Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prison Officer

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭bitter_lemon

oh jesus holy mother and joseph! thats a big picture! i can't fit his head in :P

• Registered Users Posts: 381 ✭✭480905

The state he left Mountjoy in , he should be ashamed. If he was in private industry he'd've been sacked years ago. You can only blame the establishment for so long, you have to take responsibility if you're in charge. His book rotted my head. He named every cnut he ever spoke to in it, it seems. Get off the stage John, you're over.

Lol i know. His book wrecked my head. Full of ****e. He should be hung up from his willy (if he has one) on a clothesline...

• Registered Users Posts: 658 ✭✭✭MIRMIR82

I wish we would become a victim of crime himself - then his idealism might change slightly. :rolleyes:

MIRMIR82 wrote: »
    I wish we would become a victim of crime himself - then his idealism might change slightly. :rolleyes:

No he wouldn't. He's that much of a bleedingheart , he'd say it was his fault for not locking his door , his house , his car etc and tempting these poor misfortunates that WE have created as a "SOCIETY" and that WE should be responsible for their crimes as a whole.... OH FCUK OFF ... I'm from the same streets as they are..... I made choices, I made decisions not to end up a sh1tebag like they are....

As soon as people stop making decisions for criminals and excusing their behaviour, and for them to take responsibility for their actions..... Then we'll see an improvement..
    As long as People like John Lonergan are around ... It'll be the same old story.

As I said before, you're over.... Go away.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

MIRMIR82 wrote: »

I doubt it, he just admitted on national televison that he felt sorry for Saddam Hussein.

Now now now thats not true. He was a victim of crime. He was at a victim support meeting once for parents whose children had been murdered among others and he said to them that he knew how they felt - sure didn't he have his car stolen a few years ago. Oh jaysus what a moran!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Rawhead

It always baffles me how no one pulls him up on his time as Governor of Mountjoy. During his time in charge the following occurred,

-Hostage taking
    -At least 3 major disturbances
    -4 murders
    -drug taking became endemic
    -hundreds, and I mean hundreds of Officers badly hurt and thousands of lags sliced, battered and stabbed.
    -he was responsible for turning Mountjoy into the most dangerous, violent, drug infested prison in the British Isles

If anyone reckons that's a good record, then I'd funking hate to see a bad one. The bastard should be in front of a tribunal facing prison himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Jesus that's damning, but imagine him as a lag, he'd be some pain in the hole.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭cavan4sam

could ye not just give them all a big hug and it'll be ok .....thats what john would do

I doubt it, he just admitted on national televison that he felt sorry for Saddam Hussein.

Thats the level that Gobsh1te thinks he's at. World level politics. If he couldn't manage Mountjoy properly, he's some clown if he thinks he'll survive in politics. That's his aim now I'd say.....

Rawhead wrote: »
    -he was responsible for turning Mountjoy into the most dangerous, violent, drug infested prison in the British Isles
    The British Isles????
    *dies a little*

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭Yourwellcum

The British Isles????
    *dies a little*

To be fair to Rawhead, its a geographical term and not a political one.

was dublin not part of a free state under irish rule when he was appointed governor of mountjoy in 1984 for the first time???? and then in 1992 when he came back after a stint in portlaoise?
    its neither geographically or politically correct. :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Rawhead

Fair enough, in Ireland or Britain.

Pity your ancestors who spat on the Volunteers weren't as patriotic.....

i come from a very patriotic republican family granted. i can't be held responsible for my ancestors no more than the british can be held responsible for theirs. :rolleyes:
    but in the modern world we have have learned to respect differences etc and work towards a better future.
    i just can't believe you said that and i don't understand why you would. i'm just livid!

but anyway this is way off topic so..........

• Registered Users Posts: 434 ✭✭cordub

Rawhead wrote: »
    It always baffles me how no one pulls him up on his time as Governor of Mountjoy. During his time in charge the following occurred,

-Hostage taking
    -At least 3 major disturbances
    -4 murders
    -drug taking became endemic
    -hundreds, and I mean hundreds of Officers badly hurt and thousands of lags sliced, battered and stabbed.

