is anymore illegal. I can understand no insurance because of the implications in a crash. My point is both is against the law and you cant cry about when caught.

Webmonkey, you were advised earlier in the thread by another poster it has nothing to do with the boards charter. You were given an avenue of recourse but choose to not take it but yet continue to bemoan the Garda's conduct and that not everyone has backed you on it.

Again there are two sides to every story and only one is being heard.

In all due respect Ciaran, you are a bit of a bollix :p

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 38,918 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Presumably this should be in the motors forum.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

This is what i was refering too Mossin.

It's in the exact same post where I say
    The double standard applies because Webmonkey got summonsed for having illegal plates, and you got given time to get your tax and insurance discs on display

Obviously once again you ignore to read all that I write

Also if you have no tax, you are not supposed to be on the road.....
    You had an insurance renewal form on you but you hadnt got any TAX.
    Therefore you are not entitled to be on the road and its way more of a crime than having illegal number plates!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,707 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

i have a model mg zr and it has scale replicas of legal plates
    how do i tax it?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 3,455 Mod ✭✭✭✭coolwings

T-Maxx wrote: »
    So, Coolwings, what do you think of the Bluebird servos?

(Let's claim back our turf:D)

Is this on or off topic?

Seeing as the topic has nothing to do with this forum that is ..... ;)

Haven't tried them after reports I received after my first investigations. At that time their failure ratio was too high for me.
    I suspect the micro servos in MPX RTF models eg Space Scooter might have been the same "innards" inside a red MPX case for a while. We replaced about 1 in 8, which sounds like them. (or alt Tec/Supertec/GWS/etc)

Undoubtedly there is room to buy the cheap make in it's highest spec version, I see the sense in that.
    And like Fred said they could be better now, based on the warranty.

I normally overengineer my models slightly so as to have spare capacity and avoid failure, and over time I have accepted that for me, JR is the higher and Hitec is the lower threshold I don't cross when buying. At that spec/cost the servo gear usually lasts about 4 models.

C Ya :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 17,770 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Tigger wrote: »
    i have a model mg zr and it has scale replicas of legal plates
    how do i tax it?

Epic lols

• Registered Users Posts: 3,134 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

I might be sorted now with a sponsored IMS servo.:D

I wouldnt call it a double standard I call it inconsistency (sp) with the Gardai.

Well then you would be wrong. I suggest you invest in a dictionary or some sort of English classes.

You can call it what you want, but it's a double standard.

I'm not even winding you up like - that's just what it means. I swear.

Look:-
    Double Standard 1. a rule or principle applied more strictly to some people than to others (or to oneself).
    double standard
    –noun
    1. any code or set of principles containing different provisions for one group of people than for another, esp. an unwritten code of sexual behavior permitting men more freedom than women. Compare single standard (def. 1).
    2. Economics. bimetallism.
    [Origin: 1950–55]
    Wikipedia wrote:
    A double standard refers to one class of entities being treated differently from another class of entities, and implies an unfair or unjustified differentiation.

I didn't know I had to make an offical complaint to the ombudsman about a Gaurds behaviour before posting a thread in models. It should be added to the charter, but no one follows that anyways, section one was clearly ignored.
    Charter (Please read before posting.)
    Welcome to the new addition to boards.ie, the models board.

In this you required to adhere to the following rules;

1.No insulting, condenscending or generally being nasty to other users on this board.

2.No posting unrelated to the thread in question (straying is ok just don't go too far especially when the thread is a "help thread").

3.Common sense with regards to posting is assumed.

4.No posting of pornography, warez and other illegal and unrelated material.

5. Keep your posts (within reason) clean and (within reason) mature.

6. This is not a for sale board, so don't post threads selling stuff here, instead, post it on adverts.ie's FS General board. You may link to it in a thread here if you want to attract attention from the community that wouldn't generally read the FS board..

7. Any posts made in this forum must have been the subject of a complaint to the Garda Ombudsman prior to the time of posting

Jesus Webmonkey, get with it will you?

My point still stands going on the ORIGINAL post that it was typical of Irish society nowadays.

Ok so let me get this straight:

You're freely admitting that your arguments in this thread are based on a post that was voluntarily removed by the OP, taken back and apologised for over a week ago?!?

Can somebody please check me on this?

Is that actually what he's saying?

Cos my life just got even more hilarious if it is...

Ok let me say instead of a nobody, a person whos opinion I had in very low regard considering their first couple of posts, is that phrased a little better for you? Or do you want to continue with anal posts from here on in?

No in fairness that's much better. Your use of the term "nobody" just had me completely bemused due to its unsuitability for use on the internet.

Keep them off the roads anyways unless you have fully legible and legal number plates.

Just saw this now - I lol'd. Very well played sir.

Thats a double standard according to the English language.

FYP.

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭the GALL

That has to be one of the best ive ever read

• Registered Users Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭MOH

Thread of the day for me, outside AH, anyway.

Pass the popcorn.

MOH wrote: »
    Thread of the day for me, outside AH, anyway.

Pass the popcorn.

Careful lads - it'll suck you in. I started just taking the piss, but I eventually succumbed to the idiocy of some of the posts and got properly agitated...

Don't let it get you...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭workaccount

keane2097 wrote: »
    Careful lads - it'll suck you in. I started just taking the piss, but I eventually succumbed to the idiocy of some of the posts and got properly agitated...

Don't let it get you...

Eh excuse me but your first post was idiotic! :rolleyes:

Calling people names to make a point?? Wake up.

My point was made in the first two lines of the post.

The name calling was the conclusion I personally drew from what you had said.

"You can't go driving around with illegal license plates, but I can break the speed limit if I want".

This is more or less what you said, and I don't think I need to explicitly point out why this attitude makes you a bit of a douchebag as I think any reasonable person would agree.

Certainly one of our posts was idiotic, I guess it's up to everyone else to decide which for themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭workaccount

My point was made in the first two lines of the post.

The name calling was the conclusion I personally drew from what you had said.

"You can't go driving around with illegal license plates, but I can break the speed limit if I want".

This is more or less what you said, and I don't think I need to explicitly point out why this attitude makes you a bit of a douchebag as I think any reasonable person would agree.

Certainly one of our posts was idiotic, I guess it's up to everyone else to decide which for themselves.

Such babble. Calling people names breeds contempt.

Please explain to me what the intention of your last post calling people idiotic was?
    Don't make me go through all your posts here to prove my point.

I eventually succumbed to the idiocy of some of the posts
    Please explain to me what the intention of your last post calling people idiotic was?

Probably the same as yours...? To be honest I don't really understand the question.

Look, if I'm being completely honest I'm actually upset with myself for calling you a douchebag because it's given you such a great way to avoid addressing the point.

You keep bringing up the name-calling and I'm sorry, but I just don't believe it actually hurt your feelings or anything, so the only thing I can think of is that you're using it as a way to not have to justify your ridiculously badly balanced views of breaking traffic laws.

Now please (and this is only a request, I'm not saying you need my permission to post in this thread or anything), either respond to that point or just refrain from responding to me at all.

Or at least respond about something other than the fact that I called somebody a name.