Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BGRH and Ladies Lounge Beers (4th April) - Updated with pictures

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Lucy Lu

No, the Brothers Scare me
    Tom Dunne wrote: »
    Did you see what she did there, Des?

Quietly lurking, then pounces like a vulture.

Thats me :D
    DesF wrote: »
    Yeah, I know.

I can't get away with anything any more.

It's so unfair :D:D

Des, I would be counting on you or IB to watch Tom for me if I were not able to make any beers ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

The who would I have danced with

You Dancing Queens don't need somebody to dance with.

The world is your dancefloor.

\o/

• Registered Users Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

maple wrote: »
    I'm in on that one! Definitely! :D
    Deadly, me you and watna are team platter :D yes Des I have my coat! :(
    :eek::eek:

The who would I have danced with :eek::eek::eek:

I know!! :D plus no one would have ever gotten up on the dancefloor!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Lucy Lu wrote: »
    Des, I would be counting on you or IB to watch Tom for me if I were not able to make any beers ;)
    IB I think.

The Brotherhood is called The Brotherhood for a reason ;)

I know I can rely on Tom to laugh at me when I'm being bold. :D:D

Cathooo wrote: »
    plus no one would have ever gotten up on the dancefloor!
    That's not quite true, ya know.

I was dancin' in Messrs at the Xmas beers too :D By myself :(:(

That's not quite true, ya know.

impressive! it aint no empty dancefloor tho, who'd have thunk it!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

I would very much like to attend but there are a few things currently in my way;

1. tis in Dublin so I'll have to be financially secure enough (not like now: destitute) to stay up there
    2. never been to a beers before so want my first time to be special :rolleyes::D
    3. crippling initial shyness (fine after about 30 seconds...)
    4. don't know anybody going which leads to magnification of no. 3 :rolleyes:

Pathetic I know. If I get somebody I know to go with I'll be there, can of
    n00b stuff in hand!!

Don1 wrote: »
    n00b stuff in hand!!

It's far from pathetic.

I would consider myself quite confident and social, but I had trouble walking into my first beers (nothing to with the 7 pints I had prior to that). I was nervous enough.

If you are going, you can PM watna your mobile and she will meet you outside and guide you in (there's a load of potential innuendos - do your best, lads).

She's like our unaccompanied-minors-who-are-not-minors-minder-person.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

I would very much like to attend but there are a few things currently in my way;

1. tis in Dublin so I'll have to be financially secure enough (not like now: destitute) to stay up there
    2. never been to a beers before so want my first time to be special :rolleyes::D

n00b stuff in hand!!

I'm facing all of the the above!

And I'm a wimmins so if I go it means you have to!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

microgirl wrote: »
    Um, is it ok for someone who's not really an active member of either board (occasional lurker on BGRH), neither knows nor is known by any of the members, but who really likes her beer to come along and quiver in a corner in the manner of a frightened rabbit?

Come along! I was in the same boat at the last beers but after some initial hiding in the corner I had a great night!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

No, the Ladies scare me
    It's far from pathetic.

I would consider myself quite confident and social, but I had trouble walking into my first beers (nothing to with the 7 pints I had prior to that). I was nervous enough.

If you are going, you can PM watna your mobile and she will meet you outside and guide you in (there's a load of potential innuendos - do your best, lads).

takola wrote: »
    I'm facing all of the the above!

And I'm a wimmins so if I go it means you have to!

If in doubt do a Jules and bring pie

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

No, the Ladies scare me
    My court appointed therapist has advised against me going. :mad:

n00b stuff in hand!!

Don't worry, I was shaking going in to the beers, bring ShayK with ya (he's your mate aint he?).

Say a few quick hellos, run to the bar and get some dutch courage. It's not like a normal night out meeting friends of friends, everyones looking to talk to everyone and have the craic! I'd highly recommend going!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

n00b stuff in hand!!
    I'm financially embarrassed myself Don, will be robbing the Trocaire box. And i've only met 2 of the others so alot of us are in the same boat!
    It's far from pathetic.

LMAO. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Do what I did at the mod beers.

Walk in and Tom and Des will get one of the wimmins to ask who you are. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

Ok lads i have arranged that i am finished work at 12.30 on that day so there will definately be pie and brownies.

And cathoo, wattie and maple how about we order 2 platters between four of us!

All noobs welcome, and as wattie says if ya want someone to meet outside and walk in holding your hand, be you langer or wimmens just pm numbers and we will get in touch...

jsb, prepare to love me forever!

Jules wrote: »

sounds good to me :D

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

No, the Ladies scare me
    and walk in holding your hand, be your langer or wimmens just pm numbers and we will get in touch...

By hand would be fine, don't want to cause a scene. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Ok lads i have arranged that i am finished work at 12.30 on that day so there will definately be pie and brownies.

All noobs welcome, and as wattie says if ya want someone to meet outside and walk in holding your hand, be you langer or wimmens just pm numbers and we will get in touch...

jsb, prepare to love me forever!

Brother Tom and I have just discussed food. We'll organise that together closer to the time. I reckon most people will want to chip in for food to line their stomachs and we have a contact so it's even easier to organise in advance! Leave it to us!

(but yes, the ratio will be along the lines of 1 platter per 2 people... Ladies loungers and thr brothers love their food!)

smashey wrote: »
    Do what I did at the mod beers.

Walk in and Tom and Des will get one of the wimmins to ask who you are. :D

I'll even go one better - I'll have Lucy Lu and irishbird frisk everybody as they come in.

Can't be having any sharp objects now, can we?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

The-Rigger wrote: »
    My court appointed therapist has advised against me going. :mad:

You have to come rig! :(

• Registered Users Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭trout

watna wrote: »
    Brother Tom and I have just discussed food. We'll organise that together closer to the time. I reckon most people will want to chip in for food to line their stomachs and we have a contact so it's even easier to organise in advance! Leave it to us!

(but yes, the ratio will be along the lines of 1 platter per 2 people... Ladies loungers and thr brothers love their food!)

Food is not negotiable.

One platter for two wimmins ... and two platters per brother ... that should be in the charter. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

a collegue of mine that works in the bull and castle has just reserved an area for us:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

mm food
    mmm beer

Wilburt wrote: »
    mm food
    mmm beer
    I second this.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

No, the Ladies scare me
    mm food
    mmm beer
    mmmm wimmins who don't yet have a restraining order on me yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

true but wimmins are never garaunteed, beer and food, however is.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,282 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Brownies too??? Now whatever about the banoffi, I really don't think I could take the crushing disappointment if the brownies were a no-show.
    if ya want someone to meet outside and walk in holding your hand

PM sent ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭gidget

I shall be in attendance on the night in question - I am damned if i am going to miss out this time round