If anyone reckons that's a good record, then I'd funking hate to see a bad one. The bastard should be in front of a tribunal facing prison himself.
    Am hopping hear just watching the John lonergan programme, He talks about not humiliating people and how it was so nb, what a 2 faced f....er he didnt even know the name of most of his staff ,He continuously humiliated his staff when he questioned every report an officer made and never questioned the prisoner,He ruined a lot of mens lives in the way he dealt with prisoners and allowed them run Mountjoy for years refusing to clamp down on drugs being freely available there,Its only by the luck of god more officers didnt loose their lives . Am so sick of the rubbbish he talks pure and utter bull****e , why do so many think he is so brilliant ?? I just dont get it A BLOODY DISGRACE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

cordub wrote: »
    why do so many think he is so brilliant ??

Because he was ( and is ) very ' media savvy ' . Just think how many members of the public know the name of the current Mountjoy governor ? Answer is none - Lonergan was always ' approachable ' to the media unlike many other governors . High profile = a lap dog and unquestioning media.

Delancey wrote: »
    why do so many think he is so brilliant ??

Because he was ( and is ) very ' media savvy ' . Just think how many members of the public know the name of the current Mountjoy governor ? Answer is none - Lonergan was always ' approachable ' to the media unlike many other governors . High profile = a lap dog and unquestioning media.
    Have to agree there with you. He lapped up the media and still does..
    I have been face to face with him in my early years with a ahem "problem" and so disappointed with him with what he advised me. No wonder i am a bitter lemon. if the same thing happened in a different job there would be uproar. Its ridiculous what was allowed to happen. At least nowadays these things are properly investigated.

was dublin not part of a free state under irish rule when he was appointed governor of mountjoy in 1984 for the first time???? and then in 1992 when he came back after a stint in portlaoise?
    its neither geographically or politically correct. :mad:

I dont like the term either but it is a geographically correct term. More important things in life to get annoyed about.

i come from a very patriotic republican family granted. i can't be held responsible for my ancestors no more than the british can be held responsible for theirs. :rolleyes:
    but in the modern world we have have learned to respect differences etc and work towards a better future.
    i just can't believe you said that and i don't understand why you would. i'm just livid!

but anyway this is way off topic so..........

And you reckon Lonergan is media savvy..... CUTE CNUT.

Ha thats what you call diplomacy my dear chap.

I hope anyone who still has a desire to become a PO has had a good look at the latest cuts to new entrants conditions.

• Registered Users Posts: 434 ✭✭cordub

I hope anyone who still has a desire to become a PO has had a good look at the latest cuts to new entrants conditions.
    What are they????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Redsunset

Is the yearly rent allowance gone now for new recruits?

Looks like there won't be any move on RPO till the new year anyway as the el PASO's have Belaad took over for a while.

What are they????

Rent allowance is gone for certain. They are listed here

http://per.gov.ie/wp-content/uploads/Outcome-of-the-Review-of-Public-Service-Allowances.pdf

• Registered Users Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭cavan4sam

best of luck to the rest of the applicants but i doubt even if i got the opportunity i wouldnt be able to survive on the entrants wages so i think its game over ball burst for me .....which is a pity because i really wanted to do this job

What are they????

Rent allowance is gone for certain. They are listed here

http://per.gov.ie/wp-content/uploads/Outcome-of-the-Review-of-Public-Service-Allowances.pdf
    Thanks for posting that up yourwellcum. When i get to my laptop later i will print it off. Now i know this is for new recruits entering public service but they already have taken massive cuts along with the rest of us. They will no way be able to make ends meet unless they have no dependants and still live at home. This is just great to see how they are treated whilst doing a dangerous job. Same with all 24/7 frontline staff. It makes my blood boil! As long as the powers that be can sleep safe in their cosy beds at night. Its an absolute disgrace how we are being treated and especially new recruits.
    The three things that caught my eye were rent allowance, shop allowance and court escort. Whats the story with the court escort allowance? Do they mean they won't pay new recruits for "working" through their dinner break? ie breakfast, dinner and tea allowance? I thought that couldn't be stopped as you have to watch your prisoner at all times. They ain't bloody cutting the prisoners meal allowance when in court!
    I may have this wrong. Could someone please clarify? This makes no sense to cut court allowances.

And i can see them cutting rent allowances for everybody further on down the line and changing the goal posts on sunday allowance.

cavan4sam wrote: »
    best of luck to the rest of the applicants but i doubt even if i got the opportunity i wouldnt be able to survive on the entrants wages so i think its game over ball burst for me .....which is a pity because i really wanted to do this job
    I'm very sorry to hear that but unfortunately when you sit down and do the maths you are right. Its a terrible situation.